IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

baby, u can slowly try mashing w fork instead of blending? i dont think there is a right or wrong..but at some point we need to giv more textured n lumpy foods n each bb is different. like u said, ur elder gal can handle chucks.. n ur younger one not so ready...

my ones too...my younger boy was the last to start taking chucky foods n chewing...

Will try steam egg for tonight dnr. Use what to mix with egg? Stock or water? Cos i dont have stock at hm... If only use water will it be tastless? I read up a recipe say can use water and fresh milk... Can use fm instead?

Panda
Yup.. For tml bfast.. Maybe i will mash fruits instead.. Plum, strawberry can mash right?

Im steaming minced chicken now.. Gg to blend it with fruits and vege for my small girl... V stressful on cooking for her..
Just now tried giving her porridge.. She dont even want to take one mouth. Maybe i should use stock to cook the porridge to make it more flavourful... Corn, carrot, onion, potato without meat can make flavourful stock?

baby, i already started using normal full cream fresh milk for the bbs foods. morning cereals i add fresh milk. cooking too... 1yo liao, no need to use FM to cook...

u can mash or use knife chop finely..

Panda
I know can us fresh milk now.. But cos i dont have it at hm.. So thinking whether can use fm instead not...

Just now give them chopped strawberry and plum with yogurt... Both can handle.. But didnt eat alot compared if its blended...

Yeah, I usually throw in all kinds of veg, the stock w b v sweet.
Finally out of my house! Feels like prisoner let lose. I had to sneak out while my Hb distract the bbs otherwise he will hv 3 screaming bbs to pacify ...

Ohh..yes can use fm. I used to use fm until recently change to fresh milk.

I see.. Then i shall cook with water.. See if my girls like not.
Today dnr shall make soft rice for my elder girl.. Eat with steamed egg and maybe pumpkin. Im sure she can handle well...

Grumpus
How much ml water to one egg?

Panda
Wow u can go out... I wish i can too.. Im stuck at hm with 2 cranky bbs.. Esp my elder.. Can crying day and night.. Should be teething...

baby
wahhh usually I just estimate. if add less water will be a firmer texture. more water more watery lor.
usually I add abt half the amt of water to egg

Baby I can understand when u say stress abt
Cooking for ur small gal Coz I m going thru that now!! My gal is just not interested in food..'so unlike me! She had a few
Mouthful of tofu, small cube of pumpkin n 1 spoon of porridge ...'ah scream, cry like kena abuse.=( I cook the porridge in stock yet she doesn't want. Only finish 1 tub of yobaby yogurt for lunch.

Making sweet potatoes , carrot and beef purée.... Hope she eats for dinner

Gan
Ya mann.. My small girl is a junk food bb.. Biscuit, puffs she loves.. Yogurt cold cold also she like.. Sweet fruits she also like.. But vege and porridge she hates it..
Just now i put v little porridge with more pumpkin puree.. She didnt even want to open her mouth... Didnt even eat one spoon.. Gave her steamed egg.. Ate one mouth and refuse for more.. Then make her fav vanilla custard cereal.. She open her mouth.. So i hide the steamed egg inside.. She finished all...

Make plain porridge with rice grain still intact.. Put mashed
pumpkin and salmon.. With steamed egg for my elder.. She
finished all. First time she eat steamed egg.. She ok.. She really v chim cai in food.. Eat whatever i give her..

My small girl is a headache.. Now only take cereal.. Fruits.. Vege and meat need to hide in her cereal or fruits...

Baby at least u can hide.. I tried to hide cod fish yesterday with the organix pear n mango puree...she scream her head off n push out the fish.=s just now carry her o high chair for her meal, she scream n struggle when she saw the bowl .....ate about 8 mouth n refuse to eat , hit th spoon, wave her hands. =s

Feeling so tired now..like went war. Let her gnaw on a jumbo just now. She ate happily n then threw on th floor when have snuff.

Gan
Ya at least i can hide.. But she also clever. If i hide too much vege or meat she know and refuse to eat...

Is it u add too much fish? U can try to add a little bit.. Just a few flakes.. Add into her fav puree..

What is a jumbo?

Baby, I oso v long never go out. Hb took leave otherwise I can't go out too.

I hv bEen at war w my bbs for mths. same oso all junk food bbs. Only younger boy easier but if the other two scream n don't wanna eat he oso copy cat.

Feeding solids v challenging n stressful. They r only happy when I let them self feed the things they like. If dont like all throw on floor n scream. Mayb I shld video it..next time show them their scary behavior!

Just now lunch was bad. All scream at porridge n Only self feed the fruits then I gave milk.

Grumpus / baby how long do u steam the egg? Now. Worry I gave half cooked egg to my girl.=s

Panda ya, I think I will video.... Show my gal. Really appreciate my parents who have been at war for so long! U bot anything from ur time out?

My maid now n phone crying ...dunno why

Panda
How we wish our bbs will eat whatever we give them...
Yr 3 still no luck in porridge? I even stress when my pd says they are no longer baby.. Must take soilds... Ask me to put more effort in my small girl to let her take porridge or rice or potato as form of carbo.. Then must put vege and meat.. All meat must take...

Gan
I steam for 10mins.. I use a chopstick and poke the bottom.. If the chopstick is clean means the egg is cooked. I also use a spoon to cut open the egg see if its cooked not.
The steamed egg i cooked just now.. Just nice.. Not hard or soft... I put 3/4 water to the egg. I only use water.. The egg is quite tasty on its own.

Panda/gan
Have yr bbs tried marcoroni? I feel like giving.. I saw the littlegastrom recipe of this fried marcoroni.. Looks yummy..

Panda
Since all yr 3 dont take porridge and cereal.. What other form of carbo u give them? Pasta, potato? Must take a form of carbo then consider a meal right? Else cant really replace a milk feed?

Grumpus
Is it those traditional macaroni? Those in blue packaging?
I have a pack of bellamy spelt pasta.. Wonder is the texture and taste similar to macaroni...
Which brand of macaroni to buy?

4mins? The egg can be cooked so fast ah... I kiasu.. Cooked for 10mins... Lol...

Baby,
Yes those traditional macaroni in blue packaging. The spelt pasta is very different. Spelt pasta is made from spelt flour, texture will be more similar to those rice pasta. Macaroni is made from wheat, will be firmer.
Macaroni any brand also can la. One pkt can last me a long time..

Yes, the egg cooks tat fast. Is only one egg, such a small portion. The longer u steam the drier it will get n less smooth

baby, my bbs hv been eating different types of pasta... macaroni, penne, fusilli.. since mths back n they r also anti pasta now! haha....

i tried potato too.. some days they r ok, some day they refuse. also given buckwheat noodles, udon..

honestly, there is noting much i can do if bbs dont wanna eat.. i can only keep trying..i will offer 3 meals.. if they dont eat i just give milk.. cannot force.. i dun want them to hv eating phobia. so if they start screaming, i stop.

gan, i even took them to my mum's house n tried to hv a picnic lunch leh.. i thought see if change in environment n without high chair they might wanna eat. hehe...messed up my mum's living room n dont wanna eat! :p

i cannot tahan 3 crying bbs.. so if the screaming starts i will stop. smtimes i stop, try to let them play for a while..then see if they wanna eat anymore..if not i will take them out of high chair n giv milk.

I checked with my maid....at my parent's place , she's not so difficult. Now she will scream the moment I put her on high chair... I have to coax her to taste alittle. If food she is ok with like pumpkin, broccoli, yogurt she eats. If not she will use her hand to grab, hit the spoon, scream, kick... Haiz.

I think all babies like biscuits, bread...coz mine also. I think 3 meals a day also ok. Today I gave the Heinz cereal bar though sweet in order to make her eat.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/blackwing_de/298019183/
Baby jambu is the fruit next to dragon fruit in the above link.

Any mummies feed dragon fruit?

interesting i hv not thought of giving jambu! hee.. nope hv not tried dragonfruit....

ohh..linus hates bread! even the smell of it erks him..hehehe.. v funny one..he will frown n look v disgusted if i put a small piece of bread on his tray....

Gan, i bought lotsa loot ! haha.. of coz for myself from mango. went cotton on kids too.. bought 4 tops for the boys, and 2 for my gal. the boys top so cheap, $5 each on sale. but gal gal one on sale not nice..so bought for her normal price, 2 for $25.. not exactly cheap, but must b fair since the boys hv....

i met my gf just now. she has 2 boys.. one 4yo and one 2yo. she told me the 4yo one anti solids.. been drinking milk. total milk monster. even until now half the week he refuse foods n just wanna drink milk. he is v good size... the younger one opposite. anti milk.. eat solids but only manage small amounts of solids each meal. super skinny. her conclusion is if bb wanna drink milk, no need to stress about not eating..hahaah.. she says her 2 boys are good examples.. milk is better than solids..

Panda I freak out when dr ang said I am depriving of my gal when he heard she is drinking milk mainly. IN fact he suggested I I should cut down so that she is hungry to eat. I cut but she still eats little.

Maybe bring Grace t united square Cotton on to shop tomorrow. Ha. Today brought her to paragon for kiddy ride
before going taka CS to buy yobaby and fruits for her. Jambu
very juicy...not sweet, my gal likes it but..after sometime
will throw the fruit on the floor when she is bored or have
enuff of it. I have been eating all the food that drop on the floor.

gan, i also tried reducing milk, but still scream when dont like the foods.. same here.. doesnt work for my ones. to me, if little milk little foods is worse than more milk n little foods...

u still giving yobaby? its too expensive for my 3 to b taking it n worse part is when alot of it goes onto the floor..

ohhh..me too! i eat the foods tht drop n all the porridge tht they reject! i guess its part n parcel of being a mummy!

tell u smthing, me n nancy compare notes...we realised tht dr ang smtimes not v consistent. recently he told nancy tht if her boys anti solids its ok, so long as they r drinking milk! n her boys are older than grace!

My dinner has been left over porridge for months.

Hmm dr ang told me if grace doesn't eat solids, will affect her brain development... That totally freak me lor.

Yea still giving yobaby, coz she likes. What is the adult brand u r giving? May switch to that coz yobaby must go taka or great world CS to buy, quite troublesome. Oh yogurt I feed, grace is ok, so lucky none to the floor,

Gan, Panda, Baby,

The pd here in BKK also encourages me to continue try feeding solids to my bbs. He said that if they are not keen on solids, it's ok as long as they drink milk. But by this age, we need to be feeding them 3 meals a day. Min milk intake with 3 solids should be 500ml.

I read the Ang moh book by Gina Ford said that by one year, baby should gradually reduce their milk... Should only be drinking 350ml a day with 3-4 meals. And they should be eating table foods dy... Yikes, Ang moh teaching so different! But then ah here we are having so many problems with feeding, my Ang moh fren in Australia is feeding her 11 month old the same food she is eating even at restaurants. Seems like the Ang moh style really works for Ang moh babies?

Grumpus,
You feeding yr small girl rice with dishes already? Cuz u said u hand feed, so must be rice right? How much does she eat a meal? My girl also prefers hand feed but if I were to feed a bowl of rice, I think feed until the cows come home lor. Cuz rice and Liao must chew longer and cannot put so much in the mouth at one time right? And how do u feed? Do u mix the rice with the Liao and feed together with hand or feed one mouthful rice, then next mouth liao etc?

Working wife, ur gal eats a bowl of rice a meal? Our bowl?

Mummies how do we know our buds have enuff? I know every baby is diff, but for e.g my gal after 5 or 6 spoons, will scream no to food. I dun think that is enuff right?

wow! tht sounds serious leh..haiz..then i shld b freaked out too...unless eating cereal bar also considered solids..haiz.....

tmr i m going to use yogurt to mix w porridge see if they wanna eat.

actually dr ang ask me to put the meat n fish n all into their milk... he says this way they get used to the taste they will wanna eat when i giv it to them in solids form. but i thought its like a v drastic measure ... tht time they only 10mths.. so i din do ... now i m wondering if i shld consider this option! i already bought bigger sized bottle teats..

working wife, i agree the ang moh style v different... i googled n alot of ang moh bbs also dont eat solids well at 1 yo leh.. but the mummies share its alright ...bb will do it when they r ready.....

gan. my ones also after 5-10 spoons scream. n its baby spoon.. i feed porridge, each bb cant even eat 1 medium size soup ladle leh...

pink destiny boy can eat 1 ikea bowl of porridge at 1 serving. my 3 cant even finish 1 bowl combined! :S

Panda mine also baby spoon. Pink d boy is growing very well, can see from pic. I think if put grace next to him, grace size is mei mei not Jie Jie lo.

Fish in milk?? But I tot dun encourage cereal through bottle ... Meat worse right ?

Today manage to feed some beef mixed with sweet potato... Though the screaming n rejection starts after 6 or 7 spoons.
Nowadays the food diary I have no idea what to put for qty!
Unlike milk, solids I can only write 6 baby spoons etc... Can't even say 1/2 bowl , or plate

he is already bigger than charlotte! same here, char is mei mei size..not jie jie...i think v fast he will catch up w my boys too...

his idea is bbs reject solids coz dont like the taste of the food..so intro thru bottle first..then giv as solid.. the bottle is to intro taste not giv as full meal... still need to feed 3 meals as per normal..

i hv been giving my gal rice cereal in her last milk feed everynight..coz her solid intake is the worst among the 3... now lately i noticed she is more receptive to foods... but still a fussy eater.. she will use one of her little finger to go n touch the food..i.e dip into the cereal..then taste it to see if she likes... if she does, when we feed she will open her mouth..otherwise she will scream!

Panda now I understand what is Kai Jin kou ,open golden mouth' lo, coz grace will open her mouth so small that only the tip of baby spoon can go in. Haiz I took 1 hr to feed lunch today n the porridge only had 1 spoon, few spoons of tofu n 1 small cube of pumpkin. Total oppo of me when it comes to food!

I still keep the diary leh...even record the poo poo time. Hahaha

Gan, my boy is easier with solids. He eats most things I feed him and most of the time finishes his porridge. He eats one full adult Chinese rice bowl of porridge for lunch n 3/4 of that for dinner. For bf, he eats half bowl of cereal.

My girl is the fussier one. She eats about 3/4 Chinese rice bowl for lunch n dinner but she hates cereal so I'm finding it tough to feed her breakfast. She likes cheese so most days it's cheese for bf followed by milk. Lately though, she is fussy when eating lunch n dinner... Eat abt 6-7 baby spoons in, she will start using hand to push the spoon away n start grumbling. Then she will refuse to open her mouth, it's zipped shut. Then I tried feeding something else to her (my adult food I tried to offer her by hand), she straight away open her mouth. Then I quickly change back to the spoon of porridge, her mouth quickly shut tight again. Sigh....

So now have to do song and dance show for my gal to open golden mouth... Keep singing nursery rhymes, play the toy with music, then ask my maid to keep making sily faces and play the toymusic while I try feeding her. Then she will eat some more. Takes so long to feed her that bowl of porridge already turn watery, but I still feed her, like soup. Haha..

Working wife, my gal's appetite also same as your girl. She's not interested in cereal. For bf, i must give bread. Cause she will point to table and say "bread" "bread". If I give her cereal only, she will keep shaking her head until I take out one piece of bread. Every morning is the same. And she doesn't like me to use spoon to dip bread into cereal - she will reject the spoon. For bread, she likes to be hand fed (ie. I dip bread into cereal). Both tastes d same. Whether spoon or hand fed. Dunno why she so picky.

And she also likes adult food. Like chwee kueh, she can eat 1.5pcs. Think she can eat more, but I try not to overfeed. During lunch/dinner, she's more interested in our food than her own. So I also pretend to scoop the food from my plate and feed her. But actually what she ate is still her porridge. Must find alot of ways to trick and feed her.

Pandawife, I dun think I dare to add food into milk. I am afraid Gina will reject milk after that. When she was 8months, I add her medicine into milk, after a few times, she reject enfa. That's why I switched to friso. That's why after that incident, whenever I need to give her medicine, I will use syringe. No more adding to her milk.

working wife, gan
now u know y I feed my girl adult texture food cos it's easier to hand feed. porridge will be impossible.
to me enuff solids is eating enuff to replace milk feed n sleep thro the night. for my elder tat was the case. initially she also take 3-4 bb spoon n refuse mouth close tight. initially I tot ok lor dun want to eat dun eat cos all the books say its ok. but then she was very unsettled, could not nap long an kept waking at night. then I realised its cos she's not satisfied so I find ways to feed her n tats how I ended up hand feeding.

working wife,
yes it took very long to feed her. min 45mins sometimes up to 1.5hr. my younger girl is better she can chew quickly maybe cos she's breastfed n has strong jaw muscles. still takes me abt half an hr to feed her. I've never had a meal where bb screams for more, keeps opening mouth n I can't scoop fast enuff for bb n food is all polished off in <10mins. I usually start with feedin with spoon, when she starts rejecting I switch to hand. here n there n sneak in a few more spoonfuls.
my younger now eats abt 2 tablespoon of cooked rice, plus quite a bit of vege (usually 3 types) n a small pc of protein. everything add up together maybe abt 1/4-1/3 of our rice bowl? plus fruit after the meal
sometimes I feed rice n food separately. some mouthfuls rice with vege, some meat only, some vege only and so on. sometimes I mix everything together n make a rice patty.

Grumps, how to tell if my gal is ready to take rice? She actually likes her porridge thick, so my mum uses those jap rice to cook. I uses Thai rice, so maybe the porridge texture she doesn't like, thinking of trying rice for her,

Just fed her 15 blueberries, one of the rare occasions that she wld kept pointing to ask for more.

Cereal for breakfast
Just faith/ working wife u r referring to the cereal we feed when they started weaning?

gan
the next time u eat rice for dinner just give her some to try lor. if a bit dry u can always add abit of soup to the rice to soften

Gan, I am giving my girl Quakers cereal (blue packing). Those need to cook type, not instant. When I am lazy, I just dip bread into her milk and hand feed or let her self feed.

The one and only porridge she can finish in less than 10mins is pumpkin porridge!!

i did the same breakfast today. quakers oat w yogurt, avocado and bananan pieces throw in. all wipe out again.

lunch i m going to try put thick brown rice porridge with yogurt, apple, choy sim and fish. see if they wanna eat...:p