IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

congrats vi4d!!!

U went for GA c sect.. How come u will know they insert the catherer? I tot GA c sect no need catherer? Even if need.. Not insert after u are given GA?? Its inserted when u are awake?? Wont it be v painful?

Baby, ya this time catheter was inserted when I was still awake. No pain jus slight discomfort. Jus relax then it's ok already. ;)

vi4n
for me evrything is painful, from epidural insertion, urine cathter insertion, uterus contraction, and lastly the labour pain ...lol

hazel
glad to hear tat...do it when u r ready...i got one fren who did fresh ivf with me last yr, and she got bfn...but jus 2 days ago, she sms me said that her fet success with high hcg, btw she also under dr loh

Linda, dr loh is a gd doctor & skilful. I hv catheter inserted many times by different doc. Yesterday, dr loh inserted catheter into my vagina, he was swift n no pain. I asked for blood test also to check if m ovulating properly already. He said dun need, he scans he can tell n true enough.

I know very well for my case is really luck coz I dun hv underlying problems. Dr Loh told me yesterday my 2 Fallopian tubes r well too. I m ready to get pregnant again.. Just that I want to let nature takes it own course for a few mths coz after a m/c, hormones level r higher. Who knows, luck may knock on my doors n I may strike naturally.

Morning ladies...
How long does it take to be able to feed baby properly? Yesterday tried to feed bottle but baby didn't wanna drink n vomit all out. Then jus refuse to drink but sleep cozily on my body.
I'm one such clumsy mommy. Today will try to bf more often.

Vi,

newborn usually take 30 to 1 hr. U can try burping her b4 a feed especially if she cries prior to feeding. Also burp her in between.

How come u r feeding her with a bottle now? Later she rejects yr nipples u headache unless u wanna pump all the way la

Singapoh, u woke up early too...

I do partial bf lo. But today onward will be total.
She doesn't cry much le. I haven't hear her cry full blown yet. Only those cat cry ha ha..
I latched her on each breast 15-20 mins n that also must ticked her don't know how many times.
My position still bad la so still can't latch properly will drop many times lo.
I did sleeping side way feed because of the surgery wound.

WAh, we all wake up so early nowadays. I woke up @ 630 to bf my son. We can form e 6am mummies club n then hv breakfast together! Heehee

vi, take ur time to learn to bf ur gal... I'm still learning after 20 days. Yesterday Finally total bm; either latch on or ebm...

Stb, guess for new mommy like us will take time. ;)
ya lo nurse said why I so alert ha ha..

Ya need LC assistance. I think it is easier to bf sitting down but I can't now. But later catheter will be remove then I will try doing it sitting down. So tired lying on the bed for whole day yesterday.

Ju, thanks!

Vi, try to grab as much rest as u can....I find football hold easier after c-sect. Only when I came hm, I tried craddle hold with e nursin pillow. Lyin down, me still too stupid to master it, will always irritate my son when I tried it... Heehee

Stb, I can latch 1 time only to be successful with lying down with lc assistance.
With nurse assistance do football hold also can but I so worry crushed baby with my hold or she will slip backward n after feeding I don't know how to move her but to call back the nurse ha ha..

My gal was pretty restless whole nite. Me and dh very shack liao. Her crying affected my son too. Both crying non stop!

I prefer lying down to bf. Both of us doze off :D

Hi Vi4n,

Congrats. Finally your little princess arrived. Did your gynae asked you to buy abdominal binder? I find it helpful for c-sect. Not so painful when you bf baby in sitting position.

Vi4d
Now after c sect still have catherer inserted ah?
Cos they dont want u to get down frm bed to urine?
Im v scare of catherer cos have bad experience.. The pulling out of the catherer always v painful for me.. And i will bleed after that.. So my last et i requested for no catherer..

May i ask whether all c sect will have this catherer inserted even after u wake up frm ga? Cos dr say most likely c sect for me due to twins..

singapoh,
hi5! i also prefer lie down & latch, esp whn jodie is cranky or sick. both can doze off & i can still cradle her

Singapoh, how to latch both of them at e same time?

I managed to latch Alvis on at e slp-ing position jus now..hehehehe..hubby not ard, so can afford to irritate Alvis n let him fuss while i try.....

baby,
if c-sect will hv catherer inserted even after u wake up from GA cos u can't get off the bed to walk yet. also sometimes the GA haven't totally wear off and yr bladder won't work properly so they have to drain the urine for u. the next day they'll remove the catherer and ask u to get up and go toilet yrself.

Hello all mummies..

I am planning to do ivf in aug with Dr loh and was wondering if I need to quit my job and rest for ivf.. Any sucess stories wthout quitting your job? My job can get quite stressful at times so I am contemplating to quit or not.. Please advise, thanks!

stb,
yep, we r hm. she peed, but out of the urine bag.
picked up both paracetamol & nurofen to stand by. temp alrdy dropped to 36.9, shld be ok as long as it dun spike again

singapoh,
well... both of them could be lying on ur body for all we noe mah. then can latch both while u lie down lor...

Hi Vi4n, congrats on your new born!!

I had my detailed scan at ADC and seen Dr Loh after that. My baby gal is 1.6kg whereas baby boy is still small at 1.2kg at 30 weeks. Both are in transverse position which Dr Loh said as of now will be c-sect. -_-" C-sect sound scary to me. I just hope the bb gal will change her position in the next few weeks, at least i can go for natural and doc can massage my womb to get my boy out. According to Dr Loh, as long as my bbs can hit 2kg by 35 weeks, my bbs will be safe. I'm sure my gal can hit 2kg but my boy is worrying, cos he still so small and considered underweight.

Ju,

u are creative la. Dunno if I can breathe properly if both on top of me dey.

Stb,

dh to bf, impossible!!! But a pacifier, possible!

Ju, good to know Jodie fever down already.

Bakaholic, did dr loh tell u how to improve the bb boy weight?
My bb was measured at 3.392kgs when 38.5 weeks but came out 3.155kgs at 39.1kgs.

I managed to let her suckled cradle jus now. But after 1 hour with exchange of both breast she still hungry. ;)
now waiting fir 3pm to feed her again.

Cactus, yes I'm wearing the binder.

I will discharged on Tuesday

Vi4n,
I am with TMC. I got blood flow issue so that's the reason bb not that big. On aspirin for 2+ months now. As long bb doesn't drop below 10% average growth, doc says it's good enough.

Vi4n,
Do you feel any pain at the abdomen after the GA wears off? Can you get down the bed and walk around now? Rest well and try to post a picture of your little princess for us to see later

Hazel,
Glad that everything turns out fine for you. Start doing the FET only when you are both mentally and physically prepared. Who knows you may strike naturally on your own soon.

Bbhp,
Are you eating more nowadays? Seems like eating more is the only way to increase the bbs' weight or is there any other method? Did Dr Loh give you any suggestion on how to improve the weights of your bbs?
I start to worry about my bbs' weight as my appetite is still quite bad and am still vomiting once or twice a week. I'll be going for the week 20 detailed scan end of this month. Hopefully can reveal genders this time. Can't wait to start buying all the bb clothes.

Bakaholic,
My friend just passed me her my Best Friend nursing pillow. She said the nurse at the antenatal class recommended it. She had been faithfully using it for the past 8 months to BF. Her girl has outgrown it that's why she decided to pass to me.

Bing,

Similar to backaholic, I am also on aspirin for more than a month. The bb gal's weight is ok so cannot be i eat too little right? I can just hope that bb boy will hit 2kg when i am 35 weeks. I was told to opt for my hospitalisation package. Had a briefing by the admission office but yet to decide which package to sign up. Twins package really siong man...

Bbhp, if u wan to hv dr loh deliver u, minimum u need b1 ward. U can always op for that class n downgrade immediately to C class after bbs r born If need be. Just get your income documents n loans agreements ready (eg house & car) so tt ur dh can submit them when bbs r born if need me. B2 is 50/50 sharing. C class is 20/80. Bbs get the same treatment irregardless of ward class.

Hazel,

By July, you wld have rested for 3 months liao......try again... God will help those that help themselves..... : ) Good Luck !!! Dr loh is more kan cheong than you...

I am due for BT next wed for my second ivf fresh cycle..... I am trying to be positive but there is really no symptom.....just like my previous BFN...cycle.....

Anyway, these few days , i feel very calm... I just accept what may comes...

babyhopepath and bakaholic,

try taking protein powder.. 4 weeks ago, my baby weigh 1.3kg, and becos of the pre-term incident, i decided to boost up my baby's weight just in case. so some mummies told me to drink protein powder..i drank and i think it helps. 4 wks later, which is now , baby weighs 2.36kg at wk32.. dr loh told me baby's weight is good now.

but the thing is, i scan at ADC, im not sure how accurate it is compared to Dr loh's machine..but i know both uses different calculation for baby's weight.. anyhow, u gals can try to take protein powder to see if it helps.

Judebabe, my menses just came only this mth. So wanted to try on our own for a few mths. Dr Loh chop chop kind of person & decided the FET process for me. He asked if my cycles r regular previously. I said yes but now dunno after a m/c n if hormones hv regularized. He scanned n saw egg n decided on natural FET. He also nv tell me wat r the risks of striking triplets if transfer 3. He just said no need me to consider, left 3, thaw 3. Wat Lao.. Anyhow, he is so experienced he wld know better than me.. Who knows, god took away my Gwen may return me 2 or even 3?!? Ha! Just trying to be positive.

U dun give up. Nothing is conclusive until blood test result. Many women don't know they r pregnant until wks later. No symptom. When pregnant itself is a blessing. At least u get to enjoy n look pretty for 40 wks! Jiayou!

vi4n,
the wt estimated by doc during pregnancy normally not v accurate. During my 1st pregnacy, I was told my boy was abt 3.5kg at 37 weeks, and then 3.8kg in 39weeks, but when i delivered on that same day, his birthwt was only 3.32kg.

My sis's boy was measured to be 2.7kg on her last antenatal checkup, then ended up 3kg when she gave birth unexpectedly at home on the same day. So this is the other way round. Kekeke...

I had the binder on when i was in hosp that time. But I find it quite uncomfy to have it on when i need to sit down leh. So I didnt use it once back home le. And my gynae got me buy the kind of long socks to put it on whole day after delivery to prevent poor blood circulation and legs swollen since cant get down to walk yet, did you have it too? I also stopped using it once discharged fr hosp.

esk,
every 3-6 mths, for non-bpa free btls. for jodie's bpa free btls, i chg at abt 7mths cos she din use them much initially. hmm... nid to chg agn liaoz

bakaholic,
dun worry too much that yr bb will be small due to yr blood issue ok? as long as bb is healthy u can always fatten them up after they're born. my girl was born at 1.86kg (4 pounds) only, at full term 37 wks.
now at 2.5 yr old she's a normal chubby little girl on the 50th percentile for her age.

eskimobaby,
I very lazy, I havent changed Teng Teng bpa free milk bottles since I bot when he was 4 months old. He is still using them. :p But then I do change the teats regularly.

Ju, bliss,
ok... Thanks!! Means I dun need to change yet since on bpa free bottles

baby,
dun worry abt the catheter lah... U will be under epidural or GA so when they remove the tubes, the medication still hasn't worn off so u can't feel it. I think the catheter should be the least of ur worries. I couldn't feel anything when the nurse removed mine.

Hazel,
It's great to know that your body is getting back to shape. You can try naturally for 1-2 cycles or take tcm to "bu" your body first. Maybe you will get lucky?

I find putting 3 embies is rather risky cos multiples can be on the high risk side. When I had only 3 fertilised eggs on my 2nd fresh cycle, I was thinking to put all 3 but then i would lose the gov grant and also the insurance is very high. But ultimately, we rationized that if we are meant to be parents, even 1 embryo will do it. And seriously, i am thankful that i am only having 1 now cos of my blood flow issue.
And previously, in my last fet from 1st cycle, i put in 3 and well, nothing works.

Sunflower,
Thanks for the info on the protein powder. I am not sure if taking it will help cos it's the blood flow which is not good so less nutrients is passed to bb. I did try to increase quality food now and cut down on my carbo cos I can only take small meals or my stomach will feel like exploding.

Bakaholic, I totally agree with u. Given a choice, singleton is still the best. But, thaw 3 does not mean will get 3. I will just leave it to fate. As for tcm, I went before embarking on ivf. But Also no luck. My mum will cook Tonic for me to take regularly, guess is a way to 'bu' also

Bakaholic,

when I was following the GD diet, I was told not to reduce my carbo intake coz bbs need to grow. My protein portion was 1.5 palm size (150g) at lunch and dinner. I didn't gain enough weight but my twins were at good weight. Hope this helps.

bakaholic, how do we know we have blood flow issue? Recently when i slept on my left side, not sure if i sleep too long, when i turn back to my back, i felt my right side tummy abit numb and cld feel the blood flow thru, u know like u sit cross legged very long and when u stand up, the sensation of blood flowing down...got me worried whether my blood is flowing to the baby.