Bbt24

For ivf with Dr loh, it's done at TFC. Thomson fertility centre. Once u confirm that u want to do ivf, then Dr loh will ask u to go TFC and meet Samsiah for counselling on that very same day as your gynae visit. Samsiah will explain to u all those ivf procedure and then u will be given notes to read n sign. U will see Dr loh at TFC during ivf stimulation. So can ask him questions during ur scanning n consultation.

Dream bear .. I had mine recently Abt 13 - 14k on long protocol ..

Luv - congrats to u too

Lin, I know e esitmated total cost, but I just want to know e hospital charges that TMC charges, which excludes e medications, scans& BTs.

Btw, Mt E charges for e counselling session. Abt $40 plus n it's mandatory b4 we start our ivf treatment. They will let us know e process & also e estimated cost during e session.

Lin, yes have to pay. I forgot the charges cos I paid it last Dec. N also now the prices are adjusted. So better check with them.

Luv, I Dnt really know if my thyroid is under control or not. My last blood test result was as follows:-

My thyroid peroxidase antibodies is now 8039. Initially was 10700. My tsh is 1.95. My t4 is 15.3

Think my T4 is high leh but luckily tsh is now 1.95 lah which initially was I think almost 8. Optimal level for IVF is less than 2. Dr Veronique ask me go back review in three months time which is Nov. I'll prob decide from there lor.

Anyway thanks for congratulating me. Lolx... Meanwhile I'll just try my best to b a rabbit and ttc naturally c can or not lor.... Zzzz

Luv, I'm still worried abt the T4 level leh. Seems high. But will c how's the blood test result in nov then decide ba... Be rabbit not eat more carrots lah... Lolx... Bd more lah.... Wahahaha....

Wahahaha... I slow lah.. ;p
If the doc says u're ready for another IVF cycle, then shld be good!
Let's hope u strike b4 that, hehee... Be a hardworking rabbit hor!

lin .. Not my first .. But will b my last cos of my age .. Been trying for yrs le ..
Now having on n off got headache n menstrual cramp on n off today .. Keeping my fingers x .. But at least tis cycle stil got 2 frozen embryos standby ..

Sisters I found this at ntuc "何首乌补血汤". It states help blood circulation, darkens hair n make complexion good. Those interested can try. V nice. Bfp sisters n 2ww sisters cannot try hor! Lolx

Luv, u wait till at least a year later then u can darken straighten color or do whatever u wan to your hair... For now... No! Neh ni neh ni boo boo

I1bb: be hamster no rabbit. Hahaha

Luvnhope: today I blur blur. + the old nurse that discharge me also blur blur forget this n forget that. Hahaha

Oh!! Haha sotong me! Ai ya.. Babysmurf, Dnt know nvm. Et day u will know n im v sure will b good good news!! Huat ahhh!

I1bb: I forgot to ask. The nurse never tell me, she also forgot to take plaster when she took out my needle lol. I request to give me pad. She also forgot keep rushing me to go pee. No pee no go home.

Maybe she quite old Liao. Small matter I 2nd one to do ER. Last few to discharged lol. They only discharge me ard 12pm +. Maybe she too hungry Liao. Or i keep complaining pain n cannot wee wee.Heeehee

Ravene: Thanks and sorry, I missed out your message in my first reply as I was reading it from IPhone during lunch and too many replied until I see till blur.... Glad to meet another Dr Loh patient here. I'll try my best to clear all my doubts as far as possible. Anyway, I am still not used to the limited info from him till I ask. Maybe just his style but I am not used to it. Or maybe I have yet to try other gynea, like what Sunstillshines said, he is actually better than a lot more gynea already. Oh ya, another problem I noticed is, he and the assistant Sandra doesn't co-ordinate quite well, sometimes he just told me Sandra will brief me on further details but when I speak to her, she doesn't seem to know what is going on and ask me, "oh, he told you to do xxx, xxx huh?" Don't really like that feeling, like at the end of it, I keep wondering if they know what they are doing. Actually, because of that, I was contemplating of changing to KKH (heard that lady who took over Dr Loh's position at KKH is very detailed and do a lot of explanation but at the same time, I heard contradictory feedback too.

Luv: Firstly, congrats to your BB boy.
I was given the TFC website and asked to read up the details there and detailed counseling starts later wor, haiz, after seeing that reply... All the more wonder if my choice is correct....

Serene: You are right, I was told counseling come is later.... What you shared from your counsellor is exactly what I had in mind but, sometimes easier said than done. I told myself the same thing when I did my SO-IUI but when it failed, I was utterly disappointed and upset (although I know that a lot is beyond my control). Wa, hear you say Dx, Dx ET makes me think that there is still a lot to learn on IVF. How did you girls picked that up? Through the "courses" or counselling session? I haven't got a chance to read on those technical terms yet. Thanks for sharing the link, I read this table when I first started reading this thread (I read for a while before deciding to participate with postings).

Sunstillshines: I think your logic on the freezing of eggs sounds very logical to me, I didn't think of that. Now seeing what you wrote, think it could be true as I have this impression that egg is super "fragile".. And thanks for sharing the partial IVF and ICSI. I will ask my Dr on that and leave it to his expertise to decide but I will ask him why he decide it that way (I suspected he has some idea in mind how to proceed for my case but only problem is, he doesn't share much - not sure if it is because he can sense I don't know much about IVF)... Given this, don't know if I made a right choice to jump into costly procedure like IVF without having full detailed understanding. I feel like a guinea pig now...

Lin: No, my hubby did not do sperm binding test. Dr Loh also did not mention about this test after my failed IUI. Any idea if this is to be done even before proceeding with IVF? I just wonder if the result is poor, apart from problem with the sperm, what else can it be? I suspected he may be looking at ICSI for my case as my husband asked about the selection of sperm for IVF and he casually said yes, they will choose the best (or at least better sperm) for fertilising. Luckily I check with you ladies on the freezing of eggs, otherwise, I going to look silly by asking Dr Loh that question. And I like the idea of partially IVF and partial ICSI. There was once he created a joke and when he see I didn't respond, he said something like "not funny huh" or "you don't get me huh", then I just smile at him after I finally got his meaning when he rephrase.. I feel like I maybe to stupid to understand, so I am not the only one with this problem. He is a nice guy but maybe dr lah, frequency is too different.

Sade: Dr Loh did not ask me to go TFC leh. I thought it would be since his clinic cannot be doing all the work after the ET stage. I am not sure if it is because my next visit is only for collecting of medication (Lucrin) for the long protocol. Maybe after that he will refer me to TFC? Anyway, TFC more convenient, only thing is parking more expensive.

Btw ladies, what does BFP stands for? From the way it was structured in a sentence, I roughly know the meaning but just want to know the full phrase for this.

From the way I understand in this thread, it seems like the skills of embryologist is very important too. So while I trust the dr, not sure if the embryologist is good. Any ladies here / anyone know of any ladies who had successful IVF from TMC? My sis frens all from KKH. Seems like KKH success rate is higher huh.

Oh ya, anyone can share if there is difference in success rate between the long and short protocol? Dr Loh recommended the short one to me but from the way he sound, it seems like the long one is more traditional and tested but he recommended the short one, just that I thought of going for the long one, just to play safe. Have to decide fast as my appointment approaching soon.

I keep hearing things like amh, FSH. Is it compulsory / advisable to go through test to ensure don't have these problems before proceeding with IVF? I keep having the idea in my mind that I should go through all fertility tests to pinpoint where the problem lies before deciding if IVF is worth while (or at least worthwhile for now or put off till the problem has resolve / improve) - not sure if this is correct.

BBT24, Dr Loh is from KKH and just started his private clinic this year. He's the head of fertility in KKH. Dr balaji is the embryologist in TFC now, and he was from KKH too. From what I heard, they both wen to TFC this year.

I know that dr Loh is a man of few words, but u can't expect him to tell u everything abt ivf. Cos firstly, he don't know what u don't know, secondly it's too time consuming and he has lots of patients, thirdly he can't give you any answer yet cos he won't know how u react to the injections.

Don't blame him because of that, blame him only when u asked him questions n he don't bother to ask u. He's a v dedicated and experienced gynae.

I am with dr Loh too.

He will def ask u to go TFC, the next appt at his clinic, he will ask u if wan to start ivf and he might do a scan, n then he will ask u to proceed to TFC for counselling. Make good use of the counselling n ask questions. Samsiah is friendly and she will explain and answer u. Expect abt an hour of counselling.

BBT24 even with good eggs and sperms, it's doesn't mean 100% implantation. Yes there are tests to do as other sisters had advised u.

I rem u saying that u expected to try 3 times so-iui before proceeding to ivf. U can still try another 2 times of so-iui. But sin dr Loh advise u to do ivf, then he might have his own reasons. Maybe ur age? Or ur conditions?

What if a gynae asked to try 3 round of so-iui and then no results and to head to ivf, will u complain that the gynae wasted ur time n money?

From what u had wrote, I felt that u r not mentally ready for ivf.

For me, before I embarked on my ivf, I did a lot of research and then took supplements, change my sleeping habits, exercise and take note of my eating habits for at least 3 months.

Like what u had said, it's a costly procedure, hence I wanted to Improve my chances instead of heading straight on without any preparations.

It's up to u whether to do so-iui or ivf. Dr can advise but it's your own choice.

BBT24
BFP stand for big fat positive.

I did a natural ivf with dr Loh. Natural ivf is without stimulation and injections, for my case just taking femera for 5 days n with daily scanning of follicles, I proceed to ET with only 5 follicles and retrieved only 2 eggs (1 non matured). Sin it's only 2 eggs being retrieved hence it's def ICSI. both eggs were fertilised and now I am having a singleton. It's not so stressful as ivf as I don't have daily injections. It's a big risk for me to take as there are v little eggs for me. Hence the chance is lower. But I trusted dr Loh as he told me that he's an natural ivf expert. N I am v blessed to succeed on my first try with no eggs to freeze.

I rem I was like u with a lot of questions unclear and also I din ask dr Loh too much questions. I understand how u felt. If u r not ready, then maybe wait for another month or two. It's ur choice. Dr won't force u.

That's y a lot of sisters are here to learn and support one another.

Sade: I know he used to head that dept in KKH. I was with him since KKH time. I only didn't know about the embryologist team. Thanks for sharing this info on the embryologist team.
Actually, not blaming him. I know his a very dedicated doc, there are good things I have to say about him too. Maybe I am blaming the lack of frequency between him and us, maybe I have yet to get to that level of communicating well (prob due to my limited understanding on IVF since it's my first cycle, despite I have been searching the web for the past few weeks). By talking more, I mean for eg, when one cycle of IUI fails, he recommended IVF without telling us why he suggest that way. But yes, I too feel that no point doing another round of IUI. I totally agree with his recommendation but I guess it's because he did not share from his assessment why he made that recommendation and I did not ask (which I've decided to in next visit).could be due to timing too, my last visit was to collect my BHCG test n declare IUI failure while my next one is already IVF.
I think a lot depends on luck too, he told me one lady who is around 40 did IVF, had very high dosage of Puregon but only 1 egg. End up, it was a successful cycle.
Lucky you, successful in your first cycle. Congrats. How many months are you now?

Oh by the way, I do not mean that the dr is forcing me. I made the choice for sure. Just that it would help better if he share on the rationale for his recommendation. For me, that choice was made coming from costs and time factor but I have a feeling that he saw something in my report when he recommended that we proceed with IVF. I fully trust his recommendation but also wish to understand why (eg, some even more severe problem which I am not aware of, etc). Maybe i think that way is because my hubby and myself spotted the sudden change in his reaction just the moment he blurted IVF.

BBT24, hope I m not too harsh. Just wanna share my thoughts.

U will learn more from samsiah. She will explain in details including costs n procedure, n she will give u forms to sign. She has the responsibility to make sure that all are explained. I know more fr her n those forms. From the forms, u can read it thru at home and signed together with hb page by page. N return to TFC before starting.

Yes luck is v important. For me, I wanted to try my best n if it's not successful, I won't regret spending that amt of money.

Thanks. Just only 5 months.

I knows dr is not forcing u, what i meant is that u can choose when to start ur ivf. As dr Loh suggested u to try ivf next visit, if u r not ready, u can push to another cycle or so.

For me, doc Loh asked me to try ivf sin 2009, but I m not ready. Took me few yrs to make up my mind to try. Haha. Silly me.

Sade: nope, you don't sound harsh. Know what you are trying to say and it is valuable input, esp so as we are with the same gynea. Hope I see more light after the session with Samsiah. Maybe my case is different from yours in that I will be taking those injections and I'll be starting the Lucrin before that session, which could be the reason why I am so lost (for my case, the start of Lucrin injections is the start of the whole IVF process already).
Dr said I can email him on the queries I encounter along the way but frankly, I like to minimize that in case disturb him too much or "eat" into his personal time off work.
For my case, he recommended I start IUI immediately after my lap in Oct 11 but I delayed till I return from my trip (at that point I was planning for 2 trips, 3 months and 9 months from the lap) so immediately after I return from my second trip, I started IUI.
Were you told what to look out for before you start IVF? I read avoid soy, eat more eggs, take folic, drink more water, sleep early. All these I am already doing since IUI. But I hope not too late, it's only 1 month so far. Started folic around 3 weeks ago, 400mg.

BBT24, I m different case in the way that I wanted to start last nov aft I visited Dr loh at Kkh. He told me to go TFC for counselling straight after my Kkh visit. N I went. Dr loh planned for me to start on Jan 13. But in the end, my ovarian reserve is v low, hence I took dhea for 4months. So I only started in mar 13. N aborted a cycle aft 4 days of injections as there will only 2 follicles aft injections. Dr loh didn't ask me to abandon the cycle even thou it's v little.

Don't worry definitely have to go counselling as they need the forms to cover themselves up. I meant TFC. She will also teach u how to inject.

Dr loh only told me to take dhea. He din even told me to take folic acid. Haha. The rest I just research n plan for myself in terms of supplements, habits etc. I also did Accupunture with Dr zou.

Thanks BBT for your well wishes. Dun be afraid to ask the doc questions when in doubt. After all, that's what we pay them for -- their expertise. Many sisters here have BFPed under Dr Loh. All call him Magic Hands, hahah... Since u trust him, go along with his recommendation n do your own reading up along the way. Ask questions if in doubt. Dun be paiseh to trouble the doc.
All the best!

Hi prosepina n Asia fighter, I'll provide my one cent view to the gov too! Fellow sisters, let's all provide feedback to the gov to help us more! Reunited we stand!!

Hi ladies...

I have been reading silently as & when im free as i have been very very busy with my work..
& have bad news that my IVF dates might need to re-schedule for a later date as my boss as make changes to my shows... *sobsob*
The worst of all, they have yet to choose a date so i cant even reschedule it at all... Till i so stress that today is my CD18 & i never detect any EWCM... haiz.. y am i so miserbale..?

wondersss, y not u talk to ur boss n tell her/him tat u gg for ivf or juz come up w an excuse if u dont wish to tell d truth. Juz dont reschedule ur date coz sometime when reschedule, u might hve to wait v long coz need to q for ivf. Try not to get too stress alt i know is hard coz sometime i oso feeling v stress over TTC esp when pple around me is getting pregnant n im still struggling.