IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Despondent, wat benefits r u told to give up? MOM usually does not take care of white collars working adults from wat I understand. But do check it out.

Employers can ask u to delay the last 4-8 wks of ML but they can't forfiet as the govt will be paying your salary.

For me, I intend to take 16 weeks at one go plus clear another 2 wks plus annual leave. So I wun return to work till Jan 2011.

well, i dont know what the situation is exactly, but continue to do your job well, keep your head down and try not to get involved in any controversy or politics. They will have no case to fire you (if it comes to that).

Honestly, from personal experience, i find that MOM has no teeth. Was denied salary by a company many years ago and all they could suggest was mediation. So the company happily continued on without paying me after i quit.

There is a rule tt a the service of a pregnant lady cannot be terminated once she is x mths pregnant. Do check tt out

Juju, tt's wat I tot so...I still hv some time to determine that since we have 16 weeks of maternity leave.....

Spiffy, I was jus sharing that I'm getting my headache and vomitting again.....which may happen to some during tri 3.....I jus have to bite the bullet and pull thru it...8) Ya, a lot of relatives and frens already said my dog will be jealous when my son arrives..I jus hv to pray that my dog will get along well w him...

Singapoh, I think instead of training her to be independent, I got to start training myself not to attend to her so immediately whenever she whines or gives me her puppy look....8P, not so much her fault but more of my fault for over pampering her....

Vi4n, hubby and I went maid shopping at BT Shopping Centre last sat with the accredited list that I downloaded from MOM site....we went in to the 1st one, selected 2 profiles and tt's it, my hubby didn't want to visit any more agencies. So, now I'm waiting for the agency to arrange the phone interview with our 1st choice..once confirmed, the agency said they will only need 10 days to bring her in....u searching for 1 now?

Despondent, if you are comfy talking to the big boss, do go ahead and share ur concern with him/her. Otherwise, please make sure ur appraisal or feedback that you gotten from ur boss is in black and white and u keep a record of those. My gf who was already 4-5 mths preggy was asked to go based on poor performance. However, as she has kept a record of how the mgt has praised her of her performance before she officially announced her pregnancy, and obviously asking her to go then due to her pregnancy, she was able to use those performance emails to go to MOM and successfully won her case.

Hazel/juju, think org can still terminate regardless of how many mths pregnant but it must b fair.

Soon to be, exactly, my boss is now scheming to see how she can force me to agree in black & white that my performance is poor when all these while it is good, even in most recent appraisal. If I don't agree to do that, I shd then leave. Don't make sense right??? How can I b given only these 2 options and why do I have to go thru these simply for her own satisfaction? My coll just told me she has escalated to next level, but next level being new refuse to do anything!! I am gng to escalate to next next level.... Hee...

Despondent, so in your recent appraisal, she indicated that you have poor performance? Appraisal was done before or after you have announced your pregnancy? You have anything in black and white that indicated your good performance before pregnancy? My gf was doing client servicing so she aso had records of her customers writing complimentary letters on her good services....

Err, but to share w you hor, sometimes mgt being mgt can be quite selfish, and they might jus go along wif ur boss's plot to get rid of you...so will suggest u really start lookin at how u can have evidence to support ur case when u really need to bring ur case to MOM. For a start, I think u r aso doing a right thing to call MOM to query...

despondent,
if terminate after 4 mths preggie, company must pay u their 8 wks share of maternity leave.
did u keep a copy of the recent appraisal?
dun agree black & white wif her. go all the way up if possible, if u think the top is gonna be fair.
cannot kowtow to such ppl

Juju, it's not necessary for the co to compensate the 8 weeks of ML if there's a valid reason that the co gives for the termination. This is what I've learnt from my gf's case after she has spoken to MOM. Thus, it's impt to hv evidence that the co is biased due to the pregnancy, then you'll have the case to claim the compensation...

soon-to-be,
oh ya. forgot abt dat.
co only required to pay dat 8 wks if it's wrongful termination due to pregnancy, rite?

Ladies, there r a few consideration to take note. Firstly, u go all the way to mgt n says it works. But u will still be at her mercy daily n it cld make the current situation worse ESP if u still hv to report to her. Unless u ask for transfers. If not, prob wun be solved. She can make ur life worse than now.

2ndly, even u hv all the evidences, n with MOM help u won the case. How much compensation will U get? At most 8 wks pay plus the termination notice period in ur employment contract which is usually 1 mth. Tt means 3 mths pay. So, it wld mean still jobless for at least 6 mths till after delivery n get a new job.

U sour the r/s with the current employer has long term repucussion. Ur future employer can always call up ur earlier employers to check on u.

I experienced this kind if unfair treatment in 2008 n I m in a regulated industry where new employers will confirm conduct referral checks to all ex employers. So, I just quit without a job. Despite the poor economy then I was lucky tt within 2 wks I got an offer from my current company but I was not pregnant then. To me is a blessing in disguise as I got a good jump.

In the end, no matter which route we take we will still be at a losing end. For me, most impt is not sour r/s as the industry I m in is small..
Just some sharings from me for u to consider.

Singapoh, ur method really helps alot in my MS. Thk u!

Can I ask ladies who bfp with medicated fet, what kind of support was given? Do we still need to continue with the cyclogest inserts? I'm given duphaston, progynova n folic acid. Are these enough? Nurse told me no need to use cyclogest anymore. Any views on this?

starbabies,

I ve d same pills as you but at d same time I have crinone inserts which I think is progesterone gel. I was told I have to eat n use d inserts till 12 weeks.

Starb, most of us took duphastan n folic acid in 1st trimester. Additional support is given when there is complication such as spotting.

Juju, my gf was luckier leh...I think she got 16 weeks payout + the notice period compensation. MOM managed to get the co to put her on no-pay leave till delivery, then pay her 16 weeks & notice period lor...

Hazel, thks. Just wonder if it is the same protocol for fresh n fet?

pls refer to MOM employment act at the website. It does not cover white collars workers, ie any persons employed in managerial or executive position; or any seaman; or any domestic worker and any person employed by statutory board or the govt.

And part IV of the Act does not apply to workmen earning more than 4.5k basic mthly salaries and employees earning more than 2k basic mthly salaries

If u fall within the above, Is not within MOM control

definition of Managers n executives either goes by the person's roles n responsibilities or educational level n knowledge / skill specialisation.

Ie, employment act is NA to professionals with tertiary education n specialists skills / knowledge. So, lawyers, accountants, dentists and doctors would not be covered under the Act.

These r extracted from MOM website.

In general. The Act provides only a certain grp of pp bAsed on their income level n educational backgrd. Ie blue collars. So is not everyone

Singapoh, sigh, me so busy that I've starting lose track of which day we are in...or it's my memory failing me?!?!?! hate it!!

I c, hmm..different hospitals hv different protocols. Tot u r with nuh as so far dats the only hospital I know that uses crinone
thks skies

Yup. I can see d heartbeats. But my gynea did not let me hear leh. hehe.. quite exciting. Do you know you having single or twins??

Hazel, it's some childcare or watever devt act.....my gf was a group director earning more than 10k monthly......I will need to find some time to either ask her which act or surf the net myself to provide the accurate information if you really need this piece of information.

Soon to be,

Dr Loh looked tired today. Did many ET.

All the preggy women and mothers I know are forgetful. Dun worry abt it.

My twins size are both ok. He said dun squat too much.

Hazel/ soon to be, it's child devpt co-savings act. You can refer to this where I saw relevant info - http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/press_room/press_replies/2009/MOM_Reply_to_ST_Forum.html

I'm not gng to give her a chance to now turn my appraisal to b bad. Just that she's scheming to give me 2 options ie resign or agree to do smth ie. to meet her new expectations w no clear KPIs and allow her to now turn around and said I failed and thus shd go. She's just playing w timing.. It's just a mental torture.

Starbabies, congrats.

singapoh, does it mean just increasing your intake? Coz think u r eating less than me, despite carrying twins!

Btw, don't know if dr loh can help cover me w more mc.. At least I dun have to see e wicked boss for as long as 5 or 6 more months... Sigh.. Think difficult.. Just a wish. I was hoping my bb won't be affected by my mood but yet feel injustified to give in /kow tow to these ppl just like that. I also hope my bb will b strong in future when dealing w office politics...

Soon to be, thanks... :) you always have comforting and warm words for others.. Even if it's just addressing me "dear" hee hee. Thank you and I shall press on. This morning, I just gave in to tears.... But feeling better. :)

Skies, ya, I didn't get to hear e heartbeats too. Only heard it at gynae's room at my 12th week. Duringy 7th week scan ie. When I see the heartbeats, that's when I know it's singleton. Don't they ask u how many embryoes were transferred? They wld then tell u if all developed successfully.

Singapoh, u disturbed dr loh is it? He's jus too popular liao that many wish to "hit the jackpot" by going to him....

Despondent, no prob and I'm really glad that by 1 simple word, I make ur day..8) We are all here to give one another support and shoulder since we all hv come a long way and try all means to be at this stage...err...sometimes I think my "love" a bit overflow liao leh, that I a bit paiseh...i will tell my dog and son how much I love them a few times in a day...must be my hormone......hehehehe

Oh, by the way, it's okay to feel emotional abt this. I too wld be v upset if it were to happen to me. Just let it out and then handle this calmly. My gf warned me of the situation when it happened to her and she knew I was planning for pregnancy. She is a v calm person and handled the whole thing v well, so in the end, she won her case. Though she's now jobless after delivering...her son is so cute....she has no regrets to go thru the whole pregnancy...I'm hope that you will not let this affect ur mood.....worse come to worse, discuss w ur hubby on the possibility of u staying at home during this period so u won't need to go thru the agony if u don't wish too....most imptly is ur health and the baby....

Soon to be,

You think I waited for 2 hours just to disturb him for 5 minutes ah. Where got so free? :p

Eh I won 100% cashback for my camera. Just collected the cheque. Keke...

Singapoh, u quite free mah...hehehe....wat thing for ur camera? u took part in lucky draw har? So lucky! Ur 2 babies brought luck to u!!!

Hi Mummies-to-be,just a short intro, I graduated from FET under Dr Loh, recent detailed scan at 20wks showed I am expecting two boys. Since I am going to be a 1st time mum, I am hoping to learn or get some advice from you ladies.

Btw, anyone knows where can we buy those bean sprouts husk pillow? thks.

Soon to be,

where got free to go out with my son. He gets restless very fast and got to chase after him outside. I dun hv the energy la.

The camera costs $1,200. Lucky draw