IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

weiwei, the babies' kicks get stronger and more violent as each week passes hor? you have 3 babies inside you, must be even more cramped, sometimes they difficult to execute their kicks also. really salute to u, i carry 2 oredi so xinku, urs really is much heavier! read on news, there is one lady who delivered 6 babies, wonder how she tahan?

gals,
was watching Ellen on tv. She interviewed this couple who had a pair of identical twin girls, then followed by sextuplets (is this correct term for 6 babies?)!! Altogether 8 kids! Her tummy was so huge and jutting out! Unbelievable!

dawn

ya, me also heard one lady had 5 babies at one go, n by natural delivery!!! now her babies grown up without any complications, really peifu her!! ur babies already 32wks liao, so nice, cant wait for my turn.

hi petals,
the couple you saw on ellen have their own show on discovery digital ch 70 called jon & kate plus 8. i always watch cos their kids all v cute!

shazzer,
Is it? Oh...i have that channel but don't even watch it. :p Which day is the show on? Will look out for it. Yah, the kids all so gd-looking...
Oh, just did a search on the SCV site. It's showing today.

weiwei, me just turned 31wks today oni......the last few weeks seem to move slowly. but good lah, let the babies stay there longer, so that we can enjoy their kicks and squirming.

are they going to replay the show on discovery channel again. missed it yesterday leh!

dawn

me just came back frm appt. well, i wil b going back to kkh for appts n delivery coz of e abnormal mass in my gal's left lung. she may need immediate operation once she s born so sgh cant handle tat, i hav to change back to kkh. i feel more safe with kkh as they can hav fast reaction to e newborns although i hav to travel further for each visit. wil b seeing Dr Loh abt 2wks later, tat s e earliest i can get. but my gyn in sgh also very nice, he wil call Dr Loh personally next wk to pass him abt my case n also try to get an earlier appt. thank God i hav 2 nice Drs!! b4 appt, if anything happen emergency, i wil hav to go down to kkh for a better chance for e babies. just hope they wil hold on til e appt date, at least.

weiwei,
Yeah, your dr so nice to advise u early. Good thing u already have a record at KKH, which makes things easier. Dr Loh will be on leave until 26-Dec, maybe u can try to make appmt then.

Weiwei, it is a good decision as KK has all the most advance tech to help newborns. I m sure your gal will be in safe hands! Who is ur doc in SGH? I will also be seeing Dr. Loh 2 weeks later, 28 Dec, think he will be v busy that day as he jus came back, sure alot of pple lining up to see him.

Petals,
I'm fine..except tat nowsaday after meals i feel as if something is pressing against my organs...not too comfy..can't imagine how is it like when the baby is getting bigger. Now, waiting for my wk 20 detailed scan. Do u know whether hubby is allowed to accompany us while the sonographer do the detailed scan? Any idea whether we will get to do any 3D/4D scan in kk?

DoDo,
Yr twins r very cute...guess the one on the left is girl girl? Seems to have very deep double eye lids.

Hi Nano,

Hubby is allowed to accompany us when doing the detailed scan.
I have checked with the nurses, KK dun have 3D/4D scan....must go to those private hospitals.

petals, dawn

wow, on leave til 26 dec, tat's a long break. Dr Loh must b very busy after he come back. i already got appt with him on 2nd jan @ pts, in case i cant get earlier slot. my gyn in sgh s Dr Tan HK, a very experienced Dr also. how come kkh dun hav 3D/4D scan? i did 3D in sgh, can see their face n movements clearly. is there any clinic doing 3D/4D?

Nano,
I'm getting bigger, very obviously preggie. Waist grew 1 inch and put on abt 1 kg in past 2wks. *gulp*
Oh, I just assumed that hubby can accompany me during my detailed scan. So I guess can't bring camera, rite? Will try anyway.

weiwei,
What's time's ur appmt? Mine is 2-Jan too.

Did any of you think abt signing up for those preggy photo shoot? I was thinking of it, but dunno how long it will take. Now i get tired shopping/standing for half an hour, and need to sit.

petals

my appt s 6.35pm @ pts. u? r u going to hav ur detail scan on tat day?

thought of taking up e maternal photo package b4, but my babies r growing fast n i cant tahan e tiredness, so in e end gave up. also they dun provide clothes for e MTBs, hav to shop for nice dress if really want to go coz my maternal dress r quite antie antie like, heehee....anyway hubby s taking photo for me every 1-2 wks to record down e changes on my body. later on wil make them into an album or scrapbook.

weiwei,
Me too. I've been taking photos of myself every 2 wks where i lift up my tee to show my big tummy.
Can really tell it's grown significantly compared to 2 wks ago. My belly button stretch open already. Hey, mine's at 6pm aft my detailed scan. Must come say hi if u see me, ok? maybe i carry a red rose...hee...

you are right! the left one is the girl and the right one the boy... had been really busy with them; expressing milk, feeding them, changing diapers, etc. thankfully, there's mil and maid to help (plus hubby during the first week as i was nursing my wound then).

currently, i am totally expressing out bm for the twins, not latching on anymore as it's too tiring and time consuming. i am using medela PIS Advanced, which is a dual electric pump and it has served its purpose so far... although quite expensive (i got it for about $600+), it's very effective. In fact, i started using it on the 5th day after delivery and supply had been increasing steadily... now, i can get about 400 to 500 ml per day. well, not enough for 2 so i supplement with formulae lor... ;P

do enjoy your pregnancy days and rest as much as you can cos once the babies are out, sleepless nites would be the norm!

take care there and if there's anyone of you on facebook, do pm me so that we can be better connected!

Gd to know tat hubby can accompany me for the detailed scan at ADC. Abt 3D/4D scan...too bad kk dun have. Thought if SGH have, kk shd have too. Heard tat it is quite interesting to be able to see baby's features etc using such machine.

Petals,
I was told my tummy quite big too, considering i only abt 18 wks. But actually it is more flatten when i wake up in the morning with empty stomach. When i start taking food then it can be abit big lor. Ya noticed tat my belly button also stretch open aredi.

Abt photo package..thought of tat before i pregant but now my tummy got abit of rashes..so din think of taking recently. Btw, any studio to recommend? You and Weiwei very gd leh...have been taking photos 1 to 2 wks...i wanted to do tat but ended up so far have only taken a few shots of my growing tummy. Think must take more to capture the moment.

Nano,
Don't really know, but i saw the few photo studios advertising their packages on this SM forum in the Business category. One or two looked quite good. As for ur own photos, maybe u can just take one photo every mth just to see the progression. I find it quite fun. Have u started recording on the Baby Journal?

Yah I was hoping there's 3D scan too...

Petals,
I think most likely i will just take photos myself instead of going to the studio..but will also chk out the adver packages tat u mentioned..hee who knows i may be tempted to sign up. I haven't record anything on the Baby Journal..actually find the space very limited but better than nothing.

Have u start using yr Clarins Stretchmark cream? How do u find it? My Palmer running out so thinking of getting Clarins..not sure whether Robinson have any disc.

Nano,
Yah, i'm now using the clarins sm cream. Quite nice, not oily. Slight coconut smell. Dunno if it works, cos all the books say that nothing can prevent sm. :p It's $79.50 for a 200ml tube, but cheaper to get it during the metro 20% storewide sale. Think they'll give u a credit vchr back for controlled items like cosmetics, instead of the direct disct.

petals

ya, think mostly we wil meet each other on tat day. wil b looking ard n guess which one s u...

nano, petals

most of e maternal packages need to book in advance, better arrange it early if u really want.

abt e strtch mark, sadly to say, i already hav although i faithfully apply my tonic oil n cream everyday. all e creams n oil only can help to reduce, but no one can prevent it totally. esp we r having multiples, it wil come out even faster than others. i wil stil cont to apply e oil n cream, but dun really put much hope. now only hope e babies r growing well, dun care how big my tummy wil be, even i wil hav a ugly tummy later on, no choice, babies 1st.

WeiWei, Petals,
Ya think i also read somewhere tat if u r those tat will get stretchmark, it is hard to prevent even if we apply oil or cream. But at least applying it makes us feel better, at least we try to prevent it. The skin ard my navel is abit red and itchy but I'm still applying Palmer before i get Clarins.

Petals,
Think duty-free is selling at $70 for the 200ml..still more worthwhile to wait for metro sale, guess will wait for the Post-Christmas sale.

WeiWei,
I guess yr tummy shd be quite big n heavy by now since u r having triplets. I really admire MTB who carry Triplets or Twins...very "Wei Da".

nano

i got my 3rd bottle of clarins tonic oil at only 59.90 in a cosmetic shop as they r having 20% off. i think it should b e original products as they hav a few shops over whole s'pore. so far din find any differnence when i use it.

yes, my tummy s quite big now n look like anytime wil deliver...never mind, another month later, they grow bigger n stronger, tat wil b e time i wil say hello to them.
also i can sleep on my tummy again, miss tat feeling.....

weiwei, nano,
I find the palmers cream harder to wash off, but other than that quite similar. Anyway, I think just apply to moisturise that area and hope for the best. I think the clarins 200ml tube can last 2-3 mths like what Dawn mentioned. So I'll finish this before I decide whether to buy another, cos i still have a new tube of palmers that i bought during robinsons sale earlier.

Did u gals think of signing up for antenatal classes?

petals

i din sign up any classes...heard frm friends tat they wil teach u abt breathing exercises during natural delivery, breastfeeding, bathing or changing diapers......i've taken care of cousin's babies b4, so find it a bit of waste time. also now dare nt to travel too long n too far.

weiwei,
I also think it will take up a lot of time, cos i notice some of the classes last for 2-3mths...quite tiring even though it's once a week. By the end, I think I will be too big to sit for a long session.

Dawn,
You were asking abt the Jon&Kate tv show? It's on digital Ch 70 every Wed, at either 9.30am or 5.30pm for an hour.

WeiWei,
Wow!..u r already using 3rd bottle of the oil. Oh ya i just remembered u apply it to other areas too so used up faster. For me, so far I have only applied on my tummy area twice a day, morning n nite.

Petals,
I have signed up for the antenatal class starting nx mth, wanting to go Dec but all taken up. I think it shd be quite useful for me since i dun have experiences like WeiWei.

nano

i used baby oil for massage on e back n legs since i started e 2nd bottle clarins oil. so kind of try to save e exp oil a bit. but tummy s growing fast, abt 9-10cm per mth, so e oil use up quite fast.

ya, if u never handle newborns b4, it's good to attend to e classes. still can remember when i 1st time hold e babies, they r so soft n keep turning here n there. i dun knw wat to do with them, always think if never hold properly wil drop them on e floor... heehee....

Nano,
You signed up for the KKH class? I just went thru their website. Think I won't go for it, as the 10 sessions will last until I'm 30+ wks, by then, i shld be resting. Actually I'm not worried abt carrying babies, so i'm more interested in the later part - learning how to breastfeed and look after newborns. For us multiples, more likely to deliver by c-sec too.

I signed up for the antenatal classes at TMC when i was week 21, by Mrs Wong BB cos heard good reviews. It is good for those mummies who dun have time to read up, and also v good for hubby + u bonding time, cos will teach hubby to massage for you to relief the aches. Plus, hubbies usu lazy to read about taking care of baby, so will be good for them to attend also.
but must sign up early cos those of us carrying multiples will usually kena bedrest by 3rd trimester.

weiwei how u feeling nowadays? i always tired and sleeps round the clock.

petals, hmmmm...i dun have digital channel....so can't watch.

regarding oil:
towards last trimester really balloon very fast, so the usage will increase tremendously also! my fren uses johnson n johnson lotion to minimize cost.

Petals,Dawn,
I signed up for kk class. Did consider going for TMC class by Mrs Wong cos i also heard she is quite gd but think like Dawn mentioned, got to sign up early.

I have a friend who carried twins n delivered naturally last yr. She told me she attended kk ante class quite late too when her tummy already quite big. She find it quite useful so i thought no harm sign up. If i really tired, may skip 1 or 2 lessons which is not so interesting.

WeiWei,
I still dun know whether the Clarin oil or cream is better. Maybe will go down to the counter to try one of the day.

dawn

me also feel tired n sometimes a bit agitated with e babies...now hav to follow their sleeping pattern. they wil usually wake up at 3am n start kicking n turning, this e time i wil always hav contraction like pain if i insist cont sleeping. but once i got up n sit there doing nothing, they wil b happy n just play with me for a while, dun cause me any pain. they usually sleep in e daytime. so now except for meals, if i feel they r quiet n asleep, i wil fast fast go to e bed hav a nap. once they wake up, they dun allow me to sleep alone....

Nano,
I find the clarin cream better leh..........hee hee, cos the oil smell to strong liow. i still trying to finish my bottle of oil! think should be finishing it in 1 or 2 weeks time at the rate i m going this month. yah, mrs wong's class must sign up 2 months early.

weiwei, wow ur triplets r really active. hee hee... my twins do kick/twist n turn at nite, but quite gentle ( or i m a pig!!!! ) , so i still can sleep through it even though i will wake up drowsily, but no pain. think will miss all these pokes and kicks, twist n turns after we give birth! wah, today rain v heavily leh!

petals, do request for Mrs Wong's class cos she is better.
Heard her class oredi full up to mid feb liow. But only got 5sessions + 1 mass lecture.

dawn

it's a nice rainny day today n i slept e whole day with e babies. think they switch me to night duty liao, only can sleep in e daytime. last night cant take e pain n disturbance n wake hubby up around 4am. din sleep at all after tat. poor hubby keep talking to e babies to calm them down. he almost fell asleep on my tummy... ya, we wil miss e kicks , twist n turns; after we hear their crying all day long...

weiwei,

wah shiok, u slept so long ah! no wonder never see u online! u describe till v farnee, u hubby really almost fell asleep beside ur tummy ah? just tahan awhile, we will be able to see our babies soon!

weiwei,
Yah, so funneee...ur hubby supposed to make babies sleep, but end up he himself almost sleep ah...

dawn,
Thx, at most maybe just go for the 2+1 class at TMC.

dawn, petals

hee hee...he also poor thing mah, everyday worry abt me n babies,stress ah...hav to sayang sayang me always, so i can tahan longer...

this thing about babies waking up in the middle of the nights to kick and play...
When my boy was in my tummy, he woke up and played at night with my hubby too (as my hubby is a night owl.) After he was born, he woke up in the middle of the nights and refused to sleep (all mummies-to-be, pls be mentally prepared that you may face the same thing) till 8 in the morning which was very similar to the routine he had while he was in the tummy... I was wondering if he really followed the routine he had while he was in the tummy or is it just the baby thing as I have heard some mothers saying that their babies have America timing too...
Anyway, next time if I am fortunate enough to be pregnant again, I will see if I can set a routine while the baby is still in the tummy and see if it works...

jeni

wow, ur boy boy also like tat ah. aiyo, if they really follow e routine they having now, i wont hav peaceful time at home liao. but very hard to set routine for e babies leh. when they want to sleep, even i shake my tummy, do some twist n turn exercises, they wont move at all...in e end i hav to follow them...

Wanted to ask a delicate question...do u feel a little 'wet' down there during ur 2nd trimester? I've been getting this for the past week or so. It's not the usual thick discharge type, but i can see a wet patch on my pantyliner. Do I have to be concerned?

Also I'm not sure how tightening feels, but I find my tummy seems a little harder when I'm standing in my shower. But I can't tell if it's because I'm standing up after lying down for so long, and the uterus moves down from gravity.

Petals,
i experienced the same thing as u...also have been abit wet down there during 2nd trim, can see a wet patch on my panty. I guess it shd be ok but maybe the seniors can share whether they experience the same thing.

Have u chk whether TMC class is still avail? Think they also have classes in AMK hub but not sure who is the trainer.

Dawn,
I went shopping yest..'gosh' Orchard Rd is full of people!! Guess everyone doing last min Christmas shopping. I went to try the Clarins cream n oil. Ya i agreed the oil have a strong smell but still acceptable for me. Was given samples to try. Think will likely get the cream one cos more convenient to use.

The rashes on my tummy has spread and it's quite itchy..can see red patches on my tummy and the area abv my navel.
Sometime will wake up in the middle of the nite to scratch. May i know will the rashes be harmful to my baby?

Just got my amnio result, so happy that is it ok and I am expectg a little prince

Thanks for all your best wishes and have a Merry Christmas!

LB,
That's great news!! Congrats on ur prince... Merry xmas to u and ur little one too!

Nano,
Oh u have that symptom too? i thought I'm the only one...
TMC said they have classes for Mrs Wong starting in Jan, but only evenings on Wed, Thur and Sat still available. I need to discuss w hubby first.

petals, nano

preg women wil hav more discharges especially frm 2nd tri onwards. just observe e colour n odour. as long as it's nt pink, green, smelly or other funny funny colour, should b ok. sometimes we may hav a little bit of urine leak out during e 2nd/3rd tri.

LB

congrats!! tat s a great christmas news for u!!

be careful when u do ur christmas shopping as pp wont care whether u r preg or nt when they see nice or cheap stuff, they wil just pretent never see u n cont to push.

Nano, yah, heard my sis said orchard, city hall, i think all shopping centre are swarmed with pple.
luckily i didn't go out and try to shop, sure will kena knock down one.

Jeni, aiyoh, if your theory is true, that means we must start training the babies now! but my hubby every nite b4 sleep will sternly tell the babies to sleep also, no kicking mummy in the nite....haaha....but sometimes they listen, sometimes they bochup lah! So can train them after they come out?

LB congrats !!!! what a nice xmas present.....a prince!

weiwei, yah, we must sometimes also sayang our hubby hor....cos most pple r sympathetic towards the mummies not the daddies even though they also suffer some level of stress and anxiety.