IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Anyone knows where to get triple stroller in Singapore? And has anyone here with twins/multiples bought carseats yet? If so, may I know what brand you get and why? Sometimes when I read the posts of Apr 2008 mummies my heart sank cos parents of singletons would always want to buy the best products for their babies.... if I want the same I have to multiply by 3. Hahahahaha.... oh well...

weiwei, just discovered the 1st stretch mark yesterday....one small red streak mark below belly button...*sigh* think they all going to start popping out liow.

deasy, which country r u working in? how come cannot take medical leave leh?

lefthander, i have not heard of a triple stroller. maybe u get a twin + single stroller?
I am also looking for carseats now....Can understand your concerns....i need to buy 2, u need to buy3!!! *sigh* if i budget 300 dollar per carseat, will need to pay 600plus lor.

weiwei,
Yah, will check w Dr whthr can take neurogain during my next visit. Was a little worried cos couldn't get a pic of one of my babies' nasal bone during the NT scan. Went back a few days later for rescan and was relieved that it could be seen.

Nano,
Looks like he prescribed diff things for us. Your appmt seems quite long after ur fts, abt 4 wks? Mine is nxt wk.

dawn,
is the new clarins SM cream in a big tube? i didn't know it's quite exp... To think that I already considered the palmers one exp at $21 for such a small tube, and it is applied over such a big surface area...hee.

lefty,
hi! how many wks r u now? I heard Baby's Hyperstore in Kaki Bkt is the Maclaren dealer, so they can negotiate gd rates if u r buying a few items (even matching the dept store sales price). And u can ask for delivery of ur purchases when u give birth, so the warranty starts later. They also have car seats n Medela b-pumps. You better check around to compare prices.

Dodo,
looks like ur itch is similar to mine...also mainly shin area, but on & off every few days. This started when i got preggie, so i just used body lotion to soothe a little.

just a tip for those experiencing itch, can also use the prickly heat snake powder. it is also very effective in relieving the itch, at least for my case.

Dodo,
r u feeling excited? 2 more days to see ur twins!

Petals, yes, the SM cream is in a big tube. should be able to last 2 to 3 months. I think Palmer one is good enuff....i am also alternating between it and clarins tonic oil. oh yah the Baby Hyperstore do give quite a good price for MAclaren stroller, was checking out a twin stroller that day and they quoted me about 370 dollars.

Petals,
My next appt wif Dr Loh is 5 wks away fr my last appt. Very long...wonder whether is it the same for all MTB carrying singleton.

Mummies n MTB,
Me now in early 2nd trim, when shd i start to shop for baby's stuff like stroller?

Mummies n MTB,
Do u intend to let yr baby sleep in sarong? One of my relative wanted to pass me her sarong, wonder whether is it gd to let baby sleep in it. Will they get 'addicted', i.e. must always rock them and refused to sleep in baby cot nx time.

Dawn,
That sounds like a gd deal...i thought the twin strollers were abt $600 retail price? R u getting the ones for newborn onwards, or the other lighter one? I was looking at the maclaren website. Shows the diff models and specs.

Nano,
I think maybe after u enter 2nd tri, he's more relaxed abt the appmt? Anyway i told him I don't mind going to see him more often....me ks lah. I think u can buy the baby stuff later on when u start ur 3rd tri or some even when baby is born.

dawn,
i'm in medan, indonesia, 1 hour flight from spore. its not like cannot take medical leave, its just not to be so formal. u can just tell the boss. or you can work until the day u dont show up because you give birth oredi, then people know u wont come for a month or 2. mostly the company give leave about 60days, if i'm not mistaken. each company have their own rules e.

btw, mummies, for one month gift, wht is the culture of giving gifts in spore? i mean, at my place, after bb one month, new parents will send a box of cake with some angku kwe, 4 red eggs, i pack of glutinous rice with coconut. is there a custom like this in spore? if yes, then, if our babies are twins or triples, does it mean we have to send 2 or 3 boxes per person?

Nano, once you cross your 2nd trimester and Dr. Loh sees that u r quite ok, the appt is about 5 weeks one. I also like that, wait till my neck long long. Should buy your baby stuff mid 2nd trimester liow. but stroller maybe can wait till u give birth, maybe some pple will give u as gift? ;) Now i 3rd trimester liow, a bit too heavy to move about to look at things and compare prices.

deasy, singapore also the same, give all the things u mention above if traditional. Nowadays, some pple give tarts/cupcakes/cakes only. i think twins also juz give one set enuff rite? are you coming back to give birth or giving birth there?

dawn,
thinking the safe side, spore is better, since i came back after IVF people asked me when will i go back to spore again, even my mom and sis and hubby and friends all tell me to go back to spore for delivery but i prefer to give birth here, considering so much to settle if babies born in spore, must take care of the passport in embassy, birth certificate, and have to look for apartment for at least 4 months if i intend to go there, plus my gynae dont permit me to fly anymore. hahahaha... the most problem for me i think is mentally not prepared because i keep thinking of my uncomfortable first trimester, even thinking about it make me nausea and vomit.
before pregnant, i like travelling to spore to eat the food and seeing people walking here and there, taking MRT (cause no such thing in my place
), taking bus (so convenient, again, this thing i wont do in my place), but after my morning sickness and unable to eat the food, i become trauma of spore. but good side is i now become fruit eater, healthier, hahhaa... always see the bright side..

Petals,
Actually i also dun mind seeing him more often, at least can know whether baby is growing well.

Dawn,
Thks for letting me know tat it is usual tat the appt is 5wks apart. Haa seems like 3rd trim abit too heavy to do shopping hor.

Deasy,

If you give birth in Sg would u still go to NUH? If yes I want to know ur experience. Right now when I think about delivery I am thinking of NICU and how long my babies would be there. :eek:(

I am going to be 5 months tomorrow. :eek:))) I like the feeling of different kicks at different places at different times. Now can enjoy it. When they are out; mummy would make sure all would sleep same time and not pull the same stunt as what they are doing now! Hehehe...

dawn,
ya.. feeling excited now.. will be going Mt Alvernia early tomorrow morning!! need to reach about 6.30am... will keep you gals posted!

lefty,
if i want to give birth in spore, surely will go to NUH, although the prof i was seeing didnt really speak much, but if we had question, he'd be happy to answer, and the staff's professionalism. probably the price is a little bit higher than KKH (from wht i read), but the atmosphere, and the quality of them would make me choose NUH.

i just went to hospital today to pay deposit for delivery package. 5days 4 nite costs about S$1100, only for rooms (babies and mother's), meals one time vaccine for baby, one pediatric consultation, not included the second baby, will be counted separately, doc's fee, anaestetics, operation room. total cost roughly when we ask from cust serv will cost somewhere around S$3100.

why u think about NICU? isnt it for babies with problem? sorry to be so harsh, whts wrong with ur babies? how many are you carrying?

dodo,
all the best for tomorrow.

lefty,
How are you now? You 5mths already...
Have u found out your babies' gender? When did u start feeling their kicks? Actually I know i must be positive, but I'm also worried about preemies, so I won't buy anything till I reach my 3rd trim. I roughly know what I need so will ask hubby to buy if I can't walk much then. At most I can scout around during this couple of mths and point out to hubby first.

Deasy,
I think what lefty means is that because we are carrying multiples, there's a higher risk that we deliver prematurely. If so, babies will be put in NICU, whether it's a few days or a few weeks depending.

Dodo,
All the best! Don't forget to update us! I hope I can carry my babies till 36-37wks too.

Nano,
Maybe u can tell him u want to see him a little earlier. Anyway, my appmt is also 4 wks aft my last consult with him.

Dodo,
all the best! We r all waiting to hear ur birth story and see your boy boy and gal gal!

Deasy, i agree with petals. Multiples very very high chance they will be premature/preterm so have to be mentally prepared to fork out a sum of $$$ if they stay in NICU. I know of some who had paid from 50K to 100K cos the twins stayed for a month or so. But when we did IVF, it was compulsory to buy a insurance right? Heard the insurance will help to cover part of the daily charges of the babies in NICU or SCN. ($300 per day if i remember correctly). Just pray all our babies will come out only when they are due!

Nano, i started buying after I was wk 24. spent wk 20 to 24 checking out all the prices/brands.
Now wk 28 liow, left my cot not yet ordered, car seats and stroller not bought yet, tires easily and gets breathless if walk around much.

Dawn,
Actually the insurance we bought is very little, $300 a day will only cover a small fraction I think. So I hope we all don't ever have a need to claim it.

I think good idea to wait until wk28 to buy the major items too...i can't wait for my turn to go shopping. Your timing very good, all the x'mas sales should be starting soon, u can prob get better deals. Hee...
You decided on the maclaren stroller? is it the Twin Triumph or the Twin techno? Actually I understand that maclaren has a new collection every yr, but i don't know when they release the new designs.

Hi Petal & Weiwei,

How are you getting on? Hope everything is fine. I'm in my week 19 now and carrying with a boy and girl!

I'm also having the same problem as what Deasy have (delivering in S'pore), i know that delivering in S'pore will be much better in term of medical professional and more help from families back home but because it is too much hassels especially with 2 and the thought that i wont be seeing my DH so often (like 1 or 2x a mth for at least 4 mths) really worries me. I'm just worried that i may suffer from whatever post natal blues or depression after birth..... sight!

Still searching around for private hospital in HK but the cost of really good ones are going to pay through my nose (Sin 25K for twins) and more over most of the pte hospital in HK is full due to alot of mainlanders. I have found one quite resonable and will be consulting the doc tmr. But one thing that is beneficial about delivering in HK is if there is any complication due to preterm labour and babies need to stay in NICU, they will transfer the babies to one of the biggest public hospital (they have the best neonatal services better than KK) and all medical incured is almost free. I have this church friend in HK which is carrying triplets and delivered at week 26 and her babies was put in the NICU for 3 mths with all medical and operation invovled and can you imagine she only paid like less than Sin$200.00! And now her 3 babies (3 years old now) are all healthy and running around.

My first priority is to deliver in the pte hospital in HK (if there is a vacancies if not then i will come back) and TOUCH WOOD! if happen to be in preterm labour (before week 34) then i got to be delivered in the public hospital.

Of course, i can deliver at the public hospital and save all the trouble and money but just couldn't stand staying in the maternity ward (8 beded) and you will always been reviewed by diff Junior doc and will only get to see the senior doc on the day of c-section.

Theresa,
Glad to hear from u. Wow, another boy-girl combo! Seems like u have a lot of things to consider... must be hard on u. I guess i take it for granted that i'll be delivering in kkh. R u working in hk too? I think might be good to have some family to help when ur twins r born. One person can't handle esp during confinement when u shld b resting.

Petals, most prob will get maclaren stroller but not decided on the model yet.
Mum says she will buy for me, so we will just go and have a look at it one day.

We have so many pairs of boy/gal twins. Do you think the docs put one gal and one boy embryo inside during ivf or it is really by chance? I know in sg we can't select the sex of the child but US and europe seems to allow.

Wow Theresa, free medical in HK public hospital? Does it only apply to locals?

Hey Theresa,

Congrats! Not sure if u still remember me. Anyway I was supposed to journey at abt the same time as you but due to work comittments I postpone my cycle till now. I am now in my 2ww.

So happy to hear that you are carrying 1 boy and 1 girl. Congrats!

Hi Petal,

I will get a maid, a confinement lady and my MIL will come over if i deliver here. No, i'm not working since we came over here last year and that is why we have decided that it is a good time for ivf since i will have plenty of rest and time.

Dawn,

I have check with my gynae previously before ivf and it is against the law to choose the sex of the embryo in Singapore. My friend in Singapore who has triplets and all girls wanted a boy so much that she went to KL to do her 2nd ivf which they allowed over there but dont know is it legal or not, she put in 1 boy embryo but did not make it.

The free medical in HK public hospital is only apply to all locals and HK resident (we are consider as HK resident because we have a valid work permit).

Jade,

Yes, of course i remember you and all the best for your 2ww! Hope to hear good news from you soon.....

hi theresa,

remember me? long time no hear from you and saw your name so pop in to see your updates.

congrats!! really happy for you to get long feng tai. after this, can close shop already.

do chat with us in dr foong's thread. i'm sure the gals there will be happy to hear from you

Dawn,
I also would like LFT combi! Hee...will have to wait till my wk 20 detailed scan to find out. Yah, illegal to choose the gender here. So nice, your mum buying u a stroller. If no hurry, can wait till they release the 2008 collection...but anyway their designs all so nice.

dodo

hi!! guess u r in e hospital with ur boy boy n gal gal. take care n do giv us a update when u free.

theresa

congrats!! wow, we hav another set of boy/gal twins here! how r u getting on? u should b able to feel little knocks here n there in e following wks. ya, for e safety of babies, best u deliever in hk as when they r too small, not fit to travel n diff to handle in e airplane. btw, hav u done any 3D scan for them? it's very nice to see them moving on e screen n u can hav their photos as well.

i m in my 26 wks now. wil b seeing dr next saturday for review. so far so good, e babies r super strong n active. they wil kick my bladder, my stomach n rub againest my ribs every now n then... until i cant breath, must talk to them nicely n then they wil b guaiguai... really naughty babies, worse than me.

deasy

agree with e gals, we need to prepare for our babies to b admitted to nicu once they r born. as we r carrying multiples, e chance of premature labour s much higher than those with one baby only. read frm papers tat for twin preg, normally wil deliver around 36wks if mum n babies r all in good condition; while for triplets, it's 32wks. my gyn said for all bb with birth weight less than 1kg, it's a must to b placed in nicu for at least a few wks to help them mature their organs. a normal bb at 28wks wil hav a estimate weight of 1kg. tat means, if e bbs r born around 28wks, we must prepare for e nicu cost. petals s right. nicu cost r sky high, esp for us ivf mummies.... unless they agree to downgrade bb to B2 or C class. frm e info i get frm SGH, ivf mummies n babies r only allowed to take B1 n above, nt e cheaper ones. B1 charge for nicu s 500+/day. tat does nt include e oxygens n those important meds they r going to use for e bbs n other expenses, only e bed n consultation fee.... scary, right? so want to save money? then keep urself fit n healthy, keep e bbs inside as long as u can.... heehee...

weiwei,
You're doing very well...26 wks. Every week passed is a mini success to me, and i look fwd to reading up on the wkly fetal devlpmt in the Babycentre UK website. So ur 32 wk will be just aft christmas? Are u having Jan08 New Year babies?

yup yup yup, chance of premature labour is higher with multiples, thts why we must nourish them and us well so even if premature labour happens, babies will still be healthy and no need to be admitted to NICU. thts wht i heard from the customer service in hospital when we ask about premature labour and NICU, bcause if babies must be admitted to NICU, the delivery package will be void and will be counted according per day and per need. but if babies are premature and healthy, then no need for ICU, package will still be valid.

weiwei,
when was your ET last time? i thought yours were a week after me, me also in my 26 week. last week my babies weight about 800grms, and yesterday i was craving for 17 kinds of foods and i texted my hubby and he laughed. i myself so shocked when we counted the food from wht i texted him. hihihii... really pregnancy is amazing experience.

deasy

yeah, i m in e begining of 26 wks. my et was 15 june.think u should b in ur 27 wks liao, no more 26wks.
yesterday we went out to do our last shopping. we hav got most of e things except for stroller. as e babies wont b so out so soon, hubby stil get time to look around.

as for e food, i dun hav craving for anything as no matter what i eat, i cant eat too full. e babies r everywhere in my tummy, if i eat too full, they wil b tense up n fight for their space with e food...i also dun knw where s my stomach now, heehee....so back to e 1st tri, small meals but more frequent.

petals

yes, by end of dec, i wil b in my early 31 wks. my 32 wks wil b i n mid jan 2008. tat wil b e best time for them.

So quiet here. My mum bought the Clarins SM cream for me to try, got it at 20% off. The salesgirl said it's not as strong a smell as the oil. But my nose has been stuffy so I can't really smell. So far only tried once, not bad. Will alternate betwn my Palmers and Clarins too.

Weiwei,
Hmm, mid-Jan babies will be capricorn then.

Hi Petals n MTB,
During 2nd trim, do u still feel bloated after meals? Also, I thought Dr said will not feel nausea after 2nd trim but i puked twice during the past wk...both happens at nite after i brushed my teeth..wondering is it ok.

Petals,
Ur nose still stuffy? I've been sneezing since yesterday, i hope it wun worsen.

nano,
if you feel bloated after meals, try to eat smaller portion, see if tht could make you feel better, but continue to eat again in one or two hour. about the puke, i think its ok, some people can puke until they give birth. one of it is my auntie, she told me she puked when she gave birth, stop for a while when doc pulled d babies out, then continued puked again, poor her.

i know the puke accident is never a nice thing to do, make us tired also, but try to enjoy it as experience ohter people wont feel cause they are not pregnant. and dont think about it too often. speak is easy than do, but lets try.

to all MTBs,
do you guys consume herbal soup to "bu qi"? i remember my spore gynae adviced us not to take, but my mom saw me quite tired tht she made herbal soup and i just drank a little bit and she was upset, feel so sad like i'm being unfilial. my MIL also asked me to "ciak po" to strengthen my body and babies, i just keep quiet. read from web tht dang gui, or ginseng cannot be consumed during pregnancy. wht do you guys think about it?

Nano,
Don't worry, i read that for some pple, their MS symptoms will continue for a few more wks, and not auto switch off once into 2nd trim. Food-wise, I'm ok, but I notice I eat more when it's full of flavour (like chicken rice, fish beehoon) but less when it's home-cooked. Hee, better don't tell my in-laws... Somemore i can't smell much now, so homecooked tastes quite bland and boring after a while. I seem to like curry and pasta types of foods now. I also sneeze a few times each day, and my nose gets runny in morn but blocked in aircon at nite. Has been like that since preggy.

Deasy,
I don't dare to take any herbal stuff now. Somemore those medicinal halls will just try to sell u stuff but I don't trust even if they say suitable for preggy women. My MIL also don't dare to give me anything herbal now.

Deasy, Petals,
Thanks for yr advice. I think I've to cut down on my food, have been eating full meals..likely tat's why i feel bloated and indigestion.

Deasy,
Yr aunty really poor thing..hope i wun puke too long.

Regarding the herbal stuff...i thought after 1st trim can take abit? Cos i remember i asked the Chinese Physician Dr Zou she said ok to take those like "shi quan da bu tang"..if yr body is not heaty. But so far i din take herbal soup cos i lazy to boil..also not too sure which type is suitable.

Petals,
I seldom sneeze so when i suddenly sneeze so many times i start to get abit concerned. Do u take any flu medication so far? I'm thinking which one is ok to take if mine worsen.

I'm actually like u...take chicken rice, malay rice, etc. Actually, it's quite gd tat you've yr in-laws to cook for u..more healthy. But i know sometimes u just feel like eating something else to curb yr craving.

Nano,
So far, i've only taken the flu meds from my gp when i fell sick. Other than that, I don't take any meds for my daily nose prob. For stuffy nose, can try those saline nasal spray made only of sea water, Dr Loh also mentioned this is suitable for preggies.
As for herbal stuff, I never really liked them, so i choose to avoid where possible.

Petals,
My sneezing nose seems to be better today. Btw, where can i get saline nasal spray that u mentioned?..just in case i need it nx time.

I bought it from the kkh pharmacy, which i think is slightly cheaper. I think there were a few diff ones but i picked the Sterimar one for less than $13, can't remember exactly how much. It's in a white & blue box. Not sure if u can get it from guardian too.

Petals,
Thanks for the info..at least i know which one to get when i need it.

This thread very quiet hor..long time never heard fr LB, Needle, Rammy n the rest.

You seeing Dr this wk rite? Hope to hear updates fr u. Me going tis Sat...finally.

nano,
guardian also got sterimar, i remember last time i saw the price was $16. dunno about tht now.

MTBs,
wht is the interval of you seeing your gynae? once in three weeks or once in a month?

Nano and Petals,
i've got sneezing/running nose problem since my 2nd trimester.. my gynae has prescribed piriton (small yellow tablets) which she said is safe and mild. i have been taking it quite regularly ..

IVF MTBs,
i've a nagging qn which i have been wanting to ask.. does anyone of you have a third nipple growth? i have one on my left armpit, and there's seems to be 1 growing on my right too.. my dr said is due to hormones and won't go away even after delivery. and i read that some lactating kinds might even leak milk when bf-ing! i was wondering was it due to all the hormone injections from the ivf procedure... any advise?

Hi Petals,
It seems like we are having the same doctor, doc LOH in KKH. Are you in your 2nd trimester now? All the best. You shld start shopping soon as you will not be able to do it when you reach your 3rd trimester. As for prams, I got the Maclaren Twins Traveler. Buying just a older model made a big difference in their price; yet for the same functions and looks.

My delivery date is close to Dodo. I will be doing a C-section next Tuesday-4th Dec (is my birthday too!). Infact, Dr Loh suggested Natural birth as the babies look very well. My babies weigh 2.5kg each and I m in my 36th week.

Yesterday, when I went to see Doc Loh, I was disappointed to know that we are not allow any camera or video cam in the delivery room. Only outside after the delivery
I was hoping to record the 1st cry of our 2 boys.

Try to keep your babies inside you as long as possible. At least til 35th week. Then they can go home with mummy.

Good luck and take care mummy.

deasy

should take extra precaution with herbal things, better consult a chinese physician as same meds may hav diff effect on diff pp.

rebekah

hi, u r delivering soon!!!! wow, ur boys r having good body weight!! r u having GA or epidural? heard if epidural hubby can stay with u while GA can nt. hav a smooth delivery n happy birthday in advance!!

vang

so far hav never heard of third nipple growth leh, sori cant help u...

Rebekah,
Hello! I'm really happy to hear both u and Dodo can carry ur twins until ur 36th wk. Cos somehow with multiples, i seem to read more sad stories than happy ones, and can be quite worrying. Yah, your babies weights are so good!
Um, can you walk much now carrying all that weight? I already feel tired when i'm out for a few hours. Abt the camera, I was also hoping that we can bring in cameras when we deliver.

Good that you managed to have Dr Loh around for ur delivery next wk cos I think he's going on leave that week. I'm in my 15th wk now. Hope to be like u and carry them till 36 wks. Happy birthday in advance! Enjoy ur peace and quiet these few days before ur babies pop out to colour ur world...hee...

vang,
Thanks, but I don't think I want to take any pills for my nose as it's a daily problem and not due to flu. Already taking so many supplements.
But i'm thinking of getting a humidifier for my room...might help when my nose gets blocked in aircon.

nano,
my next appmt is my detailed scan at ADC in 5 wks, then followed by consultn with Dr on same day. Just check with you, will u be seeing dr loh immediately after ur detailed scan too? Is ur scan at ADC too?

vang,
me too never heard bout the third nipple, or could it because u r wearing tight bra? i read before tht wearing underwired bra could lead to milk duck or wht, forget liao.

weiwei,
i asked my gynae today, he said better not take herbal soup with dang gui or ginseng cause they might cause uterus contraction and prematured baby. babies now weight 1,2kg for boy boy and 1,1 for my girl.

rebekah,
happy birthday in advance, and babies also, good weight. rest well for this couple days ya. btw, do you also bed resting? since when?

Rebekah,
All the best for yr delivery nx tue! Quite disappointed to hear tat camera n camcorder not allowed.
Is tat so even for natural and epi-csect??

Petals,
I just refrigerate my Neurogain after u mentioned..cos read better to store below 25c.

Deasy,
Thks..i will chk it out when i pass by Guardian.

Vang,
Hope yr sneezing/running nose will get better. Luckily mine is gone but read tat it's common to have sneezing or running nose during preg, take care!

Sorry Sisters,
Bleeding and spotting did not stop till this morning, was bedrest for nearly a month alreadi. Now so worried abt amnio on 5th dec, lucky bleedg become very light brown today.

Nano & Petals,
Jus saw Dr Loh last Fri, he will be on leave, think from 7th dec to Christmas. Seeing him today again, to check if my condition suitable for amnio...

Now leaving hse, come back then slowly read all the postings, missed out for so long

Nano,
I got my neurogain earlier and have been storing it in my kitchen cupboard...so was wondering if it's still ok to take it. I didn't know must store in fridge too until i saw the 25oC too, that's why i asked u. Did the pharmacy instruct u to store in fridge? Shld be ok, right?