IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hey gals, we meet later...it's okay. We'll meet when singapoh can eat again..and we get the amnios and house-moving out of the way

Singapoh, hehehe.....i will ask lar, will let u know later...

Oxidised, I hope that I'm not the one affecting ur mood...

Spiffy, u good leh.....can still eat so well...my gastric has been giving me problems for the last few weeks, so make my appetite worse.

I'm really getting very worried to continue to stay with KKH for my pregnancy. Twice, I have been told that I'm scheduled for CVS when I clearly remembered that Dr Loh has suggested for the amino test.....how can they mix this up....now, I really have my doubt with KKH.

I was from IVF-ICSI (usually used 'hopeful_mel' as my nick and now graduate liao..hehe..i knew some of you here from the previous forum..

By the way i wanna ask how to count my pregnancy week. If my last menses was 31 Oct 2009, and my FET done on 18 Nov 2009, so that means now I am in Week 4?

By the way, i was feeling the cramps 3 days after FET till the Beta day which was last friday, now i no longer has much cramps, if there is no cramping feeling is it ok? or it's good to have that cramping feeling?

sorry long story hor..

hi mel, i think the easiest is ET + 2 weeks.

soon-to-be, pardon my ignorance but i know CVS and amnio are quite similar in the procedure. what's the difference?

Spiffy, the needle used for CVS is thicker...so definitely more painful. As in risk, I haven't check it out yet. But if such simple instructions can diff, I wonder wat will happen to other more complicated instructions.

oh, i've just read.. one takes amniotic fluid, the other cells from placenta. soon-to-be, i think it's an honest mistake. Did Dr Loh use 'amnio' loosely to mean an invasive procedure or specifically THAT in your discussion wtih him?

Spiffy, Been busy with work. So Linda you better enjoy your last few days away from work.

Boss not giving me easy time. She forgot how she felt during early pregnancy. Anyway.. working life what can we say, right?

I don't mind meeting up when everyone are up to it. Just set the date and place, I will tell you if I can make it.

Singapoh, in fact since BFP although i experienced nauseanous, I only vomitted twice and that I already felt miserable. So thank's God, I don't have MS all the time.

Oxidised and Soon-to-be, please continue praying for perfectly and wonderfully made baby/babies.
I will include this in my prayer for my baby to be perfectly made and functioning for all organs, limbs, hands, legs, toes, hair, skin, every cells in the body and brain, to be developing perfectly and wonderfully made as accordingly to God's will. I know I'm a Christian, but all God are good, right?

So keep on the faith..

Btw, anyone can answer my query about the insurance? whether it will still be effected if I change hospital? because hubby prefers me to change to TMC once Prof gives green light.

Spiffy, I wrote to Dr loh and he told me to do Amino. So going to print out the email and show the nurse tomorrow..going for my counselling tomorrow.

As far as I know Lina should have given birth coz she inducing on the 7th while mine c-section is scheduled on 10th. Counting down...

soon to be, that's good, at least you have some form of confirmation. Counselling so early?

i can't stop looking at the bunch of u/s pics the sonographer gave me. It's a closeup of the faces and i just feel like such a contented mother already. was shocked to see so much movement too..had this silly grin on my face throughout. i was thinking, so small so active/'naughty' already ...sigh. sometimes i feel motherhood is so overwhelming

Spiffy, ya, i aso dunno why so early...they jus called me this afternoon and asked me to be there at 8am for the counselling, and i think after that have to set the appt...

Sunflower
Thanks, ytd scan can see baby sac and flickering heartbeat. I was supposed to be 6w 4d, but sac measurement is a bit smaller, only abt 6w.

Dr Loh says now still consider very early pregnancy, i must continue to take care until pregnancy stabilizes.

He also doesn't want to say much abt my scan leh.. he says now everything looks ok, and we hope for the best.. He make me feel worried.

He says i shouldn't be asking too much questions like size of embryo, how fast is heartbeat etc.. he thinks i should continue to relax and dun bother so much with all these figures.

My next scan will be 2 weeks time, he won't be around, will be reviewed by another Dr HH Tan. Praying hard now, that my baby continue to grow very well and healthily.

How are you? Has your spotting stopped completely?

January
How was your scan ytd? It was so crowded at KKH ytd, waited for so many hours.

Oxidised, Soon to be
I checked with Dr Loh abt the DS results recently, like not very accurate.. He told me because the BT was done too early, around week 9/10. By right, BT should be done only on week 12, tog with the scan. Last time all the BT results are good, unlike these times. He suggest to me, if i was asked to do BT early for DS, i give excuse to say not free, and postpone BT tog with scan. Then the results will be more accurate.

So, please do not worry too much, your babies will be fine :)

Libby,

i will pray for you. you dont worry so much, i believed your baby will grow well k.. Maybe he is right, u shld relax and dont think so much, so that baby can grow well. Maybe u can start take Anmum or Protein powder, i heard they aid alot for baby growth.

i light spotted again yest morning, so went kkh for a jab.. at the same time, the dr wants to scan to see if he can something. found a sac at 5mm.. so mine is singleton

im also seeing Dr HH Tan next week for my 6th week scan.

Sunflower
Thanks, do you need to bedrest now? Try not to walk too much.

Congrats, you can see your baby sac already, it's a relief! Next week, will be able to see baby flickering heartbeat :)

At first i worry, cos my HCG wasn't very high to start off with, so not sure if that's the cause of a smaller sac?? But now, i must continue to have faith in my baby, and be positive all the times. I have started taking Anmum and also protein powder, very kiasu hor..

Cactus, oh ya, forgot about your plan C section on 10 Dec. So tomorrow.. so excited..

Have a good rest today ok..

Libby, what is the sac size?
My sac was measured at 1.79cm around Wk 6 Day 2 i think. can't remember already.

Sunflower, i thought with such a high HCG, you should be having twin leh. Let's see, maybe the second sac will be seen on the next scan.

libby,

yes , im on bed rest for 2 days, so very free now.. i think u dont worry so much k, your baby shld be doing very well..

keke, oh u started Anmum liao! keke, good good..

Vi4n
How do you see ah? From my scan picture, there's 3 dimension.. 17.9mm, 13.9mm, and 6.8mm one..

I only know it was stated on the form embryo is abt 6week old size only.. and my EDD was pushed back to 5 August 2010.

Dr Loh says base on 6w 4d, my EDD should be around 1 August 2010.

Sunflower
I'm just thinking could your spotting be due to the 2nd embryo dissolving.. since it's confirmed you have a singleton now? So do not be too alarmed..

Vi4n,

duno leh, only 1 waterbag and dr say 1 sac..
i think FET count different ba..cos we count ET as day 1, whereby for fresh cycle, we count ET as day 2 already.. so maybe my BHCG tested on D16 shld be Day 18?

its ok lar..1 baby is ok for me too, as long as he/she is healthy!

Libby,

Don't worry too much. My appetite was really bad yet both my foetus are growing well inside. Make sure you rest more, walk less and don't wear tight pants.

libby,

is it.. i dont think leh..i think is the days we count for FET is different ba.. cos my spotting is light pinkish de, and its a bit stain on my liner.

me also early august leh.. ard national day.. but i estimated from online calculator lar..

Singapoh
Thanks, i will do that.. think your MS is due to high HCG cos of twins.. Must take care too.

So far, i only at worst MS during brushteeth and gargling, that's when i will have reflux and vomit gas.. but other than that, only a bit nausea when my stomach is empty, gets hungry very fast though..

Sunflower
Think first few times scanning, we won't get a firm EDD yet.. but if your baby is NDP baby, very nice day to rem too :)

libby,

since u have lots of gas, do u feel something is choking ur throat/chest while u eating or drinking? is it bcos of our gastric problem? its the heartburn is it? i also very hungry all the time.

Libby,

Dr Loh said so too

I am scared to brush teeth too. Sometimes will merlion.
But lately I am much better. Tomorrow is the start of my 2nd trimester liao. Yay!

MS attacks when your stomach is empty. Before you get out of bed, eat a few plain crackers. Then rest for about 20 minutes before you get up slowly. You can try ginger biscuit too.

Sunflower,

My first few weeks I had no appetite. Can only eat half bowl of porridge with some dishes. Eating less than my son

Now my appetite is much better.

libby, ya, it was so crowded at kkh yesterday...arrived at 11.30 and only left at 3.00+....all seems to be well. am at around slightly over 7 weeks. m having a singleton =). saw the heartbeat flickering and the sonographer said, very good, heart beat very strong. dr loh estimates my edd to be end july. next scan in 2 weeks time...

Singapoh
Great to hear your appetite is better, enjoy your beginning of 2nd trimester :) I dun have appeitite for biscuit leh.. actually craving for sinful or junk food more.. but cannot leh..

Sunflower
Not really those choking type.. i have a history of gastric but i think this is worsen by increase of progesterone in our body.. but if i can burp it out, or pass out as gas, the pain will be relieved :p

January
Great to hear that.. I was in U/S room 1, that sonographer unfriendly leh.. I asked her questions, she says she can't answer me, must let my doctor explained to me lor..

Libby,

1st trimester foetus doesn't get their nutrition from the food we eat. I told my hubby. No wonder I feel so weak. Both are sucking all my goodness! Ha ha...

I checked with Dr Loh whether I can take Eno Ginger. He said it's ok because it's minerals. You can check with your doctor.

January,

Singapoh,

oic , maybe u carrying twins, hcg is so much higher, thats y MS quite strong? but its ok , i heard 2nd trimester will be honeymoon period, more energetic and less MS.

Libby, My scan only show 1 measurement which is 1.79cm. so I think yours should be fine lah. don't worry ok.
Take the largest no. of measurement.

Sunflower, actually i also prefer singleton, so Thanks God for my singleton. hehehe.. easier to manage.

Singapoh, you same with me leh. Tomorrow officially 12 weeks pass 1st trisemester already.
But you already done your test, I have not. haiz.

Libby, My test is scheduled on 15 Dec. Mid of 12 wks already.

Sunflower, 2 weeks ago just saw 1 friend who had 6 months old twin (boy & girl). They are so different, the girl very self entertained, the boy active and laugh a lot. Both super cute.

Libby, thanks...ya, that was what Dr Loh told me last week too....

Nevertheless, I have jus scheduled for my amino on 8 Jan, sigh, still a long way to go. They actually scheduled me to do CVS today (was in complete shock when they told me they are doing CVS today as the nurse only told me abt the counselling when they called me yesterday for this morning appointment). Now, I regretted not doing the CVS this morning. Though more painful but I will know my results before New Year. Now, have to bring the fear and pain over to the new year.........

libby,
dun worry too much... have faith in ur baby... usually 1st trimester u won't get to hear the heartbeat... doc will just let u see the flickering... i only heard my baby's heartbeat at wk 12 and only in 2nd trimester then doc will start measuring baby's heartbeat... keep some crackers with u wherever u go.. i used to do that in 1st trimester cos once i'm hungry i have to eat cannot wait... if not will do the merlion... dunno why crackers also help to settle the stomach... good to start on ammum too since we can't take much food we need nutrients ourselves... i survived on ammum as part of my dinner as in 1st trimester i cant eat much during dinner time..

soon-to-be,
everything has its time.. so dun fret ok... just go thru xmas and new yr happily... this is ur 1st xmas and new yr with ur little one still in ur tummy

Vi4n
I see.. all the best for the test next week.

Soon to be
Understand how you feel, i think i'll be same like you.. can't stand the suspense.. it's torturing.

Eskimobaby
Thanks, i will definitely be positive and have faith in my baby. Afterall, we have come so far.. God will definitely bless us.

It's true.. i also cannot stand hunger, it can strike any minute, and i must have something to eat immediately, else like very very lethagic, no strength, very empty, don't know how to describe that terrible feeling.. my hubby even commented, wait 5 mins go out buy food also cannot type, i must at least drink milk then can dahan the 5mins walk out.

I've been eating supper every nite, run out of idea what food to eat, so will buy those packet grilled drumlets from ntuc, will heat it up and eat before i sleep..