IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

maykel - so glad your babies are doing fine. so touching to hear you carry your baby too. i also want to BF. is it difficult to pump BM after c-sect ?

Merlenna,

My Dh says not very clear though..

I know 2 are identical twins from my 6th week scan cause they share same placenta. The individual 1 is fraternal. 2 embbies, 1 split.

Jo,

haha yes.. birthday next month..

Actuallu they say 1st birth tummy will not show a lot issit.. My tummy now also not very big..I think maybe until 3rd Trimester.

Maykel,

My gynae very encouraging, yesterday he was saying i did a great job, ask me to target 28 weeks now so another 7 weeks more, than he say once pass 28 weeks, we will look into 32 weeks.. than 36 weeks thats the best..But i think triplets mummy won't pass 35 weeks 3 days. So am hanging on.. I can feel and i think i will be terribly upset if i give up on my babies and deliver them early.. I know sometimes no choice but i will bear with it and hang on.. Its very sad to see them small i think...The thought of it really terrifies me.

merlenna - what you say makes sense also. my coll also say wait till give birth then buy, cos these things are never too late to buy and always there.

sam - i look as big / bigger than my singleton friend who's due in jun. but as long as your doc says you're doing fine, dont worry.

i'm going for detailed scan next mon. yay, so nervous and excited. and also for urine test again for bacteria cos last month they said got bit of bacteria. hope it all clears by then

Maykel,
glad to hear from you and knowing your babies are doing well. I am sure they will grow fast and can go home with you very soon.
So you also got to see Cale's baby too? Wonder how Cale and her baby are now.
How come the milk supply still little when you have been expressing so frequently daily? Me also worried if would have sufficient milk for my baby.

Jo,
check with you, is the link of the Avent bottles you posted stated in SIN dollars or US dollars? If SIN dollars, it is really very cheap, so gd.

Hi jo,
ya, the price still not so bad if in US dollar. So how did you make the payment? The offer still on now? How long did you wait for the delivery?

jo,
is the delivery free of charge?
I am thinking of buying bigger Avent bottles from Amazon.com if it is still worth to buy from them.

hi bliss,
i use vpost and buy other thing so price much cheaper. 1 avent bpa free bottle 125ml = S$15.9.
so if got 4 bpa free bottle = $15.9 x 4 = 63.6
got brush + milk container = $10.9 x 2 = 21.8
total = 63.6+21.8 = 85.4.

At amazon, US 33.87 * 1.6 (rate SG -> US maybe can be lower or more, later see the charge on credit card loh.. hehehe) = S$54.2 + $15 (shipment using vpost, i got buy several thing combine together). So total cost = S$69.2

Still cheaper lohhh.. cos i calculate the price base on small size bottle.. the bigger one should be more expensive, rt? hehehehe

i use paypal. take abt 1-2wks to reach here. but at amazon very fast one, 1 day shipping only and some more some item amazon got free shipping to local US. I bought the avent yesterday and already reach at my VPost USA today. Since i buying other thing, so the item is pending first at VPost USA till i finish shopping...

hahahaha :D

hi jo,
thanks for sharing.
May i ask how you order the things? Straight from the amazon.com? How to use vpost on the website? I have vpost acc, but didnt use for long time liao.
So there is still delivery charges for your orders? Not eligible for the free delivery?
So when the things arrive, you will have to go post office to collect?

Aiyo, i have so many questions to ask, sorry to trouble you.
I am thinking of buying the bigger Avent bottles from it and other stuffs, since I find them so cheap after browsing thru. But not very sure of the exact prices to pay for things when I order.
Can you advise?

Merlenna,

Ya same as me, i bought the avent breast milk storage and can double up as bottle, no point buying bags or packs cause we dunno seriously got milk or not.

My GF told me 1st 3 months the smaller bottle 125ml will outgrow the baby, no point and better to get the bigger one think its 250ml. Each baby just need 2 milk bottles, 1 drinking water sufficient already...

Ponytail,

As above, no need get so many bottles de.. You also dunno if your babies like it than gotta buy new teats for bottles already.

jo,
leavin to hubby. he say get maid, but haven't go agency. dunno wat he wanna do.

i got a whole box of milk bottles from SIL. anyone noe whether yellowed bottles still can use? i guess she suppose i will have lotsa BM like her... her fridge & freezer almost overflowed!

maykel,
glad to hear frm u. dun worry, ur BM will come in more soon. drink more fish soup also, not only papaya fish soup. think ur #2 will grow big soon too... must worry less so dat u can hv more BM.
must have felt good to carry ur #1...

sam,
think kkh standard is like dat. even my bb 31 wk at last scan, i still feel it's very blur lor.

hi juju,
yellow hmm.. dunno abt that.
i think still can, but 1st need to sterilize 1st.
how your SIL manage to produce so much milk?
what pump your SIL use?

jo,
she use medela, dunno which model though. she said hers spoil liao, so din take from her.
me not as rich as her, so only buy mini electric. hope good enuff.
i dunno how she get so much leh... she jus say have lor

juju,
think can still use the bottles, but like what jo said, must sterilize first. I also got many bottles from my eldest sis, her milk supply was also a lot, got to use three fridges to store that time! She breastfeed her son for a few years somemore, I salute to her! Hahaha! My sis also used Medela milk pump leh, she passed it to my 2nd sis and now to me. My eldest sis advises me die die must keep stimulating and expressing the breastmilk many times daily after delivery.

Sam,
thanks for saying that 2 small bottles will be good enough for newborn baby.
I feel better now after buying only 125ml small milk bottles. Heehee... :p

hi juju,
i also got same thought like you..
what if no BM. hahaha :D
but oh... dun want to think too much..
hehehe

hi juju, Jo,
think no use worrying about that. It is the best as long as baby grows well, no matter breastfeeding or formula feeding.
We all are trying our best. Dont forget that many babies (esp during the our mothers' time) are brought up by formula. I am also fed by formula.
Many of us grew up healthily still.

bliss / jo,
i also dun wanna think but...

ya la... my mum wun stress me cos she fed me (& the rest of us) FM. mil & hubby will stress me cos too pro-BM liao. some more SIL 3 kids all BM at least 1-2 yrs, the 2 younger ones heard BM 3 yrs some more! piangz! and the 3 of them keep saying 1 fridge not enuff, store partial at mil's house other than her own!

hi juju,
better dun think too much.
the more you think the more you stress.
relax relax.. better enjoy these last few weeks of pregnancy before delivery. After delivery will be hectic liaooo due to baby cry.. hehehe

My boy already transferred to special care nursery since last week. He has all the tubes removed except the feeding tubes, as he is still too small to suck. His weight gain is quite slow. Hope he can gain more weight and I can bring him home soon.

I met with Maykel sometimes during the visiting hour. I saw both Maykel's babies while in NICU, they are both very cute

Hi Merlenna,
Great to know you are in 37 weeks now. Have a smooth delivery.

cale - good to hear your boy's improving. grow strong and healthy young man !

bliss - i'm going TPY this weekend and think will compare prices against amazon. is amazon really cheaper than normal ? i never use vpost before so dont know how it works leh.

hi cale,
glad that ur baby is doing fine.

hi ponytail,
amazon can be cheaper if you buy other with lower rate. if US rate is high better buy here. ^_^

Have started to have dark brown stains since Monday. No cramps. went to see gynae on Mon and wed.. but b4 i saw gynae, the nurse told me v comon one, dun keep coming to waste $$. And that some preggies bleed till week 30. i told her i scared mah, better be KS. Mon, doc did a spectula check, din find anythng wrong except local bleeding prob, due to crinon, or UTI..Wed, din even do any checks..say bleeding due to my stoppage of HCG pregnyl jab, so ask me to resume my twice weekly jabs...say, perhaps the placenta havent taken over the job. ask him 3x need to scan. he said no need... coz just scanned on sat, and too much ultrasound will affect bbs' growth...gvn 3 days mc. I am v scared leh...any advice?

This is the first time i heard ultrasound can affect bb growth le.. Hmm well, maybe you can chk with ponytail cause i think she also have bleeding problem from the start.. Or maybe can ask your doctor to prescribe progesterone for you to stabilise your pregnancy? I know droplets of blood is common, its never too kiasu to be sure especially for us to be parents right. Doctor's should be more responsible and understanding ma.

I heard from someone sometime back saying cordblood banking have to bank for min 21 years right? Hmmm cause i think its really expensive, but think of it .. issit really necessary? Cause i heard if donate, next time any problem we can get the same cord blood but not our own one ..Issit better that way? Usually who do we donate to?

hi 76

i've been having discharge and bleeding since week 8, been in and out of hospital & have been having scans everyday for periods of consecutive days when hospitalised, so far there's no feedback that ultrasounds are bad for baby, rather it's very reassuring to the mother that baby/babies is/are doing well.

if the bleeding is localised, i.e. from the cervix due to insertion of the crinone, then shd be ok, but if the discharge continue, it's prob some bleeding in the womb/placanta or water bag which only progesterone and progesterone jabs & bedrest can help to minimise.

although some women bleed thrugh out pregnancy, it's not considered a stable pregnancy, i casually mentioned it to my gynae and he said any bleeding/discahrge is not a good sign and needs to be monitored carefully.

sam
i read some stats abt using cord blood, only a few cases per year, and it's very rare. even if donate to public bank, probability that someone will match is like 1:1000000, so i feel that no need to waste money on it, would rather use the money to buy a comprehensive medical insurance plan which will cover hospitalisation & medical fees.

Btw when you need to use the cord blood, you still need to pay some $26000 to use back your own cord blood (this info heard from some MTBs in another thread, not sure if it's accurate, maybe u check with yr cordblood coordinator)

maykel & cale,
nice to read yr updates, was wondering how your babies are doing. keep your spirits up and kangeroo yr babies. hope to hear updates of their discharge soon!!

thanks ladies for advice. Was initially given 2 days mc on my 1st visit on Mon... then wed, given 3 days mc... so basically i whole week on mc...hehehee..
Ponytail
When did you know you have twins? which week? was it through your normal scan or from some detailed scan?

76 - i had bleeding and spotting during 1st tri also. not something to be relaxed about. i still shudder when i think of those days. sometimes it was brown, but there were a few times where it was red. i went to see doc each time. 1 night i even went to A&E cos so scared. if your doc says its localised, then think not as serious. i think my bleeding was due to a blood clot. dont know how it got there, but i pray everyday that my babies are doing fine now

hi 76,
i was carrying twins. but one didn't make it. no heartbeat. so that dispells on its own. i had bleeding for 4 weeks. but doc say better for it to come out by itself early rather than affecting the healthy foetus. now, i'm carrying a fiesty singleton.. hehe..

i did hear that scanning too much would affect bb but affect how i dunno. and how much is too much.. but yah, some experience mothers out there say, scanning too many times is not very good. i'm in the middle on this coz unless there's a need, then will do scan, if its unnecessary then wait for future appointments lah.

normal scan is very short, usually to measure baby's growth progress, size and weight. make sure that your amniotic fluid is of the right volume. coz if your amniotic fluid is starting to decrease then, you need to be induced.. that is usually during the 3rd trimester.. detailed scan is when the sonographer will scan every organs that is developing in the baby's body. heart, lungs, kidneys, brain, anatomy etc.. just to check that as these organs develop well. usually they will do this check at 5 months.

hi maykel,
yeah so fast ah, but not fast enough.. hehe.. can't wait actually. maternity bag is 3/4 done. i just need to pack my luggage to move in to mum's place. hehe.. supposed to do today.. but i still haven't start!

hi ponytail,
yah, dun get everything in huge bundles for now. get bit by bit. especially those things that you won't know baby can adapt to or not like pampers, toiletries and milk. even clothes.. dunno if baby can fit the 0-3 months. haha.. turned out baby grow so fast, all those cute rompers wasted! i can imagine, i would want baby to use those clothes i bought, i'd probably change her clothes like nobody's biz.. dun wanna waste right? haha.. sounds so kiasu!

hi sam,
dunno why lah kkh gives blur images.. my latest baby scan, the sonographer pass to me this totally weird scan pic. i dunno what to make of it. can't even tell which part. haha.. so i don't bother. out of so many scans, i only have one given by doc sadhana which is better than the one in adc where baby was seen sucking her thumb. that one was worth it..

hi cale,
thanks.. hehe.. tomorrow entering week 38! yippee!! anytime now.. i'm just waiting for my cue. so many questions, will it be 'bloody show', waterbag leakage, menses cramps, endless backpain.. etc.. ahaha.. the anticipation is driving me nuts! which one will be my sign of labour?

hi 76,
the first scan after discovering that i was positively pregnant at 6 weeks, they detected 2 sacs. only one had heartbeat.. at week 7 - 11 i bled. so during that time i believe the womb was cleaning itself out. in the beginning it was sort of a dilemma coz at one point i was sad for the twin but for another i'm still expecting a baby. so i choose to be positive and enjoy my pregnancy and cherish the one baby that will be coming out very soon! hehe..

hi merlenna,

Same. At 1st I was told that i got twins.

In the first scan they detected 2 heartbeat (6wks). Then oh, on 10wks scan only detected 1 heartbeat.

The different with you is my other twins was not expelled out. But Dr Loh told me that it will dissolve by itself and absorbed by the other twins.

That time I was also sad and dilemma.

Hi ponytail,
sorry for the late reply, I just came back from Malacca last night 9pm, hubby last min wanted to drive me to malacca for short stay on Wednesday to celebrate belated wedding anniversary. Heehee! It was very enjoyable, but the stay was a bit short. :p
Btw, do tell me if the price is cheaper after you have checked, thanks!

Maykel, Cale,
so happy to hear about the good and fast progress of your babies. Always feel so touched to see or hear about babies are born and growing well.
You two must take good care of yourselves too.

sorry to hear about your spotting. Are you still spotting now? Just be extra cautious and make sure doc has a clear and detailed checkup. If doc says everything is fine, you try not to worry too much though i know it is not easy. But you must stay in happy and calm mood, ok?

feeling better now after jab...
Ponytail
How did you recognize fraternal twins? read abt what share placenta etc.

I got a shock of my life when i approach SGH business office, as i was enquiring how do i claim the medisave for prenatal check up if i don't deliver in SGH, so they ask me where i wanna deliver and told them TMC, than they were saying if i premature birth and deliver in TMC, the bill can go up to $100K for mummy and Babies, and furthermore no downgrade available for private hospital and if wanna transfer also difficult as other hospital may not wanna accept as cot space or NICU or Nursery only reserve for their own hospital's patients.

My goodness.. now i really wanna think twice or they just wanna frighten me?