Hi LuvNhope, I think the very expensive ginseng can be heaty, so can get the cheaper ones too. I got mine from dr Zou, a small pack about palm size (60-70 slices) for $5. Dr Zou says $60 for 一两 (about 37g) is sufficiently good. I think mine is lower grade hee.... According to her hubby, ginseng is heaty but cordycep isn't and cannot compare both effects, it's like orange has vitamin C whilst red meat has iron...they are all good. Spent a bit of time this morning talking to her hubby about herbs, or rather he was educating me...lol...

JoynFaith, I have PM you, but I dunno how to attach pix via this forum PM, can you email me?

Btw, if budget conscious, can check out those old traditional herbal shops/ provision shops, I got my brew pot for about $90. I think dr Tan SB clinic selling for $120.

Thanks Joanne, it's great to know that dr Zou's supplier is same as EYS....so many counteracts in china, can be worrying sometimes.

HI tromso, is ur brew pot the same as the one at Tan SB, where u get it, me thinking of buying one today but find it a bit exp, today in the clinic so many people asking me how many months preg am i, very 'bu how yi si'

Hi tub, depending on which TCM you visit, during stage 1 and 2, some will prescribe herbs whilst others won't.

Anyone TCM you have in mind?

For instance, my usual TCM dr won't prescribe herbs for 2WW day 1-3 (acting according to gynae's wishes), so I'm thinking to take herbs from another TCM dr on 2WW day 1-3, then day 4 onwards go back to my usual TCM dr herbs.

Looking forward...heee...so funny, I think everyone gets excited seeing your tummy
yes, it's the orange pot with some Chinese drawings on it. If you are planning to be on herbs longer term, good idea to get it. But PLEASE don't prepare the herbs yourself cos the pot is super heavy especially with herbs in it....maybe 2kg...??

I always get hubby to remove the herbs and wash the pot.

Thanks for the menu Looking Forward, looks yummy, think I'll do the 10 days trial for a start

I bought my pot at the traditional TCM provision shop near Thong Chai Hospital, outram area, not sure if it's near your place...if you decided to take a hike, I can provide you with the address.

U can buy these tcm brew pots at OG or Tangs. I got mine from them. Got smooth surface and rough surface type. Dunno what's the difference though. But I bought the rough surface cos I felt it's more traditional, lol. Price wise I think not mug difference but I used my credit card points to offset so save on cash.

How to clean the pot? After brewing, all the herbs small small stuff stuck to the metal base and now my metal base is all stained with dots..

Tanny, didn't know OG/ Tangs have it
Are they all metal pots? The one I'm using is ceramic, so doesn't stain but the herbs residue do sometimes get stuck to the middle heating element if left sitting there for too long. But quite easy to wash off.

Is your pot heavy too?

I keep the herbs liquids in those Tiger thermal flasks and badly stained the bottom too
I just use the iron scrounge thing to remove the stains other day, quite effective but I'm not sure if will scratch your pot bottom. Actually the herbs liquids stain my bowls too
I keep thinking my tummy inner lining must be black black now lol....

How much is medicated fet at Kkh? Was told to go for beta BT regardless even if menses come - How come huh? Tot menses come means not pregnant. Why must Kkh insist we go no matter what even if menses come.

Tromso : mine is not metal. U know those v traditional brewing pot with a spout at 90 degree to the handle. Also appear on those tv old shows where they boil over fire n fan it. Mine is that kind of material - so i suppose it's made of ceramic or clay? Yes mine is heavy. It comes with another smaller double boil pot for making bird nest etc but nvr use it so far. ya I left my herbs in the pot (cos tcm says can keep for day 2 use) hence my heating element is all stained now - ugly.

Tangs orchard basement I seen it. OG I can't rem which outlet. Maybe can try the Chinatown branch. Else at OG Chinatown, at the hawker centre, u cross a small pedestrain crossing, and walk 3 min into a block of flats where got a bus stop in front of it, there is a tcm yao cai shop - also got sell such brew pot - I seen it 2 yrs back.

Hi Tromso, u can also ask for either 3 dishes + 1 soup or 4 dishes, normally 4th dish, they replace by fried item if you dont want to have fried stuff, remember to tell them, by the way, i find it so so, i was told by Tiger's promotor not to use iron scrounge for their product, will spoil the surface.

Tanny, there r ladies who r pregnant but yet bleeding. They thought menses. My mum when pregnant with my bro didn't even know until 5 mths when tummy got bigger m bigger. She didn't know coz she was having "menses" every mth n she thought she was growing fat. So, KKH will still request patients to take BT even they see red. What if the blood is fr heaving spotting? Hcg BT is the most accurate of concluding pregnant or not.

Tromso, when u brew herbs, all types including tonic ones cannot use metal or aluminum pot. All the effects will be gone if u use such pots. U need pots made from clay. Double boil clay pots will prevent the herbal soup fr drying from the long brewing process. It cost abt $40 at housing estate shops. Those that sell pots.

Oops...thanks for letting me know Looking Forward, hubby got fed up trying to clean the bottom and next thing I know, in went the iron scrounge
tried cleaning using the long sponge/ brush for baby milk bottles, but no help at all. Do you think those 3M green pad is ok?

Tanny, the herbs can be kept in pot for 2 days, so it's in heating mode is it? Mine can be kept in heating mode but will beeping very loudly every 15 mins or so...throughout the night, that's why I keep in thermal flask. Looks like yours is quite good...

Mine, the switch is on the pot so have to be very careful when washing. We have sorta damaged previous pot cos water got into the switch.

Looking Forward, looks like some options in the market...if you feel well enough to shop around.

Thanks Hazel, the $40 pot, is it those slow cooker with glass lid?

What I'm using is for brewing herbs only, will auto switch off when liquid is boiled down to 1 bowl....

Tanny

Even if u r having menses, need to take BT to rule out ectopic pregnancy. If Kena ectopic, AF will still come, but u will only know if u Kena super bad cramp. This could be Ard wk 5-7, and by then, the sac is quite big, Fallopian tube may need to be cut, worse case can burst the tube , causing problem to ur womb. So, to play safe, better do a bt, in case of ectopic, sac at Fallopian tube can be removed before it grows bigger.

Hi JoynFaith

I am waiting to do medicated FET loh. But menses late 1 whole week le.
How ah? Should i induce? But induce like not good right? Better naturally come right?

Very scared if delay further will clash with work commitments then cannot take leave to rest then dont know should still proceed with FET this month or not since cannot rest.
Sigh~ why am i always in neither here nor there state?

Hi Tromso, i use soft sponge to wash tiger product, but we did have 3M non-scratch pad for our other steel pot. i am going to og tomorrow, will ask the promotor on 3M non-scratch pad.

Tromso, we r not talking abt slow cooker which uses electricity. U saw on tv how pp brew herbs right? Is over slow fire on stove. Still dunno, ask your mother. Brew herbs has brew herbs clay pot. The entire pot is made of clay.

Looking Forward, let me try to explain HCG and BT. What I gather from this forum, BT is blood test. HCG is the pregnancy hormone that is detected by blood test BT. I gather from the sistas here that at kkh, the HCG level needs to be above 250 to be BFP.

Please correct me if I'm wrong ladies...

Talking about ectopic pregnancy, a fren had a miscarriage earlier this year and dr couldn't find the sac (suspected ectopic) but her HCG remained high for over a week, so had to be hospitalized and put on chemo drugs to bring the HCG level down. Quite an ordeal for about a month...

Thanks Hazel, I understand, I'm using 1 of those specially for brewing herbs now. I thought yours $40 is quite inexpensive, so unsure if different from those sold in the TCM shops. Thanks, I will keep a lookout next time I'm at the shops.

Hi heartbeat
Yes, let ur body free fr hormone medi is gd.. Since u r doing fet next cycle.. I understand how u feel as last time i been thru the delimma before too.. I consult doc zou and another gynea, all discourage me to take anymore medi.. Shd let natural takes its course n 船到桥头自然直. End up, i am glad tt i let it come naturally as my plan didnt ruin at all..;) so it may be the same for ur case.. Give ur womb an optimal condition for ur coming FET ya...

Tanny,
Yes you should quickly go for a BT even if your menses came.
That was what happened to me last year. I didn't know I was pregnant, but my menses came a week earlier than usual, and it was heavy, very heavy, with lots of clots. But that lasted few hours only. The finale was when an hour later, I caught a large clot when in the washroom. I thought it was just heavy menses. Went to see my gynae who asked me take a bloodtest just in case, but I refused saying cannot be pregnant since I bleed so much. Even if it is, I would have miscarry.

But I itchy backside went to test it the next day with my home pregnancy test kit and it was positive. Went to KK 24hour clinic for the HCG BT, and levels were reducing. So I had a miscarriage before I even knew it.

You may never know, one could be pregnant yet bleeding, or could be etopic pregnancy or miscarriage. Eitherway, good to get a conclusive result so that you know how to take care of your body next.

When you gals mention about blood clots, are you referring to tiny blood clots or bigger ones? Should AF be flow is consider good?

Anyone know the cost of fresh cycle and FET in NUH and SGH?

ThotsOfYou, welcome in. You are added to the online spreadsheet. Help yourself there and update your status.

Heartbeat, I agree with Joanne03 not to induce your menses, Things always happen for a reason, so let natural take its course.

Hi JoynFaith, blood clots are those jelly-like red substance that sits on the pad (doesn't get absorbed into the pad) during mensus. Technically, no blood clots is the best. The size can vary from thin strands to say 50 cents coin size...

Thanks Tromso!

im still in my suppression stage..can i start with egg whites now? cos i feel a bit pulling and strange feeling on my uterus..like going to be bloated soon like that..

Tks Dee. Ok will remember that.

Last fresh cycle, 5 days before my BT, I had brown blood for 3 days then fresh bleeding/ menses for 7 days. I went down for BT during the 2nd day and was negative only <1. This means totally not pregnant at all right. Dr Jin Tcm says <1 means did not even implant. So if more that, means implanted and miscarried I guess.

Oh ya u sisters are so good! I went for fet yesterday but Kkh din ask me to pay.. When will the bill come huh? I paid for the medication only.

Heartbeat : Perhaps u can wait it for menses since it's no so good to take medication again. R u with dr loh?

I was very gan cheong abt my menses last month cos I wan to start soonest when I heard dr loh is gg away as he said my inside (uterus) is v difficult to find like a maze and no other doc can do it. So i worried other doc not soulful and familiar as doc loh who done it before. Last time doc loh took 25 min.. My menses din come n I almost wanted to induce it and I din hv any pre AF symptom then. I went for this therapy session and she energizes my tummy and could tell me that u can wait it out as it will come next week and that my lining will be 10mm. True my AF came mid next week. Was happy! Quicky call KK to report for fet. Lining is accurate too. Glad to meet her and I'm so positive now. I shared with her my concerns that doc find my uterus difficult to manovere. She gives therapy for me and tells me this time will be very easy just 5 min. Really? I hope so. I waited till ET day and it was good just 5min only. Used to be very depressed after my last failed fresh. I have become more positive now. I'm telling myself to stay relaxed, confident and faith for my positive hpt now....shall share more by then.. I hope all of us will receive our cradle of joy soon v soon!

On the above, I'm just sharing my own personal experience only.

I went to Kkh and they told me next head is prob dr sadhana. Is that a he or she? Indian? Nurse told me that there will be 4 Ivf drs - dr jerry chan, dr mathew lau, dr tan hh and dr sadhana.

Hi Chris
Yes, of course u shd start ur egg white soon as it can help in the egg growth to be healthy too.. I start as soon as my menses start before lucrin..2 egg per day.. After my menses come and going to start puregeon, i increase fr 2, to 4, then 6 and 8 before er. I hv no ohss, has 19 eggs retrieve.. I drink immouncal during puregeon stage too as i know protein is definitely good for follicles..;) so no harm to start now k..

I will start my IVF cycle in dec menses. Should be in nov but they reschedule due to year end cleaning/Xmas/cny.
My dr is dr Marianne. Just read that she and dr Loh is leaving KKIVF. Oh no, I m getting worry.
As I hv not do the blood test. Was thinking if I should stay w KKIVF? I m not to sure which dr was assign to me?

Any ladies following dr Loh?

OK thanks Joanne, JoynFaith, Tanny.

I checked my last FET from D1 to ET was 18 days. Means if menses come anytime now by the time i ET, will be 1st or 2nd Dec where i cannot take leave so i wont get to rest that few crucial days after ET.
Do you gals think i should just heck care and MC that 2 days or is it really ok not to rest after ET?

I feel stressed about this whole thing and work also everyday very stressful. Sometimes i wonder if i should even do FET now but then if not now then when. Not as if i wait a few months, work stress will reduce. DH even suggested i quit next year then start FET.

Hey gals
Do u know in stim stage how fast does the follicle grows?

I am in dilemma. Doc said if stim again I might have ohss. But I look at the egg size now if dun stim then only will have 6 potential follicles.

Any comments?

Hi, I'm gg for first scan in stage 1 (Lucrin stage) on Tues... do I need to bring along my Lucrin for the nurse to check when I'm there for the scan??? Thx!

Can I ask how long do it take for BT and SIS scan result to be available? My appt with Dr Tan is schedule next mth and I am afraid that I will be slot to after Mar for IVF.

I will be taking my BT and SIS next week, do you think I can check with KKH if I can shift the appt earlier?

Mc_07, actually results out on same day drpending on the time u do the test. But always schedule gynae appt 1 wk later on the safe side. SIS, u can ask the dr who did the scan for u on the spot if all is well. The Dr already knows at pt of scan. She just need to write the report. I ever requested SIS dr who scanned for me at 3pm to write the report ASAP by evening coz she told me got ovary cyst. I v stressed then, wan to discuss with dr loh n find out more. So after scan, I walked over to tps n tOld the nurse to schedule an urgent appt with dr loh at 6pm same day as my SIS scan was no gd. Dr loh will not turn patients away. Dr tan I dunno,,

Noy, that small Lucrin bottle last 30 days. So, no need to bring down at stage 1 scan. Unless u hv been injecting for coming to 30 days, then u Bring down, in case not enough u need to buy a new bottle.