IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

yck, cale,
thanks for sharing.
Ok, I will wait patiently to feel better.

Cale,
I think I heard that folic acid has to be taken throughout pregnancy.

Hi YCK, hope ur doing well. Yuppers very busy at work. Feeling tired as the days go by. Im having one of each
))) Feel realy blessed. Just keep praying for a smooth preggy all the way to the end.
Take care n will come back off n on.

Hi Twinnies,
Thank you so much. By the way, maybe you may wana join this link for twins or multiples MTB. Or maybe you had join already

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1573404.html?1223450257

oh, forgot to ask you, ur EDD in Feb 2009 is given by doc right? Did he oso tell you that you would pop few weeks earlier then that too? So good to have 1 boy, 1 gal, same like yck

Hi Bliss,
Poor gal....me oso like you, got bitter taste in mouth, but when i tried to take sweet things, the feeling is worse and i feel nauseating. Actually my chest tightness is oso still bad and my appetitie is getting worse, hiaz.....watever i eat got no taste, nowadays i dun care wat i put into my mouth already, as long as can swallow in can already...

I keep feeling hungry, maybe its because i usually nibble a bit of food here and there, thats why always hungry. But no choice, cos i really can't finish a full meal leh....
Mayb ur gastric feeling is due to bloatedness? If you are oso not eating well, there can be a chance that you have gastric feeling. I think we are all having funny feeling in tummy that we can't even explain haha....
Think the trick is try to eat watever you can when you are hungry. And pray hard the feeling would be better as time goes by...

Hi Cale,
Dr loh say to finish watever folic i have then stop cos 2nd trimester no need to take already.

Maykel,
oh so we dont need to take folic after 1st trimester? I thought need to take still throughout coz my friends and sisters were told by their docs to take throughout their pregnancies.

Yuppers given by my gyny the EDD. Hoping to prolong to 38 weeks. Lets see how it goes.

Keep praying u might have one of each too. hehehe
To me as long as healthy that matter the most.

take care.

I've been told to continue with folic acid and also start obimin in 2nd tri. I use to take baby aspirin too, but when i started spotting i think when i was on week 7 they told me to stop. now i'm worried that maybe baby aspirin is good? anyone taking baby aspirin still?

I've been doing much better my ms is under control, only in the early morning i get a bit of ms, other than that my appetite has been very good.

Cale, glad to hear your clot is now gone! so happy for you. at my last scan, i think a day before you had yours, my baby also was 37mm....

Maykel - so nice to hear your babies are doing well - so cute one was dancing, hee hee. Did you notice my name change

hi ladies!

hope everyone is doing well.

i am doing good, triplets are fine too and growing well. i might not have time to pop in here as often so yck, pls help to remove my name from the table. will come in here once in a while to say hi to everyone when i can. im reaching my 6months soon!

Hi Bliss,
I was told by my doc to stop leh. Maybe cos the obimin oso have folic already, thou the amt is lesser. Cos understand that we do not need so much folic after 1st trimester.

Thanks Twinnies, take good care

Hi Babyonboard,
haha....so you finally change ur nickname ;)
I didn't take baby aspirin leh, wat is it for? Good to hear ur appetitie is good, so envy....me dun even know wat i'm putting into my mouth anymore, just eat for the sake of eating.....

hi BabyOnBoard,
Thanks! You so cute le, i agreed it's a better nick to reflect your new status now

Looks like our baby is progressing on the same pace. I also didn't take the baby aspirin. Did doctor say what is it for? Btw, When is your FTS?

Hi Miss Hae/Twinnies,
Do keep us updated when you pop. All the best to both of you!

Hi Maykel,
Thanks for the info on folic acid. I still have quite a lot le. Think can last me till at least another 1+ months.

Hi Bliss,
Yes, just have to wait patiently till your first trimester. You would be ok by then. Hang in and jia you ok!

Hi Cale,
Me too, my folic can last 1 more mth, so how har? Just finish it ar?

You know, last nite i got tummy pain whole nite that i can't sleep, this morning oso. Also have some brown staining in the Am, now dun have liao, but tummy still sore. Its not sharp crampy pain, but rather dull and sore. Very worried, but if go and see 24hr clinic is it too exaggerating?

Hi Maykel,
Yes, i think no harm to finish the balance of the folic acid that we have. I will check with doc loh again during my next appointment.

poor gal, today you must have felt very tired. May be later catch a short nap, i am sure you will feel better after that.

Actually i also not sure le, but my gut feeling tell me that if just spotting should be ok and just make sure no active bleeding. If you are really worry you may give the KK 24 hour a call to check with the nurse, last time i also did that. Another way, perhaps you want to email doctor Loh? I realised that he reply quite promptly, usually within the same day. I guess he reply email through his blackberry.

Please take care and have lots of rest ok.

Hi Cale,
Oh yes, i nap already in the late Am. Now slightly better but tummy still sore....
ya, i oso share the same thot abt the staining, actually i'm more worried abt the pain then the staining. Just hope its the muscle growing again...thanks, hope everything would be fine.
Have a good weekend

Not sure if i had asked this before, but when can we start buying babies products eg, cot bed, prams etc? Cos some pple say must wait til 3rd trimester is it? I worried by then too tired to shop liao heehee....

Hi Maykel - I also have some tummy pains once in awhile, sometimes it can last the whole day, mentioned once to my dr and he said it is normal. also been having back pain. I think i'll start looking around for baby stuff at end of 2nd tri/or beg of third, i think at that time we should still have good energy.

Hi Cale, my FTS is scheduled for thursday, I can't help feeling a bit nervous. I'm not sure what the baby aspirin is for during pregnancy, but i also took it during ivf, and it was to improve blood flow perhaps for endo lining. I emailed my dr to see if he can tell me what the benefits are. i'll let u know once i hear back.

Hope everyone has a great weekend

chk wif u... is it too late for me to have FTS on 3 nov? so far, i only saw gynae twice. is this norm? i shld be 11 wks now.

Hi Juju,
Based on the dates, you should be around 13 weeks+ on 3 Nov right?
You can refer to the link below. It says that as long as not exceeded 13 weeks 6 days, should be ok as some of the features that need to be scan are not present outside this timeframe.
http://baby2see.com/medical/nuchal_12weekscan.html

Hi Bliss,
You can refer to the link that i gave to Juju, got explanation on this FTS.

Hi Maykel,
How are you today? Are you still feeling dull and sore pain? Hope you got better now.

Hi Maykel,
Do you know when we should do the triple blood test? Do you intend to do it together with the FTS? I read about this blood test and it said the most accurate is to test between 16th-18th weeks.

Cale,
thanks. so confirm still ok. cos diff websites indicate diff wks for 1st tri (the usual 12, then 13 or 14wks)

Bliss,
i think FTS means 1st Trimester Scan, also Premier Fetal Screening. to scan whether foetus is developing properly

Anyone have sign a maternity package?How much is it?
And how much for Normal or Caesar delivery package only?

I went to KK24hrs clinic on sat nite cos my tummy was really painful. The doc was very nice. I managed to saw both my babies moving around in the womb, so funny. Doc told me that the pain is be due to ligament strain, as our tummy is growing at twice the size rapidly. He said that i would experience this kinda pain intermittently throughout pregnancy, esp with twins. Phew...i was more relief after that. At least i knew there's no major issue.
I told him i dun like to go 24hrs unnecessarily oso and ask him wat kinda symptom must we have b4 we need to seek help. He advise that if got menses-like bleeding then must seek help immediately, else pain could usually be muscle or ligament strain.

Hi BabyOnboard,
Thanks for sharing. Think i would shop around end 2nd tri onwards too, hopefully still can walk haha....

Hi Cale,
Me better today, the pain is better already. Thanks

Urmm....i'm not sure leh, i thot if we do FTS then no need to do triple test? Cos i think both are testing for the same thing right? Oni difference is FTS do in 1st trimester and TT at later stage? 2mr i'm going to ADC do the FTS, i will ask the package in detail and let you know when i come back ok?

Hi juju,
How come ur FTS so late? You can't get earlier appt is it?

Hi Josephine,
I think its too early for us to sign package now right? Anyway, that time i saw a brochure at TPS, it tells us the fees for different classes etc. Maybe you can check it out on ur next appt.
How are you feeling lately? Any MS or poor appetite?

Josephine,
do you get hold of the pamplets showing the charges in KKH of the antenatal consultations, hospitalisation packages?
There is a table showing comparsion of the hospital bill sizes of all the hospitals in Singapore.
For KKH, the hospital bill for normal delivery is $3210(single) and $2275(4 bedded), for caesarean delivery will be $5518(single) and $4530(4 bedded). The charges above exclude professional fees and neonatal fee.

Hi Maykel,
Ooo ic. Actually it is not for me. One of my friend decided to gave birth in here. So she asked me how much the package at KK or Thomson. Hehehehee ^_^
Last Friday, I got another light bleeding (dark color) but then stop again.

MS become worse. I dun think I would call it "Morning Sickness", I think I should call it "Night Sickness" (hahahaha :D) because night is the worse (been vomiting few times before sleep with food come out, make my stomach pain). I still have poor appetite.

How abt you?

Hi Bliss,

Nope, I dun have the pamphlets. Is it? Oook, noted. Tml is my 10th weeks appointment, I will get the pamphlets. Thanks.

Thanks for your info. I will share this info with my friend. Thanks a lot.

Hi Josephine,
Oic....

Any idea why you still have bleeding on and off?
Poor gal....ya, that time me oso, usually has vomitting at nite oso. Tat time i vomit oso got tummy pain, due to the strain, so i would usually hold my tummy as i vomit heehee....you try to take smaller meals and maybe soft diet would help.

My nausea better but appetite still not so good, esp Am and nite. Can't really eat much still. I realised tat i get turn-off by rice and meat leh, dun know i its too hard or wat. But eat porridge and softer dishes ok.
Dun worry, somehow we will be able to get through all these. Afterall, we had been thru the ivf jabbing everyday, wat else can't we tahan right? ;) jiayou.

Josephine,
this is the info from the same pamplet,
for thomson medical centre, the hospital bill of normal vaginal delivery are $4012(single) and $2514(4 bedded), and $6000(single) and $4236(4 bedded) for caesarean delivery.

You take good care. I also have very bad nauseaand poor appetite. We must be strong and will be able to go thru these soon.

Hi Maykel,
I think because there a small blood clot next to my little sac. I also dunno why the blood clot appear. Hopefully, tml scan the clot disappear ^_^.

Eh, same leh. I also no mood to eat rice or meat leh Hahahaha :D. Same same, I also prefer to eat soft soft one like green bean soup, but my MIL always cook rice so no choice eat then after a while vomit out the rice. Hahahaha :D

Yup yup.. Jiayouuu... we have go this far so must positive thinking and do our best for the babies. ^_^ Jia youuu Jia you.. Hahahaha :D

Are you working now or on HL? Is your due date confirm already on 3 May 09? Have you know the baby gender?

Hi Bliss,

Thanks Bliss.
Yup, must bear it another 2 weeks. Hopefully after 2 weeks I got my appetite back and no more nausea.

For the nausea/heartburn, did the doctor gave you any medicine?

Hi Josephine,
Oic....ya, hope that the clot would disappear.
Aiyo, if can't eat, dun force urself, cos too much vomitting is no good for you, can cause heartburn leh. Cos tats wat dr loh told me.
Me on HL til end of the week, next week go bk to work liao. Cos dr loh say 2nd tri shld be ok to go bk work.
Due date is around 3 May 09. But doc say for twins may deliver early, around early to mid Apr....No leh, oni 12 weeks, dun know gender yet heehee....

Josephine,
yes, Dr Sadhana prescribed promethazine theoclate for me to curb nausea. I took one last Friday as my nausea was very bad whole day. But I did not vomit, just nearly vomitted. I took one before bed. I am not sure if I should take or not, as Doc said I can take if I vomit. Anyway, really couldnt tahan last fri, so I also didnt care liao, took one tablet and I finally had the most restful sleep ever since pregnant. Haha.
My nausea is without vomitting so far, but it is bad as it lasts everyday from morning to night, non stop, very miserable feeling.
Did you get the same medicine to curb nausea?

Hi Bliss,
Dr SF Loh prescribed me 2 medicine for my nausea. 1 is antacid (Mylanta - Liquid - for heartburn) and the other 1 is small tablet (can cause drowsiness). The small tablet I forgot the name, I will check it at home later. I think it is same like yours is Promethazine (but not sure yet, later i will check).

But I feel the medicine is useless because I just drink it for a while then I vomit out already the medicine. Hahahahahaha I guess the baby dont want the mummy to take the medicine. Hahahaha :D

Hi Maykel,

Yea.. next week is your 2nd trimester already. Congratulations. Leave few days only. ^_^

So next week is your FTS?

Can i join all the mums to be here?

I am tested positive & will be seeing Dr Loh on 5 Nov. However, i am already experiencing nausea although was told by nurse that i am currently 4 weeks pregnant. Is this normal at such early stage?

I was also given Duphaston 10mg to be taken twice a day. I checked the needs for this drug on the internet and now I am bit confused as to why I was asked to take this drug when I am pregnant. Is there a particular reason to take this drug during early stages of pregnancy?

I am also experiencing diarrhea few times a day & stomach pain in the morning. Should i just go to KK 24hrs clinic instead of waiting for Dr Loh on 5 Nov?

Sorry, too many questions. Am anxious & scared. Need some advise from Mums to be.

I just tested positive last Thurs, 4 and 1/2 weeks pregnant. Can I ask a question?

Does anyone experience slight twitching at the pelvic area before? It's not painful, just twitching, on and off. I am only seeing my doc on 30 Oct, so pretty worried. Thanks.

Maykel,
gynae arranged dat one leh... dunno why. then btw the last & next appt, it's 6 wks spacing. haiz... today, kk called me to change my appt to sat cos gynae on reservist and wanted to charge me extra... sianz...

Josephine,
how about adding soup into the rice? make it like teochew porridge?

Comfort,
the duphaston is to support the pregnancy. most of us are prescribed wif dat until end of 1st tri.

Hi Comfort,
Welcome to the thread.
Yea, it seems you are quite early starting the nausea. I dunno whether is normal or not. I start nausea on my 5th wks pregnancy.

May I know how much is your HCG result? How many eggs you put? I heard that if you have multiple pregnancy then it is normal to have nausea or heartburn because of your hormone level is higher than normal.

Hi LFB,

Welcome to thread.
Nope, I dun experience any slight twitching at the pelvic area. I only experience Nausea/Heartburn & no appetite starting 5th wks pregnancy till now.

And the nausea/heartburn is worse each weeks changes. Hahahaha :D

Hi Juju,

Yea, I also do that sometimes if my MIL cook soup. But oh, she seldom cook soup one. Hahahahaha

I think I should ask her cook not so dry one. :D
How is your MS?

Josephine,
maybe add water if u dun mind the bland taste.

guess i'm lucky. jus choosy wif food, no MS, been putting on weight. lucky thing is food preference now changed to soupy stuff & porridge kinds, dun realli like the all-time-fav fried food so much. so hope will put on less weight. i worry too much weight gain later kena C-section

Hi Maykel,
Thanks. Please update me on this after your scan tomorrow. It must be exciting for you to have a detail look on your babies tomorrow

Hi Comfort,
Congrats and Welcome! 4 weeks+ to start feeling nausea is pretty early, likely caused by the high HCG level, think on the bright side, you might conceive multiples

Hi LFB,
I did not experience the twitching. Could it be due to the expanding of your womb? If you are really worried, perhaps can ask for a earlier scan/appt, at least if you can see your sac at 5 weeks+, you can feel more reassured.

Hi Josephine & Cale,

My beta is 864 at 15dpt. The feeling of nausea & heartburn is really suffering. I be going back to KK for scanning on 5 Nov. Do you think im able to kw whether single or twins by then? I had 2 embroyos transferred.

Dear Josephine and Cale,

thanks. The twitching lesser now, but this morning, I had difficulty sleeping as my tummy keep having some churning. Quite uncomfortable. Anyway, I will go for my jab this thursday, so will check with nurse. Praying very hard the pain will go off. Thanks again.

Comfort,
I know how you feel. I also had my MS very early, starting from the day of my BT on 15dpt!! Quite 'suay' to kanna MS so early, and MS consistently increases all the way.
Hahaha!
My beta is 866.3 at 15dpt and I am having singleton.
Dont worry too much. You may be having multiples. I noticed that with high beta may not be carrying multiples and with average beta may be twins or more!
So no definite indication by just looking at beta figures.
You must take good care, think of your baby and stay happy in order get thru this coming days of MS. It can be quite miserable but I guess it is just inevitable. Jia you!
Do update us on your first scan.

LFB, welcome!

Juju, josephine,
I also eat porridge everyday, must be the very soft kind of porridge. Actually I am quite sick of it, but there is no other food I can take for daily energy.

Juju, it is very good not having much MS. My sis shared with me that she has almost no MS at all during her first pregnancy and the whole 9 months was very smooth. She said pregnancy seems to her an easy and happy job at first. But her 2nd pregnancy with her son was full of nausea, vomitting and serious constipation. Her baby was kicking and moving everyday in her tummy and she was counting the days left to due date everyday that time. Somemore the shockest thing in her life was that she delivered her son at home! Anyway, one person can experience 2 totally different kind of pregnancies, so extreme hor.

Hi Juju,
I dun like the bland taste. That is why I dun really like to drink water now. Hahaha :D
Hahahaha :D That good you got put on weight that means baby growing well.

Hi Comfort,
I think on 5 Nov is your 1st AMC scan, I think you can see whether is single or twins. (PS: The AMC Scan is on the tummy)
Yea.. yea... nausea & heartburn really suffering. I always complain to my DH. Hahaha :D
Dun forget on 5 Nov, you must tell your doctor that you have nausea & heartburn so your doctor can give you medicine to reduce the pain. If you can't stand or got any bleeding, straight away go KK 24hrs to check.

Hi LFB,
Wish yout twitching lesser and well soon.

Hi josephine,
my sister delivered her son at home at around 3am on a Saturday night. Her hubby did inform the gynae and when he had parked his car downstairs and ready to carry my sister down to the car, my sister already was in great pain that she couldnt get up and the baby's head has actually out. She screamed like hell and the baby just slipped out of her and her hubby got hold of the baby. Luckily they did call the ambulance and they arrived in 5 min time(super efficient!). The med officer cut the naval cord and quickly sent them to KKH. My sis was supposed to be in Thomson, but then her baby so kan cheong wanted to see them 2 weeks in advance, and so she also saved the delivery cost and gynae cost and hospitalisation bill in Thomson. And just stayed in KKH for one night. The baby boy also 'helped' my bro in law and his family and also my dad stroke 4D on his birth date and won 40K in total! Good rite? This baby helped to save money and made more money. Hahaha!
My sis's story was actually published in Xin Min daily and New Paper this year.
My bro in law was brave hor? Haha, he was the mid wife of his own son. Furthermore, the maid and my sis's 4 yr old gal also witnessed the whole labour. The four of them welcomed the baby boy in the small master bedroom together. So funny but very scary too.

Josephine,
it was actually very dangerous to have such labour at home. It was all unexpected in my sis's case. It was lucky to deliver safely. It was said that for 2nd pregnancy, baby will normally arrive earlier and more quickly. For first pregnancy, I heard that it is much slower and labour time is longer. Anyway, it is always painful to deliver, no matter in whichever pregnancy.
My sis is the kind who is really scared of pain, she will opt for epidural or painkiller in whatever case, but then it is really fate that she has to bear with the labour pain without any pain relief that time. I felt so scared over the matter still. Hahaha!

By the way, as her boy is born at home, his birth cert was unable to be done in the hospital but have to go to Emigration building in Lavender to make. And the place of birth stated there is their home address. Hahaha!