IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

juju,

within 6 months after delivery is the most fertile period. so die die must try lah!

you can unplug or lower the volume of the phone ma. My dog barks anytime, can't shut him up. Disturb my son only lah. Hai...

When I visit my gf in hospital after delivery, I only stay for 5 minutes. If home less than 30 minutes.

singapoh,
yes, first 6 mths super fertile de. quite a few mummies i noe alrdy struck within the first 6 mths liao.
my house phone alrdy on lowest volume le, but still can shriek away. if i unplug, sure kenna nag again.
try to apply below belly button also. if got chance to meet, i show u. mine all below not above cos i apply above! whahaha!

despondent,
i cute ah? wah! thank you thank you!

wah, if phone rings too loud, can still lower the ringing volume or unplug it..but if MIL talks too loudly, how? Stuff her mouth har? hehehe

soon-to-be,
mine talk very loud lor. then her sis/sil come over, also talk very loud. then again, her bro/bil also talk loud. haiz

singapoh/juju - oh you dont know my MIL. she's easily excitable and ALWAYS wants to involve the world. even for family dinners, she's always dragging DH and i to this or that dinner. And being a big family, there _always_ is someone's birthday or other. i'm quite tired of attending. so i'm sure she'll say so-and-so wants to see you and the babies (actually they may not want to, but she wants them to).
They dont celebrate man yue though...so i dont know....

Juju....so wat u do? Hubby and I already said our MIL for a few times liao..so hopefully she will lower her vol automatically when baby arrives...

Spiffy,

Can't blame your MIL. She 's proud of you and want to show u off to the rest. Hee...

Ask your dh to talk to her. Now that you are having 2 new babies and a 1st time mum, sure very blur and tired. Need plenty of rest.

spiffy,
my mil also dun celebrate man yue. imagine my gal's man yue, only mil, hb n hb's sis family came. the rest r my family n relatives!

soon-to-be,
hb not hm. she seldom talk loud when talking to us. so i jus on aircon n close door lor.

Spiffy,

GPLS confinement agency replied. Msian CL is $2700 and $168 levy for twins , 28 days. Arrival Ang pau min $30 , departure $60

Does anyone read Young Parents, Mother & Baby and Motherhood? Can tell me which is good? i get YP free at work and most issues are quite boring.

Wow... CL so ex?? Thought m'sian CL without agency at $2K is already ex.... E levy for twins sound cheap though..

Sigh... My mum offers to do confinement for me but tat means me & dh got to stay over at my bro's hse for one mth... Think dh may be uncomfortable... But CL really too ex... Some more e only advantage I can see is only help out @ e night part, cooking & bathing of bb... U still need to provide pick up and dropping them off at station....

despondent,

This is my first twin pregnancy. No experience. The levy is for nanny regardless of how many babies she is going to take care.

singapoh, the twins thread is not so bad. Sometimes i want to console them but i'm having dichorionic-diamniotic/fraternal twins and dont have to worry about things like TTTS so i just keep quiet.

Oh singapoh, paiseh... :p

spiffy, sounds v cheem.. R u basically saying theirs are natural while those in this thread r via IVF so types of problems r different?

Hee hee... Cooking tonight. Finally can eat home cooked food for a difference!

Despondent, malAysiAn CL is abt 2k. Spore one is at least 3k. Very standard one.

My mum said will do for me also. But I still think better to get a CL coz she has to take care of my bro's 4 n 6 yrs old kids also n I really want to rest in tt 1 mth. So i wun want to touch any things. Confinement alot of water. My mum said brush teeth Also need cooled boiled wAter!

re: mags
mother & baby and motherhood are good. i feel dat young parents is more for those wif toddlers

despondent,
i think spiffy means both twins in the same sac or sharing 1 placenta?

hazel,
i only had boiled herbal water for washing body. everything else was tap water

despondent/juju - yeah basically if twins share 1 placenta there are a host of risks. also if twins are in the same sac there is the danger of cord entanglement etc.
whoa hazel, you really gonna use boiled water for brushing teeth? will you be showering/washing your hair?

juju, my mum said must do proper confinement if not later at old age, i will regret! so, i better get a CL if not, my mum will be super biz... she said baby needs to wash mouth n must use cooled boiled water also..

anyhow, she said wat then do wat loh.. also dun need me to do :p

i am not going to use herbs to boil water to bathe.. herbs very sticky and has a strong smell. will use rice wine mixed with boiled water instead. but my mum told me a bottle of rice wine cost more ex than a packet of herbs...

now when my family members travel, i will get them to buy XO liquor also. coz chicken meat steamed with XO is very "pu" & tasty. very good for confinement

Spiffy, my mum / CL will prepare lah. Mum said the bathroom must always has a pail of cooled boiled water during confinement for me to brush teeth, wash face, etc.

Yes, showering & washing hair... but using rice wine mixed with boiled water. again, mum / CL will prepare. not me :p

hazel,
ur mum is experienced alrdy.
if u r bfg, pls eat/drink liquor stuff after bfg. & try to ensure 2-3 hrs had passed before u bf again

juju, yes, mum is experienced. she actually told me dun need to get CL.. but i told her new born takes up alot of time. e.g. bf babies poo a few times a day.. i said just cleaning the poo, already takes up alot of time.. and bb's clothes need to be hand wash... not even mention of taking care of me, cook for me & do housework.. so better get a CL.. more pair of hands mean i can really dun do anything in that 1 mth! ha!

thanks for the tip. We had dinner with my dh's UK friend. her bb was 6.5 mths & still bf. but she took 2 glasses of wine for dinner. i asked her how come she can drink so much when she is bf. she said the same thing as u.

anyhow, based on science, alcohol content will evaporate at 100 degree. thus, the chicken cook in XO will not hv much alcohol inside anymore..

Hazel,

I thought you want to follow strictly..not bathing. Ha ha...In this kind of weather, can't lah.

If your baby has jaundice and you are bf, you have to avoid Chinese herbs and limit your ginger intake.

juju, my bro's 2 kids, my mum did the confinement for my SIL both times, including taking care of bb through out the night so that my SIL can rest for that 1 mth.

my mum stays just upstairs with my bro. very convenient. next time when bb starts on porridge, she will prepare also. even on wkends, i can get her to prepare in advance & put in thermal flask so to bring out when we go out..

Singapoh, that part on jaundice, chinese herbs & ginger part i know. coz my mum told me b4. anyhow, my mum is experienced, i know am in good hands. even CL is no good & blur, my mum will know n stop her. so, i dun hv to worry.

Hazel,

Yes for newborns, use cooled boiled water to wash their mouth but for us, ok lah. Singapore water is safe to drink

Actually we don't need anyone to take care of us unless you can't move by yourself.

I think your gf wants her baby to sleep longer so she drank so much wine. Ha ha...

After you cook alcohol for 10 minutes, all gone liao.

I bathed with herbs plus rice wine. Not so sticky.

I think local CL is slightly cheaper than Msian CL coz no need to pay for levy. (from agency)

Singapoh, my mum has 3 children. am the only one she breastfed. but she did not bf me for long, just a few mths coz she told me, she did not seem to hv lots of breast milk & i always did not have enough during feeds.

my SIL 2 kids also nv bf. coz she has inverted nipples & had infection in her 1st week when she was bf the 1st one. she took antibiotic & has to pump & throw away the breast milk for at least 2 wks. she found it too troublesome & hence stopped. no. 2 she did not even bother bf anymore.

the 2 kids, no 2 is the strongest. rarely fall sick & chubby. coz SIL cordecyep when she was pregnant with no. 2. my colleagues who have a few kids also told me the same thing.

Singapoh, i know myself very well. one small cut down there, i cant take it one.. i will be lying in bed all days. i did wisdom tooth surgery twice when am mid 20s, on LA. each time, was given 1 wk MC like the rest.. but not enough for me... it was extended to 2 weeks both time.

my gynae did a day surgery for me in 2008. same thing, he has to extend my MC when my wound dun recover... & everyday i lie in bed whinning away.. hahaa

as for the local maid & malaysian maid. i bought a book on pregnancy which is sold in bookstores. the prices are there, including reputable agencies. Sporean maid are more ex.

a kind forum silent sister who is doing confinement now wrote to me & gave me her contact of her CL which she said was very good.

Hazel,

My mum only bf me for 2 weeks! Bf takes a lot of patience and sacrifices. That's why so many women give up before they succeed.

Regardless of the size of the breasts, you can sure bf. Small breasts feed more often coz contains lesser milk at a time. Just like a small pail.

My MIL commented "your breasts so small where got milk?" 2 days after I delivered. I proved her wrong by bf for close to 22 months (16 months of total bf) Ha ha!!! I think she won't dare to comment anymore.

Yes bf babies are stronger even when they are older.

It's possible to bf with inverted nipples. I kena mastitis (breast inflamation) when my son was 2 months old. High fever and felt so uncomfortable but I didn't give up.

Will CL do all that ie. Prepare cooled boiled water w herbs & rice wine, or e water for u & bb? E few CL my few SILs had don't do much housework too... Hazel, think ur mum will really tell e CL off? Some CL think they know e best and ok not to follow some old practices (think they r just lazy). That is y my mum 看不下 and wanted to do for me. If CL r like wat u said, will take such good care, I wld like to consider using them too... But wat I'm afraid is getting only a more experienced & "geng" domestic maid...

despondent, that is my criteria to the CL when i engage her. i.e., she has to listen to wat my mum said if her ways differ. if she said cant, then too bad.

anyhow, is basic knowlege that pregnant ladies must bathe in boiled water with herbs / rice wine. if she does not even know all these, then she is not fit to be a CL.

i will talk to the CL b4 engaging & tell her my expectations. can follow good. cannot too bad. worse come to worse, i always hv my mum

if u know me, u will know am not a push over either. i hv a very strong character & i wan things done my way.. e.g after cooking, she has to clean the tiles in the kitchen coz it will be very oily. she has to do washing n ironing of my dh's clothes also n cook for him if he wants to eat on wkends. but, this part i will pay her extra. coz i know her role is do housework, take cares of bb & me and not my dh.

food wise, i dun wan chicken for a start. i dun hv good skin. chicken will slow down my recovery. i easy with food & dun expect a feast.

despondent, it will most likely be me who will tell her off if she does not do wat i want. not my mum. b4 u engage, u must really screen & interview her. test her. if not, how u know she does real confinement for u or half here half there?

the contact that this silent reader sister gave me, she said the CL can take instructions & cook well. she said her dh & elder daughter love her food also. she said she cleans up well also after cooking & she wakes up a 3-4 times a night to feed bb. i will call her after CNY...

my gf also has a contact of a good one. BUT, hers is ex. minimum 2.3k...

actually, i can be demanding but i am not unappreciative. if she can meet my expectation & do a good job. i dun mind giving her another angbow after my confinement also.

Singapoh, is not Singapoh water is not safe. Is tt during confinement we r not supposed to touch tap water which is supposed to be cooling.

anyhow, each to it's own

Singapoh, order 1 year of motherhood enuff har? I am still thinking ordering 2 years....hmm, or maybe shld jus buy off the shelf..sometimes can't wait to get hold of the mag rather than waiting for it to be mailed over...

Hmm...wah, now discussing wat water to use during confinement liao har? I have not heard that cannot touch tap water either....I guess I will try to listen to watever my MIL said since she's doing confinement for me.

Was jus complaining to my hubby on the hot weather and telling him hopefully that it won't be that bad when I'm doing my confinement. And he said jus on aircon whole day lor...hiak hiak..got his support on this so MIL cannot refuses in the future...

CL will wash mummy's clothes together with the rest of family. She also cooks for the family too. She also mop the floor like twice a week.

Hazel who's ironing yr dh's clothes now? CL also needs to nap when bb is napping in the afternoon especially if she has to wake up many times to feed.

Soon to be,

by right subcribers get their magazine before it hits the store. I subscribed for 3 yrs at the Motherhood fair coz there gave a kiddy rack and goodies

If follow confinement practise stritctly, can't even bathe. My gf didn't bathe for 40 days! Use dry shampoo and soap. For 2 pregnancies and her CL is her dh!!

You can turn on the aircon not lower than 26 degrees.