purpledragon, can u enable ur pm? I tried to pm u but u dont accept pm

Purpledragon,

My d&c was done by dr chew.. He's a skilful and experienced doc so no worries..

Lynx sea, purpledragon,

For my case, i quit cos i feel bad my wk falls on my colleagues when i go on leave.. Being on HL nearly 2 mths earlier this yr really made me see the impact on my colleagues and students.. My colleagues, especially the close ones were very nice abt it, but i just didn't feel gd i guess..

Anyway paternity kinda no use to me cos my hsb can't cook cant do much. I rather he give birth I do confinement for him.haha

Min81,
You're fortunate to have such good colligs.
Mine, when nothing, said we are good friends, buddies. But when need help from her... Gosh... see her true colors.

He's a cute doc too. haha... I like to tease him. I got very unique color discharge and a lot. I took pic and showed him. He asked am I an alien, why I got such disgusting discharge. keke....

Min81 sometimes it's not abt covering la. juz disruptive n make everyone inconvenient. So best is quit so tat they can find someone to give their complete attention.

Proserpina ONI thing hsb can do is register bb birth cert while u on confinement. Cos gotta register within 14 days if not wrong

tough la, everytime the people want A, the government will give B..aiya, more grants is the best lor.paternity leave is really useless : / employers of cos dun like staff taking maternity leave cos 1. they need to allocate your stuff to your colleagues 2. engage services of temp / contract to cover you while paying you salary every month 3. government only pay your salary for the 4 months of maternity leave, employers still need to top up 16% of your CPF.

Lynx
If you are doing FET be it natural or medicated, you don't need to worry if you ovulate or not right? For natural FET, it is very straight forward, no pills or injection. Just call clinic when AF report and go for scan to check if lining thickness ok then transfer. I did medicated transfer cos I hv lining problems and needed progynova to build lining thickness. Ideal lining thickness for transfer is 10mm but most Dr will still proceed if lining is at least 8mm. Yes, thawing will be done the night b4 or the morning itself... So, if suay suay all died then FET will be aborted. You will only know on the day of FET.

Lyn, oh ic.... Wow for tat gotta see doc then decide to do natural or medicated le. But if natural will they help boost lining Oso? In case not thick enuff.

kitty: jia you!
lynx: me lor me lor..me gg for natural, but doc prescribed progynova cos i complain and complain why such things happened for the failed fresh and he said we would work on the lining. dunno if it would enhance implantation not

Hi purple dragon, min81 and sasha, i'm starting my 2nd fresh ivf in jan 13. Have been a silent reader cos nothing to contribute. I too quit my job to concentrate on this bb project cos job very stressful and demanding plus boss not understanding kind so made the painful choice to quit.

lynx,
You made me laugh out loud loud!! Ya, cos I very scared don't what is that. Sort of pink, sort of brown. And one whole lot. Cos I used to have cyst. So rather scared of relapse. Everytime go scanning, I will heart beat very fast. Luckily yesterday scanned, all ok. Phew.... I will gan cheong and keep ask Dr Chew, is everything ok, see anything there.

All the not understanding bosses, will they ever get retribution anot? like tat is as good as killing. Not giving chance for a new life. Argghhhh

Kitty,
Tell yourself, the HCG gonna go up high. Pray! Everytime I go scanning, I do that too. I pray and pray. And tell myself, nothing nothing... You will come in report good news to us tmr ya?

See anything there? Wat u wan him to see? PD! Cyst u mean?

Summer so doc will advise natural or medicated is gd for u ah? Or u choose itself?

Purpledragon,

Ya was thankful for my colleagues.. But like what lynx sea say, things get thrown into disarray.. So i feel more at ease leaving.. But still in touch with them and they still contact me for meet ups so it's nice
Haha.. Dr chew likes to hum a tune to himself too right.. Oh btw, u're already told abt the dosage for ur med?

Lynx sea,

Sometimes depend on the boss too.. The yr we had 5 preggy teachers, my p panic, but she said it's gd news and was happy abt it.. Really depends on luck sometimes, just like ivf!

lynx_sea: tink they got what they want too easily. they dont understand what we going thru. ivf is really tough. although I yet to go thru. roller coaster, here I come....

keke.. I scared got 'visitor'. I got cyst 3 times. underwent ops 3 times. stress....

Min81,
I think he always talk to himself. haha.... I even asked him, you write till like dat, you will still rem what you wrote? He said can. haha...

Yup, they told me is max dosage. Hope my body response well so can reduce. Low eggs reserve.....

Well some ppl are blessed to have understanding bosses lor. But mostly are selfish. All afraid they will be replaced. Like my boss, do wrk all by herself, my mgr can go home at 6 sharp. Me gotta leave later than her. Wat is this!!

Min think govt job more family pro bah. Unlike pte.

Hey u gers wanna stock up chicken essense etc? Hock Hua got promo till 1 jan. I stock up 3 dozen of chicken essence with cordyceps n American ginseng $23 x 3. Worth the buy.
Chicken essense is $20/dozen.

Regarding natural fet or medicated fet.

To my understanding, once u are on progynova pills, u are consider under medicated fet. Once reach desire lining, ET will be schedule. Dun need to detect ovulation de.

As for natural fet, there will be no pills/jabs just test ovulation strips till positive then schedule for ET. If lining not at desire thickness, it will be aborted. If no ovulation on that month, it will be aborted too. Usually with regular menses will opt for natural fet.

Hope the above clarify

Summer
When did u start progynova? Like tt you shd be considered on medicated FET leh....

Lynx,
Dr will advise you whether natural or medicated but you shd ask the pros and cons of both... I dunno if detect tt lining is not ideal wd it be too late to prescribe progynova then. I took 1 pill on D3 of AF for 5 days then 3 pills for another 6 days. D13 scan showed tt Lining was 7.6mm. Dr up my pills to 6 for another 4 days... D17 scan, lining improves to 8.5mm-9mm. Transfer date was scheduled on D22.... Phew! I was so scared that I hv to abort the FET and wait for next AF to report

I checked with the nurse about intercourse during jabbing. She said it's ok. Can do. Only from ER till preg test cant do.

Suddenly thinking, what if I'm preg before my last day in the company? haha.....

Purpledragon,

You had lap 3 times? I had mine in sep.. Hope ivf in feb is not too late.. So scared the cysts recur..

Lynx sea,

You considered changing job or co.? For us also depends, some are demanding and not understanding.. My boss more understanding, told me couldn't conceive, both her kids adopted.. She said she did try some fertility procedure but those days medical technology not so advanced.. Actually got another 2 colleagues doing ivf.. 1 also left same time as me..

Leor
Why need to abort natural FET if no ovulation since we are using frozen embryos? Hmmm, Dr didn't tell me that leh...
But dr did clarify tt we shd hv protected sex if we are doing medicated FET not sure abt natural FET to avoid multiples as it is posible tt we strike naturally n the frozen embryos also get implanted

Hmmm adoption not easy Oso. A lot of things they assess before u can adopt de.
Actually go to ivf Ctr then realise many ppl have same prob Oso. Ppl who duno really think so easy to have.
Min81 I still Lun in office lor. If one day can't take it will leave

lyn, as for my medicated fet, I started progynova 2 pills on D4 of AF for 5 days and 3 pills for another 10days. However, will go on 3 Jan for my first lining scan which is my D11 of my AF.

Lyn, like tat Oso can ah... But abit dangerous leh. If 28 days cycle, then implant onD22, ONI 6 days for embryo to IMplant. Can make it in time anot?

lyn,

More info from this link:
http://www.ivf1.com/frozen-embryo-transfer/

Protocols for frozen embryos transfer

Hormone preparation for FET
Using hormones to prepare the uterus is the most common way in which a frozen embryo transfer is performed. The first step is to suppress the pituitary gland. This is necessary to reduce the chances of ovulation occurring unexpectedly. Typically, Lupron is used for pituitary suppression. For most women, this will require approximately two weeks of daily Lupron injections.

The second step in a frozen embryo transfer cycle is to use hormones to duplicate the changes that normally occur in the uterus during a regular menstrual cycle. This requires the use of two hormone medications: estrogen and progesterone.

Estrogen preparation for FET
During a normal menstrual cycle, estrogen is produced by the developing follicle. This estrogen acts on the uterus to thicken and mature the uterine lining. Estrogen is given in a FET cycle for the same reason. There are many different ways that estrogen can be given in a frozen embryo transfer cycle:
•Estrogen pills – Estrace, Premarin
•Estrogen patches – Estraderm, Climera
•Estrogen injections – Delestrogen (estradiol valerate), Depogen (estradiol cypionate)
•Vaginal estrogen – Vagifem, Femring
There is no data that any one method works better than another and a method is usually chosen based on physician preference. We like to use estrogen pills since it is easy to do, inexpensive and very well tolerated.

During the time when estrogen is given, the woman will come to the office periodically to be monitored. A transvaginal ultrasound is performed to determine the thickness of the uterine lining and a blood test is performed to look at the level of estrogen in the blood. On occasion, if the lining is not thickening as it should, the dose or type of estrogen must be increased or prolonged. The length of time the estrogen can be given is very flexible. During this phase, for example, the duration of estrogen may be prolonged to delay the day of embryo transfer to accommodate the patient’s schedule.

The monitoring in a thaw cycle is very flexible. Unlike a fresh IVF cycle during which the required days for monitoring are determined by the growth of the follicles in the ovary, in an FET cycle, the days can be adjusted at any time. Thus, a frozen embryo transfer cycle is much less stressful on the patient.

Progesterone in an FET cycle
Once the uterine lining has been thickened sufficiently, progesterone is added. Once the progesterone is added, the Lupron may be stopped. Progesterone matures the uterine lining and makes it receptive to an embryo to implant. Once the progesterone is begun, there is a certain “window of implantation” during which the embryo must be transferred. The stage of the embryo must match the stage of development of the uterus. Therefore, the only factor that locks the patient into performing the transfer on a certain day is starting the progesterone. Once the progesterone is begun, if the embryo transfer is not performed on a certain day, the cycle must be cancelled and a new preparation with hormones must be begun after allowing a period to occur.

There are many different types of progesterone that can be used in a frozen embryo transfer cycle. Some of the more common methods include:
•Progesterone pills – Prometrium
•Progesterone injections
•Progesterone vaginal suppositories
•Progesterone vaginal gels – Crinone, Procheive
There is considerable uncertainty in the medical literature concerning which type of progesterone is the best for FET cycles. Again, the choice of progesterone for an FET cycle is up to the discretion of the physician. A few things, however, most experts would agree on. Progesterone given by mouth is unreliable due to variable absorption and subsequent metabolism in the liver.

In our practice, we give progesterone as intramuscular injections and with a vaginal gel. In this way, we can ensure that we have used whatever method of progesterone is ultimately determined to be the best.

Once the uterine lining is adequately thickened with estrogen, the progesterone is usually started on a particular day to allow for scheduling of the embryo thaw and embryo transfer for a time that is convenient for the in vitro fertilization laboratory staff.

In our practice, we commonly freeze embryos at the blastocyst stage. This is an embryo that has developed for five days in the laboratory. It must be placed into a uterus that has been exposed to progesterone for five days. Our protocol is to start progesterone on a Sunday and then thaw and transfer the blastocysts on a Thursday, in the afternoon. This allows my laboratory staff to be able to prepare ahead of time for all of the frozen embryo transfer cycles on one day. The afternoon transfer allows them to thaw the embryos in the morning, assess for viability during the day, thaw additional embryos if necessary and still have the transfer the same day.

FET during a natural cycle
If a woman has regular, ovulatory menstrual cycles, a frozen embryo transfer can be performed without the use of hormone preparation. Several studies have shown that the pregnancy rates in natural FET cycles are equivalent to that of hormone prepared cycles. In practice however, these cycles are much more difficult logistically to perform.

In the section above, it was stated that there is a precise window of implantation for transferring frozen embryos. This must be maintained in a natural FET cycle as well. This requires precise determination of the time of ovulation. This can be done by using a home ovulation predictor kit. However, as anyone who has ever used these kits knows, it is sometimes difficult to read them accurately. Although the instructions accompanying the ovulation kits usually recommended that women test the urine once each morning, for FET cycles we recommend testing in the morning and evening. It is also possible to monitor natural cycles using blood tests and ultrasounds just as we do for a hormone prepared frozen embryo cycle.

Unfortunately, during a natural cycle, we cannot control the day of ovulation. If the day of embryo thaw and transfer falls regularly on a Sunday or holiday, the laboratory staff will become very unhappy.

Min81,
Yup, had ops 3 times. Scary.... No worries, usually won't come back so fast. It takes years. Try cut down on soya bean products. And don't eat chicken.

Lynx,
I dunno leh.. I already on 2ww... Hoping for the best now. But i read from other websites tt some Dr will delay transfer for a week so tt lining can grow thicker. Sorry, I rem wrongly, I was on 2 progynova then 3 and 6...

Leor
my other ivf mommies who did natural FET and bfp didnt tell me abt the ovulation monitoring, they told me only one scan n transfer Liao... :D thanks for the info...

Purpledragon
I was given duphaston after transfer only. Dr said duphaston and crinone gel are from same family n help in implantation... I was given vagifem in addition to progynova for lining after transfer... Ya, I m on 2 type of pills and 2 inserts a day... Scary hor... I also go for proluton jab..

Lyn, for natural, if no ovulation, how they knw when is the best time to transfer? I remember some sistas here do natural fet got to test ovulation strip wor. Any sistas can advise?

Lynx: he prescribed progynova to me when I complain complain to him about how ridiculous the whole cycle could have failed when everything was fine. Then I guess this must be medicated FET. Also good la. One less thing to worry. I have to eat 2 pills on my day 4 of menses and 3 pills after that (opps forgot the details)