IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hazel,

u can get 1 small tin to standby at home. After delivery, I requested the nurse to push my son in every 2 to 3 hours for me to bf. My son didn't hv a single drop of FM in KKH coz I read newborn has reserve. It can last for few days. The more u latch on, the earlier yr supply will come in.

Ic ic.. I thought breast feeding the nurse wun feed formula? I read first few days after birth, bb can dun take milk??

After feeding formula in a bottle ur girl still willing to latch on?

Juju,

besides latching on, u could hv increase yr supply by expressing. I didn't know that then. This time I will pump in between to increase my supply. I need double the amount! Mooooo...

hazel,
yes, till today, she is still latching. only ebm via bottle when i'm at work.

singapoh,
can't tell u hw much angst i hv for dat 3 days...

Hazel,
nurse will feed bb FM using a cup. Most Asian women are not like westeners, our supply comes in few days later. My SIL was very lucky. Hers came on the 1st day. Lots of milk

singapoh,
i tried. each expressing only yield 10ml-50ml for the longest time. took a lot of supplements to boost up my supply too.

singapoh,
we gotta tell them to use cup. else, they will put disposable teat on the milk jar & feed like normal bottle

Err... Not hygenic leh.. My sil sold hers away 6 yrs ago when she just used less than 5x coz she had infection n she stopped bf. Tt is why I wonder if I shld get so early....

Hazel,

after u attend antenatal class, u will know how to tell whether yr bb is drinking or sucking on empty breast. Ask the nurse to guide u.

I was bf my son for over 10 times during the day. Then 1 day he kept crying. Being 1st time mum, I was a bit clueless. Dunno how to tell whether he's having enuf. U know old ppl. When bb cries, must be hungry la! So dh went to get a small tin of formula.

I bf and supplement him till he was 2 months old. I had mastitis, breast inflamation. I went to see the lactation nurse. She cleared my blockage for me. It was so painful, worse than labour! My breast turned blue black the next day. She taught me how to massage my breasts b4 feeding and how to tell if my son is getting enuf. From then on, I stopped giving FM. Total bf for 16 months b4 my son accepted FM. BF and FM for another 4 months b4 weaned my son off my breasts succesfully. The end

Juju, no wonder ur daughter still latch on coz I ask them to use cup! My colleague one at mt e used tweet n her boy refsed to latch on after tt...

But if the nurse feed behind ur back withou cup n b4 u tell her u wun know also right?

Juju,

I dun get much from expressing. Lactation nurse said not every woman can express successfully. For me it's direct latching or express by hand.

I saw nurses feeding babies using cups.

Hazel,

There was 1 period when my son reject my nipples. I kept offering him till he accept again. Really need a lot of patience. Many women fail coz they give up too easily.

Best way to increase yr supply is latch on more often, pump in between and drink plenty of fluids!

Hazel,

There's nurse who can guide u during yr stay but I thought I could do it. Didn't expect bf can be so hard at the beginning :p

supplements like soup, fish, milk, fenugreek, goat rue, nursing tea, etc

usu rental or buy 2nd hand, nid to chg valves & tubings, parts which the bm pass thru. other parts like motor is quite ok.

infection cld b due to improper cleaning. i read thrust can occur on breast & spread to bb's mouth if not properly cleaned after feeding.

singapoh,
envy u. hb rather listen to his mum. he only got scared after i had signs of pnd

hazel,
i told them to cup feed when they tell me to allow fm in scn. dunno wat they do behind me. but whn i go down & they r feeding, they do use cup.
mil reject cup idea & use teat during confinememt. i had to force my gal to latch once i saw supply kick in.

singapoh,
ya, i made hb smuggle in water for me. then mil only gave me red dates tea during meal times & milo during breakie & tea break. she qned me whn i was brewing nursing tea & making milk to drink.

Juju,

why envy me???

I had post natal depression too. I thought of jumping down from my balcony coz I was really tired and nobody offer to help me.

Best part is MIL said " yr breasts are so small, where got milk?". That was 2 days after I discharged. After that she kept asking "enuff milk or not?" till I so pissed off. I told her off and she dare not ask me anymore. Ha!!

I proved her wrong by bf my son for 22 months. She finally said "it's amazing that u are so slim and can bf him for so long" :p

Juju,

old folks really like to interfere. Sigh...

During confinement I had warm milk and camommile tea. I think this time I should take warm plain water. I can't drink much of the red dates longan tea. Btw I hv gestational diabetes so I got an excuse to avoid that drink. Yay!

singapoh, speaking of diabetes, i've a glucose test scheduled in a month's time.
Also found out that one of the placentas is covering the cervix.. the doctor said if it doesn't move, there can be bleeding in the 3rd trimester when the pressure of the baby is on it... dang, i hope to deliver naturally...

Spiffy,

does that mean the placenta is low? Did u check whether it's safe for u to use the pool?

How abt the size difference?

Singapoh yes I checked abt swimming w her too. She said no prob. Actually low placentas generally correct themselves as uterus expands so keepin my fingers crossed. I don't mind c section but she told me a few other scary complications during birth that cld possibly arise TT I won't scare you with...

Size wise she said babies were close to 1kg each (diff from what the sonographer estimated) and difference in size is fine...btw dr Irene chua is very nice!

soon-to-be, yeah, Irene is very bubbly and warm! thinking of sticking with her all the way..heh..

singapoh, my next visit is end of March for 30 week scan.. by the way, i asked her about nifedipine that we've been prescribed and she said it's got no side effects and she even prescribes it to singleton mtb. she even took it herself during her pregnancy.

Bee, can you update for me please, I'll be having a boy.

Hazel, dissolved milk formula is FOC for bb during their stay at the hospital, you can also ask for one or two extra bottle upon checking out while you buy the powder tin type. Like what Singapoh says, they will not offer the FM if you are still trying to BF unless bb is constantly crying with hunger.

Also, I heard from my gf who successfully BF for 20mths (complete BF), that we can start taking herbal soup (eg. fish bones with green papaya)when we are 6 mths pregnant to prepare the milk glands.

hi eskimobaby,
yes, had the induced tablet inserted twice that time and only 5 cm dilated after abt 14hours of waiting. Had to go thru emergency csection when bb showed distress and heartbeat slowed down. Was quite disappointed when my doc suggested that to me. But bo bian lah, for the safety of my bb. My present gynae told me that actually can still wait for full dilation in my case as many similar case women still managed to have normal vaginal delivery, but probably mine is v precious ivf bb, so doc dare not take even little risk.
My bill was 10Kplus, coz I stayed in KKH 1 bedded from wed 8pm to following Mon morning 12pm. I stayed 1 more day w my bb (when I can actually discharged on Sun noon) coz he was having slight jaundice. But then my bb still got to stay one more day on that Tuesday unfortunately. And so I was discharged fr KKH without my bb on Mon noon.
Beside having 2 induced tablets, I had one pain relief jab on my thigh when I couldnt tahan the labour pain after abt 6 hrs. Then the epi dosage had to be increased during the c section delivery, plus one more day stay. So I guess tat's why my bill was so high. I also had v bad constipation on the 3rd day after delivery, so bad that I needed the doc to remove the hard stools inside. That was extremely awful and disgusting! Sigh... But to me, the worst and most painful was my engorgement on the 2nd day when my bm started to come in. Breasts were as hard as stone and I felt feverish and couldnt sleep or lie in bed at all. Luckily the lactation consultant taught me how to massage my breasts and relieve the engorgement. She pressed and squeezed my hardened breasts mercilessly! It was so painful that my tears just kept falling when I gritted my teeth! That was many many times worse than actual labour pain or contractions pain.
Anyway, I think your bill should be lower than mine if u didnt extend ur stay in the hosp and also without other pain relief jab.

Bliss,
Mine was no dilation at all not even 1cm after 3 pills n more than 24 hours. My gynae was saying he just need me to be 1cm dilated just to put me on drip to expedite the dilation. I had contractions 1 in 4 mins yet no dilation. I also had the pain relief on the thigh. Even though my baby wasn't in distress n heartbeat still very strong but gynae said unlikely I will dilate so better to go for c-section rather than continue waiting. I was admitted on wed morning n discharged on sat noon. I had sore nipples already while in hosp n also alot of blocked ducts... Painful to pump or latch. I didn't manage to poo until 2 days ago n all the while just kept passing gas n it was a relief to just be able to poo hehe. Wow... 10k... This is including ur baby's bill too? I think mine would be around there except less a thousand or two since I stayed for 3 days.

Singapoh,
i think really cant think tat much at that pt of time. Just want to deliver bb safely using whatever possible method. But really, I kept praying for having normal delivery throughout my pregnancy, but still kanna c section. Kekeke...and this leads to me having to go for another c section delivery this 2nd pregnancy soon. really sigh...

Eskimobaby,
oic, my friend had her labour 24 hours due to very slow dilation too, but she still managed to have vaginal delivery in the end without inducing at all. Like her case also very xin ku lah. Anyway just take good care of the c section wound, actually it is fine. My gynae told me it is inevitable for most of us to experience slight pain on the wound for lifetime whenever there is weather change or temperature change. I am getting that on n off, but v slight pain lor.

Same here, when my breasts engorged, it was soooo painful to express bm, during those first few days, i needed my hb to help me to hold the pump to my breasts, coz i need the energy to tahan the pain while expressing. Hahaha! I was thinking why my life has become so miserable after having bb! For me, it is more comfortable to let my bb latch on that time. I total bf my bb on the day of my delivery after I stopped shivering( the side effect of epi), then maybe my boy was sucking alot and nipples got stimulated so much that suddenly kanna painful engorgement the next day. First day I was still smiling away, then next day crying away. The nurses were saying I was doing v well on the first day, then why suddenly so upset the next day...hahaha!

Kkh gives one pack of disposable undies (yumyum, u can try getting at kkh pharmacy. This is much bigger than watsons one). 2 packs of pads - 1 loop 1 sticky tape, a few pcs of waterproof bed lining, also they have a goodie bag with freebies inside, hosp gown n bath towels. I loan the breast pump from the hosp... They will give u new set of tubings, shields n even containers but can only sterilized the max of 8 times... I guess this is the so-called disposable breastpump hehe. The nursery was feeding S26 Gold during my stay so I just got another tin at the pharmacy before I was discharged. My gal was also cup fed cos she was hungry n I got no milk. Until now she still on FM n watever I can give her from my breasts thru pumping.

Singapoh, me too, I ask nurse not to give my son FM, I delivered at Mt Al and they are very pro BF so I had no problems.

After reading all the post on delivery by Esk and Bliss I realised I'm so lucky. I had my ds in 2007. I checked in at 6pm with 2.5cm dilation, then start induce (dip) at 6.30pm. Pain starts at 7pm, then I requested for gas and jab at about 8.30. Didn't work so i request for epi at 9pm, which was given by doctor about 9.30 and then went on to a smooth and quick delivery at 1033 after a few sips of coke... (which I'll never forget, imagine sipping on a can of cold coke with your two legs hanging high in delivery position..haha)

my bb was partially cup fed similac fm in hosp too. I bot Similac too at the beginning when back home. But found that Similac fm has lots of bubbles and more sticky. I changed to friso gold when bb was older. But not v good too. He has been drinking Enfalac in the end and now Enfapro which is v good. No constipation or phelgm caused and the fm is very easily dissolved in water. I heard that Enfalac and Enfapro has the highest content of DHA and ARA compared to other brands of fm, not sure true or nt. But then Enfa brand is one of the most expensive fm in the market. I managed to find a fm seller who sells the fm much cheaper than in outside places and have been ordering enfalac and enfapro from her. I can PM you the contact if you are interested next time.

hi eskimobaby, did they give you the bb swaddle cloth and bathtub? take bb photo?

my sis gets all these stuff when she delivered at mt alvernia. also they give free tin of milk poweder.

oso, if we dunno how to use loop, can we use those super long pads (32 cm) Kotex type?

Berry, any idea how to make fish bones n green papaya soup? Wat else to put? My mum told me yesterday also. But she said she not sure how to make...

Yumyum,
nope... no bathub or swaddle cloth. U have to bring ur own baby clothes n receiving blanket when u discharge. No photo either. U can get those pads that u mention. If u go for c-section like I did, then can request the nurse to use the loop ones first as u can't get out of bed so they will help u change. And each time they change, they'll put 2 or 3 pcs at one time amazing at how they do it tho hehe so very quickly will finish the 10 pcs liao.

Berry,
hahaha that's a very good idea for a new coke advertisement instead of getting famous celebs to endorse kekeke.

she is very sad n looks spaced out, keep on looking at her bb photo when she has a breather. i feel so bad. asking my mum if she wants to keep her n i be the sponsor. my mum has lower hygiene eexpectations n she told me she needs help to manage her household chores. my poor hubby got to tahan such a emo wife. you think leh?

Singapoh,
I would v much want to have natural delivery this time, but I cant. Coz I got preggy too fast after my 1st c section delivery (I am preggy when my boy was only 5 mths old), so my gynae told me to prevent the risk of having the csection wound inside tearing during labour contractions, it is better to go thru scheduled c section in ard 38 weeks (cant wait till 39 weeks even, coz cant afford to wait till there is great contractions, would be dangerous). If I want to try natural delivery, there is possibility that I might end up emergency c section again if the wound suddenly teared while I am having contractions and pushing the bb out. Thats why I said bo bian lor, who asks me kanna preggy so fast again?

eskimobaby,
I will be delivering in Mt Alervnia this time too! What else does the hosp give huh?

yumyum,

I remembered when I delivered in KKH, the nurse asked me if I want loop or adhesive maternity pads. You can choose 2 packs of adhesive maternity pads actually, dont have to use loop at all.