Goodmorning,
I finally went for my 1st acu at AMK yest. Find the physician quite nice. However, when the current is running thru', my legs, stomach and back will twitched...especially my left leg. Felt abit weird and funny and asked my hubby to see. For the front part, it is not painful. However, i felt abit pain when one of the needle is poked at my back, hee prob because i got lesser flesh on my back. When the current went thru at my back, i find it abit strong and not relaxing. She mentioned tat she gave me a stronger current at the back as i seems to be able to take it when she did the front part. She will lower the current for the back next time. Despite all tat, i prob will continue to do acu, all for the sake of having better chance for pregnancy.

Petals_bloom,
Gd that you seems to enjoy yr acu experience. I will also continue to do twice a wk. Like u, supposed to do everyday before ER. Do you intend to continue to do after ER? Btw, did you show her any test results(eg. HSG, Hormone test) or just tell her verbally?

Read fr Raffles hospital newsletters tat "for women undergoing treatment with IVF, performing acupuncture immediately before and after the embryo transfer may result in a higher chance of pregnancy". Understand that quite a few of the ladies here actually stop after ER, therefore dun know whether is it really beneficial to do after ET or shd just rest? Anyone can advise? thanks.

Jade,
I did not know that actually can do half IVF and half ICSI. My hubby sperm has bad morphology. I also have failed IUIs but Dr Loh immediate response is ICSI.

hi Nano,

Yes Dr Loh said can do 50% IVF and 50% ICSI. He said I should not just do IVF since there is a risk of the eggs not being fertilised by the sperm. So he said injecting half the eggs with sperm using ICSI at least is a safer bet. But I guess it also depends on the number of eggs harvested. Imagine if I only have 8 eggs or something, then I would think he might just do all ICSI - given that there are so few eggs and each is so precious and you don't want to run the risk of not having any fertilized embryos.

mika,
i know 2ww is really very tedious waiting...time seems to pass very slowly. Use this chance to catch up on all your tv and books. Tell ur embies to guai guai stay in ur tummy.

jadedmom,
oh, so you'll be postponing ur treatment till later...good idea to tiao ur body first. For all you know, maybe next 2 mths u may naturally strike leh? Hee hee...

babylow,
All the best for your scope. Hope everything goes smoothly!

weiwei,
So exciting, u can hear your babies' heartbeats tmrw. Do remember to tell us all about it!

lefty,
I think the bird's nest is more for babies' complexion. So more effective if taken during last few mths of pregnancy. Also, not sure if it's considered cooling, so better not to take before then. Maybe you can stop taking the birds nest and save it for later when preggy (some say 3rd trimester, some say 5th/6th mth onwards).

Hi Jade,
Ya it make sense that half IVF, half ICSI is better for those with more eggs. But just wondering when you sign for the consent form, do they indicate half IVF or half ICSI? or this it up to their discretionary to do that if we have alot of eggs?..jus curious

nano,
I just told her my medical history verbally, then she started on the acu. i think must be std type of acu for ivf. Cos she didn't feel my pulse until I was lying down and even then didn't say anything abt my condition, whether i have any other problems or not. She just started the acu. Then told me to go back in a few days time for next session. You went for urs already? How you find it?

Mulberry
I am so sorry to hear about your case. Failure at any stage is always disappointing and sad...no matter what anyone say. So do let out your frustrations...but pick yourself up quickly and prepare yourself for the next round. Never say die... ^^

When I met Dr Loh after my failed IVF, he was very nice. He comforted me by saying that sometimes the embryos don't stay because they may not be good...even if the fertilised embryo looks good. It's nature's way of aborting something that's faulty. He said there were a couple of cases when they checked and found that there were chromosomes missing so the baby will not be normal. So think of it this way...maybe this time round, it was for the better. The next time it will succeed.

For KK, I remember Dr Loh telling me that if there's below a certain number of eggs (I think 10 and below), they will do ICSI, cannot just wait for IVF.

For accu in AMK-
Blk 505 AMK Ave 8
#01-2670
T: 6456 0833

The lady is very nice.

Mika
Good luck. I really hope you strike.

I don't have work problem but personally, I think it's not the company to dictate when you can do this. If this was a major surgery, can they ask you to postphone? Whatever you girls decide- whether to tell or not..make a decision and don't get stress by it anymore. We need to be in prime and relax condition for this whole thing. Don't need additional pressure from work. ^^

Wei Wei- good to know that you are doing well.

Mulberry,
Is sad, but you have to be strong. Let the failure go. 'tiao' you body for now and when you are prepared, than try agian. Who knows in the process, miracle may happen. Just like me now, there is nothing i can do now till Sept, so, for now, can only hope for miracle to happen.

Jaslyn,
Glad to hear from you again. How r u now?

Jessie,
Congras for your positive results. So long as the HCG double every 2 days, you are still on the way for a viable pregnancy. Stay positive and rest more.

Pupi,
Not sure of any acu at Jurong West. But maybe you can try the one at Mei Ling Str. Is walking distance from Queestown MRT Station. She does acu and at the same time TCM. She will prescribe medicine according to the day of your month.

Petals,
Reg the acu she also asked me a few questions on med history and explained the benefit of acu. Same thing, only feel my pulse when i doing acu. Ya went mine on Sun, overall ok except a bit discomfort when doing back part..u can read my earlier posting.

Hi Baby low and Maples,
the most important is to know what is our life objectives. My first priority is to have a baby. I think even I have lots of money but i won't be happy. Money cannot help me to have more babies. Therefore I won't tell my boss if i doing IVF. if he find out and make noises, i can give up my job. I think everyone can find a job easily if you dont care about the pay. Just think is which one is more important, career or baby?

hi Nano,

The strange thing is this Dr Loh did tell me half IVF and half ICSI but on the form he circled ICSI. I asked him abt it and he said he will know what to do then. I didn't probe further.

U going for ICSI?

Hi Jade,
I will be doing ICSI also. I remembered he circled ICSI on my form also. Since he told you that he will know what to do then, then maybe we just trust him.

Hi JR. have you done accu b4?is it painful? how much is the per session?i think i will not go for TCM. i will only do accu to make my body strong. can accu do for IUI also? next 3 months i am trying for IUI. is my right overy dont ovulate then i will go for IVF.

Hi PL,

I have forgotten to ask the nurse how many days of HL will be given and when it start. They also have not inform me when my ET will be.

My guess is that ET will be on Sat?

Are you making the same assumption such that u will take leave on thurs & Fri then start the HL on Sat?

Orangedots,
I assume KK will issue HL from next monday to next fri, therefore i intend to take leaves on thurs and fri. i think we can ask KK to change the date of the HL however the total no of Hospital Leaves still remains as five days.

Hi Orangedots,
I just called KKIVF, the nurse said they will give us 14 days HL if we request. if not, we will be given 5 days only. so, I'll only apply 3 days annual leaves after HL.

PL,

I see, so we need not waste Sat & Sun on the leave...

Do you think we have to take leave on Fri after ER? Would we be well enough to work?

HI PL,

How are you feeling this 1- 2 days. I have been feeling very bloated since Sat. sometimes like there is a lot of air but cannot come out...

i wonder if this is due to antibiotics we are eating now or many eggs inside us now....

Orangedots,
better don't go to work. we need to rest so that our eggs will be implant. one day salary is unable to cover our per cycle cost leh.

orangedots,
I did not take antibiotics. i felt bloated too and I blur at least 3 times per day. May be because of the no. of follicles. you know i asked my hubby to store his sperm today. he felt so nervous this morning and cannot produce. Nurse asked him to go back and try again at home. do your hubby store his sperms?

orangedots,
when they gave u the antibiotics? what colour? they gave me the green colour pills, they said we need to consume after ER.

Hi pupi,
I am doing acu now. Not painful, just like ants bit when the needle poke thru, but after a while okie liao. I am doing it in preparation for my next cycle in Sept.

She charge $25 per session. Let her know that you are going to do IUI than she will know which part to poke...btw, she wants her patient to do BBT and she also do checking of the mucus to see if you ovulate.

After 17days(included today) of kan chong & worries about the result, just called to ask for my preg bld test this morning- i got +ve result finally!

Hi Babylow,
Good to hear that your body health has improved by TCM and your determination on acup. Keep it up and keep us posted.

Nano,
For your query on acup after ET, i have asked 2 sinseh include the AMK Dr Zou and they advised it is best to left untouch after ET as not to disturb the embryo.

For the ICSI, the consent form from GE only indicate that we have to agree "in the event that on the day of the ER, the sperm quality is considered by our embryologist to be inadequate for regular IVF, each egg will then be using ICSI to increase the chances of fertilization".

Maplebabies,
Glad that we are cycling on the same time. I'm on D3 Gonal F and my ER likely to be on the 25th or 26th this mth. So excited, at least got sis that can share and expecially on the 2ww..... heard that it is the most diff part of ivf! I also dont have much side effect leh..... only tempremental and let out quite alot of "gas", initially also thought that the drug not working on me then i check with my acupunturist and she said that most ppl dont have very much bad side effect..... phew! at least now you also have the same feeling as me. By the way, what dosage are you on, i'm having 300iu.

Hi SC,

Congratualtion and welcome back!!! Please take care and sprinkle some baby dust over..... hehehe, getting excited too as my ER will be next week. Please take good care of yourself and have a smooth 9 mths!!!

Hi PL,

Not soo much about the pay. Thought we only have 5 days HL so must ration my leave mah...

Oh u didn't eat the antibiotics? Tot it is compulsory, the green color tablet. The pharmist say it is to clear all virus in our system. My hubby also have to take.

Why must he store the sperms today? Recommended by the nurse? So whst do they do? Freeze it for use on Thurs? I think it is difficult to do it at KK. So my hubby will be releasing at home then bring there.

Hi Organedots and PL,

Hope you gals are o.k. Which day of Gonal F or puregon are you on??? I'm on my D3 today but still did not feel any bloatedness leh..... or is it too early to feel that? Weiwei did mentioned to drink more water and eat 2 half boil eggs everyday to ease the bloatedness.....

Hi Orangedots,
if you talking about the green tablet. this is Doxycycline. i think these are not for you to eat now! i called KKIVF they said that we should start to eat these on ER date. But Hubby should start at D2 of our puregon for the Doxycycline.

regarding my hubby, he is very Kanchong type. I worried he may have problem during the date of my ER. so, i asked him to store it now. Nurse said if hubby is always Kanchong, it is better to store it earlier. if not, our whole process will be wasted.

Hi Theresa,
i only felt bloated after the D8 scan.

Hi SC,
congratulation. hope will be our turns soon. what is your HCG?

Hi Orangedots,
You can request to have 14 days HL from KKH. I will request during the ER date. it is very easy to get.

Hi PL,
You are right, get your hubby to freeze the sperm first..... my DH did that last mth as doc advise that some hubby may not be able to "perform" on that day. If hubby can produce fresh that day then use them if not then use the freeze one. I think ask your hubby to do it at home then send to hospital before 1 hr or else alot of the "soliders" cannot make it also..... that happen to my DH when we are doing fertility check-up so now i make him do in the hospital.

Theresa,
For acu, initially did you also do it twice a week and then everyday 1 week before yr ER? At which point of time did you stop?..is it after you did yr ER? Thks for yr info, think i will take note not do after ET.

Theresa, PL,

Thks! hope all of you can stike too! Jia you!
My HCG is 350, according to the nurse, it is very good, dun know what she mean. may be tmr go back to take the medicine then ask the nurse.

Hi PL,

Oops doesn't seems to get timing right for the green tablet. My husband ate it too early too.:p

Just called KKIVF and they say I can stop now and continue on my ER date. They also okie with 14 days HL.

Hi SC,

Congratualtion !! how many embryos did u transferred? Didi U do accupunture prior to ET? Please take good care of yourself and have a smooth 9 mths.

PL,orangedot,chevall
dr loh suggeted to transferred 3 embroys, so just follow what he recommended. i didn't have any TCM treatment nor accupunture prior to ET. but did regular exercise at GYM prior to ER. During 2ww, drink more water, eat half boiled eggs daily as what weiwei did (but only eat 2), may be all it helps.

SC: a big congrats 2 u! 2 more weeks will b my turn..so scary..

ladies..i think d bloatness can only b felt ard day 6 onwards..i only feel dat starting on day 6
worst when i had my last injection which is day 11..now after ER n ET i had cramp as wei wei.ask d nurse it due 2 our ovary being swollen wif so many eggs.

now my both legs don't seem 2 b mine. injection site all swollen.now walking is agony everytime d muscle stretch..

orangedots: hmm..didn't d nurse instruct u when u get d antibiotics? my even write down 4 me..now still taking wif additional antibiotics 4 my heart condition after ET

Hi Mika,

Hmm, maybe partly my fault too. Nurse didn't say when to take and i assume it is start ASAP lor. But she did acknowldege that i have got the medicine when i show her all the stuff i have bought (including puregon). i tot if later eat, she will say wan mah, and hubby eat during our puregon so i assume lor....

Think they are very busy on Sat so somethings miss out. Realized that we have to be alert to ask them qns, otherwise if missed out things also don't know. like my case, they didnt tell me how many days of HL until i ask today.

Hi Nano,
I started acup twice a week, still doing the same now and will start doing it everyday from this friday onwards cause my ER is likely on 25th this mth. Will need to do 1 more time after ER and before ET (let say your ER is today and ET on Wed, doing 1 more time on Tue) and that's all.

Mika,
Take care and hear your good news soon...... remember to relax and rest more at this time, try not to walk too much. Are you also on TCM and acup for this ivf? Very soon it will be my turn for 2ww...... hope i can handle it well.

orangedots: d injection is same as pregnyl not painful but more uncomfortable than lucrin as it imbut dunno y 4 progesterone my 2nd injection onwards start 2 swollen at d injection site. i din ask 4 buttocks though i sign d consent.worry they may injure my nerve there.

theresa: thanks 4 ur encouragement..i got go 4 tcm but no accu. was on ginseng cordyceps pills n folic acid since last yr..starting this yr i start on black chicken essence wif dome weekly. build up my body b4 my phy said i ready 4 ivf..oso went 4 yoga 2
..hubby oso got take chinese pills n chicken essence 2 his sperm strong