hi babymaking,
Thanks for the info, will check it out. I was thinking of travelling but worried that my af may come during that time when i'm away, cos I need to go for FSH test on D2. Will have to check with KKH how to arrange if need to induce af. Dunno if need to make appmt to see doc to get the meds/jab. Hope I have enuff time.

What's the microgyon for? Maybe u can check with your doc on the side-effects u are experiencing? Hope you feel better soon.

jasslyn, yeiiiiii, congrats congratss... was so worried bout u for a whole day yesterday... this morning so relieve liao... yeiiii.....
dont worry bout the low progstr, dont let ur spirit down, must keep jia you jia you until 9months, bb needs tht.

babymaking, what is AF?

Hi Jaslyn

What is your HCG level? It doesn't matter if it is too low now, what is important is that it should double every 2 days.

Just to share some experience with you. The last time when I was tested positive, my hcg level was also very low. I was ask to go back for blood test every 2 days. However, for my case, it did not double. And by week 6, it was way below the 'supposed' level. So, by week 8, Dr Loh says it is not progress well and the pregnancy got to be terminated. I went for a second opinion before deciding on a D&C.

Anyway, so long as your hcg double for the next 2 weeks. You should be fine. Dont worry too much now. Again, there is nothing that you can do now except taking the medication.

Sorry if I make you worry more but I just wanted to share with you what to expect.

Hi Jaslyn,
A big congratulation!!! Take care and all the best.

Babylow,
I was on chinese med since last year Oct and i just stop taking this mth as chinese doc advise that my body is in good condition to go through ivf..... you are not suppose to take any chinese med once you start your jab.

I have not start any Gonal F yet, i will be starting my 1st suppression jab on this cmg fri which is my CD21.

I learnded about acupunture through website and books and decided to give it a try as it increase the success rate by double for ivf... i had start acup only 1 week about and according to advise, acup 2x a week until embryo transfer than stop.... the area they poke is around our adobmen and sometime the ankle....

JR, so are you given any injection or medication? sorry 'm not sure about my HCG level... Do you still remember yours? I know is beyond our control.. but just can't stop worry...

jaslyn

dun knw wat to say to comfort u coz myself also having a lot of worries. i still hav cramp on n off, like menses cramp. really feel my chance s low
however, wil cont to take e jab everyday, n hope e embryos b stronger stay with me.

r u going for bld test again on monday or tmr? maybe ur hcg level wil double up in e next bld taking. remember to ask abt each time level for ur own reference. take ur meds n minimise movement as in 2ww, giv ur BB some time to stablise, u can do it.

wei, now the path is more difficult than 2WW.. Now i have the feeling is that i'm not really pregnant.. like half here and there.. Do you know what is the min bhcg level to test that u are preg? Today finally went out.. go to my school and to buy mobile phone for my MIL.. walk quite a lot but very slow.

Dun worry!! I think your chance is high.. u have 3 beautiful embies... When is your test date?

My bld test is every mon and thur.. Hmm.. i dun really like the meds to insert into vagina.. it seems that will flow out lei...

jaslyn

yes, now it's more difficult than 2ww. if u dun feel comfortable using e insert, maybe on monday u can ask e Dr change to injection form. think injection has better absorbtion n wil support ur BB better. it's olny painful on e injection site. but if e nurse's skill good, wil nt b so much pain. not to sure abt e level for hcg leh. sori cant help u with tat. but, to help ur BB settle down, dun walk so much liao until u get a better result,ok? now more crucial than 2ww......jiayou, jiayou!!!

thought of Dr's Loh's words b4 my ET again. he looked like more wori for triplets than none. maybe i should take his words n trust e embryos. but e cramp s really there, somehow a bit different frm menses cramp n stronger also. haiz.......i was just thinking maybe now e uterus s swell up, whenever my bladder full or time to go poo poo, other organ wil become bigger, tat's why they fight for e space. haiz...all my wild thoughts.........

my test wil b on 2/7, my last day of leave also. hopefully wil get a result as beautiful as e embryos.

Jaslyn,

When I was with Prof Chen for my SO-IUI I was also using Crinone inserts. Nurse advised me to lie down for 2 hours after insertion so as to ensure best absorption and to keep the medicine in. You might want to try that.

Hi Babymaking,

What is Microgyon? I experienced a rather bad headache when I started my Lucrin jab. My body got used to it after a while and the headache is not as bad as the first 3 days. I checked with the nurse and they assured me it is okay to take panadol to stop the pain.

wow lie down for 2 hrs... if currently i'm working how? I did ask the nurse.. they said just sit down for 5 mins.. normally i will rest for half an hour only...

jaslyn

is ur crinone once per day or twice per day? if once per day, u may want to change frm every morning to every night b4 sleep. if twice a day, then u may need to wake up earlier in e morning. my suggestion s u set extra alarm at 2hrs b4 ur usual time. after insert, go back to sleep for another 2hrs til ur usual wake up time. then u can go to work as per normal. of coz, if dun feel well, better stay at hm. BB s most important than any thing, right? hope u find it useful.

hi jaslyn,

Agreed with weiwei. When I was using Crinone inserts, I only need to insert once. Nurse advises me to do it before I sleep. So I have to clear my bladder, make sure I am clean, then I insert the crinone and go to sleep - to make sure the crinone stays up there and gets absorbed.

jaslyn

here's a chart that will be helpful

hCG levels during pregnancy
(in weeks sincelast menstrual period)
LMP - Last Mentural period

3 weeks LMP 5 - 50 mIU/ml
4 weeks LMP 5 - 426 mIU/ml
5 weeks LMP 18 - 7,340 mIU/ml
6 weeks LMP 1,080 - 56,500 mIU/ml
7 - 8 weeks LMP 7, 650 - 229,000 mIU/ml
9 - 12 weeks LMP 25,700 - 288,000 mIU/ml
13 - 16 weeks LMP 13,300 - 254,000 mIU/ml
17 - 24 weeks LMP 4,060 - 165,400 mIU/ml
25 - 40 weeks LMP 3,640 - 117,000 mIU/ml
non pregnant 55-200 ng/ml

like what JR says, as long as your HCG levels double every 2 days, it should be ok. for both my failed pregnancies, the first time, HCG didn't double, the second time, it doubles on some days and then fluactuates - hence i manage to diagnose myself that it's an ectopic and insisted the gyn checked it out. it turned out to be true.

during both pregnancies, had to go back to the doc every 2 days to jab progesterone as well as blood tests to test HCG and progesterone levels.

just a point to note, if you had HCG jabs during the IVF, then the above chart doesn't apply. HCG jabs will remain in the body 14 days.

hope the above info is useful.

i've been through what you are going through twice..and i know how tough it is right now. be positive, and keep your faith.

weiwei

your test date is one day before i start on my jabs. hope you will get good news. you have very good grades embroyos. hee maybe like what Dr Loh say, you will get triplets!

deasy
AF is aunt flow - hehe, you don;t have to worry about that for another 9 months or so :p

pixie,

thks for sharing yr expereince on lucrin..i am worried about it..as now even on microygon (birth control pills) to suppress hormones..i already have migraine, can't imagine how bad it will be when i start on lucrin.

for those who had gone through ivf and to some who had succeeded, please advise me if it is necessary to take one month unpaid leave. also, how many days did you all take from your leave? do you all rest alot during the procedure, like as if confinement? i gotta plan before going for ivf due to work commitments...

sisters, please advise...

jaslyn,
About the crinone insert, i used to use it twice a day and i would lie down for abt 1-2hrs. The meds will stay inside you to be absorbed before it flows out 1-2days later. So not to worry, it's common and expected. Even after I stopped using it, it only stopped flowing out 2 days later so i presumed that there's a 2-day lag.

weiwei,
my dr prescribed duphaston+folic acid for me also, like the one u said to petals tht if AF dont come, dr will prescibe duphaston, thts why I confuse whether I took wrong medicine or not.

jasslyn,
i'll have twice injections a week, mon and thurs also, same like u. hihi.. but i dont know if there is any blood test or not.

Wei, babymaking, petals, jade,

My crinone insert is 3 times a day.. For morning insert, i will wake up early 1 - 2 hrs earlier, as for the afternoon, no choice as i'm outside, lastly is the night time, that will be easy, just insert and sleep.

Babymaking,
Can i check with you by how many bld test then we will know that HCG is not double up?? That means during week 4, as long as HCG level above 5 is consider preg? I was wondering, is it everyone who are tested preg via IVF have to go for injection and blood test b4 the scanning?

Deasy, no injection for me but i have the progesterone insert instead. I was given the same medicine as you.. Duphaston + folic. Do you feel any different now?

Babylow,
I do not have any special pregnancy symptoms but only some cramps that's all.

babymaking

yes, hope i wil hav good news. now my mood keep on swing here swing there, one moment up, one moment down. actually, i dun mind triplets. hee hee...... veri greedy hor.

deasy

like wat i said to babymaking, my mood up n down. now think back for e past few days, i had too much movement tat's why sometimes got cramp. so frm yesterday, i dare nt to hav much movement n try to relax my tummy. it gets better now. how was ur bld result? u also need to hav injections? is it a common practice for everybody or just for u? like tat u can still go back so early meh? think u better stay a blt longer n wait for e embryos to stablise 1st. u got any plan?

babylow

hi, i think u wil need abt 2 wks leave frm date of ER. however, we need to go for frequent scanning b4 e ER to detect e best time, u may need to inform ur boss 1st tat u wil late for e morning for cetain days. no need to waste ur leave b4 ER. usually after ER Dr Loh wil giv 5 days HL. u can apply ur leave after e 5 days HL. i think most of us wil rest until e preg test date coz u need a lot of rest after ET.

jaslyn

wow, ur insert r quite frequent. or u want to ask them to change to injection form? tat s a irritation to ur vagina also leh. remember previously had one sis here got infection after e insert. b careful, dear.

wei

Will ask the nurse about the injection.. But seems SGH do not have injection lei.. actally injection is better than the insert.. I'm so worry about the tmr bld test, hopefully everything will be fine... For KKH the preg test is on which day after ET. For SGH is on the 14th day..

jaslyn,
i feel a little bit nausea since yesterday, food appetite not as good as previous but must eat oftenly.

weiwei,
i didnt know bout my blood result, i need injections twice a week, hubby thinks of staying for another month until bb stick strong. i dunno yet, home-sick oredi i think, and thinking of home-cooking meal, hihi.

jaslyn

kkh practice preg test on D17 post ET. maybe ur test s too early tat's why appear low. just dun think abt it, u cant do anything now except waiting.

deasy

poor gal!! actually i missed my mum's cooking also. but too bad she s @ oversea n cant come back now. wat to do, for our baby dream, hav to sacrifice our stomach lor. yes, i also think u should wait til u can see BB heart beat frm e scan. tat's abt week 8 i think.

deasy

duphaston is progesterone. at different time of the cycle, it is used for differetn purpose. if not pregnant, after completion of 5 day or 7 day or 14 day course, the sudden drop in progesterone will cause withdrawal bleeding which is AF.

when preggy, it serves to build up the lining and enhance the viability of the embroyo. some school of doctors believe that boosting the level of progesterone will help save a pregnancy, but i think KKH IVF view is that so long the level is sufficient, it is good enough.

jaslyn
if your doctor suggest 3x crinone..maybe you can ask them about progesterone jabs. cause intra muscular progesterone is absorbed better by the body.

HCG levels is very subjective, the min is 5, most pregnancy strips only show positive at 20. but for a pregnancy to be viable, the higher the score is better.

we did the bloodtests and jabs for 2-3 weeks before giving up. the level of hcg just wasn't doubling and in fact started dropping and fluactuating.

even those who conceive naturally will need bloodtests and jabs if there is spotting or the doc feel that the preganncy is not stable.

but what weiwei says is true, you will need a lot of rest,take MC or leave if you have to. try to minimise movement, allow the embroyo to attached stronger and keep the faith.

this is the last stretch...give it the best you can. don;t give up until you really don;t have a choice.

I am one of those who ganna infection when I used the crinone inserts. That is why I was quite relieved when Dr Loh told me KK IVF do not endorse the crinone inserts - when I brought this up to him.

Jade,
I was on crinone during the SO-IUI and I used crinone insert. I always washed myself before inserting and I changed my undies very frequently, few times a day... I am one of those who is prone to UTI but really thanks to god, I did not develop any then. I was very diligent ensuring my hygiene...

Deasy and Jaslyn,
Right now you are in how many weeks? Both of you have given me hope... Perhaps, in future could start with thread for mommies with IVF babies and share babies development... So cool...

Theresa,
I may go for acup... seeing my CP tonite and to get more advice...

Wei Wei,
I know this is not easy time for you. One thing I did wrongly during my SO-IUI was I was very anxious and thought that I should keep myself until I was exhausted physically and gotta a negative... How I wish I got such long leave like you all and perhaps I might get a positive...

Sisters,
How much you guys spent on lap and hys scopes? Insurance or Medisave cover?

babylow

ya, 2ww is much more difficult than e jabs i had b4. a lot of mental stress. now just try to beleive in Dr Loh's confidence n cont to wait wait n wait...... we all learn frm mistakes. i only rest for 1 days after my IUIs, n presume all activity on e next day. maybe i was wrong also. NVM, u can plan ur leave nicely this time. jiayou!!

oh, last time i use medisave for e scopes n lap. as long u r warded after e procedure, u can claim medisave.

weiwei,
are you all alone at home? i was talking to my hubby about being on leave after ET if i do ivf and i wish he could take leave to stay home with me until result out. none of my immediate family know about my plan. it is such an agony not to have anyone to talk to...

babylow

cant remember e detail no. but think was 2000+ including everything. i was under sgh,requested for B1 class ( 4 in a rm). but diff hospital got diff price, u can check with kkh business office for e estimated cost.

Hi Jaslyn,

My hcg level was 54 if i remembered correctly. For KKH, they want to see a level of at least 250 before is consider stable.

Mine too did double for a start and than it fluctuates like babymaking. Dr Loh suspected ectopic. But when I seek a second opinion from gynae, he said the HCG was too low to be ectopic. I was having lots of fibroids too. He suggested a D&C and at the same time to remove all the fibroids. At the end of the day, it was not ectopic. The embyro just wont grow properly due to the fibroids. I have 11 of them.

I was not given any medication or injection during that time. Just return for blood test every 2 days. According to Dr Loh, we should not rely on medication. A health pregnancy should produce enough HCG to support. Else, the chances of miscarrige is high. (I mean at least for me during that time)

Dont worry too much now. For you case is only day 14. Maybe is still early. Suggest you ask for you HCG level record from the nurses so that you can monitor yourself. In the worst scenario, you should seek help from gynae outside.

Hi Baby Low,

Like you, non of my immediate family knows what we are doing. Even when I had did my op, no one knows too. Dont worry so much, you can also talk to us here.

Wah, you want your husband to take 2 weeks of leave. Like very long hor. I think if you get pregnant, you may need your husband more. So, why not save the leave... sorry to kpo, just my thoughts.

JR,
He has lovingly volunteers to do so. Initially I wanted a temp-helper to help me with my 4-year-old boy... I just have to plan accordingly so that at the end of the day, we are not drained financially... I have lots of plans pre and post IVF... Like doing scopes then on mc and then go to chinese physician and acup and then applied for leave for IVF... I just want to do it comfortably... Also, I don't wish to be drained out financially... Wow, so much to do!

JR, please do not use kpo on yourself... you are just sharing your thoughts and that is nice of you
that is why i am still here and love to be here...

jia you...

Halo,
Just to check, do you take utrogestan/progestan? I took that during SO-IUI and the effect was great on me... like about one two hours or so, i will have fainting spell...

babylow

ya, agree with JR tat better keep hubby's leave coz during pregnancy, if,if anything, we can take mc, they cant, they hav to take leave. for me, hubby only took leave on ER & ET date. i told my mum abt e treatment but she s nt in s'pore. some of my veri closed friend also knw abt it, i need their support n understanding especially in work. during e ivf treatment n furture pregnancy, i wil need a lot of help frm them n i may take mc now n then. i need them to understand my situation so tat they can help me to reduce e workload n stress. lucky they r all very nice n gav me e full support. so i was alone at hm for e past 11days. hubby only with me during e weekends or after work. tat's why sometimes i felt depressed coz too boring to be alone. but now i used to it liao, also more sleepy than previous days. now i just eat, sleep, eat, sleep......

babylow
mine is already 20 days.

weiwei,
do you still check on ur embrio's growing everyday from the website?

i think i will have fever soon, got body-ache since saturday, my eyes getting warmer, and this morning i got sore-throat, just took lots and lots of water to ease the sore-throat, no medication, afraid to take medicine. but will go to hospital soon for my pregnyl jab, later will ask the prof to write a prescription for me.

deasy

yes, i've been checking on e website everyday. it's nice to see e daily progress of embryos. kind of reassurance.

ur jab s today, right? better check with e Dr for early treatment. think panadol should b ok.

Deasy,
Which website I can go to view embrio's growth? btw, some people develop high body temperature during their initial pregnancy. it alikes fever... let your doctor know so that he can prescribe something safe for you...

Weiwei,
you mean feel exhaustion has set in? it may be a good sign. check with you, how do you take care of your lunch since you are at home alone in day time...?

babylow

dun knw wat s e cause, just feel giddy n sleepy these 2 days. but my appetite improve a lot, sometimes i can eat more than hubby eat. hee hee.... maybe tat's e effect of progesterone la. of coz i hope it's e good sign tat i want.

for today, i went out for lunch, just abt 5 mins walk. but normally hubby wil cook extra in e night n keep in e fridge for me. i just need to warm up e food in e next day. no need to wash e dishes also, hee hee. hubby wil do all. i just eat, sleep, watch tv. like a pig......

e cost s abt 6-8k. depends on e amount n dose of ur meds (puregon especially). but they wil help to claim medisave once u hav done ur ER & ET.

Hi sunflower,

I heard that it will make the area worst if you use ice to numb it first. The nurse told me just use a cotton butt to press on it after you inject. She said guarantee no blue black. I tried and it seems to work for me so far.