IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bing,

I just attend Kk parentcraft topic yesterday. According to the person we don't need to use bb detergent. She say can use our normal powder n dynamo to wash. Don't need to waste money. But I already buy the baby detergent.

According to her is that mother clothing n bb clothing can wash together cos we don go out during confinement. Only hubby cloth have to wash separately.

Bing,
i soak the nappies before washing in the machine with very hot water. honestly never had that much trouble with the poo stains. once or twice when hanging the nappies i spotted one or two nappies that still had stains on them, i just reject and put back into the wash one more time.
i use normal bb detergent for nappies and bb clothes.
better to use bb detergent to wash bb clothes especially in the 1st yr cos their skin is very sensitive. till today i still use bb detergent for my girl's clothes cos i still wash her clothes separately from mine and hb

fashion_spree,
Better use baby detergent to wash baby's clothes cos some baby's skin more sensitive.. I am still using baby detergent for my 2.5yo girl even till now. Hubby say dun wanna take the risk..

I always use the tollyjoy baby laundry detergent. I find it has got a nice scent on the clothes after washing...

Alamak! I think I gt a muscle pull after coughing too hard this morn. Now, the area near my belly button very painful leh... And I cant stand and walk properly... Any ideas how I can ease the pain??

Flying poo/mudpies, tea offerings? Haha.. You mummies are funny.

Bing,
I bought baby laundry cos it's phosphate and enzyme-free, and good for sensitive skin. The brand is Purity which was found in NTUC xtra but now I think it ran out of stock. Another brand is ultra Purex for babies but it costs 2x more.
I can't get those jap brands cos my washer is front loading.

Tickles,

Yup I think so too. Bb skin is really sensitive but yesterday the parentcraft topic confused my hubby. Now he feel that since can use normal y we still buy so mAny bb detergent.

I will still stick to bb detergent as to play safe. Just that yesterday the class confused us too.

Shooting poop is more appropriate. Ha..

I always put on their diapers first before applying nappy cream from the side opening of diaper.

First thing I put on after bathing is their diaper..

Tickles ,

My friend recommend me tollyjoy too say got nice scent . But I have bought a few refill packet from pigeon. Think next time I will buy tollyjoy laundry detergent for a try after I finish my pigeon. Pigeon stuff also not cheap.

Bakaholic, it never come to my mind to find out whether baby was bath or wipe in hospital ha ha...
Your question stunned me.

I used kodomo ;)

to wash soiled clothes nappy n clothing that got baby vomit, we used Vanish for diaper one.

kodomo bb detergent also very nice smell

if u want abit more economical, can consider the pigeon laundry powder instead of the liquid detergent. there's another brand ABC, can get from kiddy palace which some mummies say are good too and cheaper.

I think if we ask our parents' generation, they will tell you that can use normal detergent instead of bb detergent. There's no such thing as bb detergent 30 years ago.

Fashion spree,
I thought our antenatal class started at the same week? How come your class is so advanced? We were doing pain management and admission last week and I think we will be doing some exercise with the physiotherapist this week.

Grumpus,
I think your trick of soaking the diapers before washing works. I'll do that next time too. How many bottles of bb detergent are u using every month for washing the diapers and bb's clothes?

Tickles,
I heard good reviews on the tollyjoy detergent too but I've already stock up pigeon detergent. Will try the tollyjoy after I finish the pigeon one.
Try massaging your belly softly to ease the pain? I woke up with tension in my calf after having leg cramp yesterday night. I tried massaging my calf just now and it helps to ease the stiffness. Oh remember not to use those "tuina" medicated oil, especially on your tummy. According to my tcm physician, pregnant women should avoid taking/ applying any herbs that will promote blood circulation.

Bing,
my girl doesn't use cloth nappies anymore. but at the peak i think i was using one bottle of laundry detergent a month.
i bought the tollyjoy one too simply cos it costs less and contains more than pigeon!
pigeon on 800ml or something like tat, tollyjoy one is 1L

Fashion spree,
So fast last lesson? Maybe mine is sat class and we had a break of 3 weeks in between that's why we are 3 weeks slower than you.
Seems like you have gotten most of the bb stuff already? I've more or less finished getting all the essential items. Only left with some "want" but not "need" items like cot mobile, rocker etc.

Bing, cot mobile no need to get so early. See if anyone give it to u. Leanne only interested in it around week 5-6.

I got my maternity swimming wear at spring. 2 pcs type can wear even after lo as it doesn't flare up around the tummy.

Bing,

No wonder cos u had a break for 3 weeks. Learn quite alot from the class too.

I got most of my stuffs for my bb girl. Now only waiting for the wardrobe to be deliver then everything will be done.

Only left diapers and those small items like cotton ball all this stuff have not buy yet . The rest all done.

Once bb cupboard is delivered will start washing all her new cloth n pass down clothing. Cos dr loh say I may delivered 2 week earlier if going for c sect due to low placenta .

Hi mummies, can I check - who do u give those bengawan vouchers or sweetest moments cakes/kuehs to? For those who attend 1st mth celebration also need to give?

On delivery, like v difficult to lug so many boxes leh, how did u all do it?

And do u mummies usu have 1 or 2 celebrations eg if u have colleagues, friends and relatives? Or usu just close ones?

Fashion spree, u r due in Nov, so still got time...

On bb cloth detergent, I bght ABC simply coz I only saw this at bb fair :p Anyway, I've used it & it smelled like baby. :D So, got other cheaper brands yet smell nice? But I must have been blinded, coz can't see these other brands! :p

Des,
I only give to relatives and married couple friends only. Will give them during the 1st month celebration. Sweetest moments will delivery them to your party venue, so u dun need to bring them around de...

Despondent,

Yup I'm due in nov. Still got time just that wanna get things done early as tummy getthing bigger n bigger and getting more tired in tri 3 so wanna rest my body in oct.

Bing,
Me all set to go liao. Counting down to next wk..Hehe..

Gan,
I think pigeon detergent more for top loading. But can check double check.

Des,
I only give cakes to relatives and my immediate colleagues/bosses cos i not inviting them to my house.
Sweetest moments will deliver if you meet certain quantity. Otherwise, just give bengawan solo vouchers.

I will split the celebration btw friends/colleagues/classmates cos my house can't in too many ppl.

Wah Bakaholic, u planned it earlier than me... Hee hee hee. When is your c sect? Did u say next fri? If my bb not out by next tues, I'm likely to go for induce next fri too. Then our bb may be born on same day! ;-)

Tickles, thanks.
But why married couple friends only? Usu at celebrations, you'd have red eggs & Ang ku kueh, so e boxes are additional ?

Bakaholic, have u checked out leprecious too? Seem quite good. Me checking it out in a while. Just worried how to lug so many boxes. And I note, that collection/delivery of these boxes usu on same day, meaning, got to run around like mad woman all on same day.

I have some closer colleagues who i may invite to celebration, but if I go to office to distribute, will have to distribute to all. So a bit weird to distribute to them twice.

Nctgrace, no harm trying if it makes you feel better. You were given a feedback form to complete isn't it? You can Put your comments there too.

Des,
According to sweetest moments website, can collect in different days. And can choose up to 3 combinations.
Yah, my c-sect next fri. It would be nice if can share same bday.. cos i checked 2011 calendar, 20Aug falls on sat so can do 1st bday on actual day.

Grumpus,
Pigeon detergent works on front loader? They didn't specify on the bottle so I assume cannot. Do you use less than the recommended amount?

bakaholic,
yes, i use less than the recommended amt. the recommended amt seems a lot of detergent to me so i just agar agar based on the load.

Des,
Dunno leh. My hubby always do it this way. Cos we'll hold the celebration at 1 time 1 place, will have red eggs during celebration. Sweetest moments boxes only give to relatives ( 1 box per family), married cousins each gets 1 box too and married couple friends only. Dunno why hubby do it that way also. I rem for my #1, I ordered ard 62 boxes. Oh, I do give to my colleagues to share too.

Fashion spree,
We've set up the wardrobe and chest of drawers a few weeeks ago. My hubby enjoy doing it and he even wanted to assemble the playpen and cot too. I told him to do it probably just before my delivery as they take up space and will collect dust.
If you are expected to deliver 2 weeks before EDD, it should be in the first week of Nov. Mine should be in the last 2 weeks of Oct if I carry to full term of 36weeks for twins. My hubby was counting down for me and told me that I'll only have about 10 more weeks. Getting both excited and nervous. At least before the babies pop, alot of things are under our control. Once the babies pop, many things are not under our control anymore and we will lose our freedom..

Grumpus,
Thanks! I'll check out the pigeon laundry powder, ABC and Tollyjoy detergent later. Probably will try out a few different brands and see which one works the best.

Des,
I attended a few full month celebrations. Most of them give cakes/ kueh to those who attended the celebrations. They usually had one celebration for their relatives and friends together, but probably gave them 2 different timings so that they wouldn't come at the same time.
However, the last one I went to had 2 celebrations on the same day. They asked the friends/ colleagues to come for afternoon tea and the relatives to come for dinner at a later time. They only gave cakes to their relaives but not friends/ coleagues. I guess it all depends on individual preference.

Bakaholic,
The big day is going to come
excited?

Bing, ur cot is new? my gf told me new cots will hv a wood and paint smell leh.. must take out earlier to air n wipe it to rid of the smell....

Bakaholic, Sweetest Moments allows collection on different days? I can't find it in their website, though I note it can be done for Le Precious.

Wah, Tickles, without giving to colleagues already mean 62 boxes arh? My colleagues alone will mean more than 30 boxes liao. I haven't count my friends and relatives.. wow.. makes me feel like wedding time, got to count the number of heads.. heee heee hee.

Bing, ya, coz I long time no attend full month celebrations liao.. sigh (maybe I am too old liao). But I recall the last one I attended was in Jan where there were no distribution of cakes/red eggs/kuehs leh.. and before this one, it's like years ago...

Bing,
Won't la.. We'll actually print extras of the cards to give out to single friends who wants them.. Cos couple friends, married ma. Wish them heng heng and have baby soon ma.. For single friends, to them is no meaning to receive the boxes de.. If wanna give single frens then will have to order many many boxes leh...

grumpus, tollyjoy can also use for front loading? If reduce amt of pigeon can used for front loading maybe i get 1 bottle to try at the taka fair.
I have on off 'churning' feeling in my tummy.....not sure is that my gal moving. =) but definitely get hungry very fast nowadays.....6pm plus must eat dinner else hunger unbearable

Des,
Coll I dun invite them to the celebration unless very close. But I do send the boxes personally to office each dept 1 box, if dept is bigger, I'll give 2 boxes for them to share. Then shun pian bring baby for them to see lor.

Gan,
me too. Eat and eat. Now I find my butt starting to expand liao.. keke~

Oh.. Tickles.. that is a good idea.. only problem is I seem to receive one Bengawan Solo card just for myself.. so I think the expectation is each coll one box/card. But I am not sure if they give everyone... got to ask my colleagues..

On eating.. I find myself over-eating now that I am at home.. just ate 1 banana fritter and 1 ham-ji-bang.. oh my.. fell like my tummy's exploding!!! :p

tickles u bring ur bb to office, i.e. After ur confinement? I think when my bb full mth i will order 1 big cake for the office colleagues to share. He he he my butt still same size....

Pandawife, did u find out 3rd bb gender today? =)

Pandawife,
We'll be using my friend's cot now. Will only get a new cot when we move to our new place next year. So there won't be any issue with the paint smell.

Tickles,
What cards are you referring to? Invitation cards with your baby's photo?

Gan,
Ya.. After confinement. Will bring baby to office for a while and also to deliver the cakes to colls..

Bing,
In the sweetest moments boxes gt a lil card with baby's pic and weight, length and DOB. I'm referring to that card. My frens like to keep as momento.. That type can ask sweetest moments to help u print extra for u to give out. If I'm not wrong is $1 per card.

i just booked tmc antenatal class with mrs wong..
I only took lesson 4&5 + doc talk.. $192.. So expensive..

I wonder do glen e provide such classes.. Cos im gng to deliver there.. Is it more applicable to attend at the hosp u deliver?

Des,
Wa.. If give every coll, will die leh. I gt like 60 over colls.. I guess maybe your coll close to u. Thats why give u individual box? My tummy muscle still very painful.. Hai~

baby, wow... its expensive leh. whole package is $221 with discount.. so i might as well go for whole package. i ask angela, she ask me to go for full.. coz lesson one they will teach how to take care of ourselves n our diet during pregnancy...

ohhh... angela told me they will also talk about admission n the hospital stuff leh... so if glen e has, u shld attend there... rather than tmc one. why not call ur gynae n ask??