Mei2, the ivf journey is not easy. As you are in it now, it is best to rest your mind and body for ET on Thurs or Fri. Therefore, I suggest you rest on Wed before ET. This is my 2 cents worth.

Astaris, no leh. The lab did not call me. Maybe I will call them later. Will the clinic call you today what time to report for ET tomorrow and at the same time update you about the culturing. I think all your embryos are of best quality else the lab will not take risk to do blastocyst for all. Frankly, so far, you are the first case I read that all the embroyos go for blastocyst....

SSS, ok noted
will talk to my boss later
ya its really not easy and when I see the bottle with 1/2 full with needles.. plus the bruises on my tummy.. btw its ok to eat pineapple hor?

Mei2, ya lor... so many holes on the tummy... so better do our ultimate best for this!

I think the western forums said pineapple is good... but in local context, pineapple is to induce af... so contradicting!

The last time I saw the tcm at tmc, the physician told me that we are asian and our body is geared to "warm" and as such it is not adviseable to follow westerner diet. hmmm... it is a penny for thought right? So, you decide. Maybe got to find out what is inside pineapple that make it so special to eat for ivf lor...

I think I prefer durian....hahahaha...

Mei2 - The more eggs you retrieve, the more painful it will be.

A needle is attached to an internal ultrasound probe, which is inserted into the vagina. The doctor uses the ultrasound to see the ovaries and locate the ovarian follicles. The needle punctures each follicle, and a gentle suction is applied to remove the egg and fluid within the follicle.

After the anesthesia wears off, you will feel cramping similar to menstrual cramping.

Although the pain is bearable after the procedure but definitely unfit for work. You should rest that day.

Using Pineapple to Assist Implantation: Pineapple contains bromelain. Bromelain is a proteolytic enzyme that breaks up proteins that inhibit embryo implantation. Consuming a whole pineapple (focusing on the core as it has the highest concentration of Bromelain) during a fertility cycle can be beneficial.

For IVF [in vitro fertilization] cycle: one pineapple, divided into 5 portions - consume one portion each day, over five days, beginning on the day of your embryo transfer.

Brazil nuts also help with implantation and thicken the uterus lining.

I started both 2 days before my ET and had it for 7 days.

Good luck to all the ladies!!!

mei2, I will not take pineapple during 2ww if I were u, play safe as we already spent so much $$ and effort. me too, I had a box full of used needles too... as for the holes I can't tell which is from ivf / acupuncture

astaris, indeed you are the first wan I heard all go into blastocyst. u have 12/13 embryos rite??

Lab juz called, sad.. thaw 3 only 2 survive
1 did not make it the moment they start to thaw. Hopefully it will grow well for tmr ET.

Let's jy jy!!! fighting....

SSS, I love durians too! ^5 wahaha

Jasmine, thanks! ER will be resting
will start munching brazil nuts from tmr hee

lynhope, ya brazil nuts helps as it has the selenium that we need for implantation.. and good luck for ur ET tmr!! they will grow grow grow

Lisa, all govt/restructured hospitals allows Govt co-funding for IVF treatments. There's no restriction to which doc under these hospitals for qualification of the co-funding.

I also have a retroverted uterus, it just means she's slanted towards the spine instead of being perfectly upright. The only challenge is that you need to drink lots of water to bloat up the bladder for ET to bring her into a more upright position, and the doc may need to negotiate some bends to reach the sweet spot for planting of the embryos. Other than that, no big issue for retroverted uterus. She's just as healthy as an upright one.

Lynhope - thats what i got from the forum. :p

For the first IVF I have done and succeed in 2004. I did eat pineapple as well as they said it aid implantation.

Then, on the 2nd - 4th failed attempts, I didn't eat pineapple as I was coughing during my Embryo Transfer.

During my recent 5th attempt, I resume eating pineapple(with core) after my ET and add on brazil nuts daily and I got a BFP.

Ya, I know the chinese physician will say Pineapple is cold. And I tried to search for another replacement that contain bromelain but failed. Thus I just eat one to 2 piece pineapple (with core) daily for 7 days.

1. Myth: Eating a pineapple in the form of fresh fruit or juice drinks, can cause miscarriage.

Fact: To date there are no data or scientific studies that prove the content of compounds in pineapple fruit can cause miscarriage. One of the compounds contained in pineapple is bromelain. These compounds can soften the meat. Perhaps the content of this compound which is feared may soften the uterine wall so that the fetus is at risk regardless and there was a miscarriage. Actual content of the compound bromelain in pineapple is very small so it will not directly result in miscarriage. But you should limit consumption of pineapple during pregnancy.

Pineapple

Pineapple contains the protease enzyme bromelain-- which is chemically similar to papain in papaya. Because of this, it's likely that pineapple could exert an abortifacient effect similar to that associated with papaya. If you are pregnant, do not eat pineapple in excessive quantities, especially during the earliest stages. Also consider minimizing your use of meat tenderizer, which is made from the protein-digesting enzymes found in pineapple and papya. The National Institutes of Health explicitly urges pregnant women to avoid supplements containing isolated pineapple enzyme.

Labor and Miscarriage
According to Drugs.com, fresh pineapple contains a compound called bromelian, which has been known to stimulate and thin the cervix, leading to early labor or miscarriage. Historically, pineapple has been used during early pregnancy to cause miscarriage or stimulate birth; however, there is no adequate research linking the consumption of pineapple juice to miscarriage or accidental birth. Bromelian is present only in fresh pineapple and destroyed when the fruit is juiced or canned.

--------------------

CONCLUSION

Limit the consumption of pineapple during pregnancy.

I just limit myself to one big piece or 2 small piece during the 7 days. After that, I stop eating it..

What to do??? It has the most important compound called Bromelain that aid implantation which we need it after ET. :p

Jasmine, what symptom did you have during the first week of the 2ww during your first pregnancy and the recent one? Do you have any symptom during this week when you were taking pineapple.

Also did doc prescribe you any blood thinning pill (cannot remember the name now) for your 2ww?

SSS- you found the supplement on Bromelain! but I dare not eat leh cos I don't know what other ingredients it contains.... I still prefer fresh pineapple (core) which most of the ivfer.

You try googling the fertility forum or search implantation aid for IVF. You can see quite a number of ppl recommending it.

Ask gynea or sensei sometimes waste of time but you can try lah. Most of the time, they won't assure you anything cos they do not want to bear responsibilities. :p

humm.. my lining is already 13mm last fri, if brazil nuts will increase lining like red bean soup, should I stop taking brazil nut??

SSS- I only remember I feel very bloated during my first pregnancy and I drank quite a bit of 100plus. it was 8 years ago.. so I can't remember other symptoms. lol

As for the this recent BFP, I have night sweats on the 2-3 days past blastocycst Transfer. Felt very bloated and crampy most of the time. As usual, bloatness and sore boobs might caused by the hormones med.

But everyone symptoms are different. Don't be too stress up with that. ya.. its easy said than done..hehehe

I wasn't ask to bed rest at all because Dr Sadhana said it will make me more nervous and stressful. So the nurse just said no swimming, hot bath and strenuous exercise. I just rest as much as I can during the first 3 days and I started mopping the floor and cooking after 5 days pass transfer. Seriously, it help the time to pass faster. =.='

Now after the 2ww, its another waiting game. My first ultrasound will be on 28 May to check on how many sac and probably to detect heartbeat which means another 20 days to go. To make it worse, my sore boobs and bloatness and tight tummy disappear today. So I can't help but started to worry/stress again...lol

SSS, doc said that this option will be offered to first time Ivf patients, below age 35 with more than 10 embryos. DH and I chose all blastocyst because my OHSS was still quite bad during D2 and I felt that physically I'm not ready for ET. On hind sight, we also blur blur agree because we didn't know can opt to freeze some D2! Oh well, fate have been sealed so can only pray that I will at least have 1
by the way is blood thinning pill is call baby aspirin? I read somewhere it prevents blod clot.

LynHope, I've got 13 embryos. Your 2 that survive are strong and confirm good quality so stay happy! If I can do ET tmr, we will start our 2ww together.

Jasmine: so the pineapple can only take after ER and up to 8 days post ET (for D2 transfer)? Once inplanted cannot eat correct?

Jasmine, I didn't know that that link is a bromelain supplement. hahaha... you are right... better take the real fruit. If the bromelain enzyme is found on the core of the pineapple, then why don't we eat just the core? What pineapple do you eat? malaysia? thai?

Ivf is a difficult journey for us... every stage we have to worry. 28 May is still 2 wks to come. There is no other way but to still zen. Are you still on progestron support now?

How did you cut the whole pineapple to 4 potion? it will be quite a big portion!

Jasmine, did you do all blastocyst for your embryos? How many blastocyst embryos did you transfer?

Although this is my first time, I can imagine that the actual stress is after BFP till holding the baby in your arms. If you are worried, why don't go down clinic to see doc. Maybe you need more support?

astaris, totally agree with u! phobia starts the moment BFP haa.. and I will change back to my own gynae and request for additional support once +ve in BT

astaris - yup. I tried to take the pineapple till the implantation period end. I checked the implantation start and end date using IVF calculator at http://www.ivf.ca/duedate.php

I retreived 20 eggs so Dr Sadhana decided to cultivate it into blastocycst stage. 2 blastocyst was transferred into my uterus and only managed to freeze the remaining 2 blastocyst.

If I am not wrong, the nurse or doctor won't entertain us loh. If support is not enough, usually we will have bleeding if I am not wrong. Everything is normal to them, everything is nothing to worry.. so can't be bother to call them at all..lol

SSS- I ate pineapple from philipines and thailand as they are sweeter. hehehe I bought those that already cut into small portions. The one I bought in cold storage was thick so I took one piece. And the one I bought from fruit stall is thin slice so I took 2-3 pieces. I ate everything cos bromelain found around the core wor.. so I just eat everything .. lol

And yes, I am now on oral utrogestan pill twice a day for a month.

Lol! I was telling DH that it is very interesting that people who can conceive naturally always complain about their morning sickness, swollen boobs and bloated tummy and hope that the symptoms go away. While ivf mummies rejoice when we have these and panic when we don't feel it.

Astaris, I called the embryologist. He was trying to call me on sat but I was in the cineman watching Ironman.

The 7 did not make it blastocyst stage. The growth became slower at Day 3 and has more fragments. So not frozen. *sweat* don't know what will happen to the ones when they thawed...

SSS, embryologist will call you tmr and update ur on the "sunning" of snowbabies? chill chill the 13 will be good!

mei2, Astaris, will you want to try pineapple? Hmmm... after hearing what jasmine has explain... maybe I will try it.

Jasmine, did you bought the sarawak type or the local type. Both are cut differently. Which type you eat 2 to 3 pieces? During normal day, do you eat any pineapple?

Jasmine, 4 blastocyst is extremely good rate lah!

Since no bleeding then don think so much ya. I wish you a smooth sailing pregnancy.

SSS, since the 7 dint make it means quality not really good so no point. It's about quality and you still have 13 great snow babies so no sweat! Your embryologist very nice to call you and update.. You must be with private clinic.

I think no harm but will only take 1 piece a day max.

SSS- I think the Sarawak one, I ate 2 to 3 piece. Its round and each slice is less than I cm thick thus I ate more. The one I bought at cold storage was called honey pineapple which is round also but it was about 2-3cm thick per piece. Thus I only ate one piece of that. If you are going for local type which is long type, you just eat one piece will do. Local type seems to have more core..

Try to find those that are riper as the core will be softer.

I don't really eat pineapple day on normal days.. only once a while when I crave for it.

Paiseh.. hope you know what I am trying to say above.. lol

This is not your first IVF attempt right? Then give it a try.. :p

I am not on baby aspirin during 2ww. I was only on progestrone suppositories 3 times a day for 18 days.

Astaris - thanks!

SSS, I just took a slice for lunch earlier :p I bought the local one coz auntie gave wrongly..

Jasmine, ya dun stress urself! and look forward to 28th May

mei2 - thanks!

SSS - you are planning to do FET right? so AF come should be normal??? If not, you should be on progestrone now and it delay AF.. I blur liao.

Chris
wah sounds like fun..i miss the years with my old maltese doggie. Actually i considered of getting bigger dogs like golden retriever or lab or a big stray but my MIL next door afraid of dogs so we chose cats instead
Are you cycling soon? doing tcm now?

Astaris
Im starting soon on my 3rd fresh

make me feel like trying pineapple too.. those found in foodcourt kopitiam can?? if buy at supermarket, we hv to cut ourselves har?? ntuc sells those cuts pineapple??

dh and me decided to take it easy for this cycle... i'm going to buy meals myself next day after my transfer, and start work on the 2nd wk of 2ww... as previous cycle, I had home cooked food by ils, max bed rest for 2ww but bfn

SSS, I agree it is uncomfortable when we see a lot bb news / pictures on fb. Sometimes can't help feel its not so easy to go this route lets jy.. Ladies

Astaris, I find it strange leh. ER is on the D13 of my cycle. Today is D18 of cycle and af arrived.

Clinic called back. I will see dr tomorrow instead of wed. FET can only start when next af arrived. I think this time is to monitor the growth of the lining.

Dear ladies who was with NUH before, please advise approx. what time will CHR call to inform the result of a +ve or -ve pregnancy, if BT is scheduled on 830 am? Thanks so much.

lynhope - yes.. as long as pineapple with some core can already.. I ate those Sarawak pineapple, the centre (core) was cut off and left abit only.

My ER was on 19 April and transfered 2 blastocyst on 24 Apr. You use the ivf calculator at http://www.ivf.ca/duedate.php to see when is your embryos implantation starts and ends. So you just stop eating pineapple when implantation date ends.

I tell you what I have done in my 2ww and maybe you will feel more at ease.

On the 1st day of ET, I rest about 1-2 hours on bed and went downstairs to eat my lunch with my friends for an hour. Then went back home and bed rest. My hubby bought dinner back and after dinner, I bed rest again.

On the second day, I went out for 2 hours to see a dermatologist due to my rashes on my boobs and went back home for bed rest.

On the 3rd and 4th day, went out for lunch and go home for bed rest.

Lunch & Dinner were all tabao food until 5dp5dt (5 day past 5 day transfer), I started to do housework, mopped the floor, prepare, cook dinner, laundry, hang the clothes, ironing. Bring my girl to and fro school daily. I snack on chips too.

Listen to your body, if you feel tired, just rest. I know its not easy to take it easy but just try. Do you have any religion? If yes, just do some prayer daily. Talk to your babies daily too.

I did 4 IVF + 1 FET in France. 1st attempt was successfuly and the rest failed. During the 1st successful attempt, I rest about 1 week and took a 14 hours flight back to Singapore. The IVF doctor in France told me I can do anything I want during 2ww. I was in the procedure room for only 15 minutes and I was sent home. He said I can go swimming, jogging, have sex anytime we want. There is nothing much we can do after the Embryo Transfer.

Check out the following blog post written by a doctor.

Will my embryo fall out after the embryo transfer ?
http://blog.drmalpani.com/2013/01/will-my-embryo-fall-out-after-embryo.html

What precautions should I take after the embryo transfer ?
http://blog.drmalpani.com/2010/09/what-precautions-should-i-take-after.html

To my opionion, to make ourselves feel better. We should still take some bed rest after ET. We should pamper ourselves these few days as we had been a pin cusion for almost a month. So we bed rest because we want to loves ourselves and be pampered for the few days.. haha

SSS, you are one step closer to your FET! Don think too much bout ur AF, stay focus on preparing your body for your coming ET.

Anyway, my laptop just died on me. Bummer. So i can't be active here during my 2ww. Lynhope, Mei2 and SSS, I will be rooting for you and may the storks give us each a baby very soon,

Can I check how does the date for the cycle comes about? Doc suggest a date n as long we are ok with the schedule, we will proceed? Anyone cycle only after few months later after seeing doc?