IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

ju

re: bb care
you will be putting bb at MIL with maid? we finally got a maid, will be coming in on tue, hope everything turns out fine.

p/s: in order to apply for a maid need to sit for some online FDW course, takes 90 min minimum before can do the quiz...yawnz

sam,
so fast you buy toys? i got only the necessary things... toys optional :p i figured friends can get toys and relatives can get clothes during the 1st mth shower? hehe

btw why need cotton tips for baby? *blur*

hi juju,
ooo ic, i think he thought bb will grow fast and thought buying necessary thing.
so later on, your bb will be taken care by your MIL?

Hi sam,
wow.. from USA? you order from USA? what brand and how much? i think your expenses is higher than us(singleton) cos everything u need to purchase 3x. ^_^

Hi babymaking,
at least you must have several baby cloth after you deliver. ^_^
I think cotton tips to clean bb stomach/cord or clean nose when s/he sicks. ^_^

babymaking, Jo

Ya.. since the toys got 20%.. I bought like rattles, play mats, play gym, wanted to get the forest jumperoo than think of it haha indeed too fast so wait a while for that..

The brand is Graco but the twin side by side or the Duoglider, cannot get it in Singapore already, even babyplanet and safari also have to get from US. Ranges from $500 - $1k.

Ya its rather siong for me n DH cause everything gotta buy 3X ... thats why we slowly stock up so no need one whole shot buy .. we planning to get supplier so cheaper also..

Cotton tips are basically for cleaning the ears, baby cord clean with spirit given by hospital and cotton pads after shower.Clean nose you can get the pump type from Pigeon.

Ok, this is what i promise you ladies here for the preparation of the hospital bag:

Roughly, should start packing sometime 4-5 weeks before due date.

For Mummy :
2-3 pairs of warm socks (to wear in the delivery room)
1 extra pack of pads (most hospital provide only one pack and will charge you if you get more. It is not necessary to get maternity pads; just get pads used for heavy flow. If you want to get maternity pads, buy them from the Hospital pharmacy, Cold storage or the bigger NTUC FairPrice outlets might have them but quite hard to find. The Hospital Pharmacy is your best place to look for these items.
Disposable underwear. (4-5 sets)
Discman with your favorite CD (of course music that will help you relax) - *OPTIONAL*
One presentable robe (For you to look presentable to your visitors or when checking on your baby in the nursery)
Massage oil (recommended in most childbirth classes)
Two sets of nightgown (one that opens in the front if you are planning on breastfeeding and preferable thick enough because you are not likely to be wearing bras. Have seen some nice ones at Robinsons (Karmy brand) and Metro. If you don’t mind spending, more, Victoria’s Secret has nice nightwear too)
One set of clothing for happy trip home (clothing with plenty of room will be the most comfortable, breastfeeding dresses will be good for moms who have gone through natural or caesarian birth)
Cosmetics
Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
No Deodorant. Preferably not, as you will musk your natural scent from your baby. Studies have shown that traces of deodorants can be found in the breast tissues.
Slippers
Handphone and charger
Breastfeeding pillow to assist you during breastfeeding, but I find it rather unnecessary as newborn are pretty light.
Breast pump to help stimulate milk production ASAP as babies tend to be sleepy during the first few days after birth.
Inflatable ring or Boppy pillow to ease episiotomy wound.
Nursing pillow to make positioning of babies easier especially if you have a c-section.

For Daddies :

Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Camera and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore)
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your baby’s name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.
Admission form (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation

hi sam,
thanks for the list of things to pack. indeed its very helpful.. i'm in week 37, still haven't pack half of what you wrote out.. haha..

Merlenna,

Oh ... if you find it difficult to pack, ask DH to do the job for you... you need more rest n less work now..and yes less the stress but add the stress to DH.. haahaa.

wow.. never think to pack so much thing leh..
i thought 2 day 1 night only..
today in, tml must check out already... hahahaha :D
wow.. must prepare prepare....
thanks sam... ^_^

thanks for the list sam

other things to add:
comb
hairband to get hair out of face when in labour
yr prefered body wash/shampoo (for those not following traditional confinement)
mints or sweets to keep throat soothe from the screaming
spectacles (no contact lens allowed)

for baby:
one set of nice nice going home suit & swaddling blanket

just to add on to what Sam posted about the things to get ready to hosp.
My friend who gave birth in KKH two years ago told me that KKH gave 1 pack of 10 maternity pads. However, my sis who gave birth in KKH last year told me she was given 2 packs instead, so she said there is more than enough to use during stay in hosp, so no need to bring on your own. Anyway, just for fyi, maybe should bring some on own just in case.

Sam,
oh no, you bought so many things! I think you are really too overwhelmed by the fair... taka definitely welcome mother customers like you very much, hahaha!
Btw, you bought the pigeon baby wipes at an expensive price liao! NTUC sells 3 packs only at $9.85, I just saw it last night. And I have another good lobang to all ladies here, it is an online shop, www.shopbug.com, this is highly recommended by a mummy friend! The same pigeon baby wipes selling in the online shop is selling at only 3 packs $9.21, the cheapest in Singapore so far!! I am ordering quite a lot from the shopbug. And also, I have been comparing the prices of the products in the shop to other outside shops, they sell at cheaper prices leh, even cheaper than the Baby Kingdom in Kaki Bukit Industrial park!

So ladies,
do go to the shopbug website to take a look, it really worth buying from there, esp the pigeon baby wipes. They have other promotions too.
Fiy, they provide free home delivery with min purchase of $80! And can make cash payment only on the day of delivery, it is not a must to make payment in advance or by credit card. I find it very good and safer to pay only when I have seen the products delivered. Heehee...

ladies - there's robinson's sale at expo.

http://www.singapore-expo.com.sg/index.php?option=com_events&task=event_details&id=193&Itemid=38

i think i'm going, even after the last experience at baby expo where got nothing to buy. maybe robinsons have more stuff.

bliss - your link looks very interesting. so many things to buy. thanks !

76 - congrats. another twin MTB on this thread.

ladies - by the way, i think everywhere also got 20 % off avent products. taka, isetan, robinson. i wonder where gives more discount. how many milk bottles per baby are you getting ? i'm thinking 12 for my twins, but my friend with singelton says she manage with only 2 bottles. so very big range...

Hi bliss,
at shopbug, they only sale farlin & baby safety 1st ohh.. no maclaren pram... hehehe ^_^

hi ponytail,
thanks for the info. thinking to go there on saturday. hehehehe ^_^

Ponytail,
12 bottles are too many for twins lah...haha! You shocked me...heehee.

I think at most 3 bottles are enought for 1 baby.
I would advise no need to buy so many bottles at one time. It is always ok to buy more when really need to by then. I feel that we dont need to be so kan cheong to buy so many things yet, it is better to buy after noticing babies need them, will be a waste of money when we dont even know our own babies would make use of those things or not. Somemore, there are always new designs and new models of baby stuffs, we may regret to keep those old ones in future.

babymaking,

haha ya comb, if not like "Xiao Ja BO".. Oh anyway i cut a new 2009 mummy hairdo.. my haie use to be below bra length, now only below my ears... *sighs* after so many years of long hair..wat a daring move hor..

swaddling blanket or receiving blanket will be given by hospital, if not can use your own lor..think hospital is FOC one.

You very cute le.. you intend to scream and shout meh.. wait DH get frightened and pai seh run away.. haha.

Bliss,

Aiyo.. never say earlier.. heehee luckily i only bought 10 packs.. Okok.. i will go shopbug.. can save more also..

Thanks for this great deal..

Sam,
sorry, just got to know the website last week.
Wow, you got 10 packs already, when is your EDD? Will they dry up if not used for months? Good that you have having 3 babies, think will use up very fast.

Josephine,
I am not sure about the brands of pram selling in shopbug, but for other baby products, they sells pigeons, tollyjoy and other brands too.

can i check with you all, are you all getting sterilising tablets for sterilising bottles?

For BF mummies, will you all still be getting the bottle warmer?

For BF mummies, will you all still use thermos? OMG i forgot i going to BF and bought this thermos for $100 plus.. think so wasteful.

Would you all be getting laundry detergent, softener for babies and also the nipple and vege wash?

Thanks for your blessings....Hope i can tahan till at least week 37 coz i need to do c-section
cribby
I am still at week 10 day 2 (as of Monday) same as you. My next check is 1st Apr at 2 places - NUH and my gynae at gleneagles. NUH is to do some down syndrome scan...so, its abt 2 weeks and 3 days away.
saw my bb...one of them waved...soooo cute...both are 3cm and on schedule...gynae was surprised to see 2 too...he was still wondering is it the same bb when he scanned. all along, i have been having v-scan...sat was my first tummy scan, i supposed thats why spotted late....

Sam,
I am getting sterilising tablets beside having steriliser. Will only use the tablets when washing only fewer bottles and stuffs. My steriliser is a big one, so dont want to use it unless sterilising more items at one time.
I dont have a bottle warmer, think will use the 'ancient' way to warm bottles. haha! Coz i plan to breastfeed, hopefully can latch on.
Yes, I have gotten baby detergent already, bought kodomo one, more exp leh. Will get other brand such as tollyjoy which is cheaper next time. I didnt get nipple and vege wash. Think there is promo at the shopbugcom on that.

bliss - oh, 12 too many is it ? was thinking of 16 ! ha ha, ok will re-assess. i already got 2 260ml and 3 125 ml that came free with sterilizer. think only need to get a few more then.

sam - are you going to buy any special pillow to BF after c-section ? i keep reading that recovery will take longer. and BF will not be easy. i intend to BF too. but dont know whether need to buy special pillow or not

ponytail,

think milk bottles, u need 2 big ones (250ml) for milk & 2 small ones (125ml) for water. When new born, better to use the small ones for milk cos less air is introduced into bb's tummy.

sam
oh yeah, I'm prepared to scream & shout the house down. Had VE a couple of times, the last couple of weeks when hospitalised, already so damn painful, can't imagine gynae doing that + contractions at the same time, surely will scream.

of course, the mints will give to hubby when he scream when i grab his hands. LOL

own swaddling blanket surely nicer than hospital one ;)

re: bottle warmer, bottle warmer takes longer time to heat up milk , as compared to old fashion way of boiling water. so if baby can wait, then bottle warmer is good, otherwise stick to hot water in cup.

oh gals, do note: wet wipes do have expiry dates, i so happen to notice it. usually 2 years from manufacture.

hi sam,
thanks for the helpful list!

hi 76,
aww that's so cute about your baby waving - did you get a picture of that? what is your new EDD? not october anymore right? did you decide on a c-section already? thought it could depend on the position of the twins in later pregnancy?
so are you starting to show already? it should start earlier with twins i think. so exciting!

hi kaira,
not sure if you still visit the thread... how are you? enjoying your 2nd trimester?

Ponytail,

Yes, i already got it.. Its called the Nursing Pillow. Please do not get the U pillow cannot support at all. There are 2 typpes.

So happy just came back from my detailed scan today, everything is well. My eldest bb still open and close the fingers i think say bye bye to mummy, daddy and the 2 doctors.. keke.. Now i have to target 28 weeks. *Phew*

Ponytail,

I bought from Cheeky Bon Bon During the sale. Its at $42.90. There are some other brands like mothercare and such.. there costs ard $100 plus but usage is about the same but mothercare is very bulky i find. The cheeky bon bon one can use as a cushioning when baby learns to sit up too.

hi sam,
love your scan pics.. very adorable. ur babies pic so close up ah.. makes you think they are so much bigger than they really are..

hi 76,
lol! i nearly fall over your joke! haha.. maybe ponytail thought 12 is enough for her twins. hehe..

hi ponytail,
12 bottles?! alot lah.. why buy so many. you have so many means you will need storage also. provided you use all, if not must keep washing before and after use anyway.. hehe.. i bought the avent bottles that come with the breast pump which includes the milk storage bottles which is 3 bottles.. then i bought another 2.. but that's also because i'm putting some at my mum's place. hehe..

sam - wow, nice pics

merlena, 76 - dont laugh leh. i read from book says 10 for 1 baby, 16 for twins, so i thought 12 for twins is ok. I guess the book written in UK /US where they dont really wash things. you're right. i ask a few ppl already and all said <5 per baby. do you know if hospital will give free bottles ?

ponytail
Can you share some tips or things to expect with twins? say in terms of growth of bb, or type of food to eat or things to expect in general...besides double the cost for everything.

Hi sam
pics so cute. So, you have 2 identical twin and 1 other who will not look like the 2? just curious...did you put in 3 embryos? or did 1 of the embryo just split? When will you know if the triplets/twin will loook alike or not?

Cribby
My gynae say twin higher risk, so, it will be c-section. i wasnt gven a choice. Edd is no longer 10 Oct but will be sept coz he said week 36-38.My tummy is not showing yet...though have a little paunch which was there before preggie..think is my tummy fats. How about you? how long was your bb? Hw abt heartbeat? did gynae tell you how many beats? Next time, ask lah....

76 - i dont have any tips. 1st tri i was spotting and bleeding non-stop. *shudder*. oh yes, i look bigger than most ppl with singletons. i'm 21 weeks and ppl say i look like i'm about to pop

ponytail
What was your weight before preggie and now at 21 weeks? Did you have to really eat a lot more? I am at 10weeks + but no appetite, scared will affect bbs' growth

hi juju,
ooo ic... so you got maid or MIL will taking care your bb?

hi ponytail,
i think for twins 4 small, 4 medium should more than enough. cos bb grow quite fast.
1 for water, 1 for milk - buy 2 for each your bb loh... hehehehe

i only buy 2 small (125 ml), 2 medium (250ml) Avent bottle BPA free (bought from Amazon) ^_^
over here the 250ml dun have, only have 125ml (or maybe i dun know where to buy.. hehehe ^_^)

btw, my friend who delivered at KK last year told me that we can ask milk bottle from hospital.
she said the milk bottle was cute made from glass so she ask 1 more bottle and keep it as souvenir.
later may, when i gave birth i will inform you per detail oh... hehehe

btw, which hospital are you?

hi sam,
your babies so cute. so close. btw sam, how are you? 28? (*saw your ic no.. hehehe)

hi 76,
pregnancy book for asian.. hmm very difficult leh.. so far i borrow from library are most from US one.. hehehehe

jo,
oh, avent has 250ml bottles BPA free ah?
Oh, I bought 2 125ml BPA free from taka yest, was told there is only 1 size! Aiyo, they lied to me... I wanted to buy bigger one at first...

I just have 2 125ml bottles for my baby. Think will stick to that and decide later after baby is born. Really hope can latch on, then bottles is only for water and little milk that is being expressed out.
I have 1 NUK from my sis and also 2 small glass bottles and about 8 bottles for storing milk. Hahaha... Not sure can use or not.

sam - where do they sell cheeky bon bon stuff ? $40+ for a pillow ! wow, i think i'll ask my mum to make for me. FOC.

76 - my detailed scan is next week and will weigh myself then. i also dont know if i'm putting on enough weight. when i went for scan at 18 weeks, i only put on 6 kg. my doc says normal but i want to put on more so that babies can grow better. i'm also looking for books on twins for asians. still cant find any. anyway, i gave up reading those books already, cos only meant for singletons and the books mostly say the same things. gues its intersting for 1st time readers.

jo - i'm with NUH.

ladies - do you know how to store the milk after you pump out? my sil used to freeze them in special bags. anyone knows where to get those bags and how the pump ACTUALLY works ?

btw - i'm going TPY this weekend to avent showroom to fix my pump i got 2nd hand from SIL. anyone going there ? maybe can meet up ?

hi 76,
i've read in a few places that twins can be given birth to naturally in many circumstances... but maybe those were from cases outside of singapore? at my last scan (9 weeks) baby only measured 21mm. i was so caught up in the scan i forgot to ask about heartbeat rate but will ask next time.
yea i don't have a real baby bump yet just tummy fats. haha. i heard the body just stores a lot more fat as a back-up plan when pregnant.

hi ponytail,

i bought the medela freeze storage bag, i think the most important is the ice pack or frezer pack.
the bag you can buy from medela at mum n babes $45, pigeon also got sell with the freezer pack.

i think avent also have. you might ask the TPY showroom heheeh ^_^

hi ponytail,
no lah, i think everything we do must in moderation. don't wanna spend so much on something in the end baby dun use. wasted right? anyway, talking about those expressed milk storage, i didn't even get any packs or bags. when i bought the avent breast pump, they have a few bottles that can be used for storage. so i thought why not use it as baby's extra bottles as well. i dunno if i can enough supply to do any storage or not, but if i do, then i will get hubby to grab some packs.. hopefully, by the time i give birth, the fair at taka won't end yet. haha.. 29th is the last day right?

hi 76,
just google on the net lah for info. i think food wise, its the same just the intake different, slightly more if you're carrying multiples. but even when you're carrying a singleton, they also say eat for yourself first. make sure you get a balanced diet so baby will indirectly benefit from your healthy food intake. as for the other things, i think if you search on the net there are many useful websites that will share tips with you.

Thank you for all the well wishes, sorry I had not been updating much. Cos most of my time now is on pumping BM then resting. Didn't sleep well at nite cos must pump 3hrly and my BM is still not much despite everything. Had tried papaya with fish soup, had seen the lactation nurse, massage etc. A bit stress cos i know my babies need the BM.

Just an update, both my gals are in Step-down ICU care now. They are both able to breath on their own and does not need any machine assistance. Now they are still on nutrition drip and we are waiting for them to tolerate more feeds b4 the drip can be taken out and they can go to Special care Nursery where they must learn to suck and gain at least 2kg b4 they can be discharged. I managed to carry my elder gal oni on day 12 when she is bigger and out of incubator, she's so cute when she open her eyes
The younger 1 is still small and in incubator, so can't carry her yet.

I'm sorry if i did not post as much, but feel free to PM me if need to, in case i missed out any posting.

Hi Bliss,
Thanks. But its not really good news really to skip 3rd trimester. I would like to enjoy a full-term pregnancy for many reasons, the main 1 being the babies wellness. Cos its very hearbreaking to see them suffer when they are delivered so early and small. Cale and I felt very heartache to see them with tubes, machines and drips.....but thank goodness they are better now...but still very small.

I think the gals still need a few wks b4 they can be discharged. They can't suck yet, on tube feeding now. So i pump BM and my hubby bring to KK everyday. I oni go on alt days.

Ya, i nvr ask the CL to come cos my mum cooking for me and my maid is here to do all the washing. Dun intend to ask her to come already cos if babies come bk after my confinement, i can take care of them liao.

Hi Sam,
Glad to know that ur babies are doing well, take good care and hope you ahve a smooth pregnancy.

Hi Merlenna,
So fast you are in ur 37wks already! So can deliver anytime now loh. must get ready and pack ur delivery bag already, dun last min kan cheong. All the best and have a smooth delivery