IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

StarBabies- congrats

Alamak I throw away the used pigeon n medela bottles my fren give me, cos too old liao I not comfortable using them. didnt know can trade in sigh..... $ wasted.....

btw from one shop they mentioned to me that bpa free bottles better to change them after 6 mths usage. Did u all continue using the bottles after 6 mths or discard them liao.
actually after repeating washing n sterilizing my bottles are a bit yellowish, these bottles are brand new when i use them.

singapoh, fresh cycle = only 2 allowed..i wonder what happens when i want another child, put in another 2? what if...twins again??

juju, for PIgeon, it's 50% off FULL priced bottles, so it's around $7 something i think.

Spiffy,

I did my fresh cycle in 2006, no govt subsidy. Anyway Dr Sheila Loh didn't ask how many I wanna put. Only on ET day we knew that she's gonna put 2 for me. I think it's base on my age and medical record.

U can try to conceive naturally first lor.

twinstars,
i've been using my bpa-free btls for abt 6 mths. dat's why thinking to trade in & get new ones to use.

spiffy,
thx! $7 per btl? medela was abt $31.50 for 4, rite? dat's before or after trade-in?

Singapoh,
Dr Loh doesn't do the scan himself now but pass to the sonographer to do it? actually i prefer the scan to be done by your own gynae rather than going thru the sonographer. but i guess Dr Loh is too busy to do the scan now.

Does anyone know whether Dr Loh is good with stitches? is he pro-natural birth or pro-Csection?

Soon-to-be,
Thanks for the info. i hope Dr Loh won't be unhappy if i decide to do the scan at Camden later. you know he can be very blunt and sarcastic.

Bing, dr loh does scan in his room for us unless the scan is a detailed scan like NT scan n full scan where a bigger n clearer machine is needed. That us done at another department specialises in such scan. U will then bring the scan photos to dr loh for review.

Dr loh is a gentle person when it comes to procedures. Most KKH docs r pro natural delivery.

Even those friends of mine who r seeing pte gynae at their own clinic at camden or paragon, such detailed scan r not done in a gynae room so that is no diff to wat KKH is doing. Prof at Camden specialises in such detailed scan so he has those big detatled scan machine

Soontobe,
after 20 week scan no more detailed scan for singleton unless doc wanna monitor growth then will ask u go for additional scans.

can I check if I wanna change milk powder how do I go abt it? I can't change immediately rite? Must portion it rite? How to do it? Pls help!! Thanks.

Bing,

I guess the scan machine is more advance than the one in Dr Loh's room. At my 20 weeks scan, sonographer did a scan on the blood flow to the placenta.

Dr Loh will just do a basic quick scan in his room. He said he will scan me in my next visit before my 30 weeks scan.

He delivered my son. No complain of his stitching.

Juju- I think is 3 medela bottles (150ml each) cost abt S$30+, they always sell 3 bottles in a bundle.

Bing-I think Dr Loh is pro natural, my fren is under him and he encouraged her to go natural. Btw during my 1st tri under Dr Loh, all scans(except the down syndrome test) are done by him, I think maybe it is becos I m at TPS bah.

juju, sorry not sure about medela's prices cos i was just intent to get the wide neck bpa-free pigeon ones! medela doesn't have wide neck right..

bing, i prefer the sonographer who is usually more detailed and will take the time to explain..i think i just like to look at my babies a bit longer on the screen!

twinstars,
oh yes! thx for the reminder!

bing,
yep! dr loh is pro-natural. when he saw dat both twins were head down for an ivf mummy, he told her he will do natural for her & he was very confident abt it.
only FTS & 20wks detailed scan r done outside TPS. scans during chk-up r done in dr loh's room.

spiffy,
its ok. twinstars reminded me liao.
wondering if i shld get wide-neck btls ltr. or jus stick to the normal ones

Spiffy-ya medela dun have wide neck bottles.
I enjoyed the detailed scan too cos can see bb longer.
My gynae at TMC gave me free 4D scan of my bb face, so happy when I saw my bb face, he even gave me the printout. Now I still keep the scan photo

Singapoh, which u prefer? Wide neck or normal bottles? My sil n mum r pro normal bottles. She said wide neck bottles need more wider grip n tougher to use ESP feeding at night...,

Bing, i feel Dr Loh is jus being straight forward and direct.....don't take his jokes too seriously sometimes...i sometimes will suan him back...hehehe...he has no issue w me going to Prof for my 22nd wk detailed scan....

Thanks for all the interesting info on the ultrasound scans, it makes me look forward to my coming Week 6 scan this Sat and subsequent ones

Seems like Dr Loh is really a pro natural delivery gynae and i'll have to convince him to do C-section for me next time if everything goes fine..

Hazel,

I prefer small bottle. I direct latch my son so didn't really use bottle that often. Save time in preparing mlk, wash and sterilize
Dh is the happiest. Kaka...

stb-agree Dr Loh is very direct. that time my hubby went smoking b4 we get to enter his room. then he smell cig n tell my hubby better quit smoking, hahahaha.... I was so happy when Dr Loh suan my hubby.

Bing,

Any reason u want a C sec?

I had no problem pushing out my son. His birth weight was abt 3.4 kg. I think (hope) twins should be easier coz they are smaller

Singapoh, given a choice I wan to do natural deliver also as my wounds generally dun heal very well. But I hv narrow pelvic bones... So dunno can or not

Bing-u r just like me initally wanna do c sect, afraid to go natural.
I always worried if natural then half way cannot make it then go c sect, double pain.
But my TMC gynae encourage me to go natural, initally I thought my bb is gonna be small so i thought natural is okie. But 3rd tri he grow faster, in the end I go ahead with natural w epidural.

re: wide neck bottles
Personally I bought quite a no. of NUK wide neck bottles, but it is very troublesome to trf the ebm from medela bottle to the wide neck bottle (cos need to wash 2 bottles). hence in the end I just put the standard teat on my medela bottle to feed my bb.
According to my fren wide neck bottle is gd cos next time bb will learn to hold bottle, wide neck bottle easier for them to grip, standard bottle tougher.

stb - hahhahaa, seems like dr Loh dun like smokers, after being suan by Dr Loh my hubby also didnt quit. His SA results is gd, so he felt that whether he smokes or not, it doesnt affect the sperm quality. I was so angry then. But b4 my ER, he quit smoking for 2 weeks to ensure the quality of the sperm is gd. after ET back to normal. Sian...

Serene

The 'I Love U touch' helps relax bb's intense intestines and the colon, and move gas along bb's intestinal tract

1. Rub some warm oil onto your hands and knead bb tense abdomen with your flattened fingers in a circular motion.

2. Start with a downward stroke for the I on bb's left side (your right). This stroke moves gas down out of ur bb's descending colon.

3. Then massage along the upside-down L (or upright 7), moving the gas along the transverse portion of the colon and down the descending colon

4. Finally, massage along the upside-down U (from bb's right to left), stroking upward along the ascending colon, across the transverse and down the descending colon

I do it after a warm bath

Twinstars, bottles hv many different sizes. For a start bb dun drink as much milk, so u only need a small bottle. If tt is a wide neck small bottle, when bb reaches the stage of learning to hold bottles which is at least 3-6 mths down the road, the small ones which were used in the initial mths cannot be used any more. Coz the Amt milk then is much more n u need a longer bottle.

So if u say wide neck bottle is gd for teaching bb to hold the bottle, this usufulness will only kick in a few mths later. Not when bb is still small

n new bottles can be purchased then when such needs arise. For a start only smaller bottles r required n I dun see how wide neck bottles r useful at this stage.

1 small n 1 long bottle r good enough for a start to feed new born. Unless one dun wan to wash b sterilize after each usage then need more milk bottles

Ladies, i bought the philip sterilizer during the baby fair and was given the avent milk bottles so i guess i will stick to it but i notice most of you are using nuk milk bottles...so now got mixed feelings ... I also bought the philips avent automatic/manual breast pump and was given other gifts ...

Zaza, the philips avent sterilizer - was it the $189 set with the warmer? The 3 bottles they gave are not BPA-free. why dont you exchange them for Pigeon bottles at 50% off?

Hazel-Agree that wide neck bottles are not needed during the 1st 3 mths, that's why I stick to my standard size medela bottles to feed bb.
Will only use wide neck bottle when my bb learn how to grip bottles

Spiffy, twinstars, am thinking of pigeon BPA free normal bottles. Actually I like avent ones too. But it only has wide neck ones.. So not suitable for now

Spiffy, all the window shopping at bb n taka fairs r gd. It set me thinking ESP when each kind if products hv a few brands.. So in may I wun be lost. I know which brands to focus on

zaza-I heard from pple that some bb refuse to latch when they r introduce to bottles. That's why I choose NUK latex teat so call similar to nipple. initally I couldnt latch my boy, he doesnt know how to latch. then abt 2 mths later I tried latching him, suddenly he can latch. So now i bottle feed him in day time, nite time latch him, he is fine with both ways. I seriously dunno whether NUK teat plays a part or not. I did get another brand bottle(tommi something, cant remember the exact spelling) n feed him but he drank with it very slowly, so I stop giving him that bottle.

hazel- I didnt use pigeon BPA free normal bottles to feed my bb, so dunno okie or not. I only got use pigeon storage bottle to store my ebm. then stop using them cos the bottles doesnt fit my medela pump very nicely. Plus the bottles are pass down from my fren, use for a lot time liao, so i discard them.

spiffy - mine was the $119 but also with warmer leh ... i think the $189 is the one which sterilise for 24hrs ... will consider exchanging the bottles

singapoh - as much as possible i'm trying to breast feed but also afraid not enuf supply ... hehehhe

twinstar - I also heard the same thing as you ...

Twinstars,

some babies refuse to latch on after using the teats coz it's a lot of hardwork suckling from our nipples. Bottle teat flow is easy.

Twinstars, if u wan to bf by latch on. Dun give bb the bottle. Remind the nurse after u deliver. the nurse is Supposed to use small cup to feed if u can't latch on

hazel, yesterday my dh said something that made me think of you. he said, as long as we have everything to get thru the first week, we're okay. anything we need, we can get later. Oh you pragmatic people!

Soon-to-be, thanks for the information on Camden.

Bakaholic, thanks! Yes, I think my little one is a tough one too

Twinstars, thanks! Mine is a singleton