Thanks @Archie7! Have booked for consultation with Dr Tan HH at KKH end Jan. Did my first ivf at Mount E but it was crazy expensive. Can't afford another round there so going to kkh even though the queuing time is siao (went there for 1 consultation before which took 4 hours). Have to be realistic about finances :(.

May I know what u all eat to increase implantation chances and do in your tww? I've been staying home since Mon's ER and it's driving me crazy..think I'm gona get mental madness after 2 weeks
Opps, But I must say I was jogging every day by the Jurong lake during the long Ivf journey, it has helped to clear my mind and gain some positive energy. Do some slow walks during tww. I only believe in 24 hrs bed rest, after that, pls go about your daily activities but slowly!!

May I know what u all eat to increase implantation chances and do in your tww? I've been staying home since Mon's ER and it's driving me crazy..think I'm gona get mental madness after 2 weeks
Hi, @Jmec good luck for your ET tomorrow! For my first ET I didn't do much besides rest at home for a day or 2. I did do some yoga just to relax and it did help me not go crazy during my tww..

Thanks! Gona plan some activities for my tww now! I'm so focused abt what's beneficial for implantation that I forgot it can also be my 2weeks mini holiday too! Now I'm happier lol

However, I will also prepare myself for plan b if touchwood the embryologist tells me my embryos can't be used tml. Nothing is final till they are inside me. Fingers crossed

Can I ask generally how you all deal with your relatives/ friends being pregs? My close relative is pregs with no 3...and complains a lot about how sian it is, she must be mad for having no 3...and I have to hide my sadness and smile and congratulate her. And the other relatives (the few who know about it cos I'm pretty closed-mouthed) are forever telling me successful baby stories and telling me to relax (hello, if relax can cure PCOS all the infertility specialists would have to find new jobs. Most irritating advice). A lot of events and parties I go to are filled with children and pregnant ladies and sometimes I can't bear to be there and find some excuse to leave early.

Thanks! Gona plan some activities for my tww now! I'm so focused abt what's beneficial for implantation that I forgot it can also be my 2weeks mini holiday too! Now I'm happier lol

However, I will also prepare myself for plan b if touchwood the embryologist tells me my embryos can't be used tml. Nothing is final till they are inside me. Fingers crossed
Will be rooting for u!

Can I ask generally how you all deal with your relatives/ friends being pregs? My close relative is pregs with no 3...and complains a lot about how sian it is, she must be mad for having no 3...and I have to hide my sadness and smile and congratulate her. And the other relatives (the few who know about it cos I'm pretty closed-mouthed) are forever telling me successful baby stories and telling me to relax (hello, if relax can cure PCOS all the infertility specialists would have to find new jobs. Most irritating advice). A lot of events and parties I go to are filled with children and pregnant ladies and sometimes I can't bear to be there and find some excuse to leave early.
I'm generally ok to attend if they don't put the focus on me and say insensitive things like..eh when's your turn, I already no. 2 or 3 or are u trying hard enough anot or don't wait already you're not young anymore etc. I will make sure I say something sarcastic to make sure this is the last time this qtn is asked. I've a cousin who asked me 'when u going to have a baby?' every single time she sees me which is like once annually and I finally cannot take it and coldly replied her 'I also duno leh u ask God for me lor' with no smile, from then on she kept quiet. But I do have some friends who understands my situation and are sensitive enough and I'm happy to attend their kids party and share their joy.

Yah so frustrating. Sometimes can't blame them cos they dunno what it feels like not being able to get pregs easily.

I'm generally ok to attend if they don't put the focus on me and say insensitive things like..eh when's your turn, I already no. 2 or 3 or are u trying hard enough anot or don't wait already you're not young anymore etc. I will make sure I say something sarcastic to make sure this is the last time this qtn is asked. I've a cousin who asked me 'when u going to have a baby?' every single time she sees me which is like once annually and I finally cannot take it and coldly replied her 'I also duno leh u ask God for me lor' with no smile, from then on she kept quiet. But I do have some friends who understands my situation and are sensitive enough and I'm happy to attend their kids party and share their joy.
Jmec,
Very good tactic, be sacastic. Even my hubby is not spare from his colleague. There is this gay colleague of his, kept asking him when his turn to have baby every time there was female colleague jus gave birth. He was pissed the final time and told the gay off "next month". I told him, no need to angry one. Jus say something sarcastic "both of us also not anxious why u so anxious? ?!

Thanks @Archie7! Have booked for consultation with Dr Tan HH at KKH end Jan. Did my first ivf at Mount E but it was crazy expensive. Can't afford another round there so going to kkh even though the queuing time is siao (went there for 1 consultation before which took 4 hours). Have to be realistic about finances :(.
Kay po,
May I know when n how much u paid for ur Ivf in mount e?

Hi Ashley11,
May I ask if ur case was it due to unexplained infertility? I really admire ur perseverance. 7 cycles are a lot $$. Unfortunately time is not at my side

May I ask how old r u?
Maybe it's gotta do with my attitude in everything. It's almost like a cockroach you can't squashed to death ( translate to chinese, may sound better) lol.
We wanted to go all the way out n if it doesn't still work out, we know we already tried everything we could n no regrets.

Yes 7 cycles are not cheap. 1st three fresh are partially subsidized in KKH, thaw fully paid on my own and of course rest of cycles. I did once in Msia n twice in Bangkok and the last gave me my son.

I'm not sure if it's unexplained infertility, I had pretty normal Amh, afc etc to ascertain my fertility but my cycles yielded me very few viable eggs. Hence, we decided to go for donor egg in Bangkok. It was the best decision we have ever made. Most non successful Ivf cases are due to "bad eggs".

Kay po,
May I know when n how much u paid for ur Ivf in mount e?
Did in 2013. Almost 20K, and that was with the lowest dose of gonal-f. But on hindsight I regret not going to KKH. IVF is already so stressful then pay so much at mount e made me even more stressed out. Well, on the bright side I still eligible for the subsidies.

I shall rant a bit too...
I can't imagine how excited i'd be to walk my kid to sch on his/her 1st day. But my good friend was so sian about it, and didn't seem to be bothered. Her girl actually had to come ask me to pack school bag with her the night before!
It didn't help that another friend gave birth to her 5th child that same day!!
I believe one day when we IVFers have our own kids, they will be the most loved & treasured!!

Do anyone knows is it ok to do accu the day after ER? Coz my tummy has been having sharp pains after accu and I had abit of spotting..not sure it's the accu or my after effects after ER are still there.

I got pains and spotting aft ER too.. Normal. In fact I also had spotting aft ET.

During 2ww, I had chicken essence every day, fish n eggs for protein

All the best for ET tmrw!

I had my 1st scan a couple of days ago, and was happy to be able to see not just 1 heartbeat, but 2! Unexpectedly turns out will be having twins... :oops:

So turns out both embryos from ET successfully stuck, even though they were supposedly of a lower grade. So just wanted to say to all ladies here, don't be discouraged... Jiayou!

I had my 1st scan a couple of days ago, and was happy to be able to see not just 1 heartbeat, but 2! Unexpectedly turns out will be having twins... :oops:

So turns out both embryos from ET successfully stuck, even though they were supposedly of a lower grade. So just wanted to say to all ladies here, don't be discouraged... Jiayou!
Wow double happiness! Congrats! Baby dust baby dust fall on me!

May I ask how old r u?
Maybe it's gotta do with my attitude in everything. It's almost like a cockroach you can't squashed to death ( translate to chinese, may sound better) lol.
We wanted to go all the way out n if it doesn't still work out, we know we already tried everything we could n no regrets.

Yes 7 cycles are not cheap. 1st three fresh are partially subsidized in KKH, thaw fully paid on my own and of course rest of cycles. I did once in Msia n twice in Bangkok and the last gave me my son.

I'm not sure if it's unexplained infertility, I had pretty normal Amh, afc etc to ascertain my fertility but my cycles yielded me very few viable eggs. Hence, we decided to go for donor egg in Bangkok. It was the best decision we have ever made. Most non successful Ivf cases are due to "bad eggs".
Can I ask how much was it to do in bangkok with donor eggs?

Going to a public hospital to save $ is a wise and practical decision. There are ways to minimize your waiting time, for e.g. going there earlier in the morning before the queue builds up. Lots of good reviews about Dr Tan so you're in good hands. :)

Yup! Esp since they revised the subsidy scheme, now I think they give subsidy for FET also.

Wa... congrats!! Grabbing ur baby dusts!

can i check, with u all that those on a daily injection before ur ER, u all still go accupuncture ar? i mean stil can accupuncture ar? Wont have any effect on the eggs.
I am returning to Dr Zou as i just finish her medicine. It is really a worst medicine i drank.

Congrats..

can u share how u magic??

Thanks. Coz my spotting only came back after accu tdy and tummy pain became more intense so not sure its normal..shall monitor tml
dun worry so much, at least it wldnt hurt your embryos as it is retrieval and not transfer. i
My journey to having my son was a depressive, painful, lonely one.
I spent 4 full years of my life dedicated to ivf. I quit my stressful job as the processes are both time n emotionally demanding. Everyone thought I was on a sabbatical, just that this hiatus doesn't seem to have an end. Every time i fail, I need to pick myself up and plan for the next. It was mentally torturing but fortunately, I have a loving and understanding husband who stood by me. We were determined to have a child and we knew that if this is not going to work, we are keen to adopt. We attended two adoption talks in the process of ongoing ivf.
I, too was bitter, resentful, withdrawing myself from family and friends, everyone was guessing it was due to my childless plight but I chose not to listen too much and be affected.
Even my pregnancy journey was full of jitters, dr tan HH who was my gynae had to counsel and reassure me over the months and every day felt like a year as I wanted so much my baby to be born safe and healthy.
In august 2014, my precious son was born after 13 years of marriage and 8 years of ttc.
I've always felt that having ivf in your life is sucks big time, however, please keep your spirits up, have a back up plan and you too will find solace and contentment in some way.
My journey to having my son was a depressive, painful, lonely one.
I spent 4 full years of my life dedicated to ivf. I quit my stressful job as the processes are both time n emotionally demanding. Everyone thought I was on a sabbatical, just that this hiatus doesn't seem to have an end. Every time i fail, I need to pick myself up and plan for the next. It was mentally torturing but fortunately, I have a loving and understanding husband who stood by me. We were determined to have a child and we knew that if this is not going to work, we are keen to adopt. We attended two adoption talks in the process of ongoing ivf.
I, too was bitter, resentful, withdrawing myself from family and friends, everyone was guessing it was due to my childless plight but I chose not to listen too much and be affected.
Even my pregnancy journey was full of jitters, dr tan HH who was my gynae had to counsel and reassure me over the months and every day felt like a year as I wanted so much my baby to be born safe and healthy.
In august 2014, my precious son was born after 13 years of marriage and 8 years of ttc.
I've always felt that having ivf in your life is sucks big time, however, please keep your spirits up, have a back up plan and you too will find solace and contentment in some way.
ashley, thank u for sharing your inspiring story! i feel heartache to knw hw much u had to go tro to have your precious one..it was really a long journey. but god is good . so happy for u now. so ladies, heads up chin high!we must hang in there and be brave!

Congrats..

can u share how u magic??

Unfortunately no magic or secret formula. perhaps God felt it was the right time? For me it was more staying relaxed and happy during the 2ww and hoping for the best, not always easy, but at least I didn't tell anyone about going for ivf so there wasn't any added pressure of having to deal with potential disappointment from parents, family, etc.

Typical behaviour and comments from people who have never gone thru IVF themselves. I also had so many stories of successful conception directed at me and that I wasn't relaxed enough but once I was, I would conceive immediately. People comment out of good intentions but the comments are full of naiveté and pure ignorance. If you are patient (although you're not obliged), you can try to educate them with polite explanations that infertility is not so easy to solve, and that they should refrain from commenting if they don't know any better. It is perfectly alright to avoid pregnant women and young children if it is too much to bear; your mental and emotional health is of utmost importance. Only then can you undergo the rigors of IVF with a positive mindset.

Yup! Esp since they revised the subsidy scheme, now I think they give subsidy for FET also.

Yup, subsidies for 3 fresh and 3 frozen cycles. I'm waiting for the day they extend the subsidies (even if only partial subsidies) to private hospitals/clinics too, to spread the load.

Unfortunately no magic or secret formula. perhaps God felt it was the right time? For me it was more staying relaxed and happy during the 2ww and hoping for the best, not always easy, but at least I didn't tell anyone about going for ivf so there wasn't any added pressure of having to deal with potential disappointment from parents, family, etc.
congrats rice cracker!

Congrats ricecracker!!! Catching your babydust!!

Congrats Congrats!

Typical behaviour and comments from people who have never gone thru IVF themselves. I also had so many stories of successful conception directed at me and that I wasn't relaxed enough but once I was, I would conceive immediately. People comment out of good intentions but the comments are full of naiveté and pure ignorance. If you are patient (although you're not obliged), you can try to educate them with polite explanations that infertility is not so easy to solve, and that they should refrain from commenting if they don't know any better. It is perfectly alright to avoid pregnant women and young children if it is too much to bear; your mental and emotional health is of utmost importance. Only then can you undergo the rigors of IVF with a positive mindset.
Totally agree! I have some colleagues who keep complain that they regret having their 2nd child and then they will direct their attention to me by saying "you are lucky you have no kids". It was super hurting.. One of them even know that I am doing ivf. However my other friends who know I am doing ivf are supportive of me and do not pass insensitive remarks to me which I am very grateful for. For them I am happy to take part in their baby shower and share the joy.

Hopeful13,

Wa... that colleague of urs who knew u r gg through ivf and still commented u r lucky dun have children, that is really insensitive of her to say that. :mad:
Aft I failed my 2 rounds of iui, there is this auntie in office said "wa... you really want to have kids very much hor, watch this kind of video!" I was watching a funny baby video in yahoo news. Then I very impulsively said "我每一次做一些东西你就要讲这種东西."then aft that time she never say anything about baby to me.

I'm new here. Just went to NUH to discuss abt the IVF cycle and planning to start next month.
I have some worry here. Coz I had this new job not long and do not wish to let my colleagues know abt this IVF.
Heard from doctor will give me 19 days HL .
And on and off need to go back every two days to check on.
As I need to get a temp to cover my reception duties if I'm away.
So I dunno how to tell my boss.

I just failed my 2nd fresh at sgh due to egg quality issue (cells did not multiply). Went to Dr loh at tmc for advice on next step/2nd opinion for my condition and he advised me to change to kkh as the lab might be better for my situation. Just wondering if anyone was unsuccessful in sgh but bfp in kkh for a similar condition like mine?

For those who have done ivf in kkh, may i ask if there is any consultation with doc during stimulation? In sgh, nurses are usually the ones who liaise with you during stimulation; will only see doc during er & et. Is the process similar in kkh?

Also, I was recommended to dr jerry chan by Dr loh, has anyone tried him before?

Appreciate any advice on the above. Many thanks!

I just failed my 2nd fresh at sgh due to egg quality issue (cells did not multiply). Went to Dr loh at tmc for advice on next step/2nd opinion for my condition and he advised me to change to kkh as the lab might be better for my situation. Just wondering if anyone was unsuccessful in sgh but bfp in kkh for a similar condition like mine?

For those who have done ivf in kkh, may i ask if there is any consultation with doc during stimulation? In sgh, nurses are usually the ones who liaise with you during stimulation; will only see doc during er & et. Is the process similar in kkh?

Also, I was recommended to dr jerry chan by Dr loh, has anyone tried him before?

Am sorry to hear that.
Honestly I wouldn't think sgh lab is inferior to KKH. It's just that KKH is more popular to ivfers.
Are u referring to dr sf loh? He's from KKH so perhaps his best suggestion is for u to try out his previous clinic.
Having said that, I think it is worth to switch dr and clinic to hear what drs at KKH can do for you.
There is actually consultation with Ivf dr during stimulation but she's the same dr who attends to all ivfers. So meaning whether u r under dr tan or dr sadhana, the same Ivf dr seated in the Ivf centre will monitor your stimulation phase.

Never heard of jerry chan. My gynae was dr tan HH. Who is your dr at sgh?

If
I'm new here. Just went to NUH to discuss abt the IVF cycle and planning to start next month.
I have some worry here. Coz I had this new job not long and do not wish to let my colleagues know abt this IVF.
Heard from doctor will give me 19 days HL .
And on and off need to go back every two days to check on.
As I need to get a temp to cover my reception duties if I'm away.
So I dunno how to tell my boss.

If I were you, I will just tell him that I am having a minor gynae procedure and hence the hl.
Period. They may not be happy but well, you have your own timeline which I believe you will not change, right?

If

If I were you, I will just tell him that I am having a minor gynae procedure and hence the hl.
Period. They may not be happy but well, you have your own timeline which I believe you will not change, right?
Thanks Ashley,
I worry if I tell him some procedure to do my boss might keep asking what thing. :(

No matter what I will go ahead with this IVF
Coz I had 3 miscarriage and ectopic pregnancy
Had been trying for four yrs normal which fail.
Hope this my first IVF which will success.

Hi all, im new to this forum. Have been reading through the threads. Im 30 this yr. Hb and I have been ttc for past 2years but to no avail. tubes scan and progesterone tests turned out fine, have high ovarian reserves as tested by a fertility doctor. Turned out hb soldiers are of bad shape .. ozoospermia. Consulted kk fertility doc and was put on iui. purgeon 50units per
day for 5days starting frm day 3 mensus as my cycle came on 31dec and kkivf centre was on
halfday followed by PH on 1 jan. Had 1st scan
yday and I over reacted to the stims. 10follies
instead of 3 for iui. Left 14 13 12 10 9 right 14
14.5 12 10 8. Lining 5.8mm, purgeon was
reduced to 25units for yesterday and
to go back for 2nd scan today. Any1 in same
situation as me before? Nurse said too many
follies will be converted to ivf as not to waste
cycle. Was told that purgeon 50units/day is the
average dose on practise. Im so worried now
that they may cancel my cycle ... and terrified myself by reading through threads on the pain of ER

Hi h0peful, I nv did iui cos my prob is pcos but went through ivf before. ER was not painful for me, cos during the procedure I was knocked out. I actually insisted on ivf after my docs first plan of clomid plus gonal f resulted in ohss and hospitalisation. Ivf has a higher chance of success and I didnt want to waste time. But its funny that the procedure can be changed from iui to ivf straightaway cos need to do counselling and all the paperwork.

Hi mqiu .. think is on exceptional basis to chnge from iui to ivf provided kkh allows and we dont want to waste a cycle. I get so depressed cos of too many follies for iui. And yeah ohss scares me out and I was drowning in egg whites and gatorade cos im quite small sized and fits into catergory of higher chance of ohss being thin. I have 2 more follies on my left and lining increased to 7.7

Am sorry to hear that.
Honestly I wouldn't think sgh lab is inferior to KKH. It's just that KKH is more popular to ivfers.
Are u referring to dr sf loh? He's from KKH so perhaps his best suggestion is for u to try out his previous clinic.
Having said that, I think it is worth to switch dr and clinic to hear what drs at KKH can do for you.
There is actually consultation with Ivf dr during stimulation but she's the same dr who attends to all ivfers. So meaning whether u r under dr tan or dr sadhana, the same Ivf dr seated in the Ivf centre will monitor your stimulation phase.

Never heard of jerry chan. My gynae was dr tan HH. Who is your dr at sgh?
Thanks Ashley11. Yup, i'm referring to dr loh sf. Deep down, I feel it would be my egg issue more than the lab as I have seen many of the ivfers in sgh conceive successfully.. or maybe he felt the protocol dr yu gave me is not suitable..Dr yu is my dr in sgh..

H
Hi all, im new to this forum. Have been reading through the threads. Im 30 this yr. Hb and I have been ttc for past 2years but to no avail. tubes scan and progesterone tests turned out fine, have high ovarian reserves as tested by a fertility doctor. Turned out hb soldiers are of bad shape .. ozoospermia. Consulted kk fertility doc and was put on iui. purgeon 50units per
day for 5days starting frm day 3 mensus as my cycle came on 31dec and kkivf centre was on
halfday followed by PH on 1 jan. Had 1st scan
yday and I over reacted to the stims. 10follies
instead of 3 for iui. Left 14 13 12 10 9 right 14
14.5 12 10 8. Lining 5.8mm, purgeon was
reduced to 25units for yesterday and
to go back for 2nd scan today. Any1 in same
situation as me before? Nurse said too many
follies will be converted to ivf as not to waste
cycle. Was told that purgeon 50units/day is the
average dose on practise. Im so worried now
that they may cancel my cycle ... and terrified myself by reading through threads on the pain of ER
Hi hopeful, since you have already injected yourself for iui and your follicles are growing well, why not give ivf a try? You will be knocked out during ER and hence will not feel anything, thereafter just cramp and maybe some abdominal pain which shld subside in a few days..most importantly, ivf has a higher chance of success than IUI. Jia you and hope you will bpf in this attempt.

Thanks bbpooh81. If allowed ..think I will go for ivf if doctor gives the go ahead after assessing my risk of ohss. Dont want to waste a cycle.my follies inceased by 2 more largest being 15.5 on left and 16.5 on right ..im so bloated now

So your 2 fresh cycles were done at SGH? did you manage to get to ET?

Perhaps you should consult a gynae at kkh for advice. My pte gynae did mention different labs may yield different results.