Dear sisters who are under Dr Zou, like to check and confirm that when AF (full flow) comes, we need to stop her herbs and can only start acupuncture on Day 4? Went to see her recently but oops AF comes ...
I was under Dr Zou all the way. So usually when first day of AF, i will see her and she will prescribe medicine for the AF period, which is different from the other days like improve lining and ovulation. My AF usually lasts for 5 days. Once AF stops, I will see her again. Then can do acupuncture weekly until AF comes again, then stop acupuncture. The cycle goes like this.

Faithfullyyours, thanks for the info.. New to Dr Zou, pretty blurred in some details. Will be visiting her soon, will consult her again....with my medical reports from KKH as well... Sigh... Money comes and goes...

Don't think about the money. The more you think, the more stressed you are. Cut down on other things lor. Like me, I used to buy new clothes and shoes every month. So in 2013, I managed to control and didn't buy any of those for a year. Now I also don't buy spend money on those already. I also used to hang out with friends and dine in restaurants and I realised each time I go out like this, at least $50 is gone. So I minimise my outings with my friends. In fact, 2013, I didn't even hang out with my friends at all. I limit my expenses on food to $10 for both lunch and dinner. It really depends on how you wanna make the adjustment and whether you are willing to survive on such limitations. :)

Congrats to all the mummy to be! It's a tough journey.. Hope that I will be as successful as you all. Hope this will be my last ivf.. Tomorrow going for my first scan and taking medication for the stimulation. Wondering how many follicles that I have had now.. Hope not just a few..

Portia need to do so often? Cause I remember dr loh say ok to continue or can stop thou he did tell me some preg mummies do mthly till 2nd trim end. But he say don't need so near he say effect can last 1 to 1.5 mths. I did twice only. One is before fet and one a month after that after I BfP.
Dr loh told me the same thing. But I guess it was like an additional support for Portia

Portia need to do so often? Cause I remember dr loh say ok to continue or can stop thou he did tell me some preg mummies do mthly till 2nd trim end. But he say don't need so near he say effect can last 1 to 1.5 mths. I did twice only. One is before fet and one a month after that after I BfP.

For my case, he advise to do it 3 weeks apart. Maybe, its to maintain the level of infusion in my system so that it doesn't drop too low.

If it helps with this pregnancy, i dun mind putting up with a prick on my hand.

actualli i got a question to ask, can red meat like pork be taken after ER? also chicken? Any body ate these and still bfp? or is it a strict fish and other brazil nuts and egg white diet ,fish, milk etc, no red meat and other things?

Chubby,

The $$$ will be well spent when u get yr bfp and a bb in yr arms. $$$ always can earn back as long as you live but the opportunity cost/window for starting a family is limited by time and health which you can never get back.

From Feb till now, we have spent a small fortune that could bring us on a decent holiday on our supplements, tcm, acupuncture, intralipid treatment, 2nd opinions consult and other support for ivf. All these are on top of the $$$ spent on the fresh ivf cycle. I think it was worth every cent.

Chubby,

The $$$ will be well spent when u get yr bfp and a bb in yr arms. $$$ always can earn back as long as you live but the opportunity cost/window for starting a family is limited by time and health which you can never get back.

From Feb till now, we have spent a small fortune that could bring us on a decent holiday on our supplements, tcm, acupuncture, intralipid treatment, 2nd opinions consult and other support for ivf. All these are on top of the $$$ spent on the fresh ivf cycle. I think it was worth every cent.

Don't think about the money. The more you think, the more stressed you are. Cut down on other things lor. Like me, I used to buy new clothes and shoes every month. So in 2013, I managed to control and didn't buy any of those for a year. Now I also don't buy spend money on those already. I also used to hang out with friends and dine in restaurants and I realised each time I go out like this, at least $50 is gone. So I minimise my outings with my friends. In fact, 2013, I didn't even hang out with my friends at all. I limit my expenses on food to $10 for both lunch and dinner. It really depends on how you wanna make the adjustment and whether you are willing to survive on such limitations. :)

We ate at home more often, spending our $$$ on better quality fresh food which are healthier than outside food.

DH and I did not spend on any frivoulous things and choose to invest all our $$$ on treatments for ivf and health products. We spent most of our time going for tcm and acu and the rest of the time resting at home. So no time to spend $$$ outside with friends too....

actualli i got a question to ask, can red meat like pork be taken after ER? also chicken? Any body ate these and still bfp? or is it a strict fish and other brazil nuts and egg white diet ,fish, milk etc, no red meat and other things?
Connie,

I took a lot of fish during my 2ww. Had some chicken and pork too in moderation. Had beef once only. I cut down on carbo and ate avocados and lots of broccoli, kailan and fresh mushrooms. Compared to red meat, white meat is a healthier choice. You can google on this.

true portia anything to do bb good. i thought i wanted to follow up with intralipids too but dr loh advise to me is up to me. not a must and he say if want can do 1-1.5mths apart. and when i ask if i seriously need another infusion his quite open didn insist didnt say no too all up to me lol. after my 2nd infusion he also didn ask me do a 3rd time already.

We ate at home more often, spending our $$$ on better quality fresh food which are healthier than outside food.

DH and I did not spend on any frivoulous things and choose to invest all our $$$ on treatments for ivf and health products. We spent most of our time going for tcm and acu and the rest of the time resting at home. So no time to spend $$$ outside with friends too....
Same lor. Everyday is just waking up, going to work, coming back home and sleeping. If I have medical appointments, then go lor. That's how I spent my 2012 and 2013 coz no friend knows about our situation. So I just stay away from them lah.

Hi @connie_hopeful.. Red meat are commonly beef and lamb. Whereas white meat are poultry, pork, and fish. Red meat is higher in saturated fats and cholesterol so it's deemed as not so healthy.. Think during IVF, white meat is highly recommended due to it's higher protein and less fatty content compared to red.. I'd say not cannot eat red, but rather in moderation and white will be the healthier choice ba..

true portia anything to do bb good. i thought i wanted to follow up with intralipids too but dr loh advise to me is up to me. not a must and he say if want can do 1-1.5mths apart. and when i ask if i seriously need another infusion his quite open didn insist didnt say no too all up to me lol. after my 2nd infusion he also didn ask me do a 3rd time already.

I will likely follow through till at least end of 1st trimester. Judging from the roller coastal ride i had, I rather err on the side of caution. In any case, it does no harm and i do not get any side effects or flu from it, so likely to continue.

Same lor. Everyday is just waking up, going to work, coming back home and sleeping. If I have medical appointments, then go lor. That's how I spent my 2012 and 2013 coz no friend knows about our situation. So I just stay away from them lah.

Yah, it sounds like a boring life but it's all worth it with a bfp.

None of our friends knew and only critical people at our work place know cos both dh and I require coverage of our work during our absence.

Hi @connie_hopeful.. Red meat are commonly beef and lamb. Whereas white meat are poultry, pork, and fish. Red meat is higher in saturated fats and cholesterol so it's deemed as not so healthy.. Think during IVF, white meat is highly recommended due to it's higher protein and less fatty content compared to red.. I'd say not cannot eat red, but rather in moderation and white will be the healthier choice ba..

Rachelt is right.

Btw, duck is consider red meat.

Yah, it sounds like a boring life but it's all worth it with a bfp.

None of our friends knew and only critical people at our work place know cos both dh and I require coverage of our work during our absence.
Even up to now, only 2 close gfs know about my pregnancy. The rest dunno. They never ask. I never say. Just keep quiet lah.

Actually, i find it less stressful with no one knowing. At least we dun hv to keep repeating what we went thru just becos of someone else's curiosity. And some 'friends' or colleagues may not be understanding or tactful in their choice of words too which may add to our frustration and sadness when things are not rosy.

Ya.. I agree.. Office only my lunch kakis + boss knows.. Outside friends only Cell Group Members and another lady from church who BFPed on her 3rd IVF.. Of cos my mum.. Didnt tell my in-laws.. dont wan them to ask ask ask.. stress ar..

@faithfullyyours, Portia3 & Rachelt...it is always not so easy... Towards friendship, often we were asked why we always cannot make it as they always choose expensive places..Towards workplace, those people would discuss behind your back, especially on long HL, towards closed ones like parents or in laws , they asked when are we going to have BB... Sigh... Just feel so vexed when only the two of us know. The wishes that I hope for this Christmas are I'm pregnant and to get my own breathing space..In order to have lesser stress at working environment, I downgraded my position and hence earned lesser. I'm a person who simply cannot stop work for too long or else I think I go nuts. But yet again who know I'm willing to be a SAHM for my kids during their grow up stages ....these are just minor sacrifices I know... There are going to be more to come with higher challenges... Subconsciously, I'm giving myself stress .... Haha

None of our family members knew. We din want them to be disappointed if things din happpen for us.

We rather wait till the pregnancy stabilizes and give them a nice surprise and reason to celebrate.

None of our family members knew. We din want them to be disappointed if things din happpen for us.

We rather wait till the pregnancy stabilizes and give them a nice surprise and reason to celebrate.
My mum stays with us.. So must tell her and let her take care of me.. hahahahahaha.. or rather.. prevent her from nagging :p
@Chubby1314, I totally know how you feel!
My parents also feel stressed, cos extended family always compare & ask y we hvnt hv BB. Then they start to give advice.
@MichNg.. Tell me about it.. My MIL always ask DH.. she must be thinking cos of my age and i'm the prob.. but i always diam diam.. dont wanna put DH in an awkward position.. so i told DH.. even if successful oso cannt say.. past 1 trimester first den say.. else later get unnecessary stress..

Same here. Other than hubby none knws. We feel less stress this way. Will wait for 12- 16 week before announcing.

My mum stays with us.. So must tell her and let her take care of me.. hahahahahaha.. or rather.. prevent her from nagging :p

@MichNg.. Tell me about it.. My MIL always ask DH.. she must be thinking cos of my age and i'm the prob.. but i always diam diam.. dont wanna put DH in an awkward position.. so i told DH.. even if successful oso cannt say.. past 1 trimester first den say.. else later get unnecessary stress..

My mum stays with me too. It's tough to hide it from her but we managed.

I stay in my room mostly, telling her that i am working from home. I will probably tell her when we see bb heartbeats at the scan.

@rachelt we didn't plan to tell anyone, but cos my dad did surgery during my stim, i had to tell him why i couldnt go back hometown to help him. my MIL still dunno. regret also to tell my parents, cause they worry unnecessarily. :S

@Chubby1314 I want 2 or 3, depending on gender. My hubby is 40 already, worried that 3 will be difficult to support.

@rachelt we didn't plan to tell anyone, but cos my dad did surgery during my stim, i had to tell him why i couldnt go back hometown to help him. my MIL still dunno. regret also to tell my parents, cause they worry unnecessarily. :S

@Chubby1314 I want 2 or 3, depending on gender. My hubby is 40 already, worried that 3 will be difficult to support.

MichNg,

3 would be nice. But I will be happy with 2 as well. Just like going through ER, quantity is desired but quality is important too.

Although a parent's love will always be whole no matter how manh times divided, with 2 kids, it will be easier for parents to focus on the care, guidance and upbringing instead of 3 or more.

Also, as you have rightly pointed out, many of us ard in our late 30s or older. It will be tough to be well prepared for a slower pace of life with sufficient retirement funds if we are still paying uni fees for our kids at 60 years or older.

MichNg,

3 would be nice. But I will be happy with 2 as well. Just like going through ER, quantity is desired but quality is important too.

Although a parent's love will always be whole no matter how manh times divided, with 2 kids, it will be easier for parents to focus on the care, guidance and upbringing instead of 3 or more.

Also, as you have rightly pointed out, many of us ard in our late 30s or older. It will be tough to be well prepared for a slower pace of life with sufficient retirement funds if we are still paying uni fees for our kids at 60 years or older.

@portia3 that's my thoughts too. We likely will try for 3 if first 2 are same gender. Of course, most important is if we can conceive.... :S

@MichNg, do you mind telling me what is your age? And how many times you have done IUI/IVF? Me 36 this year, initially thought want to have a BB horse which we tried working hard.. But it doesn't work out as what we planned. Sigh.. Hence, DH and I decided to start look for help. For us, #3 will be our bonus... But really have to look at our status then....

I'm 33. Married to DH, 40, for 4 years. We hv been trying since married, but due to work commitment in Sg, find it very difficult to make time to conceive. We both worked late hours, until at least 10pm everyday, travel every month, and myself hv irregular menstrual cycle (later diagnosed as PCOS). Tried naturally for 2 years, tried TCM for a yr, then someone recommend we try IVF with Dr TanHH. I quit my job cause my stress levels were affecting my health significantly and I felt it would hinder our TTC journey.

Feb 14 was my 1st fresh - BFP with low / irregular Beta HCG. Diagnosed as a "Pregnancy of Unknown Location". We had to abort via methotrexate jab in April, and I finally got my AF yesterday - meaning my Beta HCG finally dropped to Zero after 3 months. Early June I will see Dr TanHH again, hopefully it is to plan our FET. I hv 8 frozen embies waiting....

I'm 33. Married to DH, 40, for 4 years. We hv been trying since married, but due to work commitment in Sg, find it very difficult to make time to conceive. We both worked late hours, until at least 10pm everyday, travel every month, and myself hv irregular menstrual cycle (later diagnosed as PCOS). Tried naturally for 2 years, tried TCM for a yr, then someone recommend we try IVF with Dr TanHH. I quit my job cause my stress levels were affecting my health significantly and I felt it would hinder our TTC journey.

Feb 14 was my 1st fresh - BFP with low / irregular Beta HCG. Diagnosed as a "Pregnancy of Unknown Location". We had to abort via methotrexate jab in April, and I finally got my AF yesterday - meaning my Beta HCG finally dropped to Zero after 3 months. Early June I will see Dr TanHH again, hopefully it is to plan our FET. I hv 8 frozen embies waiting....
MichNg,

Can you share more details about your last cycle?

Hi michng,

My situation quite similar to yours, 33 yo with PCOS and married for 4 years... Only started trying two years ago but find it tough due to busy work schedule. Now switch to a less stressful job to find time to focus on having a baby.

Hope we succeed soon! Jiayou!

MichNg,

Can you share more details about your last cycle?

umm... not sure what details you would like to know. :p
I didn't follow much on the TWW food to encourage or avoid, didn't do any TCM or accupuncture. Just strictly follow Dr's medications.
Symptoms were swollen breasts and tummy, occasional cramps and twinges, no nausea, always sleepy, no spotting. I didn't POAS before BT.
ER on 21 Feb, ET on 24 Feb.
BT results:
11 Mar - 51
13 Mar - 43
19 Mar - 850
26 Mar - 1500
28 Mar - 1800
11 Apr - 7400 - administered Methotrexate
13 Apr - 9400
15 Apr - 7800
22 Apr - 1500
14 May - 9

next BT in June.

Some info on Pregnancy of Unknown Location (PUL) - it is a form of ectopic pregnancy, difference is cannot locate it within / outside the womb. Clear indication via BT that growth is not constant. Waited for a month but pregnancy didn't die naturally.

MichNg, thanks for sharing your story.... In a way, you had BFP, which made your chances higher with your 8 frozen embies. I wish you all the best in the coming cycle. Gambatte!!.. For me, I'm a totally newbie in ART. I feel excited but nervous.. I'm lack of courage to start my first and only SO-IUI in this cycle.. Still indecisive to start in either June or July cycle, which happened to be the peak period in my work. But think I cant be bothered anymore. I have a very low AMH level while my DH is 40 as well.. I'm prepared to fail my SO-IUI cycle and welcome the needs of IVF.. Meanwhile, we will try naturally with the help of TCM, Supplements PLUS Staycation to increase our chances..

umm... not sure what details you would like to know. :p
I didn't follow much on the TWW food to encourage or avoid, didn't do any TCM or accupuncture. Just strictly follow Dr's medications.
Symptoms were swollen breasts and tummy, occasional cramps and twinges, no nausea, always sleepy, no spotting. I didn't POAS before BT.
ER on 21 Feb, ET on 24 Feb.
BT results:
11 Mar - 51
13 Mar - 43
19 Mar - 850
26 Mar - 1500
28 Mar - 1800
11 Apr - 7400 - administered Methotrexate
13 Apr - 9400
15 Apr - 7800
22 Apr - 1500
14 May - 9

next BT in June.

Some info on Pregnancy of Unknown Location (PUL) - it is a form of ectopic pregnancy, difference is cannot locate it within / outside the womb. Clear indication via BT that growth is not constant. Waited for a month but pregnancy didn't die naturally.

Mich,

Thanks for sharing. It must have been a nightmare for u.

Did they do transvirgina scans regularly for you to search for embbie? Or is it just abdominal scan? After administering methotraxate, did you expel out anything that resembles a sac? Sorry for the many (insensitive) questions.

I just thought that we can all learn from the incident.

MichNg, thanks for sharing your story.... In a way, you had BFP, which made your chances higher with your 8 frozen embies. I wish you all the best in the coming cycle. Gambatte!!.. For me, I'm a totally newbie in ART. I feel excited but nervous.. I'm lack of courage to start my first and only SO-IUI in this cycle.. Still indecisive to start in either June or July cycle, which happened to be the peak period in my work. But think I cant be bothered anymore. I have a very low AMH level while my DH is 40 as well.. I'm prepared to fail my SO-IUI cycle and welcome the needs of IVF.. Meanwhile, we will try naturally with the help of TCM, Supplements PLUS Staycation to increase our chances..
Think i'm a little opposite of you guys.. I'm 39 and DH's 36.. Married 4.5years.. trying for 3.5years.. Saw gynae and was advised to do IUI 3 years ago due to DH's soldiers.. Wont ready then so decided to try naturally with the help of Clearblue Fertility Monitor.. Didnt work.. Seeing TSB since Aug'12.. Did a SA for DH last Dec, readings improved comparing the result from 2011.. TSB suggested IVF with SF Loh but we didnt really thing abt it.. We're waiting for our new flat to be ready early next year so thot only go for IVF after we move in.. 1 fine day, DH suddenly decided to read up on govt's co-pay scheme for ART in Feb'14.. Found out it's capped at 40years old.. So we gan jiong and decided to start earlier.. Book appt for Prof Wong for Apr 9 after our HKG trip in Mar hoping to BFP during the trip.. Came back go see TSB and spoke to her and change to THH instead.. AF came = HKG project FAIL!.. Seen THH on 8 Apr, prayed and discussed.. Decided to do it in June as boss will be back in US for 2 months.. Good time.. Less stressful when he's away.. Work's not stressful.. But managing boss is stressful.. Very temperamental person..
Side track.. Just took my TSB meds.. YUCKS!

Chubby,

I know some sisters here were advised to take dhea for low amh. Did yr doc suggest that for u?

Gambatte to you too @Chubby1314. Hope you will be able to juggle your work and cycle sufficiently. I also pray that my chances are higher next round.

Mich,

Thanks for sharing. It must have been a nightmare for u.

Did they do transvirgina scans regularly for you to search for embbie? Or is it just abdominal scan? After administering methotraxate, did you expel out anything that resembles a sac? Sorry for the many (insensitive) questions.

I just thought that we can all learn from the incident.

@portia3 they did both. I did transvaginal scan for > 1 hr so they could really check to be sure it was "not there". Quite painful.
Gross Alert!
Maybe today I expelled something.... really look like a cashewnut with an umbilical cord... :p Sorry if TMI.
From all my reading online, it seems that my PUL is similar to a blighted ovum situation, nothing could hv changed that outcome. Dr TanHH also mentioned that it is quite rare occurrence.

The most difficult part is accepting that although BFP and Beta HCG was increasing, I had to keep reminding myself that it cannot survive.

Hello sisters,
My first SO-IUI failed and I have decided to rest one cycle. Most probably will call Dr zou to fix an appointment for acu. Hope to tiao body in one month and try natural for 2 cycles before seeking help again.