IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Lina - ur girl is still @ the nanny place huh???

Vi - lots of things to leatn hor about BM

Itjabi - how had u been???

vi,
i sterilise all the removable parts after washing wif bb detergent.

bakaholic,
is it 10 times a day? if yes, then ok. if not, see gynae if u r concerned

itjabi,
hihi! u coping well wif bb?

Bakaholic, 10 movement in 10 hours. But continuous movement not counting hoh. If not in 1 movement time will be 10 movements already ;)

Gan,
Infant care will be my last option. I heard that babies will fall sick easily at infant care. When do u intend to send your baby to infant care? If I send 2 babies to infant care, it will cost almost 2k.
Have you confirmed your CL?

Ju, ok..
because i counted if I pump 6 times a day meaning sterilize 6 times a day, will the part distorted faster too. hahhaa

Za, yes.. a lot of things to learn for this new blur mommy.. bf, feeding, understanding baby cry. i'm still like cry means feed, always forget to check if baby is wet or what first. but most of the time she cried meaning she hungry too because normally will be 3-4hrs later loh.
Last night hubby bought the first formula milk. Hopefully my ebm can catch up faster.

Gan, To add on to what Bing has shared, once infant is sick n has a temperature infant care with ask parents to bring bb back. N u know infant, can take a few days recover, so u still need someone to care for them.

Like wat Bing said infant care is the last resort, infact nanny like wat Linda is getiing is much better. My friend told me these days got more choices on nanny. Hers previously was a grad & speaks good English.

ok. 10 movements in 10 hrs. Sigh.. sometimes i worked 12 hrs straight so can't really feel anything.
Today i rested at home and bb is active. I guess I should cut down on my work and rest more.

Juju,
I didn't know that. No wonder why i very busy, bb hardly move. Thanks for the info. I should rest more in-btw to count the movements then.

hazel
is lina got infant nanny la

itjabi
hi how r u? yes we all made it

btw, is kkh "automatically" know the baby we delivered is thru ivf? cos i didnt inform kkh abt tis yet...and if need to inform, must go thru where? cos i know MOH need to collect statistics...thanks

What do you all use to store ebm?
Storage bag?
I bought the snappies and it stated on the bag that it is for 1 time usage only???

I'm so confused now, whether to get Medela storage bottles, or the storage bags?

Vi4n,
Milk bags are more compact and easy to store and no need to wash or sterilize.
Bottles need to wash and sterilize but i think it's cheaper in long run. But they will take up more space.
I bought lansinoh milk bags to stand by.

Bing, i called Auntie Eng and she is ok to do confinement for me.
I didn't ask her alot of question actually coz dunno what to ask. only told her i want 3 meals a day and she said can cook normal food for hubby. I asked if at night i feed baby, i want to breast feed ok, she said ok.
She will contact me in Sept.

Hazel, i dunno any good nanny so no choice have to put baby in infant care.

vi,
yes, storage bag is to be discard after 1 time usage... not very environmental friendly but ;ile what bakaholic said, take up less space. i hv both.

singapoh,
still bfg ur twins? my freezer is full liao... :p what is the fastest way to stop bm from coming permanently?

Bakaholic, me too! Felt less movements at 30 week, but read from WTE website that it's normal as bb now bigger... However, after I rested for a couple of days, begin to slowly feel bb movements again.
Now, bb movements not as strong as kicks, more like bb trying to elbow his way around. Oh, also stronger Braxton hicks, v weird looking at my often contorted tummy. :D

Bee,

yes still breastfeeding my twins. Start by dropping a feed. Slowly yr supply will decrease when u drop more feeds. U wanna stop bf already?

I am also sending my bb to IFC.. but I dun recall being quoted so much leh... If I recall correctly, it's ard $1k before subsidy but a few hundred dollars only after. Oh, got to remind e IFC as have not gotten a confirmation from them yet on a place for my bb.

Gan, some infant care r 'branded' or foreign like raffles monesori, these will be more ex. If u put bb at infant care, he/she is bound to fall sick very easily. N there will be a ratio of one caregiver to x baby. How prompt will be the attention when bb cries? I tell u, u will feel heartache one..

Nanny u can ask around, there are agency too I think who helps to get a nanny. Btw, your mum cant help? Or get a maid & ur mum supervise? U will feel more at ease with ur mum around. How abt ur inlaws? You wun be able to work in peace if u place bb at infant care. Also, cannot be late to pick up bb also coz the penalty is by the minute. So, if u got last min work or meeting & ur hubby is Also not free how ah?

Those of you who delivered at KKH, does the hospital provide the glass bottles for storing ebm? I heard that hospitals Luke TMC and Mt Alvernia do provide. Not sure about KKH and I was going to ask the same qn which Vi4n just asked. Must I standby some ebm storage bags? And how many should I get first?

Gan,
That's good. One thing off your mind now. Try to meet aunty Eng and talk to her before you pay her deposit. I just started to source for a maid today. Finding a gd maid is even tougher. Sometimes it just depends on your luck whether you can get a gd one.

Des,
Your IFC is quite cheap leh. Where is it? So far I heard from my friends that all their IFC are charging around 1400-1500 before subsidy.

Gan, when bb is 6 mths n above, he/she will start to take semi solid food then progress to solid food. the food infant care give will Not be as nutriuous as those u buy n hv a caregiver u trust prepare for ur bb. Also, I was told if bb rejects the food or eat little, caregiver at infant care wun not coax n coax until bb finishes everything as they dun hv the time since each got to take of a few infants. The attentiveness will not be there.

How abt dinner? By the time u bring bb back n prepares porridge for bb, it will be abit late, the poor bb.. Hv u thought of all these? Seriously, infant care shld be the last resort unless no choice if u wan ur bb to grow well

Bing/ Gan, now I worry I hear e rate wrongly but my dh confirmed correct leh. I will call them on this again & ensure they reserved a place for me, heh heh. My IFC not branded one, just one of those at void deck. V convenient for me, next block.

hazel, my sis works in hk, so my mum will travel often to visit her, so can't really help me take care of baby. My in laws are old, and my mil can be very particular abt how things at home is done....i scared got maid, she nag until the maid can't take care of bb well. So no choice infant care. this infant care is near my parent's place so if really a need, they can help me take bb home if they r in sg, if not i take leave.

bing u giving birth in oct? won't get a maid as already have a part time helper.

Gan, understand. Guess that will be the best for u now. But u will be very tired. After work, u will spend time with bb, still needs to wash bb's clothes, dry it using a dryer, wash bottles, etc. U know bb's clothes hv to be separated from adults when washing right? Anyhow, tired for a happy reason. 

re: IFC
my gal has been in ifc since 10wks old since thr's no one to help me & we r not comfy wif nannies (also got horror stories like maids).
the 1st ifc run by charity charges 1.1k before subsidy, so we paid 500 per mth only (whispering hearts @ jurong west)
the 2nd ifc - my first skool run by ntuc charges almost 1.3k before subsidy, so we paid almost 700 per mth. now dat im working p/t, we r paying 400+ after subsidies off half-day rates.
*** u may need to pay cash for the 1st 1 or 2 mths while they r getting approval frm mcys to deduct frm bb's cda acct for the fees. (cda acct is the one which govt tops up $1 to $1, up to a max of $6k for 1st child)

food-wise, both ifcs had not disappointed us in feeding. the current one esp, they had managed to feed my gal wat she dun eat at hm. so, i very gladly push the "yucky" food to ifc to feed her ;p
they will also update me hw much ebm my gal actually drinks so dat i dun waste my ebm. to avoid late dinner, i actually arrange wif them to feed her solids in the evening jus before we fetch her. they r also ok to feed her food which they provide or we provide. so far, i only let them provide the lunch. i will prepare the breakfast & dinner for my gal.

falling sick : wat i experience is dat bb will fall sick in the initial 1st 2 mths they enter a daycare. after dat, they r usually well unless some bb is sick then will virus spread. (this is up to individual parents' ethics to keep their sick child at hm instead of sending to ifc/cc/sch)

re: laundry
i'm lucky to hv hand-me-down clothings frm sil/bil. so, i jus buy enuff towels for my gal to use during the week. wat i do is to pack her clothes/towel/hankies/bibs every wkend for the whole wk into separate bags. every nite come hm, tk out frm her ifc bag & drop a new bag in. the previous ifc allow us to deposit a whole bag of diapers at the ctr (u can keep track of their usage by noting whn u give them & hw many pcs they use a day) or like my current one which requires us to bring in a certain qty every day.
i washed bb's clothes separately frm ours till she was abt 7mths old. i used the mini egg washing machine. after 7mths old, i jus used our adult washing machine but separate loads.

how to noe how the ifc is taking care of bb:
most ifcs will hv a record book (either in the ctr, or a book bb bring hm every day). this bk will tell u wat times they chg bb a day (wet or soiled), wat times r the feeds (ebm/fm r detailed wif the qty, wat solids they eat), wat time they bathe & wat r their nap times.

if nid more discussion abt ifc for bbs, can pm me

oh ya, they usu hv a menu of wat they feed the bbs whn they start solids. if u dun wanna start bb on solids after 6 mths (as in i started my gal's cereals at 7mths & porridge ard 11mths), u can tell the ifc.
u can also request them to give u a copy of the menu so dat u can consider wat u wanna replace frm hm.
if u r not following their menu 100%, u can write them a note of wat to feed ur bb daily

hope this helps!

des,
glad dat i made u feel more at ease.

my mum cldn't help wif bb cos she's working & stay far frm me. mil din wan to help long term. din trust a maid to stay hm wif bb alone. din trust nanny. ifc was our most trusted. so thr goes! my gal has been wif ifc for almost a yr. though thr r frustrations whn she fall sick, we try to view it as part & parcel of growing up
they will be stronger & hv better immunity than other kids ;p

just found out that I may have antiphospholipid syndrome. think doc will be putting me on aspirin.
does anyone here experience the same problem too? am trying to figure out what else can we do to reduce this syndrome, in terms of more natural ways eg the type of food to take, exercise, chinese herbs, accupuncture, etc.
thks for advice

hi juju thanks!! That's useful information abt ifc. =) at least i am assured how my baby is being taken care. I know abt baby falling sick but i physco myself i am building up the immunity. Will send bb there when bb is 4 mths..as i most prob will extend my ML till bb 4 mths.

Hazel, yup knew abt washing clothes separately coz detergent diff. That's why buying a dryer...coz my colleague who just returned from ML and her girl in IFC told me she washes everyday and dryer comes in useful. Guess sleeping late is part and parcel of taking care the baby.

gan,
dat's my pov la. but be prepared for pressure frm relatives & frens lor. mil sent her "gang" to my plc during my confinement (whn hb not ard) to pressure me agst ifc, but she din wan to help tk care. was very stressed dat time. best thing was none of them was gonna help me. keep telling me to get maid & say mil wl help. duhz...

Hey, w regards to storage bag, usually u cannot pump directly to the storage bag. Lansinoh milk bag are meant for storage only (unless u can find a way to secure to your pump). If you are using medela pump, u can find the medela pump and store bag which cost ard 60 cents per pc.

I have ard 6 storage bottle so that I can pump using them, after that, pour the EBM into the storage bag to be kept in the fridge or freezer.

Ju, mini egg washing machine? How do that look like and cost?

Gan, hahaha....depending on ur bb, it may not be jus sleeping late, it can potentially be sleeping v little...except for last nite, I have been sleeping only 2-3 hrs every nite.....

Mummies, I found a way (hopefully this is the way) to make BB Alvis sleep after his feed. I feel so fresh this morning...going to try it again tonite...and if it works...YEAH! I'm going to get more n more slp and I'll be a better mummy soon!!!!

Yah,
Still have to get 1-4 bottles for pumping and then transfer to milk bags for storage. I bought 2 medela bottles to go with my pump. Once i start work, maybe will need to get 2 more if you are pumping 2x during work.

Happyhippo,
How did your doc found out about your condition?

I am on aspirin too but it's due to bilateral uterine notches (blood flow to baby is slow). I didn't take any tcm just in case it clashes with the aspirin. I just continue with daily activities, balanced diet and move as much as can to improve blood circulation, without tiring myself.

stb,
many mummies selling theirs. u can search in wts. its gd jus dat no spin dry. but i like their function cos anti bacterial.
great to hear dat alvis is slping more. yeah! u r getting bk ur beauty slp!

Bakaholic, can use pigeon storage bottle too...They are cheaper than medela's. Pigeon's one will fit medela pump, just that u hv to careful when pumping coz not a 100% perfect fit. So far for me, they works v well....

des
you are due in Aug leh, cant keep ebm till then for you :p

singapoh
ya, planning to stop in 1-2 months time cos supply din really drop. i cant reduce frequency further cos i will feel engorged if i dun express at max 4 hours +