Ariel77, really? No spicy? Oh no I've been having spicy meals (crave for them) since ET day...yikes. Wow 5-day blastocyst, heard success rates are higher! All the best for ET! And then welcome to 2ww ;)

Wongval, my bowels also usually move every alternate days but yesterday's was 4 days worth (eww!) seems like drinking more water ain't helping. Grrr
I drank some water and puke it out when i saw something fall in the water. Don't know if that affected anything. Haha. Sneezed hard too till my abdomen reacted too. Hahahahah

Kimmy: I heard this couple talking next to me in the recovery room after my ER. The dh was reading to wifey a list of cannot-eats, I think their dr gave them. That's how I got the no spicy food thing. I am a spice girl, lurve it hot, dunno if I can obey that! But I think it's not so much the food, being stress free most important.

Hi Ariel,

At which stage do we hv to increase protein intake? Is it during the stimulation stage or after eggs retrieval?
Good luck to you in ur ET. Also read that the success rate of 5 day blastocyst is higher. Who decides on this? Is it becos you hv got many fertilized eggs so you can go for it?

Restructured Hospitals, Only Nuh does d5 transfer for all by default coz it believes only the best embiees can make it to d5. The risk is, for ladies with single digit Eggs, she may has none to transfer at d5 as all can't make it. After going thru a mth of injections and spent so much miney, the cycle will be aborted and no embiees to freeze also.

KKH does d2 transfer on default as it feels that the lady's womb is the best place for embiees to grow. It will be d3 transfer is ET falls on a Sunday where lab is closed. >d3 transfer is at dr's discretion.

I know of a sister who delivered twins. She was not able to do d2 transfer as she had bad ohss. She did not wan to abort the cycle & do FET later. So, dr Loh said d5 transfer, hopefully her ohss has subsided by then. But on d4, she received a call from KKIVF n was informed that her embiees may not make it to d5 (they were under close observance in the lab). She did a BT n ohss has subsided to non-dangerous level so she did a d4 transfer instead & freeze the remaining surviving embiees. If she has waited till d5, all her embiees cld hv not made it. She is v thankful to dr Loh & embyrologist for this. She has a pair of boy girl twin.

These are just different school of thoughts in different hospitals. We must hv done our analysis b4 we chose the hospital and the fertility gynae right? If so, believe in your own choice & hv faith!

As for constipation, can get lactus from guardian pharmacy. Is safe but u still need plenty of water for it to work. Bbs take that too & dr Loh prescribes that to pregnant ladies. Take more fruits and vegetables. Dr Loh ssid Indian mango (saw it at Seng siong) works wonder. But I hv not tried. Bananas help for me. But be careful if u are taking banana, coz one type cannot take. I dunno which type as I ask my mum to buy. Lactus, I m immune to it already.. No longer works for me

Hi sisters, yes is true tat spicy food is a no no. The nurse has also reiterated on tat. So gotta endure this period without chilli ya.

Chocolate: is always good to start taking protein intake early. So juz take it from now if u yet to.

Half bladder is ok as long as dr can see e uterus lining clearly for him to put e Embbies. I tat time oso din haf full bladder so asked e nurse izit ok. Tat what she replied.

Wongval: did u experience any symptoms during ur 2ww be4 u get to noe u r pregnant? Hoping to get some bb dust fr u too

This sis I hv referring to retrieved >60 eggs!! So does not mean many eggs, there will be many embiees and more can make it to d5. We will nv how gd a embiee quality it. But maths tell us more eggs higher chance.

Hi Ariel77,
No problem! I don't have any friends that seem to have gone thru this or have any fertility problems too. In fact they find it so easy to always ask me when I'm catching up other couples who either have kids or got married later than me. I feel like telling them it's not a race but usually keep my cool. So here, we are here for each other, encourage each other!
:D oh yes I love spicy! It makes me very satisfied. Still considering between dim sum or prata in a bit. Haha!

Hi hazel, thanks for sharing info on d5 transfer - always wondered that one but nvr ask b4..re. Constipation I will also go guardian later.

Now I'm bloating more and cramping more. Argh. Gg to Kkh for pregnyl jab in a bit!

Happy Sunday everyone!!!

Wow hazel thats a lot of eggs!!!! U r right, i retrieved 12 but surprised to know only 4 made it so thank goodness for d2 transfer...

Bbliss, really no spicy at all? Oops ive been enjoying myself with chilli in all dishes since ER day.. Erm ok I shall try not to think too much abt it

Implanation occurs on D8-d10 after ovulation usually. For ivf, ovulation =ER. So, d2 transfer means embyro is 2 days old.

Moat lady dun hv implantation bleeding.

At KKivf, a BT is done at abt d8 after ER to check progesterone level coz implamatiom is around there. Passing mark is around 30 depending on whether u r on insert or jabs. Not enough progesterone level may cause spotting or bleeding upon implantation too. So after implanation is gd to use hpt to test to see if preg. Coz preg need additional support. But if on jabs cannot use hpt until d14 hor cox it can give false positive.

Ladies with known low level of progesterone, may wan to ask dr for additional support. At kkhivf they wun give unless preg or our dr prescribes. If cross over the passing mark the nurse will say no need additional support. But some of us have v high P level. My was 400 over at P BT.

Spicy can take lah. The concerns are spicy food may cause constipdation or stomach upset or worsen bloatedness. I take lots of spicy food. Even told dr Loh I hv to take lots of chilli to force a stomachache to go toilet. He was laughing at me n said chilli wun harm bb but I shldnt torture myself too!

Phew! Thanks for clarifying hazel! Yea was telling my dh earlier that uh oh I ate spicy..then he told me it's ok...as long in moderation. He said mommy happy, embbies happy so ask me not to think so much and just eat to heart's content. Yay!!!!! Ok so can eat my prata later!

Sisters who r bloated. Pls avoid porridge. It makes it worse. If bloated in 2nd wk of 2ww. Is a gd sign. But if no bloat also dun worry

Kimmy dear, Didn't take anything in particular during the 2ww. Was more concerned with the ohss (bloated tummy), so was just eating 4 egg whites and a glass of powdered milk and 2-3litres of water, as well as del Monte prune juice (half of it) for my constipation. Didn't take soya. Don't forget the folic acid! I think "liang" (cooling food) don't take. Take those more warm food. I didn't take watermelons, xi yang veggie soup etc and instead take like lotus soup or feng3 ge2. I think hazel mentioned about the food in her earlier threads.

Wongval dear, didn't feel any difference so far. I read morning sickness comes around week 6. Meanwhile, I slowed down my pace when walking and try to sit down slowly when sitting on the office chair.

Awt, thanks for sharing? Did u go out during 2ww too? Yes, please walk slowly and take care of yrself.

Hazel, noted on the porridge part. Ate a little this morning b4 reading the thread, am guessing should be fine...

Wongval, wow envy! I wanted to watch Harry
Potter top but hubby says no. So gotta wait till next week then...

Kimmy, that sucks when your friends are not sensitive...
Just ignore them. You'll get there eventually! :D We are here for you!

Ask your hubby to bring you! watching a movie is sitting down... not much moving.. so can right? Its just not watching the movie at home :D I liked the movie!

I'm so glad we can take spicy food! Its my staple! I have chilli padi almost everyday! hahah

Bbliss, i'm in my 2ww too!

Awt! Thanks for your baby dust and support! Hope the 9 months go smoothly!

Hazel, its nice to hear about your friend who became pregnant with the day 4 embies. There's some hope for me now... :D my embiess at day 2 already 9 cannot make it already! so I would have been one of those that at day 5, wouldn't have had any left probably.

Hi Kimmy& wongval, 3 of us seems to b in e same period of 2ww. How r u gals feeling nw?

Ydae quite bad for mi as vomitted but today ok liao. Dun noe is tis good or bad....

Wow....really can eat spicy food... If tat e case, I oso gotta enjoy coz tot e nurse said can't. Hehe....

Been craving for rendang, nasi Padang.....

Hazel,

Just to clarify about d5 transfer in your earlier post: "Restructured Hospitals, Only Nuh does d5 transfer for all by default". It's not true. They normally did D3 transfer. They do D5 transfer if you have many fertilized eggs. I did my IVF at NUH. Retrieved 10 eggs and 7 fertilized. ET was done at day3. Most of us from NUH have also done D3 transferred.

Bbliss dear, I think the most noticeable thing for me was the occasional pulling i felt around the uterus area during the 2nd half of the 2ww.
but even if you don't, don't read too much into it cos everyone is different and even every pregnancy is diff too.. When's yr BT? Will be hoping the best for you, Wongval and kimmy!

Awt: thks for advice. Been reading too much from e net n tend to scare myself. Been seeing if there any discharge but dun haf. (coz read tat as sign of implantation). Ydae was quite terrible for mi due to pain n vomit but apparently today, thing seems ok. No pain, no vomit. Wonder if e Embbies still ok. Sigh....this 2ww is indeed quite agony to mi. Really haf no idea wat to do.

Izit to late to start drinking red beam soup, eating eggs etc nw?

Chocolate: Thanks for your well wishes
Dr told me to up protein intake after ER. It's really more of taking in albumin the natural way to prevent OHSS. She was a bit concerned bcos I had 24 matured eggs.
Did you know that in a natural pregnancy, the embbie only implants itself in the womb when it's at blastocyst stage, ard 5 days. If the embbies can make it to 5 days then there's a higher chance of survival in the womb. Am praying mine will make it. So far embryologist says out of 15, 6 are growing well and the rest still developing but not as fast. She will let me know tmrw (day 4) whether any have jumped to blastocyst stage. Apparently it's a hurdle for embbies to get to 4-8 cell and then over 8 cell is another jump. Wah I learnt so much

Bbliss: not too late to start eating well. In fact this is when bb needs most nutrition. Yes don't take too cooling foods.
I read that fresh pineapple helps in implantation, Chinese don't believe this leh. Seems that the Caucasian forums posts say this.

Ariel77: Yeah! I read that too. But Pineapple is the most liang of all fruits! I totally avoid it when I get my period, cos it will make it worse. I think its best to avoid this fruit.

Bbliss: stay at rest (emotionally) as much as you can. See yourself carrying a beautiful healthy bb in your arms and picture good things in your mind. You can talk to your embbies too. Say mummy loves you and encouraging words of love. It will happen!

Kimmy: I totally understand abt insensitive questions. I just pretend to be unaffected but crying inside. Then I console myself by thinking that they have challenges in other areas of their lives that I don't have.
Chocolate: I wanted to minimize the possibility of multiple pregnancies. Chatted with dr abt this and she suggested 5-day ET depending on how the embbies develop.

Wow Ariel, u really know a lot! Seems like ur chance is really high. I wish my embbies hv a chance to go to tt stage too.
Rest well gals during the 2ww and hope to hear more gd news soon!

hi I am back again. to sistas on 2ww pl hang on, time will pass by before you realised it. Now i am on my 2ww again before the next scan.

Jus to share during my 2ww, i really bedrest all the way. either eating, watching drama (sit or lay on bed) or sleep. I only went out for 1 lunch and 1 dinner. As i m staying at my mum's pl she has been taking care of my meals. Everyday my dinner is about eating fish, vege, apples, eggs, variety of chinese soup (with pao shen) immouncal powder with yakult and folic acid and some chicken essence. Nothing else more. I also avoid all liang stuff and vege. I can't stomach much things. As I am down wif bloatedness and constipation in the 1st week. I had planned to take durian but was stopped fr taking it as its v heaty may worsen my constipation. So basically i really feel bedrest (be it sitting down or laying in bed) and eating a balanced meal is what most impt.

As for my symptoms are cramping and feel of af reporting. And during the 2nd week, the other obvious sign is bloatedness comes back and change of my eating pattern, i can't finish up a meal (like a pack of noodle/rice). No spotting during 2ww.

pl take my above as ref. Because everyone will experience different symptoms and you may have ur own list of foods to take. Oh yes i m also seeing dr zou before embarking on this journey.

I wish you gals all the best yah.

Hazel & awt: Juz wanna check wif u, after bfp did u gals return to work? coz to play safe n kiasi both side parents n DH had ordered me to extend my leave.

congrats blessing...
To each individual based on own condition, we can't follow those success with bfp for their tips. We had to be happy eating wat we want but ofc in modersation.
As far as I could remember for my fresh cycle, I was on bedrest for first week and was doing normal activites included a short holiday trip for 2nd week. I only took some chicken
essences and brazil nuts. For meals, they are normal
everyday. Plus keeping myself positive with belief in God though no signs, Bfp hit me with a hard surprise! I went back to work after the results.
Now that I was on FET, a lot different going on with me! I got signs and can't control eating junk foods even chocolate! omg I think I am hopeless! Still I continue praying to God and keep telling myself I can't lose too soon! Yet at a same time I very nervous when my BT coming nearer..
must be relaxed and trust myself.

all the best to those on 2ww and me too! jiayou!

Blessing, I went bk to work after 2ww. Well, nv let my bosses know. I think they r guessIng now coz I look tired ny Tummy is visible though I still trying to hide. Take care!

Hi Blessing congrats! and miracle baby, jia you too!

care to share your embryo grades?

Miracle baby, thanks for saying that you went for a short holiday! I've been going out for short frame of time, for lunch or movie, and then coming back to rest. Was worried after I heard that blessing had a full bed rest and just 1 luncha nd dinner out! OMG! I think I did that by day 2 or 3! But I guess, I better moderate also, must try my best to keep the embbies safe, so shall try to follow blessing as much as possible as well

Hi miracle baby...morning!
Yea right now I also believe that God will keep my babies safe till full term tho no signs yet. Haha! I give up! Woke up twice at 2am and 6am don't know why. Couldn't sleep and lower abdominal hurt a little but I stretched it out. Hai I give up trying to be 'safe', I keep doing activities I'm not supposed to like clothes in wardrobe fall out, of course must pick up and help dh find pants that fit him for meeting. Hehe. I know what u mean abt nervous coming to BT part... :D

Morning Wongval!
Hah u r not alone! I day 1 onwards already go out lunch, walk a little all. Don't know if I should be concerned too. Haha! Hai, tell myself whats done is done la.. Can only moderate from here on...hehe

Btw, sleeping on the side is ok right? I've been doing my best to sleep on my back (face up) but can't sleep so I will turn to the side..

hi wongval
After preg jab the last one, I went for a short trip with thought thatI could enjoy worry-free but I was wrong! Instead body ache and lost appetite. Ya waste money but at least I can relax on bed in a foreign country haha

Year 2009 I retrieved 11 eggs and only 4 usable eggs all grades 4. Transfer only 2 best ones and my BT hcg 1224 confirm twins. Sadly one already as an angel on week 8 plus.
The last two embbies now in me, one grade 3 and other 4 grade after thraw.
I am with dr loh. he told me grade is not that important anymore. The luck & success decide on the combination of embbies and womb lining working together. I find it true regardless of the low or high grade of embbies so don't worry about it no more. I remember one forum Sis with only one grade already born healthy.

heheh kimmy
ya the history repeats again.. very same experience as the first. I don't know why I am nervous again. Maybe I really want one more baby again. I am very piggy and can sleep well every nights also the same for my fresh cycle.. only yes when in 3rd trimester will be very different. ya let's jiayou together!

blessings dear, welcome back!
i went back to work 2 days after ET.. didn't want to think too much so went back to work to occupy my mind and has been working since..
but of course, tried not to move around too much at work and keep my movement slow.. just sit down slowly, walk about slowly, didn't wear heels and all.. and don't carry heavy stuff.

Awt! Yes! Wow! You're awesome! I want to go back to work too.. but a bit difficult.

I work with kids, and I dunno when they might kick me... and sometimes must rush from one place to another.. so a bit difficult to walk slowly... so I decided better take the full leave. Wish I can do what you do! I'm actually doing admin work at home though... cos can sit down. hehe