I will be starting menopur tomorrow. Anyone of you on it?

Collected the medicine and I think is much complicated to.mix them before injection.

Serene, saw the conceive well twin pack promo at og people park just on monday, u may want to call them seestill have.

Tromso - can empathize with yr scenario where friends keep asking if pregnant already. I get that a lot and it makes me super depressed especially just after an ivf cycle that was not successful...in the end... I try to avoid such friends to keep my spirits up. Even now when I think abt my failed cycle
, I still tear up.

I think most impt is to keep yrself healthy and happy to meet future challenges.

Hi Hazel,

If you ask me, I really dun noe what kind of person my boss is. She did offers me to go on a one year no pay leave n is supportive of my family planning campaign. However, guess usually those assignments are loaded onto myself. I also discovered that the earlier that I finished the assignments, the more she will load them to me.

Yeah I m kinda of tired cos sometimes is tabo back to complete it. I have learned that like appointment of new mgr, she choose someone else instead of me. Of cos coming from her angle, she prefer a guy whom dont have maternity or woman problem hahaha. But that really break my heart earlier this year as she promised me this position n after my HL due to miscarriage tins turn out to be like that.

Most of the tins which I have been assigned are all done by managerial level n above. The point is even my team mates ask me how come I m doing managerial work. I jus replied boss assigned one leh.

Somehow, felt very very tired over work n mi really wanting to take a back seat. So I try to leave office by 6.30pm each day. Guess no one is indispensable at work.

My director talked to me once that I dont work late so don't seem to be facing lots of stress. the truth is different. Whom in the rule say a stressed person definitely cannot leave on the dot huh? I dun noe cos the one time experience with her is that it seem that she cannot understand that some people to keep it low for their 1st trimeter. Jus cannot tahan the loading n loading of the work lately.

Sunbelle, in first tri, I left on the dot! Lunch time I ate early n while all r not bk, I napped at my desk! My svp asked me why I Like no morale. I just gave polictically right ans. I took mc, she will ask "1 day only? Enough?". She suspected am preg but since I nv say she also dun wan to ask. The other day she told me dun anyhow run around when she knew my mil was hospialised agsin. Next day, she ssid she WANs me to comPlete a project by mid dec while deadline is mid Jan. I just said noted. I just go by the mid Jan deadline coz not likely mid dec can finish as first 2 wks of dec I m on leave.

So,,Dun be bothered by all these. Work is nv finished. Clear those urgent one or due, the rest can wait. We got to help ourself mentally n physically. Dun let these work stress affect us.

When u bfp, just ask dr to cover u 1-2 wks mc/Hl. Just take n rest. Tell dr ur work v stressful. Use up ur entitlements b4 taking no pay

Hi Whitetiger,

I do understand how u gals feel. I nv tell my colleagues why I am on HL.. I oni tell my boss I go checkup due to woman problem. This IVF I oni tell my sister not even my parents or MIL. After my failed fresh cycle, I was very sad... I will take out the photos of my embbies and talk to them and cry... even now I will. I saw friends/friends wife got preggie or posting pics of their kids, I will just blk them off. I dnt wa to see those posts. I feel jealous and angry with myself. Even I see preggie strangers, I will hv a jealous cum hate feeling towards them.

Tomo I will be doing my 1st FET... I hope I hv embbies to transfer... what is the outcome I wont wa to think. I still go bk to work after holiday.

Hi Looking Forward, I saw your post about tingkat and I'm considering about taking it up too. May I know how have you decided upon Lexin? I've not ordered tingkat before, so a bit loss, thank you.

joyNfaith~
take this time to prepare your body and mind. Go for a holiday with hb to relax a little. Jia You!

Mama leen~
im curious..who was your 1st dr? care to share..

Booboolina/Ling/ladies doing injections~
I found that numbing the area 1st with ice pack before injecting really helps a lot. Do try!

btw, those injecting also make sure not to get any injecting medicine liquid get onto your skin. My hb did (cos of stressing & scared cos he did injection for me) once or twice it got onto my skin and it causes some skin liaisons..they are still there
so have to quickly wipe it up after hor..

Ling~
I tot to avoid alcohol..Dom is pretty strong as it's liquor..hehe btw you star wars fan eh?

Hi White Tiger, thanks for your encouragement. It's really great to have supports from sisters in this forum. Sometimes I feel my hubby simply can't catch up with the amount of info...lol...can't blame him. So it's really great to know you ladies =)

MamaLeen and LuvNHope, when I learnt about the ovarian cancer jab, I was already over 30, otherwise would have taken it up. Do you know if you get health screening, there is an option to choose the package which includes cancer markers like ovarian cancer - this is the CA125 test that you may have heard of. I did mine years back and realised my CA125 result was borderline bad, and that was when I discovered I have cysts. But fortunately cysts size/ number came down after I changed my diet and lifestyle. So perhaps next time you undergo health screening, can consider a CA125 test, I think abt $100-$150 extra for maybe 3 cancer markers, can't quite rembr now.

Thanks for the ice pack tip Chrisl, I shall try it tomo, my first day stage 2 jab. When I saw how thick needle was during nurse's demo, my heart skipped a beat...haaa....

Ling, rest early tonight, go to bed earlier than usual, a well rested body should hopefully help fight off some Lucrin unease.

Just wondering, I saw in previous discussion that 100 plus helps with OHSS. I thought egg whites also reduces OHSS, so means we can take both? Or is egg white the primary "cure" and if still feeling awful, add on 100 plus? bit, confused, thanks for helping....

Tromso, thks for tip abt the cancer marker test.

Does stage 2 jab come in a pen type of needle?

Not looking 4ward to my jab tonite but shall persevere.

Hi Booboolina, some sisters here use ice pack to numb the area before the injection u might want to try, as for me i press my fresh harder to feel pressing pain so when i inject less needle pain, hee hee

Hi Tromso, i actually choose between Lexin (can request to change the dish if you dont like), Kim Kitchen (Luncheon meal in their meal, i hate canned food) & Jiale (only 3 dishes, the rest 4 but they will give bigger portion)

hey luvnhope..im very sure have puregon pen--fine easy to use injectable needle pen..but as for gonalF i think have also la..but think more ex as compared to normal ones..have to ask your doc for price difference..hv you collected the injectables yet?

Looking forward,

I'm also contemplating tingkat order. Do u know whether they have msg in the food? Hoping to find one without msg cos healthier.

Chrisl, I've only gotten the subcutaneous jab for Lucrin so far.
Will be sure to ask about options for next stage. Thanks!

On day 3 of stage 1 now. I see that u have a different med from most of us here.

luvnhope~
yes good to ask
yup..dunno why as same icsi but diff med..hmm looking tru the list some of the ladies is on puregon as well.. i suppose the doc will see case by case and prescribe

Tromso, I am not sure if I will take Bu during those stages cos I scare will disrupt the jab. Will consult Dr Chen then for advice.

Like some of the ladies here, I am worried about what to tell boss when I start my cycle. I already took 2 weeks hl this year for laproscopy . So I dun know what other woman issue excuse I can use again. Those younger col get pregnant one after another. For sure I not telling them the truth. Might want to just resign and take a break.

LuvNHope, yes it's pen-like but can still see the needles loh, doesn't help =(

Re Puregon or Gonal F, I have asked previously, but nurse was unsure, says they are using Gonal F now, she says maybe SF Loh feels the success rate is better. although I saw in the forum another sister is taking puregon, KKH too I think, so bit confused. I suspect Dr prescribes diff jabs according to medical records, maybe??

Chrisl: i also dunno can take dom or not, just taking to boost my immune system. Thanks, will check with dr tan. Not star war fan keke

Tromso: thAnks, will rest more and u 2

babymaps12, my only Bu now is red dates drink now (plus longan, wolfberries and ginseng). Do you take this too? I've just been told yesterday better to eat the soggy ingredients too...but today mild sore throat, think too heaty =(

Ling, like Chrisl, I was under the impression that no alcohol incl DOM, I read that alcohol can cause fetal alcohol syndrome, but unsure what amount. Def good idea to check with dr tan.

Looking Forward, you ended up choosing Lexin right? Do you think the food is oily, say compared to the mix vege/ meat stores? Did you order portion for 1 or 2? Good portion size? Do they take last minute order? Am thinking to decide last minute cos have been hoping I can cook myself lighter meals in case more severe OHSS.... oops sorry, lotsa questions...

Hi Sunbelle, I told my direct boss and so far he's quite understanding. But then I haven't taken many long MC/HL, only 2 wks of HL and several urgent 1day leave for blood test, scanning. Even if my boss stresses me up, I plan to ignore him and just focus on IVF.
Easier said than done coz I dun know whether I can go to work everyday if I feel unhappy. But not working is not an option for me. I have financial commitment and I dun get along well wif my MIL. Staying at home all day is a no-no.. If it gets too stressful, I will ask my boss to let me take a backseat but of coz I must be prepared to let other colleagues get promoted ahead of me. No choice. I quite like my job and feel adapting to new job will be more stressful.
Just consider carefully what you feel is the best option, might not be the same for everyone

Chrisl and Tromso, yeah, i guess they will look at each lady's case before deciding which med.

Ladies, does anyone know if any of the meds would worsen any existing fibroids?

Is it all right to take Eu Yan Sang's Essence of Chicken with Wolfberries & Red Dates?

Ingredients: Red Dates, Fructus Lycii, Licorice.

LuvNhope, nurse said both morn or night can be done for the injection but advise me to inject in the morn... ... so when reach stage 2, have get use to it and will be easier since stage 2's injection need to be in the morn.

hi lovnhope, they claim no msg

hi Tromso, ya got it from Lexin(also my dinner tingkat cater) sometime has fried stuff, so far find it ok, not too salty, order 1 pax, i can eat 2x, I order 1 day in advance, actually recently I found out that house of catering has the same menu as Lexin and for 10days trial HOC only charges $5 when L charges $10 but hoc needs 2 days in advance for ordering. I also decide after my ET

Luvnhope,
I think that chicken essence with wolf berries n dates is fine. I did drink that as I thot the wolf berries n dates will make the essence taste more pleasant.

I used to inject at nite too as I need to go to work very early n quite rush in the morning. I dun think the timing matters as long as u r consistent in the timing.

I'm jabbing in the morning. But I did ask nurse if can jab at night and she said morning is preferred due to stage 2 jab....I can't quite recall exactly why. If any concern, perhaps good to reconfirm with clinic again.

Thanks Looking Forward, the trial period is great, and no msg too, double good news

LovNHooe, yes, dr said to me the jabs can give rise or increase fibriods/ cysts. Dr has a patient who went fr 0 to 6 cysts after started the jabs and cycle was terminated unfortunately, very sad indeed
That's why I'm quite worried cos last time i took hormone pills, many things grew. But dont worry, it's a luck thing or does not happen to all, i think not too common. Just curious, is your fibriods inside the uterus?

Hi Noy, Looking forward, Tromso and eskimo,

Thanks for sharing abt ur jab timing. Seems like different nurses advise different things. I also find it very rush in the morning to do the jabs. Hopefully can do stage 2 jabs at night too.

Tromso,
Doc said i have a fibroid in my uterus but thankfully not in an area that affects implantation.
Did u ask the doc abt the fibroid issue? Just curious how the topic came abt. My doc din mention the possible growth.

LuvNHope, I originally asked about cysts, dr says potential growth yes, then I asked about fibroids (cos a ferns TTC now has fibroids, also contemplating IVF), dr confirms potential growth yes too. Perhaps you'd like to seek dr advice if have specific concerns. I'm not thinking about it now cos I felt there's nothing I can do about it, just have to pray hard doesn't happen
I don't think it's common (don't see it mention much in the forum, only saw 1 case). Sorry if I have planted a worry in your mind....

Sisters, if you have such experience, don't mind sharing? Thanks!!

Hazel, in the previous post, you mentioned that KKH has the best IVF technology in SG. Where did you get this real statistic?

You mentioned that TMC does not have an IVF centre. Then how did the rest of the IVF performed in TMC? What is the definition of an IVF centre? Do you have any real statistic to say that Dr Loh was asked to go to TMC to restructure the IVF treatment there?

Luvnhope...yep, there's such a jab. Most GPs may offer it too upon request. In msia, they offer it to all pri 6 girls as a form of precaution.
btw, I asked my doc regardg the side effects of IVF in the long term. She said there's really no proven saintific studies tt can relate ovarian cancers to ivf and tt ivf is generally considered safe.

Chrisl...my previous doc's from thomson. I shall not name him for his benefit because I do hear good reviews abt him too and indeed, he is kind n patient. Perhaps his judgement for my case may not be a gd one but his service is good.

Tromso...yep, went for such full med check-up nearly every year becos my workplace always offers discounted med check-up packages.
it's good to keep track of our health.

I read abt how some of u have to juggle between stress at work n cycles. As for me, I told my boss frankly abt my struggles to conceive, coupled with time factor due to my father-in-law's med condition. She undertands tt I want to conceive fast so tt my FIL can see his grandchild soon. She approved my 6-mth no-pay leave without hesitance. If u r from the teaching line, this is not something surprising. I realised that there are quite a number of teachers who took no pay leave to concentrate on conceiving n succeeded.
I believe tt at times, we really gotta tell our boss the truth so tt they can understand what's gg on with us.

Sunstillshines...
Tmc stopped ivf procedures since the mixed-up of sperms tt resulted in a couple having a baby from someone else's sperm. Since then, all their ivf procedures (egg retrieval n egg transfers) are done at Mt E.
Probably dr loh is sent there to get everything in place again so tt the ctr will be in good shape during inspection by MOH so tt they can run ivf procedures again.

mama leen~
ok ok no problem me just curious hehe

Ling~
yea good to check with doc..cos from what i know the alcohol percentage in a small tiny glass of DOM is a lot..DOM contains a whooping 70% alcohol level! (i've one bottle in my cupboard now so im looking at it) which is almost double than normal volka (40%)..

Hi sistas

Many familiar names starting FET soon - jia you and good luck. Hoping for the best!

Just thought I share since I'm struck by insomnia.

Thomson Fertility has been approved by MOH since mid-2011 this year & performing IVF cases successfully in TMC for many months now. Actually, even before that they were allowed to continue with existing patients, just not new patients until cleared by MOH.

Below is my personal opinion & just for sharing, ok?

I think it's great that Dr SF Loh is going over to TMC as he's a great doctor. Hopefully with him going private that means he will have more personalised time with his patients, eventho' the cost will be more.

Like I said, these are my own thoughts. Dr Loh will probably grow the "new" TMC IVF Centre to a bigger operation than what it is now. For many years it takes a limited number of patients & a few doctors like Dr P Tseng & Dr Eunice Chua do IVF in their own CARE clinic.

Perhaps with an opening of a bigger TMC IVF centre, and with someone with Dr Loh's wide experience managing a large IVF centre, Peter Lim's investment in TMC will become even more profitabilty as they will be able to take more patients. IVF is becoming good business in low fertility Singapore

I'm a TFC patient, and I also don't bother much to know the whole story/background, but I'm sure there is a lot of good having Dr Loh join/lead the new TMC team.

The other thing I wanted to share is I have read that some sistas wondering how much it cost. My last cycle including lucrin, stims at 300 gonal-f, ICSI, blast culture, assisted hatching, no storage, was below $14K total for all cost up to bhcg. The meds in government hospital is abt 1/2 the price of private,i think. Obviously don't qualify for the government $3K grant but can deduct own medisave ($6k, $5k, $4K). Just to give a rough estimate. Of course who knows what is the cost is when the spanking new centre is opened at Novena

Re the Human papillomavirus (HPV) jab, you can still take it if over 30, no problem-lah. Better late than never
I was in between cycles when I discussed this with my gynae. Only thing is if pregnant, then cannot take the next jabs (3 jabs taken over a course of a few months).

Also, some sistas doing another round and not enough HL or bosses giving "the bad look", also just wanted to share the 3rd cycle I was more boh-chap, and went back to work day after ET. During 2ww, I just do whatever i can to try to reduce stress at work - cancel my meetings, or slow down work, walk slowly, leave earlier (ie. on-time
). I also learnt from sistas like Hazel to focus needs to take care of myself, even that means protecting my bosses from making me feel bad during the process. I never told them abt my IVF coz eventho' they may symphatise in theory & genuinely pro-family, I'm not convinced that when they are under pressure to deliver, they would still "protect" our need to de-stress work. Just take care of yourselves, sistas. We have to remember bosses and colleagues who do not have to go through IVF do not really understand the toll it takes on us.

I have a semi-desk job so I know it's easier for me & that sistas who are teachers, in sales, front-line service providers will find this tougher.. The reason for the HL is to allow our body to recover from the ER, and to let our body rest (reduce stress, anxiety). But if taking the leave is giving you MORE stress, then can actually consider alternatives.. ie. take only 1 week, or take a few days MC in between (hehe) etc.

My personal opinion is dun bother about what the bosses &amp; colleagues who are <kay-poh> about your long HL, we are entitled to it as it's given by the hospital. We do not owe them any explanations if you r entitled to it. In the end, if BFP, it's our bao-bei. If BFN and have to try again, do you think our bosses and colleagues are really heartbroken for us? We are just another acquaintance passing through their lives at this moment, even for the good bosses &amp; colleagues. Our bosses &amp; colleagues come and go. Protect yourself, this bb is for you and dh and family, not your company.

(Piglet02 - if you dun feel like sharing your TTC/IVF story with your colleagues, don't have to. It's your boss' problem to deal with unhappy staff, not yours. If really under pressure from boss, can just give excuse family "pantang" or you find it too personal. No obligation on your end. Staff will always be unhappy &amp; complain - it's a boss' job to settle the "noise", not at your expense).

To the sistas who are trying again, don't give up. The journey may be longer, but for most of us it's not an end road yet if we keep on trying.

Sorry for the very <cheong-hei> message!

*Waves* to Sunstillshines!

Ron, well said! I used to worry tt if I can't meet the deadline coz I am on mc/Hl how? Someone told me this, is the boss problem. I dub hv to worry for him! I slowly see the truth in it. Last yr, my stuff was taken over by a new promotee when I was away. Now, a v new guy got promoted again to standby to cover me when I m away fir ML next year! This is the reality of life. So, we dun hv to feel bad.

Sunstillshines, is a known fact that KKH has the best women n children facilities in SG, regardless of which areas. It was in the news previously. Dr loh is confirmed to go over to TMC ti restructure the Ivf centre there. His chief embyrologist at KKH has already left this wk n go over first. The new centre will be at novena with bigger foot prints n more presence.

All the best to baby, Fatefully ET today...
All the best to moo3moo ET tomorow..
Hi Baby, Fathfully, moo3moo
Just curious, will kkh thaw ur embiess on the same day of ur ET or one day before ur ET?? Also, how many days u intend to rest for ur current FET? Take care gals...

Waves to Ron, sunstillshine, eskimobaby

Hi Ron
How many wks r u at now n is it bb gal or boy? So nice.. Hv a smooth pregnancy journey ya..

Oh ya, some sisters were saying if can email dr loh after he leaves. He has actually included his gmail account in his new biz card though he has also set up another clinic gmail account. In fact dr loh has already printed his biz card with clinic no n address. It is at TMC 5th floor n In his card, he put "medical director". Those seeing him just get fr him.

ron-thks for sharing yr experience. during yr 2ww, u also went to work? many sistas were saying that it's best to hv bed rest during the 2ww period. though i hv not decided whether to go for ivf, but if i do, i'm thinking whether it's possible to work during 2ww. I used to go to pte gynae &amp; a nurse said it's ok to work.

Rainy, TMC clinic is his O&amp;G clinic. Maybe for a start he may do Ivf there until new centre in novena is ready. I m not sure abt that. He only said he chief embyrolist last day at KKH was 31 oct n said Ivf at TMC is v ex.! Whether he is taking over LC Cheng, am not sure. I just saw medical director on his card n I was wondering why. I hv not seen him since he is bk from USA. I got the card n details from other sources. I google the clinic on the web.., seems not up yet if there is ever going to be one.

Actually, he still has abt 50 patients waiting to do Ivf at KKH n heard KKH is willing to let him clear these patients at SGH Ivf. But he didn't take it up coz he can only do v few cases a wk, so he feels that is a waste of his time. Also he will be around the whole if dec as he has cancelled his leaves n the Ivf lab will not be closed for cleaning too. He is trying to help his Ivf patients before he leaves... By doing as much as possible.. V dedicated dr.