Hi MK,
IVF do not make your body heywire, it is all the treatments that I have using for the last 3-4 years that upset all my hormones now, the reason we cannot conceive that easily comes down to hormone imbalance problem, all the PCOS, endo, etc.. is becos of our 4 main hormones, LH, FSH, E2, PRL not functioning as per normal, that is why we have problem ovulating, getting good egg instead empty follicle etc.... so doctors will prescibe all kinds of medicine, clomid etc to correct it or replace it, therefore after so many treatments, our hormones also heywire liao, acne problems, menses become heywire etc etc..my breast actually gets abit bigger after the treatment even though not pregnant but after a few weeks, it goes back to old size, so many changes to my body. Anyway sorry to scare you with my current depression, if you really think and discuss with your hubby and doctor that IVF is the way, then go ahead but dun expect too much cos the percentage is only 20% to 25%. Just failed my IVF this mth so cycle sure not normal again, got to nurse it back, that is why trying TCM, not for pregnant but to nurse body for it.
Hi bba,
yes Dr Xia is going back end of Jun but she said that she will be back in Aug, I will go back to see her on 22 Jun b4 she goes back, will check with her on that. I paid $50 for consultation but medicine is ex.$150. Accu, I am not sure on the charges, she said she would like me to do it but not now as I just had IVF, she said accu will help on the improvement, in fact she said the chinese medicine will help the body to adjust back to normal cycle so it is natural whereas western medicine is to replace whatever that our body dun have, so even having IVF, can still eat chinese medicine. She said she works with Thomson hospital patients, they usually refer the patients to her. As for the improvement on egg quality, i think it still boils down to hormones problem and TCM might be able to help in improving though TCM result is never instant, more on improving body condition according to her. Anyway according to my gynae Prof PC Wong, whatever problem we have, egg quality, sperm quality, all these can be corrected by IVF if your egg and sperm can be fertilised and can have good embryo for transfer, the problem left is the implantation, he said that is the main problem else IVF is 100% already, so maybe you can try to nurse up your body with TCM and when you go for IVF, then maybe your condition is good and implantation will improve? that is my thought.
Hi Renee,
I know what you mean, in the beginning of the year when I start with the treatments, I got acne problem too and started running to skin specialist, (so sick and tired of going to all kind of doctors, spent time and money) but when finally you see your skin improve, then you are on another fertility treatment again and the skin problem comes back, then you go thru it again, now sick already, cannot be bother with it. As for the travelling thing, I had the same thought as you, go travelling faster in case I got pregnant thru the treatment and cannot go liao ( fat hope I was thinking) but in the end no such luck and the worse part is i cannot make any prior travel arrangement cos always on treatment and every mth dreaming of getting pregnant so always last min booking for travel, the last time, I even bring my needles and gonal F to thailand, goodness thailand you know, people thinks I am on drug or what.. somemore still business trip, cannot tell anyone and yet everynight, panic to rush back to hotel for the injections at 10 pm, they all wanted to go shopping lah, dinner lah, drinking lah, but I can't and cannot get back to hotel cos transport not available, got to wait for everyone to finish their fun, that period, I just inject at 10pm, 11pm, 12pm or even 1am, the min i reach hotel,so stress up.
Hi Renee, Ad,
We so poor things hor, do IVF still need to take queue number and rush into it cos got booking one. Those lucky ladies that dun have our problems will never understand the kind of things we go thru, so so lucky. I just hear from my mum, my cousin who cannot conceive for 7/8 years is pregnant, I am happy for her, think she give up liao cos every new year, she started to say, no kids also good lah, can go anywhere we want but I know that is just putting on a brave front, soon I will need her line at new year time. Great singapore sale??? I was actually hoping to be pregnant after this may cycle of IVF, then I can starting going out to buy baby products during the sale, I siao liao hor!!! my face like that too, renee, so no point buying any new clothes... save $$$