IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Vi, hang on there...u saw my earlier postings after I've delivered. I aso have problems latching Alvis initially...but now, he's able to latch on with some fuss, when I don't position him correctly. Other than that, everything is okay liao...the only thing is I'm lazy to pump after latching since he only drank from 1 breast..hehehehe...i will rather sleep.....

It will be a big tough initially, but u will get the hang of it very soon..keep trying...or get the LC help. I also called my appointed LC in KKH a few times for advises....

Bing, though mine came up to 8K, we have only paid close to 4k in cash, the rest are covered using CPF...My case is what Hazel has mentioned, aborted natural + emergency c-sect...and ohhh, I use "tonnes" of epi....hehehehe

Bliss, so when's ur planned date for c-sect? DH and I have already discussed next bb, sure do c-sect, don't need to go thru this anymore since we know that epi doesn't work for me, and my "passage" way is too narrow...which Dr Loh told me when I was 7cm dilated...DH was saying if he was there when Dr Loh told me abt this, he wld have asked me to go thru to c-sect, then I won't have to go thru the pain this badly despite using so much epi and then do emergency c-sect......

Linda, ya, my MIL aso taking care of the bb without asking for anything...she's more than happy to take care of the bb while i rest in my room or do my own things...Alvis is her bao-bei now. It's me, the MUMMY, who cannot stand her kancheong-ness.....other than that, I can close 1 eye. DH asked me to give her more time to overcome that kancheong-ness.

Bliss, with regards to our housing loan, we have bot our condo only 2 years ago at a high price. Right now, we are paying the mthly amt using our CPF, without cash. I hv done a check, even if I were to stop working for 9 mths, my CPF will still be able to manage pay for my share....the only thing is if I'm not able to find a job after that, probably can just tahan a few mths using dh's CPF, but after that, we'll have to fork out cash to top up every month.....

Sometimes, I do think if we were still staying in our HDB flat, it is definitely a no issue for me to jus stop working for 9 mths or 1 yr to care for Alvis...everything is jus so much cheaper....

Though the house is a heavy commitment for us, we have no regrets, coz this is our very 1st present to Alvis...hehehehe

stb,
my elective delivery date will probably be 5 July, which will be in 2 weeks time.

Oic, no wonder, condo is much more exp. Hehehe, 1st present to Alvis?? you stayed there for 2 years liao rite? Cannot be present for Alvis lah, excuse huh...kekeke... :p

Ya, same as what Singapoh said, it is v v tiring to be SAHM, I think it will be better for you to work as ftwm lah, since your mil is so nice to help you.
How I wish I have such good mil wor.

Bing,

There is a difference of approximate $1500 on the amount of cash to fork out for class A1 and B1. The charges for A1 and B1 are pretty standard, but because we are having twins, the nursury charge will be doubled compared to singleton. If i'm having singleton, I will definitely go for A1 but looking at the figure and taking into consideration that I'll likely going for c-sect, I have to opt for B1. If no complications and bbs no need to stay in ICU then I still can upgrade the package. Dr Loh did not tell me when to start HL but he wants me to rest as much as possible, given that my feet are as swollen as pig's trotters. When I asked him for 1 week HL, he was more than happy to give it to me lor. I din expect my feet would give me so much problem as early as week 30.
I'll be going to office next week to do my handover, probably will start my HL thereafter liao.

singapoh,
eh? i was told bb can go w/o milk for 5hrs if slping. then must wake bb up.

vi,
use nipple shield to protect ur nipples when pumping or latching. use breast shell so dat ur nipples dun contact anything whn u wear clothes. after latching or pumping, squeeze out some bm to rub on nipples then air dry.
lucky u got tcm to cfrm u r heaty base. my mil dun believe such things. i kena fever frm too much heaty food

stb,
issit possible to take no pay leave frm ur coy?

Ladies, to be honest, I seriously enjoy working than staying at home to jus to take care of bb full time..however, the consideration of being a SAHM only came about when I c how my MIL handles the bb when she's kancheong due to my son's crying loudly....I jus have to guide my MIL lor, and hopefully she will be more zhai by the time i go back to work.

Ju, take no pay leave? Hahaha, i think my boss can't wait to get rid of me....if take no pay leave, he will ask me stay at home permanently....hehehhee........

Bliss, cannot like that say lar..wahahha...though Alvis's mummy and daddy are the ones enjoying the facilities now...when we were scouting for a new place 2 years back, we did consider where and what type of property to buy so that we can pass it down to our kids next time..You can say that I planned too far. My ex boss ever told me in another 20-30 years times, which will be our kids' generation, they will not be able to afford to own a property, likely to be like HK, where most people will only afford to rent a place. After I shared this w my DH, we agreed that we shld get a freehold so that it can be on-passed to our kids, we may not leave them a lot in the future, but at least a property to them....

bbhp,
Is your blood pressure and urine test ok? Must take care ok? Me have swollen hands and feet all the time. Have to sit down or move around from time to time to ease it. My gynae says it's normal to swell as long my bp and urine test is fine.

stb,
yes yes, I agreed. My hb and I also have been thinking and planning for years of getting a landed property one day, so that our future genereations will be staying in pte houses, and no more hdb flats. But then we dont consider condo at all, we dont like condo, v exp and v small space area leh. Best is freehold landed property lah...hahaha, must dream more and then dream will come true...

Dont worry, I am sure ur mil will be v zhai by then.

bakaholic & stb - me also have been having swollen feet and poor dear hubby will have to massage my feet often or i will have to raise my legs .... ask me doctor ytd n she say normal

BBhp,
Oh dear, your feet start to swell now? Did you try propping your feet up and reducing salt intake? It's better to rest more at home now. Take care!

Hazel,
I also bought the hospitalization plan. According to my financial planner, anything to do with fertility treatment is not covered by the plan. However, she told me that some of her clients went for laproscopy to unblock the fallopian tubes or sugery to remove cyst/ fibroid in order to help in fertility and manage to claim from the insurance company. So long as the doc doesn't state fertility issue as the reason for doing the op will be fine.

bing,
i was able to claim for my stay in hosp due to ohss... i was surprised... after that, i upgraded my hosp plan last yr and now it includes pregnancy complications as well but of cos not on the ivf procedure itself..

stb,
first grandchild is like that.... somemore ur MIL no experience...give her some time... it's only been like a few weeks... she'll be more or less ok when u go back to work... my mum also... but now she's more zai... my maid has to be around to help with the cleaning and assist her with the baby like washing bottles if not she can't cope...

hazel
yes..i work in the hosp setting, and somehow i am covering with certain amt as medical staff.

vi4n
keep trying, dun give up..me right now although both breast only produce 50-60mls of bm, but i still latch my boy whenevr he likes, and top up with fm

stb
ya..we are lucky to have nice mil ard to look after our son, which for me it does help me a lot and also save a lot...now my mil also act as CL during tis 1 mth plus she still doing housework...so tis ML period i will try to look after my son totally, cos i know if i back to work i wont have the energy to look after him comletely liao

as for SAHM i nvr thought of tis, cos i love my current job so much and also finacially can help out somehow

stb,
ur boss so bad ah? hmm... u & ur hb r the best to decide whether u can be sahm for a yr or not la. if bo bian, then let ur mil take care full time la. anyway, still got 2 more mths for her to be familiarised wif taking care of bb after such a big time gap.

singapoh, linda and stb do u need to wash bb clothes everyday? Is it alot of washing? If my home is small, necessary to have a dryer to dry bb clothes? Thks

Bing, unblocked of fallopian tube is to rectify a woman's prob n hence need not relate to fertility. All my HSG check to check tube blockage my company also pays for me without questions though fertility is not covered. Blocked tubes are defectives that need to be correct though it affect fertility. I hv polyps removed via day surgery too & insurance paid everything too. Though polyps r linked to fertility, but still it may affect a woman's health. Coz polyps can cause excessive bleeding.

Wat Is not covered is fertility treatments. Ie, ivf, so-iui, etc. The rest of the procedures to correct fertility prob r coveted as they r health issues too. Ivf patients once pregnant are no diff from other patients who r pregnant naturaaly. The risk of miscarriage is the same also. Thus, insurance if they cover miscarriage, will cover this too. Just tt, there is a higher risk of having multiples n that may give rise to complications. Thus, the compulsory GE insurance policy.

singapoh,
oh ok. anyway, jodie went thru 1 feed for 5hrs only once, she kept slping thru'out. but she drank the same amt after she woke up. wonder why she's not hungry. lol

i will be starting the trial to let my inlaws take care of my boy in few weeks to a month time, progressively for 1d, increase to 3d and then 5d though i am gg back to work in Nov only. i will be hanging around at inlaws place till they can handle (boring and inconvenient rite!!!). well, mil hinted b4 it's chicken feet to take care of baby. i hope there will be minimal conflicts cos she likes to do things her way. i realised i am a fussy woman and likes to do things my way too! so... wish me luck!

juju, hope lil jodie has recovered from her fever!

Vi, hang in there, you will be able to let ur gal latch on properly soon. i also hv sore nipples initially and need to use breast shields

bliss, my DH thinks likewise on landed propety... we can all dream together :D

wah... kkh bill like not cheap leh. my 1 bedded room (4 days) for assisted delivery at TMC was abt $6,300 and after medisave & medishield deduction, cash paid out was $2,800. Bb package was abt $1,250 and after deduction, we paid $200

We paid cash $3.1k for elective c section. 1st night stay in deluxe single, 2nd night till today standard single. Hubby stayed with me fully.
I'm home. Yup laching pumping latching...
Now sleeping...
I can pump up to 40ml now.
My sil bought medela pis for me to use. Engorgement better already.
Will try to use nipple shield.
Lc said I have protruded top part of nipple that's why that portion surely will sore.
Bb refused left breast because of the hard work. But jus now she can lach for 4mins.
Ok need to sleep now before the next session of pumping

I jus tried using nipple shield to pump n can not because my nipple is too big for it.
Anyway successfully pump out 30ml total from both breast.

Btw, night feeding wake baby up or let her sleep on till
she cry?
Her last feed was at midnight,

Gan,

wash bb clothes daily if u dun hv enough of them. Now I machine wash every other day. Everything is double. Laundry rack is always full.

I use 1 towel for each twin and change daily.

Stb,
I added you to my facebook cos i saw you have a friend that i know too.
Small world.

Singapoh,
if feed bb every 3 hrs, that includes nights too? Will it become a habit that bb will wake up few times a night to feed then?

bakaholic...i was oso thinking of the same qn...my mum told me if bb guai guai sleep..dun disturb them...i oso dunno which is correct practise...but alot of literature does say tht newborns hv to b fed every 3 hours.

Bakaholic,

it's not whether it will become a habit or not, newborn needs to be feed every 3 hours and also we need to work on our supply in the early weeks. Even if yr bb miss the feed, u will still need to stimulate yr breast every 3 hrs.

Similar to Sleep training (train bb to zzz through the nite), it is not advisable to train bb under 6 months coz they need those feeds. Milk is still the main source of food for that age group.

Last nite, Alvis woke up for feed every 2 hrs but drank v little...other nites, I will try to wake him up every 3-4 hrs to bf....if dun wake him up hor, his lips are usually v dry, worried that he's dehydrated...

Bakaholic, wat's ur nick on fb?

Ju, my boss is an emo person...though we were ex colleagues and he was the one who brought me in to join him, we are havin a lot of conflicts due to his mistress in the ofc...aiya, scandal...

Bliss, Bee, let's dream abt our pte landed property together....dh n I eyeing landed now...but no money...8(

Singapoh/Ju/Bee- My boy like having milk strike. on sat i intro avocado to him (late morning), he doesnt like it, BM intake slightly drop.
Sunday I gave him again (late morning), he again doesnt like it. BM intake drop too. both avocado servings didnt finished in fact took only a bit nia.
Monday solely BM but he didnt finished his usual intake, then he didnt poo at all.
Tuesday late morning finally poo but a bit solid. BM intake drop to half bottle of his usual intake. his stomach flatten leh. He seems hungry but everytime give him BM, he drinks then stop and does wanna finish it......
How huh? dunno is it teething, does teething makes him doesnt wanna drink milk?
Btw do u all eat durian? Sunday and monday nite I took durian dunno does it affect the BM? When I pregnant I took durian but in the end I vomit out, wondering is it becos my bb doesnt like durian???

twinstars,
hw abt porridge or other food? he ok to take? maybe he wld eat other food?

i had durian some time back, jodie still ok wif my bm. i din realli take durian during preggie leh.

Thanks singapoh. Then I will try for regular milk feeds during my ML. Once i start work, then have to adjust accordingly.

Stb,
My nick is sptan.

my boy okay with avocado but i mix it with pear or apple... try other food since your boy doesnt really like avocado... for my case, my boy milk intake drops bcos i use btl in day time which is not his preferred choice. its ok not to poo a day, give him water since he has started solids. is ur boy drooling yet? you can touch his gum to check if his teeth are coming out... i din try eating durian b4 feeding

Twinstars,

try mashed banana with avocado. If he still doesn't like it, re introduce after a few weeks. I haven't eaten durian for months. I had curry, Assam when I bf my big son. He accepted it.

stb
Just do it, if u want to be a SAHM for 1 yr. There will always be jobs around, but being mum is an opportunity in a lifetime, enjoy your motherhood. Another thing your ex-boss said about housing affordability is very true and don't think you are planning too far. We are doing the same thing slogging away and want the best for the our kids. Hopefully by that time, they can have a headstart in life and both DH and me can enjoy our retirement. Dreams do come true ! Slowly upgrade lor !

Twinstars
How old is your boy ? Teething can cause some discomfort on the gums, may be painful when they try to bite and suck on the teats. Its ok, when they don't feel like eating. When they are hungry they will eat, but your bb is still eating, so no worries.

juju
u stay near thomson plaza ? When I'm back in spore, also frequent TP frequently, maybe we met before. The Dim Sum restuarant there is great !

How I know how much she should drink per feed?
She suckled right breast 25mins which I confirmed got good milk flow + 20ml ebm. But after bath she hungry again. I read from breastfeeding book she should drink about 60ml my assumption so gave her fm 40ml. Only then she happily sleep now.
I don't wanna overfeed her lo.

Last night she woke up at 4am. In hospital said last fed around 11-12midnight next feed will be 3-4am. So i will not wake her up for feed for now. I will jus pump or latch every 3 hrs.

u wont know how much ur bb needs if she latch on... but most bb finish feeding on each breast in 10-15 mins but some may take up to 20 or 30 mins. why arent u letting her suclek left breast leh? sore? my LC then said that, i shd let my boy suckle even if sore, somehow can help to cure faster

my sis's boy who is 10d older than ur gal drinks abt 60ml ebm after discharged. now at D17, he is drinking 100ml ebm. but every bb is different. my sis lazy, prefers not to latch on

bubbybear,
abt 10mins drive away. i was itching for coffee, so went to the ntuc thr lor

vi,
i take my cue frm jodie. when she wanna latch, i let her. she unlatch herself whn she has enuff. or if she stop suckling, i will "kachiao" her until she suckle then stop for good/sleep, then i unlatch her

Hi Sisters,

Juz wonder does anyone faced problem with arranging a C-sect date with KKH ? In April, I told Dr Loh that i want to do C-sect and he chosen a date n time for me but last mth when i went for my routine checkup, i checked with the nurse, then to my horror, they did not pre-book the OT/slot for me and everything is not confirm to-date. I was quite pissed off with the service that they rendered. If last minutes, they said no slot, they what shld I do ?

Ju- the 1st solid is the brown rice cereal "Healthy times" (recommended by Bee) and mixed with ebm. Give him for 4 days, he seems okie with it, but of cos didnt finish the cereal.
Then I let him rest for 2 days then start avocado.
Bee- he has been drooling since 5 mth old(i think), and always chew his thumb and fingers.
Singapoh- I personally dun eat curry and assam, I dun drink coffee and tea too so I cant compare whether my BM he likes or not if I am eating "exciting" food.
bubbybear- my boy is 6+ mths old