IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Dawn,
Congrats!! Sounds like everything went smoothly since your babies can go home with you. You must be very busy setting a routine now. Understand that you can try drinking papaya & fish soup to help increase ur b-milk. Do keep us updated, yah?

Congrats Dawn
1212945.gif
So happy for you and 2 little Golden pigs !
Have a Good Rest. Take Care.

Hi Weiwei,

I dunno... am in NUH. Was reminded by Prof Wong repeatedly to admit myself as C class, then babies would be in C class. I think NHG different - if downgrade babies, it'll only take effect after ICU stay and the ICU stay is the one that'll cost more. Maybe SingHealth has a more flexible policy about downgrading of babies. Besides with means testing before approval of downgrading... don't feel very confident that they'll approve me for downgrading!

BTW where you got the info on MOH clause about IVF mtbs not allowed subsidised class for delivery? Cos I look at MOH website not very useful, and NUH admissions criteria also never mention that. **curious**

Weiwei,
I suppose you are next.haaha... dun worried once it happens the process will go on fast and smooth. For my case Dr Loh just walked in at 1plus and ordered C-section, then many nurses will rushed into the room to prepare me (shaving ,chaning, driping)and in less than 10 mins pushed me to OT.
FYI, my bb wass allowed downgrade as he required to stay in Special Care. I stayed in A1 and BB was in C class.We did not ask any memo form Dr. The staff from Admin office called my hubby up on the day I delivered, was telling him that they would like to help us and also assessed our financial status( normally for bb in ICU or SCN). "Must go and see them on your 1st day" as my hubby only went to see them on the second day. The downgrade only counted from the 2nd day and 1st day we still paid A1 rate for bb in SCN, the differednce is abt 5 times more. Hopes the info. helps.
Besides, I also claim from the insurance we paid when we do Embryo transfer. The claim reached me abt 3 weeks later.We have to send in our admission report to them and apply direclty after discharge as KKH is not involved. In all, it relieved alot.

lefty

i ask e nurse frm kkh about e delivery package then they told me aboout e B1 thing. maybe on ur next visit u can ask e clinic nurse frm nuh also.

stacy

wow, e admin staff so nice to help u with e downgrading!!
for me, when e nurse at tps explained to me about e delivery package, she din mention anything til i ask. she said i hav to get dr memo, hav to go gown n apply on our own, whether approve or nt also dun knw... tat really scared me!! do they downgrade for bbs staying in SCN n NICU only? what s their maximum household income for downgrading if u dun mind? for e insurance claiming, we just giv them our hpspital bill, mc, or medical report upon discharge? sorry for so many questions, hav to get all these clear then hubby wont b panic when e day comes. :p

Dawn,
congrats on the arrival of your little darlings!
Rest well and take care of yourself.
Hope to hear more updates from you soon!

Weiwei,
Yeah!
1214421.gif
I understand. My hubby was also very panic at that time. I remembered the nurses at tps din explain clearly to us, even when we asked abt the ward downgrading and claim from insurance. WE never expect any downgrading at 1st, my hubbby received a call on his hp from a lady, telling him that she would like to assist us. My hubby din go and see her imme. as quite unbelievable. Check with hubby still remember her name or got her namecard, if have I will pm you directly ( dun wish to publicize here)Surprisingly, she asked for all grand-parents' IC no. DOB, then fill them up as dependent.Other than that is the household income, not sure the range, but at that time I was not working.
As for claim from insurance, there is a no. to call printed on the first page of the insurance letter we received from the co. They will advise you what to send to them. If not wrong, we only required to send them the discharge summary of bb, so they will proceed with the claim. One thing we need not to fill up the form attached, as we are from KKH.
Hopes it helps.

Jeni,
My boi is so active nowadays. He will roll on bed and talk alot.I"m looking forward to CNY, not like last time....pple will ask that qquestion.
I've already started him on solid food since 4.5 months. PD give us some sampling and my bb seems enjoy eating. He also likes to eat the jar type in different fruit flavor. This month taken, he has meet the 5o percentile.
Your boi must be also very cute now.
1214422.gif

stacy

ur info s very helpful indeed. now i m more assured. wil go for appt tonight. hopefully i can still hold on...last night got contraction every hour with pain, din sleep well...

hi weiwei, hi lefthander77,

thanks. i do admit that i am confused.
still impatiently waiting for the scan and is quite worried..hopefully everything goes well.

rabbit

u r welcome!

petals

went for appt yesterday. dr loh s quite happy tat bbs apporching 34wks. but my urine got a bit of albumin, had taken blds last night. wil hav to do CTG n see him again on saturday. if bld result no good then hav to op on monday liao. if everything ok, then we hav choose a date to pop them out, 30th jan. ah..... finally i can see e naughty faces....

weiwei,
Oh, what does albumin/protein in urine mean ah? Also did u do the glucose tolerance test before? Wah, 30 Jan is less than a week away! So you'll see ur babies very very soon! Better pack all your stuff and sleep all u can now.

petals

it means i may hav some probs woth e kidneys as they overwork for 4 pp. it wil usually review through BP also but i m on e anti-contraction meds so BP tend to b lower than actual one. or it may be some discharges tat no need to worry.

if they detect glucose in e urine or ur bbs r very big, then u may need to do glocose tolerance test. tat s to see r u at risk for gestation diabetes. i din do any. ya, already pack everything n now feeling quite relieve n just wait for e date.

hi gals, thanks for all the well wishes. Have been v tired after the C-section, trying to rest more to recover.

just a few pics of them:
1)the twins when just pushed out from the operating theatre 20 min after delivery:
1218045.jpg

2) 4days old - gal on the left, boy on the right.
1218046.jpg

weiwei, hope to see ur triplets soon! must be even more fun ...and tiring looking after 3.

stacy, i know what u mean.....once u decided to opt for emer c-section....everything happens like whirlwind...pple zooming around...i was thinking...what's the rush? ;)

oh yah, those who go for c-section, do get the binder which will help in giving more support to the wound...however, mine got worsen due to some story...will update again..

the rest of the gals...do jia you! u will carry your bundle(s) of joy very very soon!

sigh, have to go, one of them crying........... u

dawn

nice to hear frm u again.
ur babies r soooo cute!! anyone helping u now? u must b very tired and proud to see them. may i knw what r their birth weight? were ur hubby with u during e operation?

hi weiwei, i have one confinement lady and a maid, plus mum comes over to help abit. but it is still tiring cos of the breastfeeding. think if dun bf, wun be so tired or stressed. u getting anybody to help?

the elder gal is 2.645kg, the younger, boy is 2.27kg. during my previous scan, both were estimated to be 2.6kg each. hubby can't go in for emergency c-section but i think planned c-section can.

u finished packing ur things yet?

b4 i could finish my editing my previous post.....had to run again....

hi weiwei, yours will be very cute too and u will have 3 of them.
i have one confinement lady and a maid, plus mum comes over to help abit. but it is still tiring cos of the breastfeeding. think if dun bf, wun be so tired or stressed. u getting anybody to help?

the elder gal is 2.645kg, the younger, boy is 2.27kg. during my previous scan, both were estimated to be 2.6kg each. hubby can't go in for emergency c-section but i think planned c-section they do allow.
u finished packing ur things yet?

oh yah, i was mentioning about the binder thing to koala and told her i will post it instead to share with u all. I got the binder ready quite early after my c-section as some of the old ivf forum frens have advised. So once 24hr after the operation, when the surgical binder (v small piece) is removeed, i asked one nurse to help me put on the binder i bought ( the brand is Dale, if u buying from KK pharmacy, can ask hubby to request for a sample to bring up to your ward to check which size u wear b4 u buy). the bad thing came when during the night, i needed to go toilet, 2nd time getting down the bed, so needed the help of a nurse. She was so rough with me that she simply pulled the binder up my waist when i needed to sit down on the seat. it was really painful and i told her is there no other way other than pulling up the binder, can remove binder first or what? think she in very bad mood, pulled down the binder again (the binder is v tight one hor) and helped me fold one layer of the binder up, less painful. The problem is when it was folded back, it was not done properly, so there was no good support for my c-section wound. Though i was feeling pain in the wound the next morning when i got down the bed twice, i thought it was normal, till evening when i requested another nurse to rebind for me. she told me i have not secured a pad in the correct position n there was no support for the wound...I was cursing and swearing lah cos made me in pain for the whole day which i tot was normal!

dawn

my mum n mil r going to help me plus my dad promise to do all e cleaning jobs.
my scan show e boys estimated of 2kg each, e gal s about 1.2-1.5kg. so i think mostly they cant go home with me together n we need to fetch them on another day.
all things packed already, after saturday appt wil b able to confirm everything. but tonight seems got more contractions than usual, kept telling e babies to hold on for just a few days more.
so ur c-section done under GA or epidural? thought if epidural hubby can go in. heehee, i keep asking hubby whether he dare to go in n will he faint inside or not.....

about e binder, i thought hospital wil supply to us n charge into e bill? never mind, in e end we stil hav to pay for it. wow, u had a bad mood night nurse. maybe she never sleep properly or just got scolding frm others. no matter what, she s rough n made u suffer.poor mummy!! wil be extra careful when my turn comes.

dawn,
both of them are so cute...all wrapped up nice & tight.
you must be very proud of them and of yourself for going through all that. Oh dear, how come the nurse so rough with you. Better rest well. Thanks for sharing your story with us even though you so busy. It's very helpful.

dawn,

Great to hear you are done with it! Cute little twinnie :)

Sorry to hear you are in pain with the wound. You should take the pain killer to manage your pain even you are breastfeeding. If you have brought the Dale 4 folds binder, just need to slowly roll up, please do not remove it. You should wear it all day, all night to support your adominal and your back.

The journey to breastfeeding is very tiring. However, you need to hang on to it therefore you need to make yourself as comfortable as possible.

Thanks Bodhi! Haven't heard from u for quite some time! What are u doing in the forum at 4am????
Already taken painkillers...2 ponstan ,the heavy dosage one and 2 panado. I v kiasu one, din dare to remove the binder till last night for 1 hour b4 bedtime. Also realised the first time i tried Breastfeeding, that night i was having great pain in my abdomen. Later in the morning the nurse then explain to me BF help to contract the uterus. esp for multiples, our uterus have been stretched so much, so when it contracts, it will be more painful than normal pple. Just to share as I didn't know this, oni tot the pain will come from the C-section cut. But nurse say good lah, means the uterus contracting alot.

after removing the binder hor, v scary, seem to feel my intestine not in their proper position leh....(i can feel diff lumps of "organs") is it normal? think my skin too loose liow...looks horrible too! Did u buy 2 binders to interchange?

weiwei, i took 1/2 GA, think no time for epidural. I can't take epidural as i didn't stop taking my morning medication -asprin which cause a risk if u take epidural. As long as the babies get help to be healthy, doesn't matter if they stay in the hospital for a few more days.
Hope ur blood test tomorrow is ok!

I know my fren at East shore deliver, the binder is provided by hospital and of course charged to their bill. but for KK must go and buy from pharmacy.

petals, yes the night shift nurse was in bad mood. I tot I was the one who was sensitive or too "gu niang" till morning i heard another lady from my diagonal ward asked the morning nurse why the night shift nurse so attitude, face so black one.
But most of the nurses in KK are nice and supportive, just happen to kena that horrible nurse when i needed most help to get down the bed in the middle of the night.

dawn

oh i see. hopefully i can tahan til e date n hubby can go in with me.
am getting more n more giddy n my BP s on e rising trend though i m on adalat. next wk s my limit already.heehee....dr loh also worry if we drag too long may cause complication to me n e babies as well. just a few days more for me.
looks like u r coping well with e little ones, take care of urself n do giv us a update when u free.ya?

weiwei,
Have a super smooth delivery and don't forget to post bbs's photo once u feel better ok. Can't wait to see them
. Must be so super adorable.
Dawn,
Your babies are so cute. congrats, congrats!!!

dawn,
both babies so cute. congratulations!!
btw, how do you find the confinement food?

weiwei,
have a smooth delivery on monday, you rest well now, think of nice things you can do after delivery (such as sleeping on your tummy again)
my gynae told me he will perform c-section for triplets also on monday. do come in and share your story if you have time.

my turn will be next week. belly feel so heavy liao but still manage to walk here and there, stubborn me. hihiih...

needle, chevall, petals, deasy

wil come back here n visit u all once i m mobile after operation.

deasy

it's still too early to say sleep on e tummy again coz e wound wil need quite long time to heal leh.... u stil can walk, good for u! r u going to try natural birth 1st or go directly for c-section? for me, i hav been confine at home for more than one mth liao, only activity out s appt time, also must sit on wheelchair. legs r so painful, cant even walk for 5mins. all these going into history liao, maybe i wil miss e time tat walk around with e big tummy... BTW, what r u doing at 3:39am but not sleeping? naughty mummy....

Thanks gals! v soon u will all be carrying your precious ones too! Really unbelievable when i look at them, cos having gone through so much to conceive. all the jabs/worryings are worth it.

weiwei, all the best!
Dr. Loh is v good, u r in good hands! R u having 1/2 GA or epidural? rest well after ur c-section, when free, come n update us yah? ;)

deasy ,my confinement food is v good cos this confinement lady cooks really well, so putting on lots of weight this week!

dawn

wil b under epidural. expecting a lot of pp running around me in e theatre, heehee... what do u hav n what kind of food to avoid during confinement? maybe can ask mummy to follow ur style later on since u put on weight...

so sorry... had been so busy with my twins that i hardly have time to come in this forum nowadays!! Time really flies and my twins are already 2 months and doing well. Just brought them for their 6-in-1 jab last thur and the girl developed a slight fever that night. Luckily, next day, she recovered.

dawn,
congrats! so happy for you that your twinnies are out! wow, both of them have loads of hair huh? you must be very busy busy... do eat and rest well so that you'll have more breast milk for the twins! ;)

weiwei,
have a smooth delivery tomorrow! jia you!

Dawn,
your babies are so cute! I am sure you will enjoy your time with them. Hang on to the bf or you may regret like I do. By the way, how old is your confinement lady, how much did you pay her, what's her job scope and what's her contact? Sorry to ask you so many questions.

Weiwei,
good luck to you tomorrow. Just concentrate on the fact that you are going to see all your little darlings tomorrow!

dodo, haven't seen u for quite a while.....what is the difference betw 6-in 1 and 5-in-1? worth it to take more jabs? you must be very busy too? Got help to look after them? I am wondering if the CL leaves after one month, if i can cope alone with the maid. When r u returning to work?

jeni, yes enjoying them alot now. My BM supply low leh....but i keep on pumping lor. even not enuff i juz give what ever i can pump out. I paid the CL 3K cos of twins plus new year. (but i allow her to go back abt 6 days for her new yr in malaysia). She takes care of me/cook cf food and feed/bathe the baby. less of housework cos i have a maid and wants her to concentrate more on the babies. i can email u her contact. but one thing hor, she not very pro-BF one. She will want to give FM,so have to bear with her comments. U planning for ur 2nd one oredi? how's school? I shudder to think about going back to school.

weiwei, u must be in KK liow. All the best!!!
after c-section cannot take chicken or eggs hor. the fish essence also can only take after 2 weeks.
i dunno the recipe, i just eat n eat and eat....haha...thurs my colleagues coming to visit me, sure will be shocked by my round face!

Dawn,
Yr babies are very cute! Lots of hair!

WeiWei,
All the best for yr c-section today. Have a smooth delivery!

hi dawn,
ye... i had been busy with the twins man... so did not come in the forum much.

regarding the injection, i opted for 6-in-1 jab cos there's less one injection to take. less pain for the twins and less trouble for the care givers, haha... if you take the 5-in-1, when babies around 1 month, you'll need to go for the Hep B jab which is not included in the 5-in-1, thereafter, do the 5-in-1 when babies around 3 mths, i think. i just opted for the most convenient way since there's 2 babies involved.. keke..

i'll be returning to work after CNY! How time flies, 3 months maternity gone just like that! When I am at work, maid and mil will take care of the twins. How about you? Who will help to take care when u go back to work?

regarding bf, you can try taking fenugreek tablets from GNC to increase supply. i am taking it now (oni started taking a couple of weeks back) and it seems to help a little... i am definitely not producing enough so am giving them whatever i can pump out, just trying my best lor...

also, try to pump more regularly, esp during the initial weeks after delivery. the best is to do it at 3 hourly intervals. do wake up in the middle of the night to pump too!

hi nano, thanks!

petals, hope ur glucose level is ok. maybe try not to eat anything b4 the routine tests?

dodo, yes, have been pumping quite diligently even at night. I just wonder how long more i can make myself wake up at those 3am, 6am interval. The supply increases abit oni....not drastically and definitely not enuff to feed even one of the twins. I also tried funugreek from the next day after my c-section. How many pills do you take?
Wow, it is already 3 months for you already? I am taking NPL till july or aug. after that prob will be maid with my mum/mil. feel like quiting job leh....but need the $$$$$!

Petals,
How will the glucose test be carried out? Thru' 1 blood test? Dun be too worried, hopefully yr glucose level will be alright. Keep us updated.

How's yr boy boy and girl girl? Did they kick mummy alot? Guess yr tummy shd have also grown quite big already. Things r pretty much the same at my side, except now I'm under a pte gynae. Did u go for the TMC antenatal class? How is it?

Dawn,
Thx. The nurse told me to eat normally but must fast the nite b4 the test. I've been having a sweet tooth recently leh. hiaz. I need to take 2 bld test, one after my fasting and the next one a few hrs after they give me a glucose drink. Wonder if anyone else has gone through this?

Nano,
Which gynae u switch to if u don't mind saying? So u cancelled ur KK appmts already? I decided not to go for any antenatal as it was fully booked, and I bought the tmc books to read instead. How's ur classes going? Now bbs kicking a lot more hor?

Petals,
I'm still going for the classes but the 1st few lessons not so interesting to me, prefer the later topics. Hubby was yawning all the way in class. My friend also passed the tmc bks to me, quite useful. Maybe i shd have signed up for Mrs Wong class..shd b more interesting. No prob, he is Dr Chris Chong.

Hi Petals,

I went through the glucose test when i'm about 4 mths preg too. The glucose drink taste horrible, very sweet. I remember that after i drank the glucose drink, i have to wait for about an hour before they draw 3 tubes of bld from me, you can only have some water in between the waiting time and that's about all. My result was normal.

Dont worry so much, even if they found you are high in sugar, the most is that you have to change your diet and take some medication.

Hi theresa,
Nice to hear from you!!
How r u now? Thanks for reassuring me...hope my results will be ok, cos really don't want to get GD.

nano,
Ya, and the KK lessons so many too...but tmc was booked up quite early. How's ur doc? As long as u r comfortable with him.

dawn,

i am taking 3 funugreek tablets 3 times per day, so in total 9 tablets each day, as advised by the shop assistant. another trick is to try using hot towel to massage your breast before expressing. btw, do you latch them direct? If can, try to latch them direct sometimes as it will help to increase the flow. Also, eat more fish! I eat threadfin fish practically everyday during my confinement... haha.. luckily, i love fish!

dun give up, just preservere and give your darlings what you have!

wow... you taking another 3 months of NPL! cool man! i thought of that too if my mil and maid cannot cope but so far, i think they can cope well as my mil has loads of experience with babies, having taken care of all my nieces and nephews. If need be, i'll make arrangements to work partially from home. Luckily, my bosses and colleagues are supportive about it.

dawn,

I woke up at 330am to feed and couldn't get back to sleep!

You should continue to wear it for a month or so to protect your adominal and also your back because you will be carried your bb quite alot.

Yes. Your uterus will be contracting after you have given birth regardless whether you are breadfeeding or not. However, if you are breastfeeding, you can feel it contracting...like pulling sensation.

I only bought a 4 folder binder. What i did was, if the binder need to be wash for the day, i wore the girdle. I did that for a month and with the malay massages i can now wear back my pre-pregnancy clothings. I also on a no carbo diet during my confinement. i.e. no rice, no noodle and no white bread. Just took the meats, vegetables and soups.

Try to keep trim, it helps to reduce the strains on your back especially the lower back.

Take Care!

Hi Bodhi,
wow, u can wear back your pre-pregnancy clothing already! so envious! how many months is your baby already?

btw, did you go be c-section or natural? cos i think mummies who go by natural birth can get back their shape faster cos they can start the post-natal massages and exercises earlier...

i tried going on reduced-carbo diet but sometimes very hungry lei, cannot take it and need to take more rice!! I am still working hard to get back to shape esp the tummy area cos i only get the post-natal massage in around 7th week after delivery. My doc advised that the massages should be 2 months after delivery to allow the wound to heal properly.

dodo,

Hi, how are you doing?

My son turn 3 months this weekend. How times flies!

I tried natural birth but can't make it. Finally went up to OT and got him out!

I started my postnatal massage on Week 6. I did the massage and wrap for 10 days continueously. The wrap was tough, i'm like a rice dumpling and can't ate alot because of the tightess. And my back need to remain straight! I have yet to start on any exercise program, i got a slipped disc during pregnancy therefore i need to go slow with any form of exercise now.

Is a mind over body. My massage lady said this straight to my face. If i don't cut my carbo during confinement no matter how hard i am going to work on my weight in the next 2 months also will not help! Therefore, i ate only meat, soup and vegetable during my confinement.

hi bodhi,
same here. i did the postnatal massages for 10 days as well. ye... the wrap was tough and very hot too, kept perspiring!!

wow! you very good lei.. peifu peifu! my gynae did told me about cutting down on carbo but i find it very tough lei... always hungry! btw, r u breast feeding? that increases the hunger i think!