IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Tickles,
stroller, car seat also got warranty wor.
wah...u very suay leh sterilizer broke down. i also bought mine abt 6 mths before during taka fair. cos taka fair only once every 6 mths so if i didn't buy during that fair i would not be able to make if for the next fair liao.

nancy, i m not doing the detailed scan at tmc..having it done at bishan by dr cheng, after tht then i bring report for dr paul to see. so no discount for the scan...

thanks for the tip on the freebies....

i dun intend to giv pacifier if possible..but smtimes not within our control i was told...so i bought 1 for standby. one of my bb already sucking thumb in there... keke...so either continue suck thumb or giv pacifier...

nancy,
yes, most mothers dun intend to give pacifier but sometimes really no choice.
but my girl wasn't easier to care for even after giving her the pacifier cos she didn't like it! so really depends on yr bb. u prob need to hv one standby. if u bought the pigeon sterilizer with the newborn starter set, think it comes with one pacifier already.

Nancy,
Ya.. Very unlucky right? Wahaha! My hubby nearly fainted when I told him warranty expired 1 day. Yes. They gt 1 to 1 exchange de. So mark down the expiry date.

grumpus,
Is it? Stroller and car seat also got warranty? I didnt know leh... Yalor, so suay lor. Then the avent guy offered a 30% off for a brand new set cos warranty just expired. I didnt take it cos at that time gt robinsons sale. Cheaper to get at the sale.

Nancy,
I also dun intend to give de. But my girl cry and cry so much my mom say will have colic cos suck too much air, so no choice, give.. After giving, my girl can be pacified more easily. But prob is, now she is still using.. Hai~ Hard to get her off it. Plus now I got 1 extra prob. She wants to choose which one to suck everyday. Really wanna faint. My girl always got a lot of ideas on her clothes that she wear, her pacifier etc. Wanna choose herself. If she dun get what she wants, she'll make noise. Very headache de...

For #2, If I can, I wont give..

Tickles,
hahahhaa, yr girl even choose which pacifier to suck everyday, so cute. do u change her pacifiers often so that she dun get too attached to them? my mum told me pacifier and bottle teats must do that otherwise next time very hard for them to change.
i think deciding their own clothes and shoes is normal at this age. my girl also, so we compromise. i choose the clothes she get to choose her shoes. she loves picking her shoes and always pick matching matching one leh...

Grumpus,
The prob is there are a few that she likes. So when I buy new ones, she will want me to buy the same colour and design. So its like replacement lor. Then everyday she'll tell me I want yellow, I want blue, I want fish.. Aiyo.. Clothes also the same. She can wear the same set of pyjamas every day also not tired, cos she likes. Then if my maid didnt managed to wash and dry the clothes in time and she cant wear it, she'll make noise till I give her another alternative that she agrees on..

pandawife
Wow U go to paragon, bishan and TMC for ur gynae visits. All different purposes

Ya, better have one pacifier on standby just in case

Tickles/grumpus
Girls so adorable !!! Even pacifier also wanna choose
So many nice accessories to buy for girls and play "Dress up". I wont get a chance to play if friday scan says 2 boys. After this pregnancy, close shop liao. Hee..........

Pandawife, yes TMC has daily bathing class when u stay there. For breastfeeding u can call lactation consultant to go to your room n guide you. Even the nursery nurses will guide you.
But if u wanna know how to sterilise n wash bottles n teats properly u must attend the prenatal class. Will u join the TMC FBI ? If yes they will give you 3 books on all these. If u think u can jus based on the book then not necessary to attend the prenatal class unless u want the execises.

Nancy,
After this one if really 2 boys, try for 1 more lor.. Maybe can get 1 princess leh???

Grumpus,
You're in week what le? When's your EDD? Did the scan for #2 already? Is it a boy or girl? Did u ask your girl which gender she prefer? I keep telling my girl is mei mei, but she told me, No! Doc scan wrong already. Is Di Di.. Alamak! Everytime I tell her is mei mei, she'll "correct" me and say is didi...

Des, wait I reach home will take a picture of it n tag you in FB ok.

I jus went to the Amk shop. Pigeon breast pad 60+12 is $12.90, 6 packs wipe $18.90.
If u know where is tiptop curry puff is, just walk straight then the shop is after emicake

Vi4n
I was reading the books and find them quite comprehensive. TMC also have breastfeeding class while u staying there. The lactation consultant are very helpful and u get hands on with ur baby after u deliver.

Do u think it's necessary to attend the classes? I may need a c sect since it's twins so the breathing exercises may not apply..hmmm

Tickles
haha cant guarantee
What is another boy? "Faint"

How come ur girl think it's didi? maybe she think if didi, he will not get to wear her lovely pink dresses and shoes. So clever

Tickles,
i'm 16 wks le. Dr cannot confirm gender cos bb dun want to open legs. but Dr said seems like girl cos cannot see anything between the legs..hahaha...
i always ask my elder girl, is the bb in mummy's tummy a girl or boy she always say boy leh...
EDD 23 Jan, my #1 born 14 Jan

Nancy,
I dunno. Maybe her best fren in child care got a little bro, so she also want ba.. So she keep saying its didi... Even tell me doc scan wrongly, ask me tell the doc.. *Faint* Keke~

If another boy then fated lor.. Keke~

Grumpus,
Maybe really is boy leh. Since haven confirm yet... But u do hope to have a boy right, since your #1 is already a girl. Your girl and the bb's bday so close. Maybe might fall on the same day if bb comes early.. Mine even best. My #1's bday is 18 Dec, #2 EDD is 17 Dec... Keke~ U're with Dr Sheila Loh at RH right?

Tickles,
yup hope for a boy so i can close shop :p but if girl also ok lah as long as healthy.
yr #1 and #2 also so close bday! may even fall on the same day too! hehehe
we would like our kiddos to hv the same bday but i think they will not like it cos every yr hv to share bday.

yup i'm with Dr Sheila Loh.

vi, u hv the same qn as nancy..hee..if its necessary to attend the classes.. coz my case will be c sect. but i thot for 1st time mummy good to attend and also for the exercises. coz i m not working, everyday just sit at home...i thot its good for me to do some simple exercises...

whats ur views?

after c sect will be too tired to attend classes while in hospital anot? hmm.. plus i wanna try n bf 3 babies ....

Des
I agree with both Vi4n and Singapoh. It's not practical to get the bassinet for $299 which can only last for 6 months the most. The combi bb chair maybe a better choice. Or you wanna consider putting the cot outside your bedroom?

nancy, yeah lor.. haha.. care says dr cheng is very gd at doing oscar scan n the detailed scan, so recommend i see him instead of going tmc. only see him twice.

most of the time is paragon n tmc.

vi, i will sign up for FBI club... the content of the books are similar to what will be taught during the classes?

grumpus,
Mine not likely will share same bday cos my #2 might be early due to my previous bleeding issues. So I predict maybe early dec will come out le...

Yup, as long as healthy can de...

Pandawife n Nancy, although I also new mommy but I didn't attend all module because I don't wanne watch the labour, n my gynae only allowed me to go for walk for exercise then swim.
Breathng exercise I don't find it necessary especially for both of u very confirm will go for c sect.

Tell u what when u go to pay for the class ask them again about only attending 2 modules. Because why I can n u can't le? So weird..

For feeding n bathing, good to go actually for your hubby because can learn all the different method of carrying baby, how to swaddle. If u have hubby who only listen to his mom n your mil is old fashion type then good to bring him n her to these 2 modules plus the dr talk. I tell u it will save your time arguing with your hubby, mil, mom on what can do n can't do for caring baby n confinement care.

So there... My purpose of attending the talk n modules as above ;)

because I can tell u whatever u learn u will forget by the time baby is out. I keep referring to the books lo. N I still don't know how to swaddle. Ha ha...

vi, thanks for ur inputs, yes, i will ask again when i go to make payment.

also wanna check with gynae what's his views. coz if he says i can only walk oso..then no point learning the exercises too..

the books sounds very comprehensive too...

but u r right about bringing mil there..very good idea! hahaha....

Gan,
hahahaha ....there will be a lot of washing in the beginning. i used to have a load of nappies to wash everyday. and dun forget the folding after the nappies are dry.
as my girl got bigger she pee less often then i washed my nappies every alternate day but in between have to soak in soap water otherwise will stink!

u can get cloth nappies anywhere that sells bb supplies. taka fair, robinsons, kiddy palace etc etc

Gan, taka fair hv but more ex than the neighborhood shop. Depending on indiv preference, tt time I dun intend to use cloth nappies other than a wrap. Planned to use pampers diapers through out. Coz cloth diapers lots of washing n no maid n if bb's poo stain the nappies, it is going to be difficult to wash it till white.. Unless use bleach which is a no no for me..

Grumpus and hAzel thanks... Washing can use machine right? If I use the lining I read in earlier msg the poo won't stick to the nappies so often right?

Hazel initially I was thinking of using disposable all the way but seems line nappies better bb will have less rashes?

Gan,
some ppl dun like to wash bb things in the same washing machine as ours but i washed mine in the washing machine and used very hot water. didn't have any probs with stains. but it's a commitment lah, i hv a pail of soapy water stand by then everytime there's a soiled nappy i will throw into the pail to soak. if it's poo i will roughly scrub it under running water first before soaking.
then once a day wring dry the nappies and load into the washing machine.
after machine is done have to hang out to dry.
then after dry have to collect and fold and put liners. i usually do the folding after my girl sleeps.

not all bbs hv sensitive skin lah. some bbs survive perfectly well in disposables and dun get rashes too.

Gan, use machine to wash. But separate load with ur hubby's. If u dun go out during confinement can wash together but once u go out, separate from bb's.

Well, washing is one headache. Drying Is another. Remember u r living in an apartment now, n intend to use dryer.. But after tt also need to air a while..

My mum insisted on cloth diapers when my nephew was born. After a few wks she surrendered.. Bf bbs poo m pee very frequently.. Washing is alot of work.. N she is fussy, the nappies must be washed till white! So, we switch to pampers diapers, as for nappy rash, quite okay leh, coz she dun save on diapers, once wet will change.. Wun wait till full then change.. U r n engineer, will know that nappy rash comes only when bb's butt is soaked for a while. Is science isn't it? The 2 kids at home nv have nappy rash issue.

Like wat singapoh shared earlier also, when wipe bb's butt after poo /pee, hv to use water not dry tissue as it causes abrasion n fiction.

Even the powder, if use on the butt area, must also be very careful.. If bb's girl, shld avoid her pte parts. For boys, hv to avoid his penis.. If can't be careful, then dun use powder at all..

hi fellow IVF MTB!

checking anyone has good Confinement Lady contact to share? I just found out that good ones are very popular and get booked very early! hope i'm not too late... help ~~

Grumpus and hazel thanks for advice. Guess I will try out with cloth nappies during the day and see if I can tahan the cleaning and washing , if can't will go back to original plan to use pampers.

Hazel u good memory! Remember I intend to use dryer! =p

poppy I book my cl late June but haven't pay deposit yet! Always worry last min she can't do for me.

Gan,
btw i dun have a maid, i stay in hdb flat and dun hv a dryer. i hung my girl's nappies on those drying stands in the living room. but i stay on a high floor so it's very airy. if i wash in the afternoon by evening is dry already and i can keep and fold after my girl sleeps.
it is very tiring though, there were a few times i fell asleep before i could keep and fold the nappies. fortunately my hb did it for me.
so is important to hv family support too.

Gan, remember urs is walk up right? Like mine, low rise.. My clothes take two days to air dry in the yard, coz no wind n dun catch the sun also.

Well, I m a practical person. I rather take the time n rest when bb is sleeping. Instead of washing nappies :p

Grumpus our home is very small so dun think have much space to hang so will rely on dryer. Not getting a maid too but have our part time helper comes once a week to clean. Ke ke will have my hubby as full time helper. =p

Gan, i m also trying out cloth nappies.. coz mum n mil insist... am prepared to use disposables if all of us cannot tahan the washing..keke....

drying the nappies is also a challenge..coz my service balcony very small.. i might end up like grumpus...hang in the living room balcony...

Hazel yup staying in walk up so low rise. Will try out if really stressed with the washing or tired will just go back to good old pampers. =)

panda actually my mum said use pampers coz she worried I will be too tired.

Ladies, my mil also insisted to use cloth diaper but I think less than a week, stop already ha ha..
I used nb pamper n nepia n dryper (small cut), huggies n no nappy rashes ;)

It is good for hubby to learn how to hold new born though the class is using a doll. Because lotsa man dare not hold new born lo.
For me only the feeding n bathing modules are important.

vi,
haha! i washed all the hand-me-down nappy cloths & fold nicely. end up nvr use at all. cos hb decide we save the time & effort of washing nappies to slp more!

Ju, till now I don't know how to fold n use clothe nappy. That's why mil gave up too because only she n maid did it. Thanks God baby Leanne bum is not sensitive.
I think most important is change diaper frequently n once u know bb poop should change immediately.

vi,
lol... very easy to fold de. jus troublesome to use.
im also lucky jodie dun hv sensitive butt. only mummy more ma fan, got requirements. wan cheap & good.
sil's gal could only use pampers for her 1st 2 yrs. they always go jb & buy carloads back.

Ju, same here...I aso washed and folded all the hand me down nappy cloths but didn't even use at all...from day 1 use pamper! I However, now I use them to cover my son's water pipe when I'm changing him....kenna too many times liao...

stb,
hi5! yes, dat's the things abt boys, they like to offer u tea! gals jus "drool". lol
thx for the info, but i dun use pampers. sil's gal very proudly told me last wkend she dun use pull-ups at nite liao. haha!

Me got alot of hand me down cloth diapers but not sure if my mum can cope with the washing. So, I will also stock up some disposables.

Stb,
You mean your son can ambush you with water pipe? Haha.. I was telling my hb yday dunno will kenna or not.

Vi4n,
The hospital will bath our baby or they just wipe? I forgotten how to swaddle liao. Think will ask them to demo again. Me never carry newborn before so my boy will the first.

bakaholic,
all boys will offer tea de. i was visiting my cuz & my aunt was bathing him. kena 1 mudpie & 4-5 times tea offerings

I'm wondering what kind of detergent to use for washing diapers? Is the baby detergent too mild to remove the poo stains on diapers?
Must we use baby detergent to wash the baby's clothes all the time or can we use normal mild detergent?

I only stock up 30 pieces of cloth diapers for 2 babies. I'll try out to see whether we can tahan the washing first before we get more cloth diapers. Otherwise we will use disposable diapers instead.