IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bbhp, have more rest and do take care.

vi4n and bbhp, thanks for advice will check with dr loh when i see him and asked for calcium pills. i know soyamilk is good but a sister in ivf thread mentioned before soyamilk is "liang"?? and another sister mentioned after drinking soyamilk trigger her spotting. Because of my experience of spotting and bleeding in my early pregnancy, i am very hesitant now to take soyabean milk coz very scared will trigger what i dun want.
Maybe i will try drink alittle milk again tomorrow and double confirm really due to milk, i became a merlion. if yes, will ask for calcium pills.

vi4n
jus clean the navel using luke warm cooked water will do
and my mum and mil told me to keep the umbilical cord esp 1st child

Linda, the dried umbilical cord I made to the stamp together with the tai mao.;)
when bathing her already with warm water, still need purposely clean it again?

Wah today really a whole day outing for me n the little one. I know I'm supposed to be on confinement but he he..
10am out from house to TMC, do the birth cert then wanna do baby bonus but i didn't bring any bank statement because I thought the ocbc there can print for me. So can't do.
Then saw my gynae I'm left with 800grm to my pre pregnancy weight yay...
Baby took picture with the dr ;)
then we went to do the umbilical cord n taimao stamp. Then bb took her first bus ride to novena mrt.
Then we had lunch then went to posb to get the bank statement.then went to novena square nursing room to nurse her then off we went to TMC again. Done with the baby bonus then nurse again then we went home.
Jus finished pumping n can get 100 ml. Wow..

I just wash the navel when I bathe them. I keep the cord and some hair together in an ang pau. Keep them in a high place like the wardrobe.

Des, not ocbc who needs it but the govt. It s either the bank saving book or latest bank statement with your name on it.

Little girl doesn't know mah. ;) I was always happy when people said my tummy is big means baby is growing well ;)

singapoh, then if u forget about it how? ;)

btw u used the stored bm FIFO or LIFO?

Singapoh, if me will forget one lo.
The other day I need to look for 1 imp doc n I practically have to take out every thing in every drawers to find it.

ok noted on FIFO

Bbhp,
Glad that your feet are not as swollen now. Take gd care and hang on for another few more weeks. ;)
I'll be going for the 20 week detailed scan tomorrow. Hope that just like you, what Dr Loh said about the genders 2 months ago is true.

Gan,
Yes my EDD is in mid Nov, so I'll most likely deliver in oct as I'm carrying twins.
I had lactose intolerance in trimester 1. Everytime I drink milk, I would get diarrhea a few hours later. So I stopped drinking milk for 3 months and tried to take more yogurt, cheese and soybean milk instead. But when I took yoghurt with empty stomach, I would feel bloated and uncomfortable. Since some books say that yoghurt can ease MS, I continued taking it but make sure that I don't take with empty stomach and it seems better.
I just started to attend the antenatal class. The dietician advised those who are lactose intolerance to take more calcium fortified soybean milk instead. So I think it should be safe to take soybean milk during pregnancy.
Oh by the way, my morning sickness is also getting worst from week 13 onwards. When I was in trimester 1, I had nausea frequently but only vomited twice. Once I reach trimester 2, I start to vomit often, like once in every 2 or 3 days. Feeling quite bad cos I'm trying to eat more now so that babies can gain weight but yet can't eat well.

Vi4n,
I thought you are not supposed to have a whole day outing during the first 2 weeks of your confinement?

Bing, I'm a bad example of confinement rules follower.

anyway my mil n sil were with me and it wad one thing delays to another thing to caused the whole day outing lo.

i'm shopping around for breast pump and steriliser. do u have any recommendation on which is a good brand and model? is electric better than manual? normally how many mths/years do u breast feed for?

also do most of you use milk storage bags or u just store in the bottles and freeze it?

happyhippo: Im using Medela Swing. It's electric and if u r gonna pump ferquently, electric would definitely be better. I read somewhere after buuying my pump that double pumps is better n it stimulates milk supply better.
Min. u sud beastfeed for 6months. U can stop anytime after that

Hope this is useful for u. How long before the baby arrives? all the best and congrats

Happyhippo, I have both but I can tell u I only use the electric. Use manual very labourous.. ;)

At the beginning like me now not producing much, I store using bottle because normally the storage bag store a lot kind . So wasted if u storing like 30-50 ml kind.
And also at beginning the turnover of the store bm is very fast. So can u imagine if u store at 8am then 11am u need to use it then that storage bag wasted already as it is not reusable.
Don't know if u get what I mean or not.

Hi mummies and MTBs, went for my NT scan yesterday. baby is growing on track and neck thickness is good at 1.7mm. But due to the position of the baby, the doc can't see the nasal bone clearly. for a moment 1 of the scan, he thinks he saw the bone but baby later shifted abit and use the hand to block his/her face. i was pacing up and down ADC for 30mins hopping baby will turn but he/she didn't. But very cute to see the baby kicking and sucking his/her thumb.
Doc says he think he saw the nasal bone but didn't want to guess and as i was a borderline low, i.e. just met the 1/300 ratio, he didn't advise me do a amino but asked me go for another droppler scan 2 weeks later. i googled and i think this scan will check the blood flow and also rechecked the nasal bone.
Like to check with mummies/MTBs who went cameden, how many weeks do u go there for scan? I am thinking if i should go, baby is considered low risk but was thinking at least cameden checked for thoroughly coz yesterday scan dr seems to be concentrating on measuring the neck thickness and looking for nasal bone but the report did indicate the rest all normal though i dun remember him scanning leh. Is this ur experience during kkh scan?

My age ratio is already 1/133, really reduce drastically as u age.

Gan, main objective of NT scan at KKH is not to check bb's organs. Your lucky u met a diligent doctor. The one who did for me dun bother. She only checked limps n brains. My bb's nasal bone was not well seen at 11 wks also. Detailed Organs scan is at 20 wks when they r more developed.

Camden doc will show u on screen bb's organs n labelled them & give u all the photos in a CD. Camden scans at 14 & 22 wks. If u do 14 wks scan there, u will ask to do 22 wks scan there too.

hazel, yesterday dr was patient and he was careful in checking the neck thickness and trying to see the nasal bone. But i dun remember him scannin the brain or others.....he did point to me baby head, legs, body etc. But u know on our report kkh gives, they did put down bladder, brain etc......but i dun remember him mentioning abt all these organs when he scan loh.

I am 12 weeks 2 days now...so guess if i want to go cameden must make appt now?

Gan, my report put 'not checked' for most bb's organs. Camden is quite full usually & has to book as early as possible. If u tell dr loh u r doing 22 wks scan at Camden, he will skip the 20 wks scan at KKH coz no pt doing so many times n disturb bb.

Hazel thanks, i called camden yesterday, the nurse was nice to expain the scan that prof will do. i told her kkh has scheduled me for a FT doppler scan 2 weeks later and asked if ok i go for the scan with prof in my 15th week. she advised no coz not good to scan so many times. she asked me to discuss with hubby whether to do with kkh te doppler scan or with camden. hmmm actually that day was so overwhelmed with seeing bb kicking etc that i forgotten to ask what does kkh FT doppler scan does. Guess have to email Dr Loh and asked but not sure if he would reply.

I have a piece of good news and also not so good news to share with you. Maybe some of you have friends who encountered this and can give me some advice?

The good news is that the 20 wks detailed scan on Tue confirmed that I'm carrying a boy and a girl. Dr Loh is indeed quite experienced to be able to tell the genders accurately at 11 wks. My dh and I were overjoyed to find ou the genders.

However, towards the end of the scan, the sonographer found out that the measurement for the posterior horn of the lateral ventricle is 10.7mm, exceeding the cut off value of 10mm. The sonographer arranged for the principal sonographer to take the reading again to double check. During the second scan, the reading is slightly out of the range again.

We had an appointment with Dr Loh after that and we were hoping that he would just brush off this subject reassuring us that the slightly off doesn't really matter. However, he took it quite seriously and told us that the value indicates a 3% risk for the boy to have Down's Syndrome. He gave us the option to go for amnio test to confirm any abnormality but I have to do it by the end of this week as I'm already in 20wks. He told me that the risk of miscarriage is greatly increased to 2% as I'm carrying twins. And any abortion is to be done before 24 wks. He also highlighted that for those carrying twins, aborting 1 baby will affect the growth of the remaining one and is will greatly affect the mum's health as no D&C can be done when the other baby is still growing inside the womb. We asked Dr Loh whether he had encountered any cases whereby fetus with such readings were born healthy and he said most of them were born healthy.

We've scheduled for a amnio test this Fri but after doing some readings and weighing the pros and cons, my dh and I decided that most likely we won't go for the amnio test. The fetus look really adorable, bearing our features and we can't bear to do anything that maybe harmful to them. We considered going for a second opinion at Camden but we after doing some research, we found that the cut off value of 10mm is universal and even if we do another test at Camden, the reading maybe slightly off again and we will most likely be asked to do the amnio test.

Since abortion is out for us as we've tried so hard for the pregnancy and have already come so far, we decided to leave it as it is and just monitor the width of the lateral ventricles closely.

The readings has caused great anxiety. Even though I googled and found that the width of between 10-12mm for the lateral ventricles is quite common overseas and the pregnancy will most likely be normal.

Bing,

U have already got your answer. Go with your heart and hope for the best. As long as u are prepared for any outcome, that is the most important.

Did u do the NT scan earlier ? If they are structurally ok then, most likely the 20 wks scan is just a scare. But if u don't do amnio, u never will get the answer now.

Gan, I was asked to rescan at 16 wks then but I skip that since I scanned at Camden at 14 wks.

Bing, I support with your decision. Since u r carrying twins, aborting one is out since will affect the healthy one. Since the decision Is made, dun fret anymore. The risk is there but it does not mean it will happen. Whatever the outcome, we hv no control. So stay positive n happy and pray. All will be fine.

Bubbybear,
Yes, I did the first trimester screening earlier. The blood tests combined with the NT measurement gave a risk of about 1:5000 for Trisomy 21 for both fetus. And the risk for Trisomy 18 & 13 is even lower. Since the readings are fine, my dh and I think that the measurement this time could be just a scare and we've told ourselves not to worry too much.

Nobody is able to confirm anything now unless we do the amnio test. Since we've more or less decided not to take the risk now, we are also prepared for any outcome.
The good news is that there are cases whereby the slightly enlarged lateral ventricles of the fetus shrink back to the normal size after being monitored for a few weeks. We hope that will happen to our baby too..

Bing - I agree with bubbybear ... it is not 100% confirm that ur boy would have down syndrome ...My aunt share a story with me about the couple whom doctor certified that the baby is confirmed down syndrome but the parents stick to their decision to keep the baby and true enuf after delivery the baby is normal and healthy up to today ... so follow ur heart and just monitor closely ...since bth of u had decided to keep the boy no matter what happen then keep it .... hugz for you

Thanks for your support and encouragement. I think staying positive and pray is the best thing we can do now. My dh and I don't intend to tell other family members or friends to cause unnecessary worries. Moreover, they won't understand the stress we had gone thru trying to conceive and how precious the 2 babies mean to us.
Sharing with you guys here makes me feel better.

bubblybear my EDD is 10 Jan. =) urs?

The dr who scans me say my womb is acutely retroverted. Normal pple's bb is abt 3cm below the tummy skin, mine is 7cm! Initially i tot i was fat that's why so low but dr says no, it's the retroverted womb'. =p

gan
Originally, is 2-Jan. But last week scan estimated 29-Dec. But they still keep the original date.

Oh, so with your retroverted womb when pregnancy progresses, will your stomach be extremely low ?
What's the risk ?

bubbybear, dr didn't mention any risk but said as my bb grow the womb will tilt forward, i.e. Why i ca only do tummy scan when i a abt 9 weeks, before that if tummy scan can only see bladder.
O
Hazel, dr loh never replies my email abt the doppler scan and my medication, maybe not impt.....i asked him do i take the duphaston to end of 12 weeks coz i short of 2 days, if yes need prescription to buy. Hmmmm

Gan, u can call and look for his assistant. I can't remember her name. Just call KKH mainline and asked to be transferred to Dr Loh's office. Get her to follow up with Dr Loh for you...I did that when I was urgently checking on something before my delivery....

Bing- think postively, I think shd be a scare bah. I got a fren her bb neck thickness is higher than normal she didnt do further testing and go ahead with her pregnancy. Her gal is normal and healthy. Dun worry so much, your worry will affect the bbs.

juju78
I read ur post "i've been using medela/pigeon/nuk/glass btls wif my medela & pigeon pumps. no issues wif the fitting. "

just curious why u use all diff brands of bottles. did u find any difference in the different brand of bottles, like which brand has what pros and cons.

i also see tat u use both medela & pigeon pumps? how did u find both brands? which model u using?u didnt try Avent breastpump?

sorry so many qns. i'm now shopping around, so many brands and some many accessories, see till i blur and confused.

Itjabi,
thks for the info. my EDD is dec.

Vi4n
which brand/model of the electric pump r u using? single or double?
i'm deciding between getting one double electric or one single manual for home use and one single electric for office use. mad or not?

hi bliss and bee,
back to your question about missing baby. if 1st child, definitely a 'yes' if don't see baby for even a few hours. But now with no. 2, not so bad. I can give more attention to focus on older boy's homework during weekdays. And even if i struggle to fetch her to and from babysitter house, will also affect her sleeping. Before daylight comes, have to wake her from sleep and drive to babysitter house. As i start work at 8am, so not quite possible. For weekends, we make sure do nothing but bond with her. For early baby stage is alright as think by the time she grows up, don't think she can even recall there was a babysitter looking after her.

hi bing,
i still BF by pumping out and store frozen BM into milk bags to pass to babysitter once a week. So for the feeding part no issue. And now that baby starts solid food, also no increase in price. One thing good about babysitter is less prone to illness but educational part is no good. As baby ended up watching tv whole day. This babysitter not very educated, also cannot ask her to do stimulating stuff with baby.

Bing, since you have made the decision, what you can do now is only to pray for your babies for perfectly healthy development. =)
No joke that you definitely will feel worry, but stay positive for babies sake ok.
somemore the no. is only slightly over.

Happyhippo, i'm using Medela PIS dual pump. though most of the time i use 1 pump only, why because i worry i will wear off both very fast. hahaha.. so take turn.
honestly once you used the electric you will not go for the manual. because it is time consuming and you just want to pump quickly so you can rest too.

Gan, for the medicine, I didn't take to exactly 12 wks either. For the scan, maybe he thinks that is your decision after all where u wan to do it. So he nv reply. Like me, I went to camden n thereafter cancel my scheduled 16 wks scan

Bing,

Congrats that you have 'long feng tai'! Dr Loh is really good at bbs gender though you are just week 11.

During my detailed scan at week 12, the sonographer also detected that one of my bb's heartbeat is abnormal. So I truly understand the anxiety you went though at that point in time. We waited for Dr George Yeo(Head Sonographer) to reconfirm and was told that the reading was "good enough" for bb at week 12. During my appt with Dr Loh, he asked us to trust Doc instead of the Sonographer. We felt so much relieved after getting the reassurance from Dr Loh.

Your bb's reading is just slightly off the normal range, things may not turn out that bad. Since you and your hb have decided, be positive and hope for the best.

happyhippo,
cos pigeon/nuk/glass btls passed down frm sil. i bot medela btls wif my medela pump

but at the last fair, i traded in all the old btls. now left medela & glass btls liaoz. din even touch the glass nuk btls i bot.
im using medela mini electric (single) & pigeon manual pump. both ok. of cos manual is more tedious.

if u r pumping after gg bk to work, better buy a dual pump. we wanted to save money, so only bot single pump.
dual pump will save u time so dat u still hv time to eat ur lunch. my experience wif single manual pump is it takes up to an hr to pump both sides. nw, i use the electric on 1 side & manual on the other, i use half an hr maximum

hazel, stb dr loh replied me liao....he said i can stop the hormone pills now. Guess the placenta is taking over. For doppler scan, he just mention is to reassess the risk of ds.
I never mention abt camden. For camden scan, do they check the blood flow to bb heart too? Thks

Hazel thanks...i am almost likely 80% thinking of going Camden, since need to do another scan 2 weeks later, as well do a more detailed scan. As doppler scan seems to concentrate on blood flow based on what i google on web site.
I guess will have to inform Dr Loh if I am going Camden right? Tell him i will go camden instead of doing the FT doppler scan at kkh?

Gan, I dun think there is a need to. Doppler scan is scheduled by ADC isn't it? Anyway is optional. For couples who are willing to accept the child regardless of outcome. There isn't a need to do this extra test isn't it? U just hv to show dr loh's the Camden report in your next wk. He will make a copy & keep inside ur KKH file. You will know ur bb sex at 14 wks also. The scan at 14 wks at Camden is no different from the detailed check done at 20+ wks scan. U will see all your bb's organs. Just a matter of whether we understand or not. But prof will point n label for u. Some CD foots will capture bb's movements too

Gan, glad to see that baby ho is growing well..

during my scan, one of the babies was also blocking the face...then dr cheng use the scanner to shake my tummy quite violently a few times! haha..then baby moved and he managed to see the nasal bone. me and hb got a scare...:p

Hazel doppler scan was advised by the doc who scans me as i just met the "passing mark". it's free by the way, and seems like only wed and fri ADC have the scan, 2 slots in the afternoon. ya, u r right, guess i can just cancel my appt if i go camden.

Pandawife, Dr also use the scanner to shake my tummy, but not violently la, so my baby still didn't want to turn to a better position and kept sucking the thumb. Maybe coz of my retroverted womb, baby is too low to few the "earthquake". In fact, i was ask to walk up and down the clinic for 1/2 hr hopping baby will turn to a better position.

Gan, u were told it was free? The 16 wks scan which I was supposed to I was not told it was free. Prof will scan very long. Whole process plus talking to him is 1 hr