IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Day u can buy goon from this website gmarket, cheaper than diapers.com n has free delivery.
Alternative can try nepia also from japan, 1 packet $15. Order online 1 carton $60 free delivery. Can mix the sizes

Gan,
Yes, last wk GOON diapers was going off at $14.90/pck at Gmart but offer has ended. Nepia diapers can be ordered via gmart too? I only found nepia genki diapers in gmart which looked different from the ones in ntuc. U tried Kao merries before ?

Grumpus, blissful fate,
Thanks for sharing the tips on mixing paracetamol with milk. However, my babies were aware that the milk tastes different and refused to drink. I used syringe to feed them instead.

Gan,
Yes, they had the 2nd dose of 5 in 1 yesterday. Both developed fever yesterday night. They had all the jabs at polyclinic since it's only a few minutes drive from my place. It's more convenient than bringing them to PD or KK. Oh I just realised that we can use CDA account and medisave to pay for most of the vaccinations at polyclinic. But I didn't bring their CDA cards yesterday. Can you use CDA or medisave to pay for the vaccinations in KK? Is your girl fine today?

Rostrum,
Rest assure that Dr Loh's stitching is very good. My wound healed very fast and many people commented that the cut is barely visible now.
You can consider getting big items at the Taka baby fair, especially you can save alot if you have Taka credit card. I bought 2 Maclaren XT and 2 maxi cosi car seats at the Taka baby fair last year. Managed to get good discount and a few free gifts worth more than $50.

Grumpus,
I also live near novena/ newton area. Jio me along if you guys wanna meet up!
Oh have you got the mums in mind sling in the end? I find my babies don't feel very comfortable in the pupsik studio pouch now and I'm considering getting a baby bjorn or ergo carrier. Any comment on these 2 carriers?

rostrum,

i hav pigeon n avent digital. avent digital oso faulty d first time i used, went to philips service centre n got it changed. pigeon was bought during d panicky time when avent one spoilt. bottomline, no point gettin too sophiscated steriliser, get those one button press type, can keep sterile up to 6hrs. avent digital can go up to 24 hrs, but just gimmicks.

Bing,
Yayyyyyyyy another mummy close by. Meetup ah? I'm always ok one but must see the others. Gan say she not very confident to bring bb out alone. Working wife say ok but only bringing one bb. Wat abt u?

I think u got me mixed up with another mummy abt the sling/pouch

Anyway, I already hv a mums in mind sling. Been using it since #1 time. My elder girl loved it. My second girl only so-so.

Between baby bjorn and ergo, depends on wat u looking for. Ergo has longer term use and is more comfy for older bbs but doesn't allow u to carry bb facing outwards. Baby bjorn has lower weight limit but allows u to carry bb facing outward.

Day $14.90?!! That's good price! Goon cutting is more generous than Huggies. Managed to let my gal wear goon ti she is abt 5 weeks. Huggies I think before full mth, NB size can't wear le. Nepia ordered direct from agent, yes think diff package from Ntuc. Never try kao merries.

Bing never use CDA card coz forgot to bring. My gal is fine so far.... In fact her temp when I checked abit low, 36 to 36.6. Hmm... Babies normal tempso low? Checked armpit n use infrared red thermometer on her forehead also around there.

Grumpus I need to buy. Sling before can bring baby out! That pupsik pouch I had my baby looked squash in it n she cried loudly when I put her in, think not comfie for her.

Morning mommies

It's a day before my Edd and I dun have much symptoms or signs except very brief bouts of cramps which lasted for hardly 5mins in the morning...
Getting kinda impatient though.....

Syrah, could it b due to indigestion or side effects of some medi.. Hope it's not ms coming back ya..

I intend to go chk out wat pdts I need at less crowded plcs then when go taka/expo then I kw wat I wan to get n zoom in.. Cos too crowded I also dunno how to shop..

Maybe u can use your vouchers on rompers/wipes/milk bottles.. Those small small items..

Syrah, I hv not look into diapers yet.. Haha.. Too early for me n difficult to gauge now as I dunno how heavy my babies will come out to b lei.. Maybe decide after my 30th week scan. By then I tink got another Bb fair.. Night time I might use pampers.. Daytime use cheaper brands..

Thanks bing! Will chk out taka fair next weekend.. Hope to settle my cot as well...hope to get all big items settled n can go easy on small items..

Rose, so keeping sterilized up to 24 hrs for avent is not true la? Haha...

Pink d, when is your next chk up with doc? Tml is 40 weeks already? Maybe your prince too comfy inside le.. Talk to him...can understand your feeling...v excited to hold him in your arms right?

Gan,
Hmmm even if u get those ring slings, bb will also be quite squashed inside . Only difference is u prob hv more variation in the positions so hopefully u can find one yr bb likes.
Why not consider a carrier?
Go down to that shop at novena square to try out different carriers lah.

Hi rostrum u r early!!
My appt with dr Paul is this afternoon so I hope he can at least check on my progress?
The waiting game isn't too fun... :s

Gan,
Thanks for the nepia diapers lobang.

Grumpus,WorkingWife,Gan & Bing,
As long as I m not spotting *TOUCH Wood!!*, I will be glad to join in the meetup with u mommies at united sq / nov sq. Wkdays fine with me as well. Just PM me ya!.

pink d,
You'll be able to meet you little bundle soon. Enjoy these last few moments

rostrum,
The nausea hit me in bed even before breakfast. Thought could be hunger but not much appetite too. Doubt it's the medication as I've been on it for a month or so already. Well, good news is that thing morning all seems fine! Let's hope yesterday will not recur again.

day,
i'm buying disposable diapers for initial usage. Don't want the hassle of washing in the beginning as I may not have a maid to help out. Could be just my mum and me. btw, saw that at the coming Babycare festival at Taka that diapers.com.sg having a promo for GOON NB diapers @$15 for 58 pcs. U can consider getting it there.

Grumpus,

It's very easy to feed medicine to my big son since he's a bb. Now I still give using syringe and he can tell me it tastes nice. Ha

My twin boy is getting easier coz he thinks I m giving him food. Only my gal struggle

Singapoh,
haha...yr twin boy is really greedy! so cute.....
for my elder girl depends on the med, some she's ok. she takes it from the spoon like a 'big girl' but some she will literally run away from it.

Ohh meetup, how exciting!

I just found out last week hb will be posted to BKK for work so looks like we're moving again. But SG will always hold a special place in our hearts cuz that's where our darlings were made and born!

Will be moving in June, so hope we can do meetup soon. Maybe in Apr when our bbs are a little bigger and we hv more confidence to bring them out??

Working wife,
Wah... How long will ur hb be posted to BKK ? U can start picking thai ;) ... Before I started my ivf, been traveling to bbk for biz on a regular basis. Looks like I may hv chance to see u in bkk ...

chk with u, lately my ger seems to reject milk when i feed her, regardless of bm or fm, taking longer to finish 120ml (ard half an hr compared to past 15mins) n oso making funny noises when drinking. i am still using 0mth (stage 1) avent teats, is it ok for a 6wk bb? i tried with stage 2 teats (1mth) but milk keeps flowing out fr side of her mouth to d neck...
last night she turned into merlion, vomitted gush of milk...wet my pants n mattress...

rostrum,

24hrs steriliser can add or remove items while on (maintaining sterile), but 6hr one, once lid open, wil not maintain sterile, so claimed d manual. i find 6hr one is more than sufficient for my case. i wil take out n assemble d bottle n teats to standby for d next feed when my impatient ger cries for milk, instead of assemblin fr steriliser so even if 24hrs oso not much use for me. oso i wash all bottles at one go twice in day n evening.

i oso find tat havin 2sterilisers seem to work better, one for breast pump, one for milk bottles. wonder why market dun hav a bigger size steriliser...so small but so many bottles n pump accessories, storage milk bottles etc.

winnie: mine is at 330pm...think i will be gone coz he is usually fast?

syrah:hee I very bad...so impatient :p

I use the Avent Electric Sterilizer...sterilizes my breast pump and bottles in 8 mins... so far so gd coz I just tried a few days back only... hopefully it doesnt fail me...

Rose,
Wat kind of funny noise yr girl makes? Is it she need to burp? Tummy bloated with wind? 6wks is around the time all the gassy probs start.
Btw, 120ml for 6wk old bb seems a lot.

Gan/grumpus
So its at square 2 not novena sq?
Got the shop name? Square 2 sell alot of bb tins? I seldom go there so dont know what shops there have

baby it's at square 2, which is the shopping mall behind novena square with a direct link.

er...i think that is the only place that sell baby stuff. the rest are all small shops selling adult clothings, accessories etc.

More baby stuff can be found at united square

If u are at square 2 can buy gong cha to drink! hehehe

rose, i agree 2 sterilizer is useful. i hv the avent one in my rm just for my pump. the pigeon one is bigger, so i use it for the bb bottles outside.

working wife,rose,

i hv feeding challenges with 2 of my bbs..the younger boy n girl. both hv mood swings.. smtimes will finish their feed, smtimes will drink half or less than half, then start screaming n refuse to drink anymore. very challenging to feed them.. n also confusing how much milk to make. always hv wastage.

told PD about this.. he says its normal for bbs to b drinking varied amts each feed.. its us adults who r obsessed with knowing how much to feed n our expectation of how much bb shld b drinking. he told us if latch bb, we just let bb drink until they are full, we hv no idea how much bb drank... so there is no need to be so concern as long as bb is growing.

rose, my younger boy also makes this funny noise when drinking milk ...its bit like wheezing..but not exactly..also dunno how to describe. told PD too..he says the sound is bb swallowing saliva loudly...

Baby gong cha is the Taiwan bubble tea, seems popular always got long q.

United square got fox kids, cotton on kids, toy r us etc, so more shops selling stuff for babies .

Grumpus u mentioned before u have a carrier? Or is it a sling? The one u bring Hk when u preggy. If carrier, what brand did u buy?

I just did a quick bath for my gal, she had poo all over her butt n part of her back .=s wonder how the poo leaked upwards. Quite a mess to clear ....

gan, u make me so crave for bubble tea! cant take coz of the bb's allergy.. sianz. alot of food restrictions.. now wanna gain some spares also difficult.

Pandawife can have tea without milk? Add the zhen zhu? Must be tough to have food restriction! But when they r 6 mths old, u can no need restrict urself right?

gan, i also dun take caffine drinks..in case affects their sleep! now most of the nights they will guai guai sleep after their milk.. so from the day i pop until now, have not taken any forms of tea...

super duper crave for ice cream...

yeah...PD says bbs will outgrown the allergy..hopefully when they are 6 mths old... or shld i decide to giv up bfing earlier..then i can indulge..keke...

grumpus, my boy's wheezing sound starts the minute he starts drinking.. n every feed is like tht.. but recently it seems to hv gone off.... maybe coz older already...can manage his saliva swallowing better..hee...

he just took 1 whole hour to finish his milk.. drink abit, cry and push the teat out.. then cry for milk again 10mins later..continue drink abit.. after tht fall asleep... nothing i do can wake him up..so let him sleep... 15mins later wake up cry for his milk again.... :S

Pandawife ya I don't drink coffee nowadays though I love coffee! My gAl now sleep 6 hrs straight at night. There was once she slept till next morning but we tot she is dehydrated coz lips dry, so guess I will still wake her for milk if she us still sleeping after 6 hrs.

At least ur boy finished his milk, my gal if she thinks she had enuff, if I put the teat into her mouth to make her drink more, she will be like kena chok n give this vomiting sound. N she knew I wld stop asking her to drink when she does that . I was once quite frustrated with the milk wastage that I told her mi m not pumping anymore. But guess like ur PD said each feed wld be diff, so as long my gal is gaining weight n looks happy , i shld not be so obsessed with the Amt she took bah

gan.. i dun waste a single drop of bm...i usually will underestimate the bm to prepare...if not enuff i top up w fm... wastage only fm. very hard work to pump everyday n night...i will cry if pour bm away de!

my boy finished his discounted amt of fm... he used to finish 140ml easily... now i struggle to feed 100ml. last night he woke up every 2 hrs thru the night n cry for milk...each feed only drink 40-60ml...... the other 2 sleep thru from 1230am to 530am.

Gan,
i hv both sling and carrier...hahaha

1) MIM sling (used from birth until 3yrs old and counting)
good - can carry in variety of positions. convenient to bring out cos can just fold up and stuff into diaper bag
bad - bb weight on one shoulder. not so comfortable for mummy when bb is heavier.

2) Chicco carrier (used from birth until ~4mths)
good - small size, good for newborn until to abt 4mths old.
bad - small size, cannot use for long. not easy to put bb in by yrself.

3) baby bjorn type carrier (no brand one) (used from 4mths to 8mths)
good - can carry facing u or facing outwards. easy to put bb in by yrself
bad - lower weight limit. not as comfortable for older bb cos the legs dangle down.

4) Patapum carrier (ergo type carrier) (used from 2yrs old and counting)
good - more comfortable for older bbs cos bb is in more of a sitting down position. can carry piggy back style.
bad - only facing you or piggy back position. cannot face outwards.

btw, the patapum carrier is the one i bought from the square 2 shop and the one i brought with me to HK

Gan
I see.. Long time nvr drink bubble tea liao cos didnt go out so no chance to drink..
The Koi also super long q.. Dont know whats so special..

Panda
Hearing u say abt food restrictions.. Lucky that im not bfing.. Else so many tins cannot eat can go crazy cos aldy so tired taking care of bbs and still cant eat fav foods.. I thk i will sink into depression hahaha..

Yr bbs can sleep thru the night without waking up for milk??
My girls dont know why keep waking up every 2hrs.. So tired mann... Wish they can sleep thru the night like gan girl..
I read bbs abt 3 mths old usually can sleep thru the night liao..

I notice if they sleep more during the day.. They will sleep lesser at night.. But how not to let them sleep during the day leh.. If they not sleeping they usually are fussing.. So i usually let them sleep.. Else hands will get full taking care of them..

Experienced mummies,

Can I check with you if it is necessary to get maternity pads or I can do with those usually adhesive long pads sold?

wow grumpus, very detailed summary done! Thanks!

bb Jo: not experienced mommy here but heard that those long, night safe pads are good enough.
I bought the Sofy night safe (41cm) to use..

pink-destiny,

I saw the kotex maternity pads which were so thick loh...and they were around 30cm only. Don't look that comfy at all. So I tot of sticking to my usual pads that were at ard 35cm. Didn't know sofy has 41cm...maybe I should try it. Thanks for the great info...really helpful..hehe

heee bb Jo...sure...
i heard maternity pads aint superb,hence I decided to use what Im comfy with...
another brand I like is Modess Night...but sofy is just as good...it has 35cm and 41cm...chk out NTUC or watsons!