IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Despondent, I only started my antenatal class during wk 24, meaning I will have 3 weeks before my EDD......didn't wan to start so early as I wan my memory on the classes on how to manage labour pain and care for the baby as fresh as possible when I receive my son....

Singapoh, I went maid shopping jus now w hubby. Only went in to 1 agency, selected 2 profiles of filippino maid and quite happy w them...now jus need to show to MIL then do the phone interview....if everything goes well, I may bring my maid in by end this mth or early next mth...

Singapoh, yeah, this I hv to make it v clear to her during my hubby's absence...coz the 2 we selected are pleasant looking.....hehehehe...quite happy to be able to get some help soon coz I hv been washing the bathroom for the last few weeks when hubby is tired..

Despondent. No family history of diabetic on my side. But tt doesn't mean I wun get it. Age is also a determining factor. Just check for fun. No harm n not troublesome at all.

March class starts next sat, 13th. I m attending tt

soon-to-be, think singapoh is half kidding and half-serious. you might think i am rather anal but set your house-rules from DAY 1. sorry ah, i know you din ask me but this is a topic that hits a pain point in me so i am blahing... you must be getting a wave of advice from frens and family :p

possible things to think og
1. This includes attire - no sexy clothes or shorts. from neck to knees must be covered. tidy hair and short nails.

2. changing of clothes in designated area and make sure door is locked when changing.

3. let her know the hierarchy of instructions come from you so she dun dream of by-passing you.

4. jot down her menstrual cycle too so that we kind of know when is her h*rny period. kekeke...

5. make sure she show you her luggage - all items and list them down before she can move into the cupboard. anything beyond what she has now - new things purchased, money, handphone, she must declare. i did a lousy job on this one and went through a lot of stress because she kept a lot of things away from me.

6. my cousin told me - no handphone during working hours, no tv too. if you and hubby working, where does she go to.

7. any issues on health, family etc. talk to you.

8. plot out your timetable for her, try to include time to cook and also serving you the medication, 3 meals and snacks.

9. lock up all money and jewellery before she comes

Hey, we can look forward to the Taka Baby Fair from this Thursday..and also not forgetting the other fair at the expo the week after that.

11-28 March - Taka Baby Fair
19-21 March - Babycare Festival

Wah I manage to gain 1.1 kg in a week.

Biggest gain so far huh. You weigh b4 food and at the same time yes? Last week I hardly gained. Today forgot to weigh and had breakfast already..

Yumyum, thanks for the advises. So many things to look out for..I better remember them so that I can do the same check too...

I was abt to ask u gals whether is it a must to set a timetable for the maid? We had initially decided on the ex-Singapore coz training easier, now hubby said take the 1 who is new here but have done dom work in Philippines only...in that case, more training needed and will take slightly more time to bring her in...can anyone of u share a sample of the timetable that u gave to ur maid?

Singapoh, must keep track of AF? The maid agency told me the new govt ruling does not penalise the employer for maid pregnancy liao, is that true?

Singapoh & Spiffy, hm.. my weight seems to be remain constant for the past 2 weeks leh....

Yumyum, constipation not as bad now. dont know if b;coz i hv been talking to bb OR cos, 2nd trimester, the womb has started to shift upwards...

Soon to be,

I dun keep track of maid's AF. Yumyum does.

Sample of timetable.

0700 wake up, bfast, laundry

by 0800 finish dusting and wiping top and floor.

Morning chores: wash toilet,cook

Pm : other chores, cook

2230/2300 : bedtime

It's just a guide. As long as she can finish her chores in time, it's fine.

Hazel,

can't compare with us coz we are 20+ weeks now. I gained zero weight in 1st tri. Only started gaining from 16 weeks. Same for my previous singleton pregnancy.

Ya maybe the Mar's antenatal class is full.

Soon to be, ya I rmbred your reason for starting the class late, and it make a lot of sense too since I am v forgetful. However, also thot it a bit too late then to learn about nutrition and such... ie. the part 1 of the class. Hmm.. why don't they allow a break in between part 1 & 2 of the class..?

[my wi-fi connection is down again.. now logging in thru my PC.. grrr....]

aiyoh... I really need to buy a new weighning machine fast.. I dun know how much weight I have gained! But at an extended family gathering last night, all said I looked FAT! (some are not aware that I was pregnant...)

Despondent, also notes r given. So u wun forget. Also, u can borrow bb n pregnancy books there Also once the class starts

Weather Is so hot these days until I can't take it. The moment am out in a non aircon place I get headaches! Sigh...

singapoh,soon-to-be,
me first timer so i did not know what house rules to set n why. a lot of the things i added here was after things happen then frens told me.
my purpose of checking the af is to know when to buy supplies for her.
how does your maid contact her family? can she use internet web cam or call viA housephone? i bought icc for her to call home. line not too good though.

soon-to-be, if u interested i pm you the schedule. but i think your pm not activated.

Yumyum,

I asked my gf for the house rules then added some of my own. I offer my maid to call home using calling card but she doesn't wanna call home yet.

I will just ask her to tell me when she needs more pads or toiletries. She is using the same shower foam as we do

Singapoh, precisely! Confinement time still so hot I think I will hv to on aircon everyday. Coz confinement time cannot on the fan...

Just now went out with my mum to medical shop at Bedok hdb to buy tonics to brew for me, so hot until I can't take it. Come back I on aircon n slept till now without a blanklet!

My mil's maid has a HP which the line subscription is under my dh's name. She used tt phone to call home n to maintain contact with her friends on. Every mth, she pays for her own usage.

New maids from their home land I think u can impose more rules. Seasoned maids who hv been working in spore for years Harder. Some will even wan their mthly day off like my mil's indo maid.

Water in the pool was so nice and warm. Did 10 laps. Appetite good after a swim
Dh's appetite is better. He had 2 plates of fried beehoon!

Hazel, singapoh, thanks for sharing e info on antenatal class.
I'm looking forward to it....

Hi ladies, my confinement problem solved! My mum just told me she'll do confinement for me. Yes, there will be issues to worry still as I wouldn't want her to overtire herself and I think I'll probably take care of bb at night. But think a lady here shared that even if I've a CL, I'll still have to do it as I'll like to try bf... Having my mother will definitely make me feel more at ease.

Despondent,

My dh like my maid's fried beehoon. After a swim, crave for it. Hee... Like picnic at the beach.

U can bf yr bb at nite. If yr bb poop, yr dh can help to change diaper.

Singapoh, wow, your maid is able to cook up-to-standard beehoon in such a short time w you!
yum.. Craving craving but won't get to eat it....

Oh, don't think my dh will wake up in e night to help at all.... He'd just zzzzzzz... Hee hee.

Despondent, I skipped the 1st 2 lessons, went for the 3rd one..found the 3rd one useful coz they taught some simple exercises.....then now 2 more weeks of break before lessons start again...well, it's up to individual how u wan to manage this..for me, was v clear that I don't wan to start that early n hubby agreed with me....

Singapoh, Yummy, hubby and I were discussing wat are the rules that we will be setting for her.....we'll be tellin her that as long as grandmum has a great help from her, baby and/or dog is well taken of (during our or grandmum's absence) and nothing is missing, we will take good care of her too....likely not to gv her 1 day off per mth till we are comfy with her, pass back her hp on every sunday for her to keep in touch with her family...hubby a bit worried that I will be too nice to her...coz I was telling him I more likely to nag at her rather than scold her....so hubby said if really she done something seriously wrong, we'll hv to scold her ....was telling hubby that if baby, dog and maid well behaved, I will feel so blessed....it's like everything perfect! 8)

Despondent, yes dr loh said can swim. Actually, my mum, CL n my friends hv been telling me not to bf during confinement at night. They said must rest if not next time our body will be weaker. They saw just pump up the milk. Let the CL feed the warm up breast milk. I will see how then,

also dun touch "sheng1" water as far as possible. Tt means unboiled water, ie tap water. A few friends told me they touch coz they helped out so even a few mths after confinement, their finger joints r still aching. There sld be a pail of water in the bathroom/ toilet for u to wash hand, face n brush it teeth.

Despondent,

during confinement u will need to rest as much as u can. Yr dh can't help u to bf so the least he can do for u in the middle of the night is change diaper and bring bb to u to bf since u dun hv a CL.

I swim once a week only. Fried beehoon is her own recipe :p She is gonna make Assam pedas fish soon :p

Hazel,

u dun bf at nite, yr milk supply will drop. Worst part is engorgement! So still got to get up to pump every few hours. Bf takes a lot of effort and sacrifices like zzz

Soon to be,

I just hv 1 advice for u. Be strict from day 1. Dun tell her what u gonna give her in future. Just see how she perform first.

Singapoh, ya my friend told me still need to pump at night if not bf at night. But was told pump I can do twice a night. But bf at times every 2hrs n later still need to coach bb to sleep. Will end up whole night cannot sleep. Any way I will see how. I got colleague dun let bb latch on coz bb refused n still feeding breast milk now even when back to work. She expressed since day 1 dun hv serious engorement prob.

I dun think I will bf for long anyway.

I most likely will bf till I return to work. I can't bf 3 hrs a day like wat my junior colleague is doing. Always disappear from her desk n dunno go where to express coz there is no room in our office for tt

b4 tt if I dun hv enough to fee bb, will stop Also as I dun mix formulae with breast milk. The 2 kids at all nv take a single breask milk also rarely fall sick n no diff from other kids who took breast milk. Just tt breast milk can save more money

Engorgement at most I use cabbage to soothe it. Supply drop then drop. There is always formula. If the vagina wound is hurting or worse still if I do c section, I wun be able to latch on one.. I will be whinning in pain already

Hazel,

everyone is different. I dun always hv full breasts and yet can bf for 22 months. Never had engorgement as well. It's not a pleasant experience with breasts as hard as bricks.

By right sleep training (zzz thru the nite) should only start after bb turns 6 months old coz milk is their main source of food. Solid during this period is just to test their allergies and get them used to new texture.

A friend of mine had very bad engorgement, had to go to to hospital. the way she described it, it was like someone stabbing her. i think it varies from person to person...maybe in some cabbage can't help at all.

Spiffy,

yeah cabbage is more for sore nipples. My gf went to hospital when she had engorgement.

U need to tell yrself that U can do it in order to bf succesfully. Bf is not only abt saving $.

Singapoh, I will try to bf. But if I can't, then I will stop. Cuz end of the day, I will still stop when I return back to work. Expressing in the toilet is not hygenic at all n I can't afford 3 hrs a day expressing n cleaning. I rather go home early to see my bb then to stat behind clearing wat I can't finish during the day.

Serious engorgement tt needs to go hospital Cabbage wun be able to work. Serious engorgement can lead to inflamation n infection with pus. Engorgement is not the only problem. I got gf where the bb is so greedy until he bites her niplple every time they bleed. So bad until my gf freaked out n her dh asked her to stop when she was still on Confinement.

Breatfeeding is gd for both mum n bb. I dun deny that. But dun breast feed both will be fine also. So, each to its own