IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi miss hae,
so fast your babies three months already! hehe.. and yes, they are so adorable. i really can't imagine how you cope.. and i really salute you. for me, just to jaga one, oh my, takes a toll on me too. my nights are no longer peaceful as every little sound she makes, i wake up. plus, she likes to stay up at night which makes sleeping even more scarce. just last nite, she woke up every hour hungry.. dunno why.. bm given, even supplement with formula.. still not enough..

anyway, what to do to make baby switch from night baby to day baby.. hehe.. if there's such a term. in the day, my darling likes to sleep.. so soundly.. but at nite she's more cranky..

bliss, lina
i have not gone into details with hb on anything yet.. he said too early. heehee, do u hv a list of CL to share?

btw, can preggy mummy go for message at this stage... got neck and backache at tiems leh..

I'm new here. I have just ended my 12th week. Can anyone let me know when u stopped progesterone support? Cos i was told to stop my duphaston pills by 12th week but i'm rather afraid.

Hi sam,
thanks for the advice information and agree with you, this is the last stride, must take good care.

Hi bee,
i have the CL info that bliss passed to me. If you need it, let me know.

Hi dosb,
glad to see you in this thread. I was only given progesterone until 10th week, should be ok.

dosb,
welcome and congrats.

I had my duphaston pills until week 12 too. Dont worry, it is safe if your gynae stops the supply.

Bee,
I dont have a list of CL. Lina just replied you liao.
Can ask me or her for my Cl's contact if you want.

Hi Pleasance,

Can you PM (Private Msg) me ur msn email? I got some questions to ask you.

I tried to PM u but your PM acc is not activated.

hey,
to mummies who haven't got their playpen...
i have an extra without mattress, letting go @ $50 which is the price i got. let me noe if interested or pm me for pics.

hi juju,

That time on 37wks, how much is your bb weight?
Last saturday, on my 37wks the doc said my bb weight is 3.199 kg. And can pop up any time..
hehehehe ^_^

hi juju,
ooo ic... so now you are on Maternity leave already?

bliss,
based on tummy (I guess). hehehe but doc said that sometimes is not accurate can be bigger or smaller.
dunno leh.. see the screen is abt 3199gr.. but doc said abt 3.2kg... hahahaha :D and it is already full term so just wait till enggage and pop up... hahahaha :D

Jo,
you mean the screen will show your bb's weight? Oh... I never see that leh.
Your bb not engaged yet? Should have engaged already, rite? Coz anytime can deliver mah.

hi juju,
wow... i'm going to take annual leave 1 wks before est due date... hahaha :D
maternity mode already... hahaha :D lazy to wok... hahaha :D

bliss,
maybe next visit ask dr sadhana bah

jo,
hee... me also lazy to work, but bo bian
mine alrdy engaged, dunno why she dun wan to come out yet

Sam, do take care. Hope you can tahan as long as possible. I'm carrying triplets too, and similar to you, I transferred only two embroys. I'm now in my 19 weeks. My dr actually asked me to rest throughout my pregnancy but I ignore and still going to work. But after reading on your story, i think I better re-consider to rest asap. My dr worried that I may dilate early as I'm of small built (1.55m only).

Ms Hea, your girls are so cute. What was your delivery cost at NUH with prof? I'm thinking of seeing another gynea. I'm currently with Dr Suresh Nair at Mt E. I'm worried that the medical bills for the babies @ NICU will be super expensive. Just happen that prof Wong is one of the gynea at the same clinis as dr Nair. Thought of switching to him. Hope NUH will not cost as much as Mt E.

hopefully
add me at [email protected] (msn)

Sam
oh dear read ur post and so worried for u. Do take care and endure As long as possible.

Littlebee
So nice to have anothere triplets on the thread.Have u know the gender of the babies yet?

i went for followup today. Tested to have high sugar. anyone experienced that? but doc did not give me any medication onli ask me to cut down on sweet stuff.

merlenna
don't worry dear! i went through that too. every single sound they made, i woke up and sometimes they didn't want milk. they were just like making sounds then they slept. and can imagine, my 3 babies, they won't wake up together for their night feeds but 1 by 1? i'm literally awake the whole night. sleep for a few minutes, 1 wake up. done with that one, another one wakes up. lol!

they only started to sleep longer during the night at 21/2months.the last feed was about 11plus or 12 then they slept through the night and only woke up ard 6am. my 2nd girl started first, then the 3rd one, then my 1st. if they had an early last feed, earliest they wake up is about 4.30am.

can understand your tiredness.
try to take shifts with hubby. you both can do alternate nights. trust me, it'll do you both good. i taught my husband how to change diaper, burp, feed milk and pat the babies to sleep. i really made him do every single thing in front of me and when he got all ok,we started our shift but because we have 3, we take turns to wake up. first one to wake up, i tend to her first. the next one who wakes up, he do it and so on.we also tried things like from 12 to 3am,anyone who wakes up i do then 3am to 6am, he do. it works for us and even having at least 30minutes of uninterrupted sleep does wonders for us.

what the doc told me is that, the amt of milk they drink @ the hospital not the same when they get home. when they get home, they tend to drink more. at times,much more than you thought! you try to prepare extra formula and each time you observe how much she drink. if she had enough, she should be able to sleep through 3hours for newborns. and please swaddle too! up till now, i swaddle my girls but it's more for their arms cos they tend to be 'terkejut' very often so swaddling calms them down.

littlebee
congrats!!!! triple joy for you! yes, pleaserest as much as you can as you're carrying 3 times the load. i resigned when i got to know i was pregnant with 3 and didn't work till now. the rest can drive you mad with boredom but it's for the best for your babies. it's the best you can give them.

my delivery cost was rather ok as i was with the b1 ward and all my girls stay in nicu was covered by my husband's medisave. believe it or not, we paid only $25 in cash.

oh yes, to all, don't forget to send in your claims to the insurance company if your babies get warded in nicu. mine was with great eastern and was supposed to submit all documents in a month but since they go home at different times and i wrote in, they were kind enough to wait and i got my claims.

Hi Miss Hae,
Your girls are so well behaved, sleeping through the night at 2 months plus is very good. Glad that you are coping well.

ms hae - i'm reading this book by gina ford on raising twins, how to set routines etc. sounds exactly like what you mention. maybe you want to read if you have time. but think you quite expert already

littlebee - congrats ! another set of triplets here. are you working ?

I am in my week 16. My little pouch tumy has moved from below the belly button to slightly above belly button. But the area around belly and above it is hard and feels like stretching leh. Is it normal? Quite uncomfortable feeling.

hi mommies, im new to this thread and i am pregnant through ivf. but things doesn't seems to goes well. i have went for a few hcg bt but today level did not show it double well in every 2 days

20/4 - 60
22/4 - 104
24/4 - 226
28/4 - 428

this pregnancy may not be a good one and im in a dilema because i am supposed to go oversea this friday. thought that this ivf is not successful and i can go oversea, but not im dangling no where. any advise?

joline - first, congrats on your BFP. why dont you ask your doc or nurse abt your results? i hear from some ladies that at first their results quite slow to increase, then suddenly increase very fast. think you should put off your holiday. you already went through so much to get preggy, so must take care

ladies - my friend wants to start ivf and asked me how many days after AF will start to take injections ? i cant remember at all !! its all a blur to me. is it 3 weeks after AF ? thanks

ponytail
i read that book while i was pregnant and frankly, i don't really like or feel comfy with the methods. i read a bit then i got turned off.

i just go with the flow actually. believe or not, as mothers, somehow or another,you will have that conscious feeling that you need to do this or that with the babies. for parents with multiples, it's good to set a routine so we can still stay sane and we need our rest but there has to be some form of loosening of the rules because no 2 or even 3 babies are the same and can adhere to the routines. and for what i am told, feed the baby on demand and that's what i did. that's why my girls weight can go up so quickly. happy babies equals to happy parents.

Had not posted for very long, super busy at home with my 2 gals. My younger gal was finally discharged from SCN last week.

I would advise all ladies to (double, triple)confirm caregiving issues b4 delivering to prevent stress and unnecessary depression, esp those with multiples. My mil agreed to take care of babies during preg, now say cannot cope, me super super stress now as i am going bk to work in 2mths time, and i dun know who to trust with the babies, they are so small, i dun wana send them to infantcare. My mil wants the maid to help take care, but i still can't trust the maid, she's here 1mth+ oni and wash milk bottles oso not clean, how to let her touch the babies?? Am really upset with my mil, die die say she cannot handle. Worse come to worse i gotta resign, but i feel bad cos my org. has been very understanding to my long absence so far.

Welcome and congrats to all teh new graduates. Hope all ladies would have a smooth preg and delivery.

Hi juju,
Haven't popped ar? Wats ur baby's weight now?

Hi Ms Hae,
Ur gals are so cute! My gals are delivered preterm at 31 weeks, so they are oni abt 39wks gestational age now. You seems to be managing well at home. Wonder if i can be like you if i become a SAHM heehee...

maykel
so sorry to hear abt your mil. can understand, must be very stressful. maid also, not all can be trusted. don't worry lah. u sure can!!

Ms Hae,
Wow, only $25 for cost of delivery and your babies NICU stay? How many days your gals were in NICU? If I remember correctly, your girls were of good weight when they were born.

For me, my delivery cost will be taken care off by my company insurance. I'm worried on the NICU cost for the babies. Checked KK website the other day, there they stated NICU cost is ard $470 per day per baby. So, I'm quite concern.
I hope I can tahan as long as I can. My doc said the most I can carry is up to 32 weeks. But I wish I can tahan more than that.

Ponytail, yes I'm working. My boss is very understanding. He actually asked me to rest at home until I deliver. I asked to work from home from next week onwards. I'll stop if I can't take the stress.

I just had my 35w6d appt today at clinic D. This time, I nearly 'fainted' to hear about my bb's weight! My boy is estimated 3kg now!! Oh my goodness... he was only 2.3kg 12 days ago... and I gained 2kg this time too...

Doc said my bb is on the slightly heavy side now, she even asked me what food I have been taking or if I have been drinking lots of milk. I told her I dont drink milk at all... so she was also surprised with my bb's fast weight gain. Haiz... dont know should be happy or not... Btw, my boy has engaged liao, no wonder I have been getting lots of rectum pain everyday.
Well, now I try to think of the gd things, big bb will be cute also...hahaha, as long as he is healthy will do.

Juju, now it is my turn to 'faint' liao, at least your gal is 3.1kg in week 37, mine only gg to be 36 weeks tmr... My doc said maybe I can deliver slightly earlier. Hahaha!

Maykel,
sorry to hear about how busy and tiring you are now taking care of bbs now. So who is helping you presently? Your mum? Ya, agreed with you, must really make arrangement before bb is born, esp with twins or triplets.
Hope things will get better soon for you. Take good care of your own health too, sure can solve this problem. Any other helpers you can think of, as in family members or relatives? If no, you can take a period of childcare leave?

Maykel,
hugs... can u take no-pay leave or not? let ur boss noe ur situation lor, think they will understand la.
i also scared my mil will fly me aeroplane, but hubby insist she help wif maid. i also dun wan maid to be in-charge & mil oversee...
ya lor... not popped yet. bb was 3.1kgs @ 37wks. tmr see dr loh for 39 wks, will update bb weight again. tired liao leh... and work more stressed lately, wanna start ML yet wanna save it for after bb is out.

bliss,
at least big, we dun worry about them underweight. like wat i came to realise la, it's only estimated weight. did u get the u/s print out wif weight indictaed?

bliss, big bb not equal big boy.. my MIL recently revealed that my youngest SIL was ~4.8 kg when she was born... but looking at her now, she is definitely underweight. so, u must get ready lor... bb coming anytime liao

btw my hb said it's too early to find a CL now... so guess i will wait a few more weeks and will get the contact from u or Lina if i need...thanks

when can preggy woman start eating birdnest and herbal tonic soup? a little disappointed when mil told me at dinner time tt it would be better to wait till 4th month b4 i eat all these.. thus, i watched hb eat the yummy birdnest

bee,
bird nest is liang. try to tahan till mid or end 2nd tri then start. i started mine in mid of 3rd tri.
if u need a CL very much, it's best to book early. ur edd is end of the yr? might be a popular time, also bcos it's holiday season

bee,
normal herbal tonic can start from 2nd tri. shld be those warming kind, not cooling ones
1st tri - let bb grow on their own, dun take tonics

littlebee
yes, we paid $25 in cash and the rest were from medisave. my 1st girl spent about 14days, 2nd girl 3 days and my youngest one 18days in nicu. we too thought the bill would be very expensive but luckily my gynae got us to downgrade to b1 and we also got the insurance that we signed up for while doing the ivf.

my first 2 girls weight were 1.9 something kg and the youngest at 1.6kg. the earlier scan showed all 3 had about the same weight but after i gave birth, no leh.

ya, if you can tahan longer, the lesser days your babies will spend in nicu but this we cannot predict also. i was adamant to tahan till 36weeks but but 35th week, i was very heavy, could literally feel the strain and i was actually happy to be admitted. by then, i just leave it to God to help me and my babies.

don't worry too much ok? you must relax more and have plenty of rest. sleep as much as possible and enjoy the time with your husband cos once the triplets are out, not much time to sleep and no time to go dating liao! hee3!

juju,
ya, dont have to worry about underweight. I did not have any u/s printout this time, anyway bb is too big to be taken in one printout and i always dont know which part is which part. I did ask doc about the weight indicated in the printout, she said the printout will not show the weight of bb anyway....
I also find that the scan machine in clinic D is much clearer than the one in TPS...kekeke...

Bee,
I also think that it is not too early to get a CL now. You better see how, can book one first. Btw, my CL does not need to collect any deposit first.
Btw, I started taking bird nests start of my 2nd trimester. But somehow I keep forgetting to take birdnests ever since 3rd trimester, have not been taking for weeks liao. :p

bliss - wow, thats quite a big baby. but big babies are cute too. i was a big baby. my mum says when i was born i look like 1 month old
anyway, a lot of articles in the papers receently abt how scan and actual birth weight quite different. so maybe this time the scan is wrong and not so heavy ?

maykel - try not to be so stress. maybe can read some books on how to take care of twins ? you still got some time until you start work right ? those ang moh books always talk abt how to handle by yourself, cos they have no maids there. it will be tough but the books always say can manage.

ms hae - ok will take the books with pinch of salt. 1 thing i find very confuse is gina ford says must start routine, then say feed on demand. so which is correct ?

hi bee,
don't take bird nest now. Chicken essence is ok. If you need the CL contact, let me know.

Hi bliss and juju,
you might like to ask your parents about you and hb birth weight last time. Sometimes the weight runs in the family.

ponytail,
ya, my bb is on the heavy side now. But doc also said the same thing, the real weight might be slightly lighter or heavier than this estimated one. My sis's scan on her bb on the day of delivery was 2.7kg, but the actual birthweight on that night was 3kg! So there is still difference in a way.

Btw, I have been reading lots of books on pregnancy and childcaring over these 4 years. I find that those ang mo books on pregnancy can be very deceiving and useless... heehee.. so I dont really find it effective to practise what was written.

Lina,
yes, I asked my mum before, my birthweight was 3.2kg, and my hubby's was less than 3kg. But then now, our bb is heavier than daddy and I think he will exceed mine too... hahaha...

bliss - 4 years ??? thought this is your 1st kid ? why you read so early ??? oh can tell me why you think ang mo books deceiving? i feel quite gullible now...

ponytail
i'm also reading Gina Ford CLB - basically reason to start a routine is create sleep associations for the bb, i.e. associate sleeptime with certain routines.

But when bb is crying due to hunger esp for BF bb, then is feed on demand. esp for first 4-6 weeks.

the only thing i wonder abt actual practicing of her routine is that she enforce from 7pm to 7am (according to her..that;s the natural sleep routine for bb)Howevere, in our lifestyle..that doesn't give much time for daddy to bond with bb cos by the time dd comes back, bb already asleep.

There's a 10.30pm late expressed feed that dd can feed bb, but that one not suppose to have any voice or eye contact considered a 'sleepy feed', so not much bonding besides that.

i'm reading tracy hogg "baby whisperer' now...another recommended book.

there's another thread here on GF routine practice by mummies here. can read for some info.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2052338/2316865.html?1240278780

ponytail,
I started trying to conceive since 4 years ago, so had started to read lots of books since then... haha, so after reading lots of ang mo books in various national libraries, I also borrowed chinese books on pregnancy too...
Oh, a lot to say about the ineffective ang mo methods... will tell you later.

lina,
my birth weight was abt 3.2kgs. so bb exceeding it soon. dun bother to ask mil, sekali she shoot me lotsa questions.

bliss,
yea... but dr loh will jus print out head circumference or something for me lor. think he knows i like to keep.

ponytail
that's why! so confusing. in the end, i never finish reading the book. haha!

read from the book is 1 thing. to do and practise it is another thing. what we believe in, our own way of doing things, is another thing too!

whatever it is, as long as it's for the good for our child, we'll do it.