IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bakaholic/stb,
i've been using medela/pigeon/nuk/glass btls wif my medela & pigeon pumps. no issues wif the fitting. only pigeon pump dun fit so well on medela btls.

bakaholic
i found out my condition from a scan in camden (14th week scan).
how about u?how did u find out abt yours? did u go for further blood test to determine further if need injection?
i was told to take aspirin till 34 wks. is it the same for u?

singapoh, i just spent an hour wrapping the few plates and bowls as we are shifting soon....am already very tired...how do u manage to pack so many boxes last time?!

Happy,
I only found out during my detailed scan at tmc. Gynae only put me on aspirin, nothing else. Just need to monitor bb growth and weight, and my bp and any protein in urine cos i am at risk for pre-eclampsia.
I think my aspirin is until 32 wks.

Btw, if u are getting the glass bottle from from hospital then can get the bottle cap of NUK for it. $4 for 2.
I asked for the formula plus all the empty bottles. In total I have about 28 glass bottles.
Turn out the snappies container is reusable so
i have 10 of it plus 4 medela bottles. See if my supple can catch up ha ha..

Btw when baby can start to have tummy time?

Stb, what can u do to make Alvis sleep?
My baby only wake up once during the night.

Bee, i have to wake up every 2-3 hrs for the feed, no plans to let him sleep thru whole nite yet, perhaps when he's after 3 mths....but at least now, if the mtd works, I can make him sleep after the feed, so that I can aso slp in-between feeds...

Stb, I tried once it was veryvery difficult n will notbe able to feed also.
Her last feed normally around 11-12 nite then nextwill be 3-4am. So stillcorrect timing.

dear ladies
my bm has became lesser and lesser nowadays... think when my boy turn one mth old he will be solely on fm liao...btw i gave him mamex gold he seems like it. envy u guys got lotsa bm .

and he seems adjusted to his own timing liao, every 3hrs he will surely cry for milk and diaper change...and sometimes eyes big big jus refused to sleep

Linda, how often u pump?
My colleague gave me a bottle of fenugreek so I did take that.
N I ordered the sacred tea also. Have not received that yet. I will try n let u know any improvement after that.
I also can't catch up with her appetite. Pratically I pump n latch n she will finish up my ebm. Never even be able to keep for 1 day. But like today I only gave her once fm. The rest were ebm or latching.
We were asked to give NAN Pro 1. But thinking to change to cheaper one if she is not rejecting.
Are u still taking supplement?
I'm still continuing with blacksmore pregnancy n breastfeeeding gold, spirulina n calcium.

Gan,

I slowly packed 2 to 3 boxes a day, after my meal. Due to GD, I need to burn carbo and packing was a good way :D

I was 34 weeks when I shifted, unpacked over 40 boxes. Was extremely tired till my feet swollen and pelvic bone pain. Lucky it only lasted for a week.

You take it easy ok.

Stb, are u supplementing with fm or total bm? Like that still can store very good le.. I have lotsa storage but not the supply yet ha ha..

Vi, out of e 8-10 feeds, I'm giving him 1 fm coz i think i've started to store too early after my cousin-in-law told me tt ebm even after frozen best stored for 2 mths only.

If u pump regularly n still latch on demand, e supply shd kick in quite fast...nowadays, my son will jus drink 1 side, so if i'm not tired, i'll pump e other side...

Oh, try to let ur gal latch on as long as she wan, dun hv to stick to e 15mins feed.....it will help to stimulate n increase ur supply

may i know where to get trendy causal maternity wear?
I went to perfect mum and spring maternity but dont like the fashion there.. Cos all look too traditional kind of maternity wear..

STB, my gal will never satisfy with just 1 breast, even if she suckles for 25-30mins.

How long do you pump each time and how often?
I forgot last time Singapoh said how long.

Btw, since you have ebm why you still give FM?
my mil will want to use the ebm if there is, and she will ask if i wanna let her suckle first before ebm.

Babe,

I can't help you on this because I only bought from spring maternity because i don't wanna spend too much on maternity wears.

Baby, u can try United square, mums & babes, moms r' us, & morden maternity. U can get a flavor of their clothes style by looking at motherhood magazine. The prices are more ex than perfect mum & spring maternity. Enjoy your shopping.

baby,
u can always buy simple empire cut tops or loose fitting tops, dresses wif empire cuts which u can wear after delivery. more cost savings in the long run

heylo!! All,

Princess is good. She is trying to crawl but cant do it yet. Im coping well. Life has taken a huge turn though as now u have a little human soo dependen on u, but it fun.

Juju: I saw ur little gal's pictures on facebook recently. How is she now? Saw she wasnt well.

Btw, I did submit my daughter's copy of birth cert to KKHIVF side.

Berrybaby, ur bb was born prematured? Oxidized girls hv hernia. Anyhow it is easily corrected with a surgery.

Juju, yes, normal clothes can wear still. I wore some of my normal empire cut tops n baby doll dresses too when I was pregnant. I also wore baggy shirt dresses n long Baggy tops with maternality bottoms. Even now, I can't fit into my normal pants n skirts. So, I wore maternality bottoms still n can't tell at all

baby, u can try vivo city too. There are a no of maternality shops on 1st n 2nd floor. eg the Maternal house near spring maternality.

Hazel, yes my bb was born at 29+ wks, he was discharged last week and now diagnosed with hernia. Oxidised gals were premature too as I recall. Wonder is the operation complicated and how many days will it take to discharge and recover.

Berrybaby,from wat I understand the op shld not be too complicated. U can google the website on hernia for more information. Adults - usually men Can get hernia too. my ex-boss Undergone a hernia op m was on 4 wks mc. When he returned back to work, he was still walking slowly. Since, there will be a wound after op n even if it is a simple process, we adult will feel the pain let alone infant right? But, after surgery, bb should recover faster than adults coz unlike adults who take all types of food, bb only takes milk.

Vi, oh mistake, out of 8-10 feeds, that 1 feed is bottle feed of e thawed EBM. I only give FM when outside, so far at polyclinic n during yesterday's 1st mth celebration. FM faster coz dun need to thaw.....

If pump, massage e breast first then pump each breast for 5 min, repeat these 2 steps for 3 times, meanin hv to spend 15 mins to pump each beast......

Vi,

u r lucky that yr MIL is so pro bf.

According to the LC, if u are using dual pump, massage breast and pump both breast at the same time for 10 mins then massage again b4 u pump for another 10 mins.

Baby,
You can try online or otherwise get big tees. I had to buy maternity bottoms but tops i just buy from long tees from zara, pull & bear cos their sizing is bigger and the tee prints are cute. Can even cover the bum if you wearing tights. But the tees are fitting type so will show belly, if you dun mind.

Stb, singapoh, mygal chewed on my left nipple that itbleed again last night. So now I latch on right first.
First pack my nb pampers finished today. Will need to buy again.

Singapoh, Yes loh.. she has difficulty latching on left. Right much better. frustrating but i keep on continue lah.

vi,
whn she latch wrongly, put ur last finger in-btw her mouth & ur skin to unlatch her. then guide her to latch correctly agn. dun let her latch wrongly

Bakaholic, u bght ur bedsheet? I didn't get to go to Aussino till yesterday. But e branch i went to ytd (centrepoint), dun have. Anyway, my SILs all told me not to buy anymore (I only bght one from KP) as they have quite alot of old ones. So me not shopping anymore... Until I find out I lack anything... Somehow, I think I have more things to buy. Anyhow, a guy fren just told us we shd get stuff ready for e next 2 years!!!?? I thot to get ready only for e confinement period! Akakaka.

Ju, I share same thots as you regdg IFC.
M & MIL can't help and I'd rather trust IFC than unknown nanny or maid.. BTW, wld it not be too difficult if we were to impose our menu on e IFC? I nvr think so far lah, but will try to rmbr ur sharing & see how it goes. May have to make some changes at work too so that I can rush back in time to pick bb. P/T is a good idea! ;-) anyway, really thank you so much for e sharing. May PM u when I have qns later when my bb goes to IFC. :D

Berrybaby, not sure if it's any assurance, but I recall my nephew also had hernia when he's abt 1-2 years old. Recalled tat worried look on my bro... & my nephew was so small then (maybe only 1yr old then). Anyway, after e op & some resting, nephew recovered & was just any other active boy! So, dun worry too much.

des,
if u hv ppl passing u hand me downs, wait for them to pass everything to u. then u see wat u lack.
we went ahead to grab bargain stuff, then realised some were gonna be passed down frm bil/sil. waste money. wrong info frm mil (who say dun hv) then ltr on suan by her we waste money also. ;p

whn i ask ifc to follow my menu, i usu prepare the food i wan them to give my gal. so if u dun hv time & their menu is ok, better to follow thiers.
ntuc's my first skool menu follow healthy standards so quite ok bah.
ya, u can pm me if u wan to ask more qns abt ifc

Hazel, 4wk MC is a long time, my hubby had only 1 wk when he had the op few years ago, I wonder if its the same for bb, especially when he's so small and fragile... so heart pain

Berry, dunno leh. Maybe he did wan to take a longer rest. Dr r accomdating these days. I understand the heart ache u r going through. is not going to be easy for U as a care giver too to care for a bb after the surgery. Bb wears pampers n wet himself very often so with a wound, hv to be more careful when changing n cleaning bb. Bb can't tell us when he is in pain, only cry n there r so many reasons bb cry. So, u hv to be more patience okay. After surgery & bb recovers, all will be while. Be positive. 

I had 3 stiches done on my left hand last & fourth fingers when I was a troddler. My finger got hit by the opening of rubbish chute due to my mummy's carelessness. My mum told me I kept crying n fussing for days after that. So, caring for an infant after surgery will be tougher.

Des,
I think all assino outlets are out of cot fitted sheet, according to a sales pax from hougang.

I just bought mine from this website.
https://www.babymallonline.com/
They do have spree on the forum regularly. My colleague told me their quality not bad and it's so much cheaper. I have 3 cot sheets just in case bb wets the bed,even though i bought a waterproof mattress protector.

hi someone mentioned hernia??

my babies both had their hernia op on the same day.. but it was mentioned to me when they were slightly above 1.5kg n told that b4 discharge they will hv to do the op. it's nothing major.. under magnification, they magnify and perform a keyhole incision then push whatever is out back in n suture the incision.

it takes about 30 mins. the part that i was worried was the GA part. cos they r so small, n they have to be intubated. first by mask then intubated.. the scary part is that every baby has to be booked for a cot in nicu. but its just for precautionary measures. cos some babies dun take the GA well and get up in time..

but nothing to worry, can ask qs.

my babies were hungry b4 the op but no choice.. not much of a fast for them also.

after they were done they couldnt drink milk yet too.. they gave them baby panadol which my babies relish with delight cos they were so damn hungry! any liquid is good.

after surgery can go home next day but baby dr kept them for a few more days.. can take the tagederm dressing off after 5 days n can bathe as usual, but i didnt bathe them .. i jus wipe them. 5th day i pulled it out. n it's jus 2 small incision marks on the sides..

Any MTB have morning sickness only in their week 12??
I just observed myself these 2 days, when i take milk or milk related food like yogurt, i will merlion. like just now felt perfectly fine with OJ, bread with cheese. but after i took yogurt, i dun feel good and start to be a merlion. last night after drinking milk also merlion.

Gan, wah why so sudden? Normally lactose intolerance also causing diarrhea more than merlion.
Maybe u can check with dr? If really can't take milk then better jus take calcium tablet.

vi4n i also find very strange....been taking milk all these while ok leh. At first i tot food poisoning but after throwing out, feel perfectly fine, no diarrhae or anything.

Singapoh, really? I hope i will be ok soon.

Gan, my lactose intolerance also kick in around mid 2nd tri. So I took calcium tablet.
Guess pregnancy hormone is really different with each individual. Since like that then jus stop taking food or drink contained lactose lo.
How about soyabean milk?

Bing, backaholic and stb, sorry for the late reply. I was on 1 week of HL and just came bck to do work handover today. Home pc was down and I can only read the forum now. I already reduced my salt intake and drink plenty of water, now feet still swollen but not as terrible compared to last week pig's trotters. Seems like my pelvic bones pain getting bad to worse as the day gets nearer...ouchhh...Hope I can hang on for at least another 3 more weeks.

Gan, I also had lactose intolerance in my mid pregnancy. I have been taking soyabean milk ever since then and also requested my gynae to give me calcium pill. Not sure if my pelvic bone pain is due to lack of calcium too....hope it's not.

Bbhp, are u ok?
Take care n rest rest rest.
Hips bone pain because baby is going down mah.
Better than me baby head down but jus didint want to engage n I have such a big hip le..

Jus did her birth cert. ;)

btw the umbilical cord dropped already then how to clean the navel?