IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

michelle, maybe the baby will pop out soon on his own! your womb too comfy liow lah! Indulge in the peace and rest u can have now....

Hi Dawn, thanks. Im getting worried about the breast feeding and looking after the babies when they are born. Im so worried I will not be able to handle it. How did u feel and manage when you gave birth to them. Im such a softy so Im sure the C-section pain will hurt like hell. Will like to try for a normal birth if both heads are down but will not take the risk if one is up n the other is down. Help! Im getting so worried and I have 7 months to go! hehehe

hello mums to be ( very recent ones) - anyone has a spare gonal f pen? i dun mind if it is used but not open for more than 1 month. I just need 1 more dosage 75 on sunday and the nurse told me once opened must used within 1 mth i only need 1 more dosage..so if you have any can pm me? thanks sorry to interrupt..

Good morning!! I managed to get the nurse to agree to give me a slot to see DR Loh today... his schedule is forever so packed!!! hmm... lets hear what he says....

Nicole, you still have a long way to go to carefully plan for your babies, so take it easy... and enjoy the process... wait till you start to set up the baby room and shop shop shop... hee hee..
How many weeks now? Next will be to scan for gender?? :p

Thanks Michelletan..... Im 9weeks.. waiting to do my 12 week scan. Not sure if can see baby sex than, will ask the doc to not say anything to us until 6months scan. than its so accurate so wont end up buying wrong coloured things! Plus it will prevent me from buying things. once I knw the sex I sure want to buy things! hehehe

Im already serching for things online.. Like cotbed, pram and the whole lot.... Its so ex for twin things but as long as they are healthy Im dont care about spending the $$$.. My Husband told me a few days ago we will proberly need about 10k for all the things. I said what???? 10k u mad.... no need that much la, than he said u sure or not everyday u come back tell me something new to see n buy! heheheheehhe.. I said dont worry I will control myself. hehehehe.

So when are you going to pop?? anytime soon?? u must be so happy n excited to see ur baby/babies. are u having twins? which hospital will u be delivering at?

nicole G, ur hubby is very accurate in estimation leh. i went to check my finance....yes close to 10K.
and we r not even buying the high end stuff, just the average. n many things r sponsored/given by frens/relatives/mum.

ohh dawn ur twins are so cuteeeeeeeeeeeeee..

Ohh no, I thought 2k- 3k will be enough for the standard things like cot bed, pram and some bottles and breast pump. hahahha 10k!! OMG! hehehehe.....

ermmm...my 10K includes my medical consultation during the 9 months and delivery charges lah! haha....think minus that will be about 5 to 6K. so u must prepare around that. ;)

Nicole

Like what Dawn said 10k should be the rough estimate.. Just got my medical bill today... gosh! it's 9k plus for my one week stay in KKH... this does not include the 20 days stay for both my babies... that could be more...

Re: Pain after C-section

Ummm.... it's rather painful but den again it depends on individual.. I was forced to walk on my second day, but the pain sent me back straight to the bed... As both babies were wheeled immediately to Special Care Nursery... I didn't get to see them, so I forced myself to walk by the end of the day just becos I want to see the babies..

Subsequently after discharging from hospital I've been walking a lot bcos I need to go to hospital every day to see babies.. plus every nite got to wake up and express BM. All in all, I've been doing excessive walking, last minute shopping and some simple chores.. Anyway, doing all these takes your mind off the pain.....

One thing for sure, I rely very heavily on the binder for my movements... really can't do without it...

hahah dawn oks 10k for eveything make more sense. Just hoping to keep babaies inside me for as long as possible so they dont need to be in the NICU. Hope that works out well.

thanks for the info

I am back!! with the baby!!!
Here's my birth story:

Fri 2pm: Saw Dr Loh, no dilation. scheduled for induction on 22 jul. The cervix check was so painful. Slight bleeding at nite (dr loh said expected).

Sat 11am: more bleeding and bloody mucus

12 noon: 20min interval mild contraction. continued shopping at novena square.

145pm: 10min interval contractions. went home.

230pm: water bag leak. contraction 5min. pain getting more intensed.

350pm: admitted straight to labour ward. 2min contraction interval.

530pm: Dr loh came and broke water bag, 4cm dilated. put on ocytoxin to speed up labour. I asked for epidural as the dilation check was super painful.

6pm: Epidural given. rest rest rest.

830pm: 7cm dilated.

20 Jul 0000hrs: started pushing.

0037hrs: Baby delivered! there was an overwhelming joy and warmth when you see the baby come out... everything after that was a blur as my eyes was following baby...

Baby weight was 3.04kg.

Sooooooo happy this day finally arrived.

Btw mummies, my baby does not like to drink much and sleeps a lot. I supplement with formula but he only takes less than 10ml each feed. what is wrong?? and he has not pass urine or poo since morning as he has not taken much milk!! How ah??

congrats michelle!!!!!!!!! ur boy decided to pop on sunday! how come u so fast discharge liow ah?

think even he takes 10ml is ok one...when they hungry they will automatically drink more....KKH has "ask-a-nurse" service. v good, any questions/worries, just check with the nurse on duty! have a good rest n post pics when u r rested.

hey hey Michelle..

Congratulations on ur smooth delivery!!

ur baby is of a good weight!!

yah lor...why u never stay a day more..? so fast discharge already..?

Congrats Michelle!! You finally popped! Not too sure abt the milk amt so can't advise u...

Dawn,
Your bbs soo-o-o cute! So fast time flies hor...mine are almost 4mths. See now my posts so short...only have time to read and post occasionally. Now bbs more playful, quite fun.

hmmm...really wonder what kind of baby incentives the govt is coming up with..

hope i will get to enjoy it.. hehe..

petals, now they v fun to play with hor? seems like not long ago, we just gave birth ...suffering the sleepless nites. now getting better liow rite? the 1st 3 months were terrible.... really not enuff rest. urs starting to sleep through?

hopes, i hope the government heeds what LKY says, follow Sweden's model of providing free Childcare of all the kids. haha...or at least 50% of the cost? heee hee...not xmas yet but i already dreaming of big present from government. will wait eagerly for the national day rally for once !!!!!!

Hi Ladies!

Michelle,
Congrats! You finally get to see yr baby, happy for u

Dawn,
So fast yr twins 6mths aredi...They r cute!

Petals,
Yr girl girl n boy boy shd be coming to 4mths now?

Needlephobia,
How's yr bb?

Dawn,
Yeah time flies, now bbs more smiley. Their necks also stronger and they like to be carried in an upright position now so that they can look around.
Ask you...do u give ur bbs the multivit drops and iron drops too? Wondering if it's standard.

Nano,
How are you? Your bb is 3mths now? Getting better right? How r u doing? Think I need to schedule another facial soon...to relax...Mine turng 4mths soon.

Needle/LB,
How r u gals coping?

am new on this thread.. Currently 5 wks preggie and looking at my beta test,most likely it's twins.

Hi Dawn
Ur twins are so sweet and adorable. A boy and a girl?

Hi Petals,

How are you coping with your twins? Our twins are only 2 days apart, mine turned 4th mth today. Getting naughty and playful now and the most difficult part is to get both down for nap..... one sleeping and the other is awake so basically i have no time to rest in the day. Night time sleeping still consider good, they usually sleep around 8pm and wake up around 7am but my boy still usually wake up for feed at 11pm, 2am and 5am, my girl only 1x at around 2am.

Both of them still taking milk at every 2hr and consuming only 90ml each time. My boy increased to 120ml and lasted 3hr but drop back to 90ml again recently.

How do you keep them entertained in the day? Maybe we can exchange some ideas.

For me,Usually i will put them seated at a bouncer to play with their toy bar, rattles, soft toys, read to them, listen to some music and sing to them, ocassionally let them watch DVD and will take them for a walk everyday. Sometime just find it so tiring and running out of idea to keep them entertained the whole day.

hi Emma,
congrats! n welcome to the thread. yes one boy n one gal.

petals, i din give multivit drops n iron drops...tot milk is enuff? ur PD prescribed?

Theresa, wow u still can bring them out for a walk daily! kudos to u!!! i oni bring them every fortnightly, at most every week. Think we can't keep them entertained all the time lah, they need abit of quiet time, a bit of self exploration time, discovering their hands/legs/all the things they put into their mouth....hee hee. usu the bouncer can keep them occupied 1/2 hru rite? singing to them, talking to them and reading will take another hour?
I bought an exersaucer when they were 4months plus, they love to be in it, esp now when their legs r stronger n can spin in it.

Hi Nicole G
Nice to see ya here. When is ur next scan? Do u need to take anymore jab? Twice a wk, I hv to go back to the clinic for pregnyl jabs and 2 more jabs at home...hmmm, do anyone of u got to do the same during ur pregnancy period?

Hi Dawn and Theresa
Do you look after ur twins on ur own or do u have a maid?

Hi Petals,
My bb just reached 3mths, now abt 5.5kg. U so gd can go facial...i haven't resume my facial, must find sometime to go.

Hee, my bb same as yrs leh..always wanna carry in upright position. Sometimes i look after her myself so can b quite tiring.

Theresa,
Haa like u I also fun out of idea on how to entertain my bb.

good morning mommies, couldnt sleep since 2am, probably hungry. hahahaha...

dawn, weiwei, petals, and other mommies
i'll be in spore next wednesday, july 30 till 3 august. hoping we could see each other and your babies (if time allowed) but i'm not bringing my twins along. dunno if i could survive for a week without them, so worry. hubby and I will go to penang for check up then to spore, settle things and coming back to medan.
drop me some note if u want to. my email is [email protected]

During ur pregnancy, Anyone had any bright red blood spot when passing motion (but not from vaginal)? Was experiencing it just now and am worried....

Emma,

I have a maid to take care if not i couldn't have make it till now..... my maid do all the household chores and cooking most of the time but cannot depend much on her to take care of them, at most she can only feed them, bath, play and read to them..... my babies doesn't seem to like her alot especially when she held them.

Hi Emma, My 12 week scan is on 8 Aug. Looking fwd to seeing them swimming around. hehehe. Have not seen them for amonth.. Miss my babies. hehehe :. Nope I was not on anymore jabs after they confirmed Im preggy. I was given Dusaphon n folic to take only.

Hi Dawn, do you leave your babies alone with your maid. I thinking of getting a maid to look after my babies when Im at work.. Im a little fearful she wont be able to cope with 2 babies and a dog. hehehe. Doggy is paper train is only he like to take things n chew... But I was planning to have a gate at the nursery so he can still see the babies but not enter.. He likes to see things, if I keep him away its worse. hehehe
Is your maid a felipino or indonesian? Im getting worried on who to look after my babies once I go back to work.. I know my mum will sure want to look after but she stays in e East and Im in North. I donot want to leave my kiddos there 5days a week..... Another option is that I get a car, and ferry them up n down. ohh dear Im so stresed out thinking of all this.......

Hi Dawn and Theresa
It must be a great help to have extra pair of hands. Both me and my hubby do not feel comfy to have a stay in maid but well shall see till later of my pregnancy.

Hi Nicole G
Wow,soon u'll be off the 1st trimester ya... So can u see the babies hands,legs already.. which wk did u hear their heart beats? Went for scan cos of sat's spotting but can only see 2 sacs no heart beats yet altho am 51/2 wks.

Hi Nicole & Emma,

I think for twins, you definitely need extra pair of hands, the more the merrier. But i dont think your maid alone can cope with 2 babies, a dog and household chore, not even we have "angle" babies. At first i thought of that too but i face problems likes when the two of them need to be feed and burp at the same time, one wants to sleep and the other wants milk or crying his lung out. And when they hit 3 months old, they demand more attention beside eat and sleep.

As i'm staying overseas, i only have a maid to help out but at least you have more choices than me like your mum and MIL. My MIL and mum was helping me out for the first 2 months and that time was definitely "heaven" to me.

Hi Emma, 1st scan was at 6 weeks (saw 2 heartbeats) I think 5 1/2 weeks abit to early, u will see in ur next scan.
. I too had spotting on the day of my 6 weeks scan. Had such a fright but all is ok. Just be extra careful, dont overdo on shopping like did. I think it was all that walking around. Doc said could be old blood. But to rest too. My husband powtoe on me tell Doc I was shopping the whole week! so annoying! hehehehe
Emma when u see the heartbeats its the much beautiful sight!!! Get ready for it... Yes Im looking fwd to see the hands n legs swimming about...

Theresa yes Im sure 1 person cannot handle the babies n dog at the same time. I wont be able too too.. such a delima......... Im not so perticular on the household chores as it can be done when we are home to take over the babies.... Its just to scary to leave 2 babies alone with a maid. Need to find a better alternative.. See what the Govt gives.

Hi Theresa
Im sure Im the sort who will feel stress when I hear just 1 baby cries,what's more I'll be having 2..hehe. My MIL not staying in sin and I only have choice of maid or part time nanny...
By the way, which country r u in now?

Hi Nicole g
Haha,ur hubby like mine. When the doc said that since I had the spotting,I should rest more and dun move about unnecessary and my dear hubby said that'nah, been too much shopping,ya' in front of the doc...arghhh. Sigh,this is our husbands...haha
I am really looking forward next mon for my scan..it must be so beautiful.. Update us on ur next scan ya... must be so amazing to see tiny hands and legs swimming about...

Ladies with Twins; where did u do your detailed scan at 20weeks? How much was it. did any of u go for a 3D scan? Thought of but I think need to be after 5-6months so more clearer? hehehe

Hi all, have been down with bad flu since saturday...taking medication n sleeping throughout the day....worst thing is cannot carry the babies cos afraid of spreading to them. so can oni watch them from afar.
luckily now recovering liow...

Deasy, this week i super bz....oni free on fri nite, but weiwei working, so maybe another time? plus dun want to spread virus to u also!

nicole, yes i do leave the babies alone with the maid cos this maid is quite reliable and good at taking care of babies as she has 8kids herself. oh, but there will always be somebody to oversee her...like my mum/mil/myself.

Emma, if can cope on ur own, then dun employ maid, but if cannot, a maid can really lighten ur load.

re: spotting...
gals, if spotting must really rest and rest and rest...esp in 1st trimester ok? no larffing matter hor...

i din go for 3D scan...v ex, plus depends on whether the baby cooperative or not to let u see his/her face. i did my detailed scan at KKH.

dawn,
Yes, prescribed by kk pd since discharged... maybe cos preemie?

theresa,
hello! How r u? Must be tough on u...does ur mum/mil visit u? Mine drinking 90-110ml every 3-4 hrs. At night, still have 1-2 night feeds but at longer intervals...varies each nite.
Yah, sometimes I dunno how to entertain them for long periods of time beside talking and singing to them. I think I'm not very creative.
Last night my gal didn't want to sleep...nothing worked, whether carrying or lying down or even the bouncer...so I was like zombie trying everything from 11pm until 2plus when i passed her to my fil...i was so tired. We take turns to look after during the nite.
I bought baby einstein but haven't let them watch yet. Will try soon.

deasy,
This week also quite hard for me to meet up. When will u be coming back next? Maybe when dawn and weiwei r free too... shld be fun...

Emma,
Spotting can be quite worrying, so try to rest more and not overstrain. Take care.

Nicole,
Didn't do 3D cos harder for multiples as they will block one another.

Hi Petals,

Your babies are drinking well, while mine still taking max. 90ml every 2 hours. Most night my babies sleep quite well at night beside waking for night feed, i do get zombie night like you at times but no choice got to endure especially when my husband is out of town. My babies just doesn't like my maid at all and she can't put them to bed so i have to do it all by myself, one by one if 2 of them is fussy. I'm looking out for a new maid to change..... hopefully can get one that can look after them better.

I find baby einstein is not really entertaining to them at this young age, try out "GOD MADE ANIMALS", "GOD MADE MUSIC", series, they are very using puppets to make the show and my babies love to watch them.

Dawn,

I totally agree with you, if can handle on our own then better not employ a maid.....

My maid is really hopeless, can only do housework (not very clean also), cooking so so only but this is o.k with me, the worst is that she doesn't understand what my babies wants when they cry and always forget to feed them.

Dawn, thanks for info. Dawn is ur made a filipino or indonesian??

I have no choice, its either my mother in the East or a Maid or get a maid n send her to my mums place to help out too... Dont think me mum will like the idea. hehehe

Hi petal bloom and Dawn
Thanks for the advise on the spotting. Am taking things easily and rest more.
We shall decide on the maid issue till am 5 or 6 mths preggie (cos now headache when think of it)but I dun think I can handle 2 babies myself...hehe

Hi Theresa
Is your maid new or already with you for quite some time? How come still so blur? Thinking of changing to another maid?

hi Ladies..

tokking abt maids..hehe..

i just got mine last wk.. so far still ok.. housework wise a bit slow but very detailed..
but i dunno why they tend to use alot of water when doing washing .. from what i gather.. most of the maids are like that.. is it true..? maybe in their country.. water is free.. :p

and on top of that..she irons everything.. from shirts, dresses to t-shirts and underwears..haha.. i find it so funny.. but really a waste of time and energy and not to mention eletricty.. esp the underwear thingy..:p

but then.. these are small matters i can overlook lah.. .. i just find it amusing. at least she is hardworking and there is no communication problem so far..

i dunno whether it's true but my maid agency told me.. it's good to get those ex-middle east ones.. (ie, those who worked in middle east before), coz they tend to appreciate the working environment here more and therefore less rejection rate by employers.. mine has worked in Kuwait for 2 yrs.. and apparently the ppl there like their undies ironed.. haha.. :p

i've hopped from the other thread to come here.. i've just gotten my positive on monday. hcg level is high and suspected twins. i'm glad to be able to join you all throughout my preggy journey..

Nicole, my maid is a philippino, but i think doesn't depends on where they r from ...both countries have their hardworking maids n their lazy maids....really depends on one's luck.

merlenna, congrats!!!!
have a smooth 9 months ahead!

hello!

i just chanced upon this thread!

merlenna,
congrats again on your twins! when is ur scan? excited tak?

emma,
my husband also the same. go and tell the gynae i'm crazy about doing housework (i'm crazy about vacumming though)and all. i roll my eyes so many times also he never stop. haha!

looking forward to have a scan this monday to see my darlings again. enjoy your weekend all!