IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bliss,

detailed scanning depends on whether bb wanna cooperate or not.. Mine takes 2 hr plus, even my doc ask me close my eyes and nap if im tired wor.. but luckily my trio all quite cooperative, if not doc ask you go for a walk and make them wake up..

thanks bliss, sam. yup i already bought 3 sets of clothes yesterday after my scan, hee hee. oh i didnt know shorter cervix length is no good. my doc didnt say anything he only said all looks good and healthy, so i didnt ask too many questions. the cervic length scan was part of babies' scan, no separate or vaginal scan needed. i guess if the doc didnt even mention, yours should be fine.

hi 76,
hehe ya i just remember that our scan dates are close to each other. can't wait for this scan because i'm going to start sharing the news after this!

im not taking iron pills just prenatal tablets but pregnancy books say headaches can be caused by hormonal changes and increased blood volumes. so maybe both increase/decrease of blood can affect? just try to take everything easy and relax more.

hi ponytail,
so cute!! twin gals!! will be so much fun dressing for one, what more two girls!! hehe.. congrats, yeah?!

hi juju,
i have an appt on friday. was initially scheduled for 5+ timing but brought up to 1+.. that is if i haven't delivered by friday lah. *cross fingers* hope baby wanna see the world soon!

hi jo,
woah, they suka2 only ah? hmmm.. weird lah how they charge us. i thought the amt standard one. how come this one got difference. hmm.. nvm, as long as they make sure its my gynae who delivered me, i'm fine.

just and update. i'm waiting for some signs of labour but at the moment, i've only seen traces of blood in my discharge. not enough i think to be called the mucous plug being discharged, i think. it looks like the kind of stain the day before your 1st day menses. not very bloody, you know what i mean? hehe.. anyway, cramps are on and off.. so i guess they are still BH contractions.. but they are slightly longer and more painful than the BH contractions i've experienced in the past. so, i'll still be doing more waiting for some more signs.. heh..

hi merlenna,
just realize ohhh..
have u told them that u decide to use epidural?
That time i told them i have not decide whether i want to use epidural or not. Maybe the price different due to epidural charges?

yea yea.. i also heard if u got spotting that means your delivery day will coming soon. ^_^
wow.. so exciting leh... hehehe

Hi sam,
take a good rest.. hope u get well soon.

Cribby
So far, who have you shared news with? i shared with my boss and my and his family. The rest not yet... Some colleagues suspect coz i always take mc but i denied... They say 1st tri is 14weeks...so i think i will wait...or at least till after my Down syndrome scan next Wed.

hi 76,
so far i've only told my family and just a few friends. hope to announce the news to other relatives and friends soon, so excited but still a bit nervous about it. hehe.
we decided not to go for the down syndrome scan since the detailed scan a couple of weeks later will cover almost everything i think.
1st tri is 14 weeks? i thought it was after week 12? if you can wait till 14 weeks to tell, in a few weeks more you can feel your babies kicking already and should be very assuring by then.

hi cribby
Yah lor... diff pple have diff definitions of 1st tri... coz if 1st tri is 12 weeks..then 12x3=36...also not right mah....coz the whole term is 40 weeks... so, its 13.3333 weeks? hahaha... this sat will be my Week 12!!! cant wait for it to come...week 12 is still my psychological mark....hehehehe...maybe i will announce by phases, just like when they do project, also launch by batches...heheh

Hi cribby ,

How have you been ? Are you still with Dr Loh. TPS is actually not cheap. Each time I pay about $130 ~ $140. Last week did the DS scan and bt. Under low risk group. Didn't know the detail scan also cover DS, if not won't go ahead. Not cheap too $300 plus.

Hi 76
I'm currently week 13. Most of mine relatives and friends already know the news. They ask me so just tell the truth. I put on weight, thats why lor. Now tummy very round , like carry a small ball. heehee..

Btw , will you all take bird nest ?

Hi Josephine,
How are you

hi bliss,
doc sadhana said yeah, i could deliver anytime. just a matter of waiting. so i was hoping that she'll come sooner. before i meet doc again on friday. she did say that its great if baby comes soon. coz her head low already..

hi ponytail,
i'm in my 38th week. due anytime i guess although EDD is still about one half week away. but i am hoping to deliver before EDD. coz after 37 week, baby is full term. no lah doc didn't say anything abt admitting earlier.. its just that when the 3 signs of labour appears, you just admit urself to the delivery suite coz you should give birth soon. 3 signs - bloody show, waterbag leakage and bad,bad cramps.

hi josephine,
no lah, i also didn't tell them whether i wanna opt for epidural or not. i think that one is a decision to be made only during labour right? i have no idea also why there's a difference. haha.. but yeah, i'm waiting for more signs. i am excited rather than scared.. can't wait for see baby actually.. hehe..

Merlenna,

So exciting le...we also excited for you.. must update us when you are discharge k...

Me too sick now to chat much n cannot sleep...

hi kaira32,
happy to see you here.
How many weeks are you now?
so far, i am doing fine. Now i am on my way to 33wks... sighhh... very tired, sleepy, lazy and backache.... sometime got nausea... hahahaha :D
are you conceive twins?

hi merlenna,
ooo ic... i thought u already decided to take the epidural... hahaha :D do you feel tired?
Now oh, i feel very tired leh... always fall sleep... then ohhh.. i am thinking whether if i am labour i don't got any energy to push then how oh... cos now no more energy leh... every morning must dragging myself to wake up and go workk... hahahaha :D
your due date is near.... 1 or 2 wks to go... gambatte.....

merlenna - oic. well, hope your hospital bag is all packed and ready. and dont forget to fuel up your car tank. so exciting, keep us updated

sam - try to rest more. and drink more water. i also cannot sleep. last night wake up at 4am go toilet, drink water. went back to sleep abt 5am +. this morning cant get up to go to work. so sleepy now. you're a stay at home mum right ? at least can rest anytime you want during the day.

hi sam,
i will.. hehe.. at the moment jus waiting to get admitted only.. hehe..

hi josephine,
i don't feel tired coz i don't really do much except watch tv and surf the net.. but i do feel sleepy alot. yesterday, i napped twice! haha.. never happen before. coz i'm on maternity leave already so i'm staying at my mum's.. i took one week earlier than my EDD.

hi ponytail,
yah hospital bag is on standby. haha, top up fuel not my biz, hubby is on the alert coz he's at work most of the time, and goes back normally to our own place these days.. just drop by my parents' to see me yesterday.. so he's just waiting for my call. hehe..

hi merlenna,
can take maternity leave early? (*envy with you ^_^)
my office only count maternity leave on the day you deliver. if i want to take earlier then i must take my annual leave.. hisk hisk...
lucky i still have 7 days annual leave.. thinking to take earlier leave... ^_^

*me already lazy to work.. no mood to work.. hahaha :D
*me already think to rest and want to see the baby soon... hahahaha :D

ya horrr... hospital bag.. (almost forgot)
sighhh... i haven't prepared yet... hahahaha :D now... lazy mode already..... sighh...
hahahaha :D

hi josephine,
haha, don't worry, i also prepared last minute.. wanna move to my mum's place then got no choice gotta get down to it. haha.. if not, i think i'll still procrastinate..

oh yeah, doc sadhana told me, that actually we are entitled to take a month earlier if we want to.. but i thot kinda wasted if take so early.. so since i'm teaching rite, and i don't wanna disrupt the school admin, i told my school i'll be starting maternity as of term 2 lah.. easier to count. yeah i get what you mean, really lazy to work.. and no mood. for me, i think if i'm at work, i'll be very, very slow.. coz even now, getting up from sitting position is a challenge.. what more having to climb stairs and teach in front of class.. my poor students.. haha..

Merlenna,
I can understand, it is really not easy to teach when pregnant, especially in the later stage of pregnancy. That's why I feel so fortunate to be able to stay at home, no need to teach throughout my pregnancy.

So are you on maternity leave now?

Cannot sleep .. only manage to catch a nap from 6am - 9am thats all.. now my voice almost 80% gone... wants to go pharmacy but feel so tired...

merlenna,
jia you! Can understand the feeling now... cant wait to see baby very soon. It is almost time.

Sam,
aiyo... your condition sounds bad...must make sure recover soon.... drink lots of water and rest.

hi 76,
yea you are right about the weeks... i never saw it that way. haha. but most books say the risk decreases after 12 weeks so that's why i thought we'd share the news then.

hi kaira,
yes it is so expensive! im seriously thinking about switching gynae, maybe one with an antenatal package and hopefully more time to spend in consultation. i feel so rushed at kkh but i don't know if other clinics are the same. i don't think they measure the NT at the detailed scan but they will get hints of any abnormalities from looking at the baby's features and organs. but great to hear that yours is low-risk, at least you have that reassurance.

Kaira
you are week 13..so you,me and cribby about the same,just that we are 1 week+ behind you...
i guess i will start sharing after week 12 then with close frens.
Cribby
which gynae you changing to? i am with gleneagles. Heard Thomson quite popular with MTB too...you can check it out.

Hi 76 & Cribby,

We are all reaching our 2nd trimester.. I have start taking fish oil ( natal care plus ) and Obimin.

Hi Jo,

Mine is a singleton. I enjoy my pregnacy.. Its an amazing feeling that there is a living thing inside you growing

bliss - i think i read some where says so. cos i was reading up on BF afer c-sect. anyway, can always ask nurse after deliver. no need gan jiong

hi kaira,
same with me. i am also singleton. and feel very happy but now.. in the lazy mode already.. ^_^
wait till you can feel the movement. i am sure that u will more amazing. ^_^

sam,
i heard from my friend it depends on individual. at least 3-4wks. quite long ohhhh.... but i heard if you got breastfeed it can postpone your AF leh.. dunno true or not.

Hi juju,
Ya, maybe cos my wound better and babies are better, thats why i'm not so stress up now.
We are coping ok so far, lucky my mum comes over everyday to cook and jaga the maid for me. I will visit the babies every few days when my hubby is able to send me. But hubby will go everyday to send BM.

Hi Jo,
Yup, Medela PIS, i bought from KKH pharmacy, its with a backpack. I oso saw PIS with nicer bags in First few Years. But was told its better to get from the pharmacy instead cos their guarantee is better cos cover the parts and motor, no need to pay if send for servicing. Wheras if you buy from First Few years, might need to pay for certain parts. Maybe you can check more info with the Medela salesgal Annie at KKH pharmacy.

Hi Sam,
Urmm...not really doing strict confinement. Cos by right confinement cannot go out and minimal water contact unless its warm. But i still need to visit my babies and do strict handwashing when i'm there.
My elder gal is around 1.7kg and younger gal is 1.28kg as of yest. Their weight gain is quite unpredictable, can range from few grams to 30 or 50grams per day. Babies need to be in hospital til they are abt 35-36 wks and when they are able to suck form bottle and feeding well.

My milk supply still not enough for them...need to supplememt with formula milk. Think my BM started slow, only have some on day4 or 5, and even then it is abt 10mls oni. But it can be stressful if you can't give them enough. I am going to get Fernugeek, its a kinda natural herb (in tablet form) that help increase BM. I've read abt it in the web.

Hi Ponytail,
COngrats on your gals
Usually cervix length the longer the better. If too short means there's a chance that you may deliver early which is no good. Mine was oni 1.3cm when i was in my 24 wks, tats why dr very worried. Cos by the time it was pushed to nothing means ur cervix will open already.

Hi Merlenna,
All the best and hope you have a smooth delivery.

ponytail,
of course no need to gan jiong, why gan jiong? The number of days having the discharge after delivery is not up to us to decide anyway. Heeheehee, I was only surprised and curious that the bleeding is shorter for C section.

Sam,
are you asking about the lochia after delivery or the first menses after delivery. I was answering to you earlier about lochia. It is normally as heavy as, or sometimes even heavier than a menstrual period for the first 3 postpartum days. I read that the max period for this can be as long as 6 weeks. But normally I heard from my mother friends that it was around 3 to 4 weeks.

Maykel,
glad to hear that your gals are growing and gaining weight in your every updates.
I also have the Medela Pump In style, wonder where to buy the membrane parts(the small rubber flaps) if need new ones next time. My sis said can be bought at Novena Square, do you know anywhere else to buy the small parts?

maykel - i heard abt fenugreek too. you can also ask your paedatrician abt giving you a table to have milk flow. dont know what tablet it is but i heard from my friend who just pop.

merlenna,
tmr no appt liao... changed to next week.

maykel,
glad u ok le.
if u wan to get fenugreek, can go pharmacy and buy bah...

maykel,
ur gals & cale's boy in step-down? which level?
today was ding-donging btw 8th flr and 2nd flr, wan to go and see if can bump into u or cale, but dunno where to go... lol

hi juju,
oh, my appt also got shifted earlier.. dunno why. hehe.. looks like no chance to bump into each other..

hi maykel,
thanks.. i hope so! haha.. i'm still here, no signs yet..

hi sam,
AF flow usually last about a month. depends on individual. coz need to clear out the womb what.. but these things no one can predict how long it will take.

hi kaira,
true what josephine said.. wait til you feel baby's movements.. will start with flutters.. then kicks and then become like roller-coaster ride inside.. sometimes i wonder what baby is doing.. hehe..

merlenna,
hee... next time la.
now only noe hv to go kk on 31 mar for doppler scan at adc. tmr need to call tps to chk appt postponed to which date.

oh i bought only 12 pcs maternity pads.. think not enough la.. Aiyo... cannot imagine heavy flow days for 3-4 weeks.. my goodness..

Maykel,
I heard about Fenugreek too, dunno whether it works or not.. can start consuming 1 week before birth or not to increse milk production... i'm trying my best to do everything i can to produce milk if i can..

when im not feeling well these 2 days, been feeling some cramps .. it's like 2 x a day.. and quite painful for few mins than go away... ISSIT BH contraction? I hope not.. too early right..Been feeling quite worried, cause the trio has not been active for the past 2 days when im sick too..

babymaking,

i feel alright today though, only coughing and feel them kicking this morning already...

keke... ys i think i will ask my doc this coming appt next week or visit the hospital if got pain again..

hi sam,
BH contractions should be painless, just the feeling of tightening of your tummy.. tummy feels hard.. it should be at most only uncomfortable.. and if you chg position, the feeling will go away.

how painful is painful? maybe you wanna call ur doc and get him to check on you?

Sam,
dont worry about getting not enough maternity pads. The heavy flow will not be 3 to 4 weeks, only first few days after delivery or at most a week, wont be heavy for whole of 3 to 4 weeks... it will be scary if like what you said...hahaha.
So the maternity pads can be used during the first few heavy days, after that the flow should be lighter and normal sanitary pads can be used then. By the way, must get those cotton type of pads for mothers having stitches below. As for c section, I think can use those dry surface pads too.

Just wana update that my younger gal had gain abit more weight now and is 1.33kg. We managed to carry her for the 1st time today. She just guai guai open her eyes and look at us. We are surprised she's so guai, cos usually she's super active
My elder gal is 1.73kg and is able to bottle feed most of her milk now

Hi Bliss,
Think you can get the membrane from anywhere that got sell medela right? Anyway when we bought it, they got give extra mah. The lady say oni need to change every 2mths or when the flap is curled up.

Hi ponytail,
I bought the fenugreek already, just took my 1st dosage, hope it works. I'm oso taking Domperidone, this is prescribed by the doc, basically it helps us to relax and thus helps to improve milk flow. Think this could be the one ur fren is taking.

Hi juju,
Yup, got the fenugreek already
Bought from KKH pharmacy, only $29.90 for 100 cap. Then realised it is actually GNC brand...if know, i go GNC retail better, cos i got member.

My gals and Cale's boy are in SCN already. Its at level 2, come out from lift turn left. haha....usually we go 12-2pm or 6-8pm, cos they have strict visiting hrs. See when you going kk again then let us know, then we see can meet or not

Hi Sam,
Dun worry abt pads, cos upon delivery, they would provide you with a big bag with 2 pkts of pads (10pcs each pack). I didn't buy any cos my delivery was emergency, so b4 my discharge, i get 2 more pkt from the ward and they just charged it to ur inpatient bill. I use til now, just nice. But remember to get the adhesive ones from them when you discharge, not the ones that need to tie. C-sect the flow is not as heavy as natural birth. Mine stopped on day 6 then continue again on day 11 but not very heavy ones.

I read from the bottle that you need to check with doc if you want to take during pregnancy, so you better ask doc 1st.

BH contractions is usually tightenings, does ur cramps feels like that? How many wks are you now? Mine started when i was in my wk 20.
Babies would not be active all teh time, but as long as you feels some movement daily then shld be fine. If you are really worried and unwell, can go 24hrs clinic and they can scan and see the babies at the same time.