Wei wei,
mmm... the cost is half of the cost from private hospitals... how do you find kkh? so far in our thread i heard good stuff about kkh but not from other threads...

sunflower,
my hubby did all the jabs for me when I was doing SO-IUI... he did great job...

babylow
There are packages in KK that you can for the lap. Mine was supposed to be about $2k+ but got alittle more exepnsive in the end as my surgery took longer than expected. You can enquire at KK. You can't deduct from medisave but luckily mine was covered under insurance as fibroids/cysts are considered as medical condition.

sunflower..
The jabs for lucrin/ puregon aren't that bad, once you get used to it, after the initial stages. Just do it quickly and don't hsitate or it will be worse (pyschologically).

I've now got a big bruise on one side of my butt from the progesterone jabs. By the end of this session, my butt will be really sore. Sigh...

Just go for scan this morning, i'm in my 10th day puregon, need to go back for another scaning tomorrow B4 ER then 2days later ET. Any one took less than once week leave for the 2ww ? I'm planning to take 1 week off (included MCs), any advice ?

Sunflower,

The jab dun hurt that bad. In fact, I am so numb to it that I can even laugh when my husband do the jab for me. However, that makes him sort of nervous as my tummy was moving in the midst of the jab. haha

Like what JR said, just apply direct pressure on the spot of the injection using the alcohol swipe, then you won't get any bruise. It works for me.

Weiwei and Deasy,
Where can I go to see the growth of the embryo?

Thanks for the advice.

Personally, I feel that the jabs are getting worse, there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel. I'm on Day 19 of lucrin, should be starting puregon soon... ... more jabs... sigh.

Btw, what's your puregon dosage ? Mine is 150 units, I hope the low dosage doesn't mean I'll have more jabs.

Oh yes, forgot to ask you all this.

After 7 days of puregon, we are to go for the scan.

How do you collect more puregon if you need it ? Will the scan results be known immediately so that we can buy more puregon if necessary ?

I'm only going to have a 600 & 300 units bottle, definitely can't last for > 7 days.

sunflower

You will be advise if you need more jabs at the end of the scan and if so how many more. The doctor will advise you and give you the form. Same as the 1st time, just go to the pharmacy and collect the medicine.

Remain positive. I know it's hard coz sometimes I also feel it's like an endless cycle of jabs and probing. But as far as possible...don't get depressed thinking about it. Keep positibe..you want to produce good eggs for the EC later on. ^^

mulberry, here u go

http://yourembryo.blogspot.com/

babylow

i find kkh quite ok. i only get contact with e ivf center, i mean kkivf s not bad. Dr Loh s veri patient to us n wil answer all e Qs tat i ask. i had faith in him since e 1st time we saw him.he really gav us confidence to carry on. e ivf center also quite nice, e nurses r friendly. but as a government hospital, kkh wil b more busy than any of e private hospitals. we dun hav much $$ to spend on as dun knw how many cycles wil we go through in e future. so, got to b careful with spending. of coz if we strike this time, must save for e BB/BBs as well.
wat do u think of kkh?

THERESA

which chinese doc u go to? can give me the contact? i had just failed my 1st cycle of IVF , very sad though doc tot the chances are high as the grade of the embryos were good grades. better see a chinese doc to tiao my body...

If you have SCV, there is an interesting program this thurs and friday, talking about how the babies develop from foetus.

National Geographic Channel

In The Womb: Twins, Triplets & Quads Ep 1
Thurs, 28 June 07, 09:00 PM - 10:00 PM

In The Womb: Twins, Triplets & Quads Ep 2
Friday, 29 June 07 09:00 PM - 10:00 PM

wei,

icalled up for my result but the nurse said normally they will try not to let us know the result coz will make us worried.. SHe even said of the doc thinks that is not ok then they will call me. So i do not have the results... angry!! But i think should be low or else why they dun dare to let me know??? I managed to get my first HCG reading think is abt 73.9 and this round she just told me 100+...sign.. i was wondering i paid for the bld test but can't they give me my result?? Do you're have the same experience?

These days my appetite is good.. but always back-pain esp today sitting the whole day..

Babylow, the nurse told me that i'm 4 week pregnant.

Dear Weiwei,
I have no comments about kkh because i have never been there to seek treatment. I am thinking of going to kkh for ivf after i've done my scope at my gynae. I agree with you about the saving money. How long is the average waiting time? How is the environment there? Will I be put on long wait-list? Next month, I will go for my scope... Very anxious...

Jaslyn,
When i did my IUI, my progestrone reading was high about 200+++ but when I did hcg, my reading dropped. I think most importantly, your embryo must be stable... Rest alot...

jaslyn

dun get angry with them. if u really want to knw e result, u can tell them, by hiding away e result, they hav made u more anxious. or u can ask hubby to take care of this matter. it's not good for u to get agitated at this time, my dear! get ur hubby to cal them n talk to them, dun handle everything by urself. when i called kkh, normally they would just say is it normal or not normal. but i insisted to hav e detail result, e nurse then told me e results. however, i want e printed result also, but always forgot to ask. dun knw whether they wil giv or nt.

dun get urself too stress up. the 100+ maybe 180,190...... tat means a good sign mah, it double up! calm down, let ur hubby handle e result thing. ur duty s to rest, rest, n rest!! r u on mc now? dun think abt e work as this's e crucial time for u n ur BB.

u should nt b sitting e whole day, dear! go back to bed n minimise ur movement. ur BB s nt so stable yet. stick ur bumbum to bed n talk to ur BB to b strong,ok? BB wil get more upset if mummy s angry.

babylow

i dun knw abt e susidised pt waiting time for e appt. i called their appt center booked appt myself, so they charge me as private pt. long waiting list? u meant e waiting list for ivf? tat part hav to check with e ivf staff as they hav e schedule nt Dr Loh. but if u want to do it early, u must tel them ur reason n urgency. at least 1-2 mth waiting, to prepare ur documents, bld test, counselling...... oh yes, remember to ask a printed detail report frm ur gyn after e scope, n especially all bld test result, scan pic & result. tat wil help a lot when u see Dr Loh.

Weiwei,
my experience with pte gynae is very chop chop fast! but they cost me a bomb.

jaslyn,
you are in crucial trimester and you must take care, hoh... don't be stressed out by the result slip. you are entitled to it. i went to my former gynae to get report on my uterus/womb condition and chop chop she gave me and even wanted to call my new gynae to explain further... so nice of her!

Hi Jaslyn,

Same problem. When I did my first 2 cycle with prof chen in GE, I could not get anything (I mean any of my results). But when I switch to KK, I am surprise that they are very open with their patients (afterall, we paid for it).They gave me my results in printed format. And with dr's report and comment typed... me so impressed.

100+ means hundred how many. If your first reading is 73.9, multiply by 2, your second results should be about 150. So, maybe 100+ means it hit that level.

Yes, is about there. 4 weeks is including the 2WW cos during ER, we considered ovulated.

Baby Low,

Personally, I like KKIVF especially during ER & ET. Having gone thru twice in Gleneagles, I feel that KKIVF gave me a less stress environment. In GE, the operating theatre belongs to the hospital, so it was very stressful while waiting for your turn during ER & ET. You hear other patients screaming, crying, drs & nurses running in and out of the waiting area....... aiyo...

However, KKIVF has their own facilities all within the centre. So is solely for IVF patients only. Nurses there are also very friendly and helpful. They are open from 7.30am and that is very helpful esp for those who are working and needed jabs in the morning. As to the queue, you will have to call them to check. For me, I only waited for one month. They ask me to call them on day 2 when my AF report the following month.

That's my view about KK and I will still stick with it.

Hi Chevall,
I've seen my chinese doc in HongKong as i'm staying there and i have just came back to do my IVF this mth. But i'm visiting this acupunturist now which is "LEE KIM LEONG ACUPUNTURE CENTRE NO. 34 LOR 23, GEYLANG, TEL 68426110".

I have heard that this chinese doc is very good at infertility which is "BAN CHOON CHAN MEDICAL
HALL, BLK 81, MARINE PARADE CENTRAL, #01-636, TEL 63446718. Both the acup and chinese doc queue is very long, approx. 3 hours wait....

Hi Helpme,
the cost of ivf at gleneagles is approx. 12~15K.

orangedots,
thanks for the show info, as i was wondering when they were going to show it.

jaslyn,
yeah, if u pay for the blood test, u shld be able to know the results. I don't see why they should keep it from you. For private doctors, they will usually give u a copy of all blood tests. For KKH, i called them and they said they'll give me a copy of my HSG results if I want. Think I'll collect it when I next go there. I like to keep a file of my own medical stuff.
Don't feel upset as it's your right to get a printed copy from them too.

Hi Helpme,

For me, my dosage for medication is high and long. I spent about 20k to 25K per cycle (no kidding!!). Generally, Prof Chen charges are higher than others. And his queue is fantastically long. The good thing is, he is open till late at night. Sometimes even past midnight. So, is good for working couples lor.

theresa

thanks for your recommendations.u doing ivf now?

need to know after a failed fresh cycle, when is the earliest i can start on the FET?

I called KKIVF centre to make enquiry. Nora mentioned Dr SF Loh. I believe most of you are under his care. What's your opinion about him? Did he personally do ER and ET for you? Have anyone here with Thomson Fertility Centre and Prof Chen at GE? What about other hospitals like NUH and SGH? Please share

Hi Baby Low,

I am doing my IVF at SGH. There were two other sisters here who did theirs SGH also. My experience with them is fine so far but I'm seeing a different doctor from theirs. I used to do IUI at a clinic in Thomson. The service is fairly ok but the charges are high. They have a tendency to sell me vitamins that are not really that essential.

Orange Dot,
Thanks for the show information. I was wondering when they will be screening it. They showed the ones on animals yesterday night and I watched it. Kinda cute. They showed Elephants, Dolphins and Dogs last night.

Weiwei,

Thanks for sharing the embryo website. That is so cute. haha I've bookmarked it so that I can visit it again next time.

Is anyone doing Lucrin jab now? Hmm...just went for my blood test today. If the surpression is successful, I should start on my Gonal-F soon.

baby low

FET = FROZEN EMBYO TRANSFER .The remaining fertilized embryo(s) from the fresh cycle which are freezed for storage are now thawed and transferred to the uterus in the same process as in a fresh IVF cycle. But the success rate is not as good as the fresh cycle. Feeling depressed for just that tot.

dear all

Dont know why just suddenly feeling down. think maybe I am too anxious to get pregnant. Yet, there is nothing that I can do now...haiz... is a long wait for my next AF. Now can't even decide to go for my acu or not...

chevall

dun get depressed. lower successful rate doesnt mean no successful rate. maybe e u r lucky in this cycle n strike!

JR

u can nt start acu til AF come? not too sure abt tat as i never on b4. but if, if i fail this cycle, planning to tiao my body with acu.

waiting time s always veri long n boring...... enjoy ur free time b4 starting on a new cycle. once u start, a lot of stress wil come. as long as we r willing to do our best, we r nt tat far to be pregnant. just e matter of time.

seow,
i understand how you feel abt waiting. My af late but i'm not preggy.
Hiaz...i just started taking the tablets to induce my af to come. Looks like my schedule pushed back by 3 weeks liao. Now also sick with flu...feel so pathetic...hee hee...

Hi Jaslyn,
Trying to catch up with the postings and only now then know tat you are preggie. Congrats to you and dun worry abt the results. It will turn out ok. I just went for another scan today and it seems only 4 mature ones are available to be retrieved. Thought that I would have more but seems not so.

Btw, did the nurse explain to you that HCG injection will be painful? She told me that it will be painful.. any ladies experience the same?

Hi Weiwei,
How are you getting by? Your testing date is getting nearer. Good luck to you!
Btw, when you doing ER, do you feel painful after the procedure? I'm allegic to panadol hence I can't take any painkiller so wondering how can I cope with the pain?

hihi petals

take this time to recover and fortify yourself with Vit C.

hmm who else is cycling in July har?

hey cancerian,

are you also with KKH IVF..how do you rate their service so far? there are many other painkillers besides pandal, such as tramadol, diconfenlac, naxproxen etc. just ask the doctor for alternatives.

cancerian

yes, e hcg jab s painful coz it's injected into ur muscle. hav to get use to it coz for my case, i hav to jab im progesterone for 17 days after ET. now my bumbum so sore n painful......

i din feel any pain during ER. after ER only felt bloatedness, not much pain also. din take any painkiller also. if u scared of pain, u can ask Dr for other painkiller. dun wori

Babymaking,

I'm cycling July. The Lucrin jab makes me feel warm all over. I get headaches and I feel tired and sleepy. Low energy. Jeez....feel like a human torch.

The long wait to get pregnant is depressing....

Hi Mulberry Pixie,

i am on lucrin now too and will be starting puregon on 5 jul. By that time, i will be on lucrin for 5 weeks already. never expected myself to be on lucrin for so long, thought that after 2-3 weeks can go to next stage already. Now i am a bit impatient and yet anxious about the next stage. Begin to feel a little different recently, not too sure if it is Lucrin's side effects... a bit of nauseas sometimes and tired easily.

Kind of worried about the HCG jabs too as heard it is also very painful. During my last blood test, the nurses need to poke 4 times before they can take my blood cos my veins are very small. Hiaz, i dun know what will happen if they really try very hard and still cant get the blood out... anyone know what to do to make veins more visible? i guess there will be more blood test as we proceed further.

We are already in the middle of the road. A positive mind will be very important. Let's think of the bright side and jia you together.

Hi babymaking,
I'm with SGH instead...
I make a switch from KKIVF to SGH after they told me that I have to wait for at least 6mths to get the IVF started. After consideration, I decided to switch to SGH.
U are starting in July?

Hi Weiwei,
Thanks for the info...geez.. gosh, then I must warn my hb cos later if I scream when he do the injection and got a shock of his life hahahah... y do u need to jab progesterone after ET? I have asked the nurse whether do I need to jab further, she said depends... hai! Btw, during the period when u abt to do ER, do u felt fainting, giddy or nauses? I'm not sure whether is it my tummy too bloated that cause this reaction.

Hi Pixie,
Tried not to be depressed..actually for myself, sometime can't help it just like tis evening...suddenly felt like breaking down cos dun know whether it will be successful or not and thoughts just run wild... luckily my mgr, colleagues and hb are supportive and keep telling me to stay positive.

Mulberry,
it is my D13 for Lucrin jab. will go for blood test tomorrow morning.
do i need to inject the lucrin b4 go for the blood test?

Baby Low
Dr Loh heads the IVF team in KK. Obviously he's always busy but he's friendly enough. And there's an email address should you have any queries (though I've never used it). The nurses are great. And yes, Dr Loh does the EC and ER personally.

Chevall...you never know..I've read some stories where they've gotten pregnant with FET. Never say never.

Cancerian..the HCG jab is rather painful but it's bearable. Your thigh will have muscle ache (those sort when you haven't excerise for a long time). The 17 HCG jabs done after ER can be done in the butt...where it's alot less painful.

Jaslyn..don't get angry...it won't do you or the babies any good. Take a deep breath...and relax...

I'm counting down the days too....

baby low

I have been trying to post this message since afternoon. But keep getting hang till now. i will be doing mine at NUH. I didnt compare the hospitals. what was my main concern is my comfort level with the hospital as i will be depending on them alot. So far experience with NUH is okay and the charges is reasonable.

all,

When u all mean cycling, does it mean the start of program with the jabs etc? i will be starting mine depend on my next AF.

cancerian

i had 19 eggs collected during ER, got higher risk for ohss. tat's y they giv me progesterone for 17 days. for pp who got less than 15 eggs, 3 times pregnyl injection s enough liao. i dun feel anything b4 ER, only felt my body veri warm. i think sgh dun practice giving progesterone jabs. so dun wori so much abt it.

orangedot

dun get depressed for e lucrin jabs. time wil pass veri fast when u start on puregon. b patient a bit more.

PL

yes, do not stop lucrin unless u r told to do so.

krmeow

did u had same date for ER as fond? how was ur D5 bld test?

I'm actually also on progesterone jab for 17 days though I had only 10 eggs. But it could be due to my age.

Wei Wei..yes, My ER was on the same day as fond. Blood test was ok...it's high but the nurse said it's prob due to the HCG jabs. We were actually worried if I might have to increase the dosage...which would mean other forms besides injection as I'm already on 100 units. Thanks goodness it was ok.

for those who are going to be given HCG jab,
my experience was there was no pain because the gave me on my butt. we have gone through so much till this stage and tell ourselves HCG jab is nothing man. this whole procedure has proved that we are strong beings. we are 'wei da' (sacrificial and brave) mama-to-be... after went through a few series of jabs and insertions, i felt myself quite brave in the sense brave to go through such painful (emotionally, physically and mentally) procedures just to want to enjoy motherhood. salute to all of u and cheer!

JR,
depression will only add on stressors in your body. embies likes to grow in a relax body. i know it is hard (i went through) but just try to think about embies snuggle nicely and grow properly in your womb. such a beautiful thing

others,
thanks for sharing
the info is really helpful for me to make wise decisions...

i will be going for my scopes (lap & hys) soon after my coming AF. kinda 'kan jiong' but i believe the scopes will go well. after than, i will recuperate (tiao my body) and next year i will go for ivf if nothing happen along the few months time. any advice for scopes?

weiwei,

i am really hoping to hear good news from you because one more good news will add on to my confidence to do ivf

jaslyn and deasy,
i can't wait to see your babies. singleton or multiple babies (twins or triplets)?