Please advise me. When one is on Lucrin, can she still be on chinese medication and acupuncture? What about when one is on Puregon?

Maplebabies,
I think if you want to try acup, you should go everyday now as your ER will be somewhere early next week right? I will be doing it everyday starting from this Friday as my ER likely to be on 25th this mth.

Babylow,
For my case, my chinese sinseh advise me to stop all TCM once you started your first jab. The most important is at least the last 3 mths to "tiao" your body. But for acup is perfectly alright as it does not involve any medication but you have to tell your acupunturist at what stage of ivf you are in because diff point of poking.

Theresa,
Need yr advise reg Acu. Is it normal to have bruise after acu? Did my acu last evening, now I have a bruise with the size of a ten-cent coin on my stomach.

Also, I always read from ladies here saying that acu is relaxing for them, but for me i don't really find it relaxing leh....cos my legs, stomach etc twitch every time the current flow through. Also, can feel the pricking of the needle especially stomach and back when the current flows...the physician say ok as long as it is not painful but i can't help thinking whether it is normal for me to feel this way.

Is it stressful when you do Lucrin/Puregon jab and acu at the same time?

Hi Babymaking,
You have came this far. Pls hang on. The decision of going into IVF is already not an easy one. It may be difficult now, but once everything turn out fine, is all worth it. 'Jia you' okie... *hug* *hug*

Hi Nano,
My acu is different. She does not use current. Instead, a 'lamp' that generate heat is place above my tummy. Very hot. So everytime after the session, my tummy will be red and the next day will have some bruises. Is perfectly normal.

By the time you reach Lucrin/Puregon stage, ie. 2 jabs a day, I find that acu is really nothing. For me, i keep telling myself that my goal is clear. I just want a child. So whatever sufferings now that i have to go thru it will be all worth it.

JR,
Thks, at least now i know having bruise is normal. Just wondering do yr bruise always goes off before yr next visit? cos thinking if got bruise, can they poke on the same area? Well, hopefully the bruise will cleared by next visit.

For the AMK one there is also a 'lamp' to generate heart above the tummy but the needles are also hooked to a small machine that gives out current at the same time. The current can be adjusted but according to the physician, the stronger the current, the more effective it will be but of course she will try to adjust to our comfort level...just tat i'm still not too used to the whole acu experience.

Did thought of whether acu will add more stress to me and in the end affect my hormones level.. but you are right lor...sometimes endurance will pay off.

Nano,
Dont worry about the bruise and the twitching, it is common to have that. I used to feel very tends everytime she poke on me but now it is much better. I dont really stress with injection and acup at the same time, probably because i'm not working so my "duty" now is just to eat, rest, jab, go hospital and acup...... well, quite relax and enjoying every moment of ivf although the waiting time is quite draging.....

Nano,
The bruise will goes off a couple of days and she wont poke at the bruise area so dont worry. Try to relax and think of something else when she poke at you, the more anxious you are the more uncomfortable feeling you will get. It is more on your mental stress that will affect your homone level, do remember to keep your stress level down during 2ww as worry will only make your embryo implantation difficult. Your uterus need to relax in order for the embryo to attach to the uterine wall.

Theresa,
You are not working?! So envious. I am deciding along that route, too... Kinda stressed when work and do IVF at the same time.

Theresa,
Really thankful to have this website where i can learn the experiences from you ladies. Thks! Ok, I will tell myself to continue to go for acu and focus on the gdness of it rather than the negative part. For me, I feel abit when she poke and also especially when the current is flowing cos can feel the pricking sensation of the needles. Actually me tendered resignation end of last mth, last day will be this Fri...hopefully by then will be more relax like you
It's gd to know that you are enjoying every moment of yr ivf journey and really hope you will be sucessful.

It seems like quite a few sisters here are not working. Ya, my 'duty' now is also to eat, sleep, rest, 'tiao' my body in preparation for my next cycle. Somehow, everytime i go for acu, i feel hopeful & positive. The pain is really nothing.

nano,
Just try not to be too tense when she pokes in the needle, if u relax it won't be painful. If u find the current too strong, ask her to adjust till u r comfortable. It's normal to feel the electrical pulse. I notice when i'm shifting in my facedown position it'll hurt slightly. Prob bcos I tense my back muscles where she has the needles in when i lift up my head. But overall quite nice lah. Went for my second session yest aftn, and she was packed so had to wait for a while. Another girl came in after me, wonder if she is also from this thread. I think it was her first time there. Hee!

theresa,
soon will be ur ER next week hor. All the best! Hope the acu helps us in our quest.

hi babylow,
replied your PM already...

hi JR,
read previously you go to the mei ling acu? i'm planning to go there also... but is the heat tolerable? i'm not scared of needles, but i cn't take heat... i can even go to a sauna or steam bath cos the heat makes me feel breathless...
and i'm not working too... quit my job in may...

hi theresa,
all the best to your ER soon...

Hi Petals & shazzer,
Thank you for your encouragement and hope everything goes on smoothly..... will be seeing my dr tmr, hopefully can firm up the ER date also.

Shazzer, so when will you be starting your ivf? Hope that you are relaxing well and dont stress too much about unneccessary thing. Lay back and enjoy your ivf journey......

Dont worry about the heat from the 'lamp" from acup, it just a slight warm feeling thats all.

Hi shazzer,
No worries, the heat is okie. Furthermore, the lamp is adjustable. If it gets too hot, just push it further up. Me too quit my job in May...now be queen of the house...hee

BTW, do remember to tell her your intention to do IVF. In the meantime, she will also help to track our ovulation time. Hopefully, we can be successful without going thru IVF.

I find you all very brave leh..for the sake of ivf never grumble abt the discomfort of acu...think I'm the lousy one here who must learn to endure.

Petals_bloom,
Ya also tense when doing the back part, it hurt alittle when she poked the needle...must learn to relax. Wah weekday afternoon also pack ah, biz must be quite gd then. Btw, if i remember correctly you also starting lucrin end of july right...got kaki

BabyLow,
Me starting next tue...few more days to go. When are you going for your scope? Read that you abit stress at work..hope you are coping well.

shazzer,
i PM you alredy
please advise.

nano,
the environment is tense. it will affect me. one thing at a time. just do my scope first and want to rest well...

dear all

thanks for your encouragement.

i've clarified my doubts with SF Loh and he said it's not a scheduling issue but that my estradiol levels are still high.

however he also mentioned that the endometrium is also thick at 8mm and from what i google online, a thick endometrium will impede implantation.normally at this stage, endometrium shd be about 2mm, just after AF.

will see what Dr Loh have to say about continuing the rest of the cycle.

to all who are proceeding with ER these few days, good luck!

i saluate all those doing IVF, u all are very brave, i don have the courage to even do SO-IUI. If one day i have to do SO-IUI, i hope i can be as strong as u all here.

Dear Pupi,

Dr advice was not necessary to do so. My husband and I insisted because I have alot of pain on my lower abdomen. It is really uncomfortable and my daily activities sometimes obstructed due to pain. Just want to have a thorough check so that can relief knowing that uterus is good and healthy...

Which doctor are you seeing? I am with Dr Loh.

i am in nuh. i dont have any pain.only in the means time lower abd pain. i am wiating for my right side ovulation.then i will do iui. i have done 1 iui

I'm sure you all experience the breakdown of this website for the whole of yesterday and to day morning, finally able to log in...... JR that's why it is so quite yesterday.

Went to see my doc yesterday and did a bld test, my left ovary follicles are growing very slow but my right follicles are doing fine. Dr estimate ER will only be about 5 to 10 eggs, he had also increased my Gonal F from 300iu to 375iu, hope that my follicles will "guai guai" grow these few days so can have my ER & ET next week..... also went for acup today, AMK Dr Zou must do everyday now and acup will help the small follicles to "catch up" with its growing. Any sis here experience like that, will ER be schedule be affected badly because follicles growing too slow??? Worried......

I'm sure you all experience the breakdown of this website for the whole of yesterday and to day morning, finally able to log in...... JR that's why it is so quite yesterday.

Went to see my doc yesterday and did a bld test, my left ovary follicles are growing very slow but my right follicles are doing fine. Dr estimate ER will only be about 5 to 10 eggs, he had also increased my Gonal F from 300iu to 375iu, hope that my follicles will "guai guai" grow these few days so can have my ER & ET next week..... also went for acup today, AMK Dr Zou say must do everyday now and acup will help the small follicles to "catch up" with its growing. Any sis here experience like that, will ER be schedule be affected badly because follicles growing too slow??? Worried......

Hello gals, i just completed my D8 scan, got about 17 follicles from size 7mm to 13mm. Was told to continue puregon but didnt need to increase dosage. Have to go back for D10 scan to see whether growth is good.

Can i ask, how many mm follicle grow per day? Do you think my follicle can catch up by D10 to be about 9mm to 15mm? Then 2 days later on ER day, it might have grown to 11mm to 17mm?

In any case, only those 17mm will be used issit? The rest cant be used? I am very worried about not able to retrieve enough eggs.

Hi Malple babies,
I also have the same worry leh.... what is your dosage now? Yesterday is my D6 scan and my right follicles is only about 10mm, left ones are growing very slowly. But AMK Dr Zou says, if dr increase dosage, it can grow by 5~6mm in 2 days. You did a bld test also right? I did my bld test yesterday morning, dr called afternoon and ask me to increase dosage from today. I'm also going back on Monday (D10) to check on growth.

Wow, i think we are likely to do ER & ET on the same time so we can keep each other posted. Take care and always check with dr if you are in doubt.

sista...feeling moody 2day...feel like 2ww is a roller coaster journey ..waiting 2 b sentenced ..haaa
..well my progesterone blood test results not ideal below their std so need 2 increase my dosage 2 100mg.still got 1 more week 2 end my torture. was quite worried whether my embebies will implant or not.very funny i only had very bad bloatness on day 3 n 4 dat i had difficulty in breathing..then day 5 til 2day i dun feel dat bloatness..hmm..so worried..sigh..know it doesn't help worrying but just cant help it.cant control my mind..sigh...

Maplebabies & Theresa,
yeah, I had problems accessing the website yest and today too. You both still have a few days before ER, so the follicles still have time to catch up. Don't worry.

Mika,
Good that they managed to detect the low level so that they can give u something to boost it. Have faith in them and your embies...
Hope to hear good news from you too!

Oh Babyfairy,

Thank you thank you thank you for sharing! You are such a darling for sharing your success story. Thanks for the tips - will try 'em! :eek:)))

hihi for those who are interested to find out

follicles grow by about 2mm every other day.

my case is still pending..so just got to wait.

good luck to those doing ER and ET. all the best!

Hi All, went for my scan again today, D10 scan.

My follicles have grown abit, from 7-13mm to now 11-15mm. Hmm ... apparently thats 2mm growth per day. In that case shouldnt it be 11-17mm growth? Hmm ... abit worried.

Anyway, i was told to continue puregon with no increase in dosage till next Mon then scan again. If all goes well, ER likely on Wed or Thurs. Haiz ... so long.

At the same time, hubby fell sick. Aiyo, so cursed. Was given flu and cough medicine. Now dunno to take or not to take the medicine. Cos if take, may affect semen production on ER day. If dont take, wont get well. Aiyo, how ah? I m very disappointed with him leh, so 'bu zhen qi'!

Hi Theresa,

I am interested in going for acu, do you have any recommendation. i have about a month before i start my journey.

All, Need an advise here too, my mil didnt know i am not working and i have no plan of telling her as i do not want her to be worried. She dont know i am going for IVF. Or should i just tell her i am not working as sometime she stay with us. I kinda of worried one word lead to another . i want a totally stress free environment where my main duty is just to take good care of myself and not to worry about what my mil will think and chasing after me on making babies. Should i tell her, kinda of bad that my hubby is in this with me too.

Hi Babyfairy,
i can't see what you wrote...all i see is a "1" on your posting. Can repeat?

Maplebabies,
Today only Sat. If ur hubby takes his medicine, he can recover within these 2 days before your ER, right? Don't be so hard on him...must keep him happy and relaxed too for his big day...Not only are we nervous, our hubbies also nervous on ER day.

Lefty,
Good luck for your ER! Hope everything goes smoothly for you!

Hi Petals, ya i kno wat u mean. Its just that we are so close to the impt day now, really disappointing that something like this has to happen. All my jabs for nothing! Haiz ... Can only hope he gets better. And dont spread to me else even worse, imagine embies inside me then i am coughing and sneezing ... urgh!

Another thing is since ET likely end next week, wonder when should hubby clear one more round of his stale soldiers? Hmm ...

my wife wish to go for accu @ AMK, Blk 505 or the Mei Ling street one. She really wanna do something b4 going 4 IVF. My only concern is that i heard some bad story that some TCM Dr actually recycle the needles. Has anyone being 2 the above 2 Doctors? And do they use disposable needle? Does it really help.

Thanks for any advice.

So my ER is over. I was told I had 11 follicles, and of those 7 are the eggs. I was a little disappointed, but 7 eggs are better than no egg, right?

The whole day went well; I got Propofol and Fentanyl for my conscious sedation and within 3 seconds of administration I fell asleep! When I was awaken by the anaesthetist it was all over and I was in recovery room. I think an hour later than the minor discomfort appear. But all in all, I think it was a good experience for me.

Maplebabies,
Ask DH to drink plenty of fluids and orange juice! My DH hated medicine when he's ill and he swears by drinking gallons of water is the best solution for all this common ailment!

Ximi,
If it were me, I'd tell MIL so that she would know not to stress me up at this critical months! ;o) But then again, I have a different outlook on IVF. I told everyone that I am going thru IVF. Family wise, they would be more empathetic and supportive towards me. At work, everyday at least 1 person would say "jia you" to me. I thought that was sweet. There was an incident where I couldn't achieve a task and instead of being frustrated, I was about to cry! My hormones must be off the roof! My colleague who saw my change of face quickly stepped in and help me take over the task. With so much support from ppl around me, I don't understand why going thru IVF must be something secretive. But this is my experience. I guess I must be very lucky.

It is so weird that babyfairy's post disappeared. :eek:(

Thanks Lefthander

Good to hear that all went well. You must be resting now ya? Take good care ok!

Ok, i just nagged my hubby go take water. As usual, he whined away. Aiyo, i felt like i am mothering a 5year old kid, hehe.