IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bliss - wow so much perseverenace. glad that your eforts paid off

ms hae - yah i was confused, but thought i was only one. hee hee, feel quite gullible. was going to zap the whole book to re-read again

Hi Bliss,
Big babies are better then small ones like mine...my gals discharged liao now still 2kg plus oni....

Now my mum comes 2 days a wk and my mil stays here 3 days a wk, wkend is me and my hubby. For now my mil still ok, cos i'm at home with her and the maid mah. But if i go bk to work then she cannot liao...
Now still trying to work things out, hope can find a solution soon so that i would not be so stress.
Hope things would go smoothly for you, so happy for you as ur delivery date draws nearer

Hi juju,
Thanks....ya, i'm considering resign, NPL or part-time. But part-time may not be so feasble for my kinda job and my boss may not agree. I already email and hinted my bosses already, wait til mil confirm cannot then i talk to my boss.

Your maid come already?
Your baby is of good weight, very happy for you, jia you
hang in there, baby coming soon!

Hi ponytail,
Thank you. But i got no time to read now! haha...taking care is no issue, only problem is dun know who can care for them when i go bk to work. How are you getting on?

maykel,
maybe ask ur boss if ok to work from home, if u dun wanna resign or take NPL. may be workable depend on ur job scope.
hubby haven't even go agency... aiyah, i dun wan to chup la. he wan, he go take. i only see the maid at nite anyway. let him jaga her. she will be wif mil most of the time.
if can't get a maid when i go back to work, then infant care will come in lor.

today jus had wk39 chk up - din do ctg or ve.
bb is abt 3.2kgs, lucky not too big yet. phew!

hi juju,
infant care is also a good option. At least being taken care properly. But more ex compare to maid or babysitter.

lina,
calculated liao. extra $1-200 every mth.
the thing i like is more professional, plus wun need to deal wif mil & maid method of taking care of bb. and u noe there's not much tv. but can't say the same for child care in a few yrs time

juju,
glad that your gal does not gain much past 2 weeks... I hope my boy will be also the same, wont gain too much next appt.

Did you control your meals past 2 weeks? I mean not eating alot?

Maykel,
oic...so you have spent how many days of your maternity leave liao? Left how long to stay at home w bbs?
Btw, ask you, are you still breastfeeding your gals now? Plan to BF for how long?

wanna to check what can be used when way to hospital if water bag burst suddenly? Need to buy the special kind of absorbing pad? Any other ways?

HI All! Went from my heart beat scan today. Im pregnant with twins
Am suppose to go back for scan in 2weeks time. May i know wat is the scan abt? Also those with twins do u get more sick then those with 1??

bliss,
nope! i've been super hungry recently!
dunno why she din gain dat much. it's good lah...

itjabi,
congrats wif ur twins!

Hi juju,
i agree, less MIL and maid issue with infant care.

hi bliss,
just use a towel. If you happen to go out, also bring along a towel in your bag.

hi ltjabi,
congrats! so happy for you.

juju,
oic, so how much weight gain did you have this time?

Itjabi,
congrats on having twins! You cried when u saw the 2 heartbeats? heehee... You must take extra care then.

Lina,
ok thanks, so just normal bath towel? Can be reused or need to be disposed after that?

I have decided not to go oversea. But......

I have spotting on tuesday night and start to get lesser by now. Tuesday night also has little trace of red blood. Do u think i should go women 24hr clinic to see doctor? i do not why i have a feeling that my hcg level has went down. i have been taking bbt and today bbt went down, hpt strip has get lighter. will women 24hr clinic do another hcg BT if i request (& esp i have already done 4 BT)? But the main concern is i have miscarriage before. I am worried this will be recurring miscarriage

Hi Itjabi
Welcome to the club. I am also having twins. Cant compare whether the sickness is more or less coz its my first pregnancy. My main m/s was lack of appetite during dinner time, other than that, nothing much. For twins, doc tend to be more careful as there is more risk..So, they will schedule a check every 2 weeks. For me, I am in my week 16, i am still having my 2 weeks check. I am having identical twins,meaning most likely same gender as 1 embryo has split into 2 bbs. I only know i am having twins only week 10...hahah, doc din detect till then.

I intend to get some maternity working and casual clothes. Looking at suntec, marina and vivo. For vivo, any idea if there are many shops selling that? Coz if just 1-2 shops, no point for me to go down. If there is a stretch of shops, then where is it near? I cant walk much, so need to know where to park.

Joline
what did your gynae say about the chances of recurring m/c? As long as HCG is rising, not a concern. As this is the beginning of pregnancy, suggest you dun move too much, esp now have bleeding. Must have bed rest. But its always better to check with gynae and tell him abt bleeding. I had bleeding with clots in 1st tri too, and sometimes reddish brown discharge, every time i go see gynae. Dun care if it is kiasu. Better be safe than sorry. If need be, get a 2nd opinion.

Joline,
I would advise you to see your gynae or a gynae now... dont wait... you will feel better and relieved if it is actually not a problem.

hi itjabi,

yesterday i went scanning too, detect one heartbeat
but i m seeing dr loh 2 weeks later, cos he just wanna make sure the other embroyo is not outside the womb (etopic).

itjabi - congrats ! i'm having twin gals, now 27 weeks. during 1st tri i didnt have much symptoms, very little MS. on days when i had MS i was so happy, cos heard that having MS is good. but some ppl have completely smooth preg without MS. so differs from person to person

jolinne - i had spotting during 1st tri too. can understand your anxiety. please call your doc / nurse immediately. sometimes its more reassuuring to hear from the nurses. hope all is well.

bliss - wah... you very hardworking, got time to google all the websites
btw, i went to squeeze with ppl at robinsons closed door sale yesterday. wah, i really no stamina man. wanted to look at so many things but ended up buying on some babies' stuff. mind is willing but flesh is weak

ponytail,
ya, i am quite free daily at home. I just searched for those websites when 76 asked. I did not buy any maternity clothes for myself so far, just wear those passed down by my sisters.

Wah, you can still chiong in the crowded shopping areas? I want to go to the baby fair at expo and metro sale this weekend leh, but dare not go now, hubby forbids becoz there will be lots of pple and so i also dare not go to squeeze and expose to all the germs and bacteria around at this beginning stage of swine flu... haiz...

bliss - yar i still go shopping, but i'm very careful that ppl see me the big preggy lady and make way for me
i like shopping and so far enjoying this pregnancy very much

hi mommies, thanks. i am back from the clinic. hcg on raising but still very very slow. nothing i can do now but to continue with the medicine and wait for next week review. hope my spotting will not come back and hcg quickly pick up the speed

lina,
yea... but hubby think differently. so let it be lah.

bliss,
me almost 2kg! she, only 100gms! piangz!
wah! good research there! i din bother to search for maternity shops. jus buy wat i can wear & gotta be cheap!
i'm also targetting to go for bb fair & metro fair @ expo either tmr or sat.

joline,
hope u alrdy went 24hrs clinic to chk! take care!

Hi Itjabi,
have read from the other thread about your hospitalisation and one of your embies' heartbeat has stopped. Very sorry to hear about it. Please stay strong still and I am sure your other embryo will be strong with mummy and stick with you throughout.
I am praying for you. Hugz...

hi juju,
how is the bb fair/metro fair at expo?
got anything to buy?

hi joline,
hope your hcg will rise.

hi ltjabi,
u r same case with me. 1 of my twins heartbeat also stopped. stay positive and be strong. ^_^

Jo,
I also went to the bb fair and metro sale this afternoon.Very few pple at the bb fair and the things selling are lesser than those in the March bb fair. I didnt manage to get anything, I wanted to buy a forehead and ear thermometer for my bb, but cant find one everywhere now.

Bought a few XL size panties at the Metro Sale. Nothing else to buy too. Haiz... quite disappointing.

jo,
not much leh.
i din get anything frm metro sale. only bot 2 bean bag covers from bb fair, plus goodie bags (1 NB pamper sample, 1 pair Pigeon breast pad, 1 Poise panty liner).

bliss,
wat time did u go? i was there ard 1/2 plus... din see thermometer

juju,
I went there ard noon, had my lunch at the subway and left at ard 3pm. Didnt see you too.
Thanks, ya I know no thermometer.

thanks juju and lina - think mil felt a bit bad and so she made birdnest for me two days later... so birdnest in my stomach liao... since it is liang, will take it at next trimester. meanwhile will take herbal soup to make it warm again :D

I am currently looking for a thermometer online for my coming newborn baby, coz thermometers are out of stocks in outside shops and pharmacies. Recently, there are a few mothers selling their brand new thermometers to me, but I am not sure which one to buy. I would prefer a forehead and ear thermometer for newborn baby, but also heard that Braun ear thermometer is quite good. Can give some comments on the thermometers below if can?

1)Brand new Petit Terraillon 3 in 1 thermometer selling at $50
http://www.weegschaalboer.nl/petit-terraillon-multithermo-p-172.html?language=En

2)Brand new EXERGEN TemporalScanner Model TAT-2000C selling at $88
http://www.exergen.com/medical/TAT/tatconsumerpage.htm

3)Overseas spree selling Braun ThermoScan Compact Ear Thermometer
@US$38.99 (Model : IRT 3020 CO)
Should cost less than SG$70 after international shipping cost.
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=166207&catid=109001

4)brand New CADI thermometer selling at $86 with 1 year warranty & normal
postage
http://www.cadi.com.sg/products03.htm

1) and 4) are forehead and ear thermometers
2) is forehead thermometer
3) is ear thermometer

twinstar/bees

I dun think birdnest is '凉' its more of '润'.Many ppl have misconception abt it. Chinese Doc told me 凉' is different from 润.Taking birdnest helps build up babies Immunity system .I took birdest from the day of my ET till now....i will cook birdnest 2 x a week...and took a spoonful of the 老行家 birdnest everynight and i'm alreadi 31+ weeks preggy.

pleasance,
from what i understand from Raffles TCM is that bird nest is basically protein, so it's good for growing bb.& immunity system.

however she also said that bird nest can cause asthma in some newborns, and some babies get ecexma, so basically to be safe, to start BN only in 2nd tri & not to over do it.

white fungus also has same/higher amt of protein as BN and can be an alternative.

hi bliss,
i have been using Braun ear thermometer. I tried another brand, was Omron brand but no good. It takes a long time to start up. So i still prefer the Braun one. Not sure if any difference with the model type. I know some thermometer comes with night lighting. Mine does not have night light.

Lina,
thanks! I am thinking of getting a Braun too. But thinking to get another model which is bit more exp than the compact model.

hi bliss,
do also check out the bulk purchase thread in this forum. I recall seeing a Braun thread and you still have time to wait for the goods to arrive. I bought my Braun from bulk purchase too, after adding the shipping cost, still very cheap.

lina,
yes thanks, I am indeed joining the overseas spree. There are two sprees ordering the same model in fact, I am still checking which one is cheaper.

hi ladies - went for 28 wk checkup today. my twins weighing 1.1 kg each. sonographer said everything normal. my hubby went wif me, we were so happy yo see our babies again
but then the prof at the clinic said mt babies' growth rate slowd down, which is normal for twin preg. i was relieved when i heard last bit, phew. but he wants me to rest more. then went to see my usual gynae, he gave me 4 wk HL to rest at home !! tomoro i'm going back to work, dont know how to tell my boss & colleagues leh... 4 weeks leh, so long... how ah ???