Nidellia, congrats! Nice number, high chance of twins!

Sunstillshine, did your doc say if your E2 is too high? For my last cycle, my E2 was 2000+ and Angela told me was too little and my egg quality may be compromised. She said a good quality egg should an E2 of 1000 and I retrieved 8 eggs but only 4 usable embryos. Hence I thought yours is a good number.

Hope: no prob.. Got the meaning ;)

Red velvet: the suppression for long is Lucrin. Maomi mentioned its norethisterone. So this is more like the suppression for short then?

Sunstillshines: I had 7000+, 4 matured. Hope it helps u relax.

sunstillshines, I went for my 3rd scan today and started on the jab to prevent ovulation + blood test on LH today.. will have to go back on Monday again for scanning. I asked the in house doc who review my scanning result.. says that its still too early for the follicles to grow.. my biggest only at 9mm (about 10 of them in total) and smallest at 7mm.. isit too slow? today is my Day 5 of stimulation

Hi Chris, nope, not the 1986 article, I didn't post that hehe

The hormone pill is to align the sizes of the follicles so that when the stim starts, hopefully the sizes will not be drastically different

mei2, think your follicle grow is okie, during my time, on day 5 stimulation my follicle range from 10-5mm... doc said my 5mm are too slow... 9-7mm is quite good as the difference is only 2mm...

Thank Maomi for the explanation. Yes Chris. I am still researching on the effect of this med, will update accordingly. I am just very sianz to take extra meds, too much meds pumping liao.

thanks fantasy & lynhope!

and oso lining.. yday and today scan same at 5.2mm.. red bean helps? I haven't start takin red bean soup though..

wow , i m only away for meeting in ofc morning, so many posts liao...

Nidellia,Congrats again...now just have to rest well n wait for the scan..

Hi All, maybe I will share what I have noted down from Prof's presentation last week on taking Nor-E to so call to attain a synchronization of cells/egg development. He called this 'Cycle Programming'
Maomi, please chip in if I miss or misunderstand anything

Prof explained that our follicles will develop at different rate, thus right now, by the time of egg retrieval, some follicles are big and meet the minimum size and others are small. Thus, he mentioned that from June IVF cases onwards, Nor-E will be given from D18, don't remember he mentioned about the end point though.

So by giving Nor-E, both ovaries will begin to develop the eggs at the same start point. This will help to control the growth of the egg at the same rate (hoping that the eggs will mature relatively the same size by the time of ER). For ladies who attended the seminar last week, he also explained the rationale of why D18 to start this med. Very logical regimen. He also mentioned that this has been practised in the US since the 90s...
Hope this clarifies the addition of this med

Hopemiracle, *clap Clap CLAP* nothing to add on ahahahhaa..... By then I was abit fidgety so I really don't remember the D18 and that's the part I need to ask Jane, cos' she told me take for 18 days. Hmmmmph....

Hope30, aiyoh, if i know would have start in jun as during my syimulation i have a few follicle lag by abt 5mm. Prob i would havr some frozen embbies.

No really worrid is my only emby in sticking tightly to my womb

*Bow in Shyness* ... It was hard to attend 'lecture' on sat afternoon (weekend ley), so I understand the lethargy. Kudos to Prof who had digested it well into quite layman term and he put it in an interesting way.Manage to understand and jot down the main points.

Hope, I was not aware of this new protocol that NUH is initiating too during my clinic visits, but it was nice for them to share with us (newbies in IVF) this new protocol so that we are more informed of the rationale. Things will progress very fast as the science advances, practices change very fast...

Hi Hope, don't be upset. Not good for your cutie. Chill and stay Positive ++++
Hospital has their standard procedure to follow before changes occur. Likely for this change, the medical board or some other higher board has to approved before they change the protocol...a lot of background work which we won't see as patients.

Dream, E2 refers to estrogen level. I had a few rounds of BT during my stimulation to monitor my E2. I think Angela uses the E2 as a guide to see if I am ready for retrieval. Only when I bfn and had the post review with her then she mentioned that my E2 may be a bit low but since i have 2 bigger follicles and I am already on 11 days of stim, she gave the go ahead with the retrieval.

fantasydm, I am with RH this time.

Chris, I looked at my report again. My E2 is 6000+. goodness! It is the reading for pregnant lady at 3rd trimester! Will be going for final bt tomrrow. Hopefully it will drop down. My folicles too old liao...

Dream, E2 = Estradiol hormones. I don't know the exact reason. But I know from the report that if it is 2884 and above it is the reading for pregnant lady.

I think we are in ovulation phase, as such the correct reading should be 243 - 1509. BBblue, I think Angela is referring to this range. Now I really wonder how many folicles can be used.
kao_scared.gif

Mei2, your protocol and mine is different. Yours is a long protocol. Mine is an antagonist protocol. As such, my folicles will grow faster. Cannot compare like this.

Sunstillshines: alamakz.. You are gg thr hyper stimulation leh. U are reading for natural pregnancy is it? I mention my last E2 value above before trigger n had 9 retrieved, 4matured. relax. Somemore u had more follicles, I don't think it's an issue at all n in fact if your value decreases, then it's really not good.

NUH Prof Wong is getting more advanced! The Nor-E drug seems good. But for PCOS patients will have a lot of same sizes folicles if use this drug but don't know which ones are quality ones.

sunstillshines, dun worry! Your E2 is normal.

Mine is same as yours, 4000+pmol/L few days before trigger. The day b4 trigger is around 9800pmol/L. Apparently, it shows the no. of eggs that can be retrieved. Quite zun...in the end, i extracted 10 eggs. So the higher the better! Dun worry!

Chris, I am very curious why Mei2's case go for LH bt but for my case go for E2 bt? We are both doing ivf cycle. I thought usually we test E2??

If im not wrong LH determines the quality of the eggs. my LH went low after few jabs of puregon n dr added another jab to increase my LH. dun worry, sure ur doc have everything in control!

Sunstillshine, i goin thru short protocol.. but not sure will i be stim longer onot.. i saw the bloodtube with LH label wor..

sunstillshines, dun worry. Diff doc hav diff way of working bah. N not all procedures r neccessary for all. If u r still worried, chk with your doc tmr when u do the last scan?

Hmm...i wonder if Dr Loh's patients have the E2 or LH thingy...when i was doing the simulation under short protocol, there is no testing of hormones at all...it is just scanning to check on the follicle size...i thought the egg quality is known from the embryoist after we did the ER..

Thanks positive, bbblues and dolly gal!

Nice to hv high hcg but also a price to pay for. Had dizziness and breathlessness. Think the body is adjusting to the hormones. Read up in forum that this is normal. Once rested, then ok. I find that I also breathe more deeply too. Hope I can survive the next 2weeks at work before going for my first scan with dr tan.

Sunstillshines, think for kkh, it's a standard to do LH BT, just to make sure we have not ovulated. Some people ovulate quite early. We also given the ovulation test stick to test too.

Sunstillshines: arrange to see TSB after your ER before et. Now don't read so much into your lab result. Stress free. Trust the dr. Jia you.