didi,
How sad! for me when the instructor turns of the light my mind will start to wander and will become very restless.

stumbledby,
yes its really cheap cos its at the CC. I wish i hav the discipline to do it at home hee hee....

Hi mandy,
Big big congrats!!! Please take good care from now on.

May I ask reason for your IVF is male factor or female factor?

Hi....sisters,

I have just done my ER this morning, and my abdomen is feeling discomfort and a bit pain when i laugh or cough. Is this normal? Anyone feeling the same?

Hi renee

Thanks! I have mild endo and did a laproscopy in 2004. My husband's normal form sperm is on the low side.

Hi kiki
That's fine. It is quite normal to feel a little addomen discomfort but unless it gets very bad, i dun think there shd be any cause for alarm. When is your beta test? take care during the 2WW and all the best!

Hi ladies - I've been posting in the IVF/ICSI Cycle Buddies Thread all this time but thot I'd ask my qn here as well since this is the Support Grp thread.

I'm in the stims stage now & today is the 6th day of Puregon 4 me (& D27 on Lucrin) - Today is also Day 15 after my last menses & I'm experiencing all the usual signs of ovulation that I normally get b4 i started on this IVF prog - ie, lots of cervical mucus, slight abdominal pains etc. But I thought Lucrin's supposed 2 suppress the body 2 stop fr ovulating so I was surprised 2 still hv the ovulating symptoms........now worried if the eggs that is being stimulated by the Puregon will get released naturally then I got no eggs for ER already! Got such thing or not?!

Hi Mandy,

Thks for your advice.

I m feeling better now, what is beta test? I will perform the ET within this 1 or 2 days.
May I know you have your program at which hospital? I am doing at NUH.

Take care too.....

Hi Mandy

CONGRATS!!! I'm so happy to hear that you've succeeded.

How I wish I have similar news to share. Unfortunately, it's negative again. I cried and cried until my eyes swollen. Poor hubby don't know what to do except to hug me until I fall asleep at night.

Hi Renee

How I wish I have your courage and strength. It's really very difficult for me this time round cos it's my second fresh cycle already and somehow I do not see success in sight!

Hi Jolene

Good to see you back! I wonder if we can share notes cos we are both with Dr Fong Yang at Paragon. Can I email or PM you? Thanks!

need some advice, anyone here cycled while hb was away. My hb will be away on an overseas assignment and i had to go thru the cycle alone. Any exp or advice to share with me? Thanks a lot!

Humble,

I went thru' 2 IVF while my DH was away. We used frozen sperm. I would advised you to have another helping hand like a close relatives, best friend or your maid to stick around especially during your ER and ET. For my case, my closed friend help me with transportation to the hospital, I have part -time maid that I called 3 times a week while my neihbour cooked for all my meals. Lucky... I know...heeheehee. If you need some help, I am sure many sisters here will be willing to do so. Call me if I can be of any help.

shasha,
Feel so good to see u after a long time, how are u doing? Thank u very much for sharing, wow u are really one strong women to go thru the cycle alone twice, ok i feel much better now, think can handle. Will keep someone probably my mum with me like u said. You must be real real lucky to hav a neighbour who will cook for u.

Its very kind of you to offer to help me, thank u soooo.....much, i dont feel lonely now.

Take care u

Hi Teddybaby,

Sorry to hear your lost. Be strong, we will succeed one day.

Yes sure, you can email me.

I might be doing FET this month so next Monday is my day 12 scan to see how is my lining. What about you, when is your next cycle or you taking a little break.

Hi kiki

The beta test is the pregnancy blood test. Diff hospitals do it diff days after ET. I'm with KKIVF and mine was supposed to be done on D19 but i did it earlier on D16 as i tested +ve on hpt so requested to do it earlier.

Hi teddybaby

Sorry to hear the bad news. Please dont lose heart. Continue to stay positive! Pls "BU" well and try again..

Humble,

I am fine. Planing to start my 3rd cycle in Sept 06. Keeping myself busy and not thinking about trying to have a baby is very diffcult. Well, I miss reading all the good news about MTB. Anyway, when are you going for your next cycle? All the best and stay positive.

Hi teddybaby,
Sorry.... most of us here will experience diff results. Be it good or bad, early or late result. we just have to tell ourselves be prepared for the -tive. in that case we can handle it better and will able to move forward again(and again). go ahead cry all you want. we are just human being. do anything that may make you feel better. Then we shall move again to achieve our goal.
I creid too. but i make sure I have the strength to go on for the goal. Go relax, meet up with frens. do some shopping. It will cure you. This is what I did. Take care dear!

Hi Humble,

If you are worried about the food wise while your hubby is away, you might consider tingkat ? (though it might not be the best option ?)

Hi Jolene, Renee and Mandy

Thanks so much for your kind words of support. I think I cry enough liao! But once in a while still think about the "potential babies" lost and still feel sad. Sigh! No choice, such is life ... just have to pick myself up and move on.

Once again, thanks for being there and allowing me to destress with all of you!

Hi Jolene

I will email you or PM you ... Thanks so much! However, if you are not comfy with answering some of my questions, please just let me know OK? Don't want to overstep my boundaries.

I'm seeing Dr Fong on Mon too, but at Tiong Bahru. Mindy said that best I see him soonest possible. Then I will know what's the next step. If I do go ahead with FET (I only have two embies left), then maybe I'll do it in Dec. I have to save up first!!

Good luck with your scan!

Hi Mandy

Once again I'm so happy for you! Take good care of yourself and baby.

Please can I check whether you did long protocol or short protocol with KKH? I did both IVF attempts with short protocol (start Puregon on D2 of menses), not sure if the next time round I should try long protocol. Do you mind sharing with me how your protocol works? Thanks!

Hi teddybaby

I'm not sure what u mean by long or short protocol but think it should be long protocol by the sound of your description. I started lucrin on D23 of menses and then 2 weeks later start on puregon.. this is actually my second attempt with kkivf. My first attempt ended with a missed abortion at 8 weeks. I'm very happy with this news but i also do not feel very "secure" til the 6 week scans..me just being paranoid after one bad incident..

shasha,
I know wat u mean, its really hard not to think of bb. I just started my medications probably will fin by june if all goes well.

didi,
sorry for my ignorance, wats tingkat? Thanks!

humble, 'Tingkat' means you can arrange for food caterers to deliver food (normally 3 dishes and 1 soup) in a tiffin carrier, to your place, you can get them to include the rice (just that you need to pay a bit more for the rice).

Hi Mandy

I'm sure that everything will be fine this time round. Your betas are so high ... so should be quite stable right? Think positive! You must be quite excited to go for the scan to see your baby's heartbeat ...

I noticed that all the sisters with KKH do long protocols, whereas I did short protocol for both my IVF attempts. No lucrin, just straight to puregon on D2 of menses. This is for 8 days, then ER and ET liao.

I think I shall ask my gynae about long protocol next time I see him.

Take care you!

Hi teddybaby

yes, i'm very excited about the scan at 6 weeks..only then will i feel more "secure"..

Hi biscuit
Yes, this is my 2nd attempt and it's a fresh cycle. I did not have many eggs for both my attempts despite a high dosage for puregon. i only have one frozen embryo from my 1st attempt so this time round i did a fresh cycle..

mandy,

altho i dont know u..congrats!

teddybaby,

hmm...i thot most IVFs cases in Spore is long protocol. So your stimulation is only 8 days ? And u start on stimulation at day 2 of menses ? Hmmm...this is new. So u dont belong to a particular hospital but is seeing a fertility specialist from Tiong Bahru ? I think yours is similar to 'hoping4baby' when she did in japan..

A journalist from Straits Times Lifestyle section have e-mailed us and would like to write a story for Mother's Day this Sunday about Moms and the different sacrifices they make for their children. One of the possibilities is to feature a Mom who went through IVF to conceive. Hence, if anyone who would like to share their experiences, please e-mail me your contacts at [email protected] and I'll forward it to the journalist.

I think this is a good way of sharing with others who have not joined our forum. Thank you.

Chin Leng.

I'm please to have found this site, have been scouting around for a safe ground to talk. Well, I am 30, has just been advised to start ivf at kkh. I'm rather scare and not very sure what to expect. Has been advised to bring my husband to clinic next month to see Dr and counsellor... Wah, so many people to see, not sure if my husband could take time to be there. He is usually busy and leave all these to me.

If you did your ivf at pls advise what to expect, which Dr or who can I choose to see. Thank you a million.

Worried & Anxious
Daphne

hi daphne

i am in the midst of IVF, on my 2 weeks wait now. Although i am not under KKH (me under Dr L C Foong, Gleneagles), i do know that many of the gals at this forum who are with KKH are with Dr S F Low. Not sure of the details, maybe the rest of the gals can advise?

Btw, when will u be starting ur IVF prog? We have a thread on IVF cycle buddies. u may wanna visit us at that thread to find out who will be cycling together with u. Here's the URL to the cycle buddies thread http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/396355.html?1148260078

Welcome Daphne,

I m with the cycle buddies chloe had mentioned. I m also in the mids of my cycle with KKH, Dr SF Low.

At KKH the nurse will brief to u the whole program and the counseler will prepare u mentally what to expect and how to cope. It would be great if u can bring your hubby with u for the counseling and initial meeting with the doc. All the best.

Thanks Chloe and humble. Now awaiting x-ray. Will start in July, I hope. I have not done any thing else at this stage.

I was wondering if anyone here had an ivf with one blocked tube and succeeded without removing the tube. HSG showed my right tube could be blocked and the doctor recommended IVF without going through a laparoscopy first. I've read that hydosalpinx (fluid in the tube) could poison the embryo. Am very confused on what to do next.

Me 32
DH 33
ttc#1 for 4 years

baby_sarah
Hihi... puregon is safe, it's actually to help you make more follicles, thereafter have more eggs... but they are quite painful... but think for the baby, you'll be able to bear with it lah... anyway, it's quite expensive too... about 100 over for just 1 jab...

Hi Mandy,

Congrats, at least there is some gd news.

Hi teddy bear,

You are not the only one crying your heart out, I am new in this forum and yesterday I was supposed to do my D16 blood test for pregnancy but guess what, I woke up and surprise, I got my menses, I did not even have the mood to test anymore so I called the nurse and tell her myself, it was not successful, I am sure you experience the kind of emptiness that I felt too. But I told myself, I can just sit down and be depressed or I should tell myself not to give up and give myself some hopes again, this is my first cycle of IVF and even though the embyros was good, everything was perfect but still......I dun no if I should go for the second cycle using the frozen embryos cos heard that rate of success of using frozen embryos is not too high, anyone succeeded with frozen embryos?

Yvonne,

Cheer Up!! I had learnt from last weekend talk abt conception at KKH, that the odds of IVF treatment are still very large....the success rates for conception and take home baby is only abt 20-30%.......there are still many grey areas in why IVF fails....no doctor can tell why the embryo does not stick and implant in the womb.....so, it really depends on a lot of luck and other factors that are just beyond human control......

So, I learnt from the talk that with any artifical methods of conception, the risk and odds are still higher than success.....so, if anyone should go thru the process, just remember to go in with an open mind and to be mentally prepared if one fails the attempt.....

I too was very upset when I failed my IUI......but I believe that if one keeps on praying and trying, we still have hope....maybe the timing is not right for us at this moment....

Be hopeful! I know that it is easier to be negative than positive....

We should all encourage one another so that our bodies will produce positive hormones for conception to take place eventually.

Dear MK,
Thanks for your encouragement, actually I tried clomid for almost a year as I was in Japan and then injections to make me ovulate, I got pregnant twice actually but was miscarriage at 7 weeks, all w/o even seeing any heartbeat, HCG was very low and the second time, the foetus just stopped growing. Tried IUI 3 times, and then finally go for IVF, lots of money and times and of course patience, the waiting and waiting is the killing part, I kept praying but somehow all these just gets into me, I guess kinda of sad now but I will not give up. Maybe I thought I might be a bit too impatient or too stress up like everyone of us here. My cousin was married for 8, 9 years and now she is pregnant, I think she did not do anything but just leave it to god. I had alot of questions, why me, why me, pressure from parents, pressure from every where and especially facing my husband, his sperm is perfectly normal and each failure, I cannot help by telling him sorry and sorry again. Sorry girls, just too depressed and no where to spill it out, none of my friends or family know about all these treatment that I seek so of course none to tok too, glad to find this forum but also sad to see so many of us facing this problem which many others can just get pregnant anytime they want. Thanks for giving a chance to voice out my misery.

Yvonne,
I really admire your courage, dont feel discouraged i hav read stories of people succeeding after many failures. Look at the mtbs thread, there are many women like us who got pregnant through ivf, I m sure it will be our turn one day. I totally understand when u say nobody to talk to, me too this forum is the only place i share my sorrow. Cheer up gal and remember u r not alone and we will not remain like this forever, there'll surely be light at the end of the tunnel. take care u

Hi Yvonne

Do you live in Japan? I have been to Japan for holiday this year....kind of enjoy the place very much......

I was also like you whenever the mthly menses come.....I was thinking of how not to get depressed and be negative......everyone around me, whether relatives or siblings or even colleagues or common women on the street are getting pregnant? I am always wondering when will be our turn??

Where did you do your IVF? In Spore or Japan?

Well, take good care and cheer up!

Hi MK ,

Sorry to intrude. I read that you had attended the talk at KK.

I was not able to attend but I'm interested in one of the topics, that is Traditional Chinese Medicine and Accupuncture.

Can you kindly share ?

bba

Well, the TCM which KKH engaged share with us on the balances which TCM will bring abt if anyone goes through the process.

He says that accpuncture could improve the sperm count and quality without compromising on the western medication, but that is only assuming that the man has no hormonal imbalance.

When we spoke to the TCM after the talk, we find that he is not really convincing in his treatments, stating merely that it is okay to give a try but success depend on individual. It is fair for him to say that as no one can create miracles. But I was not really comfortable from his facial expressions and words.

So, dun know if TCM works or not.

I have not visited any TCM before.

Have you visited and maybe you can share which are the better TCM? Is EYS good?

Hi humble,

Thanks. I am feeling much better, will concentrate on other things first, else it is not fair to my husband too, seems to neglect so many other things cos my mind is full of trying to get pregnant asap all the time, will try to relax first and go for TCM to build up the body first.

Hi MK,

I used to stay in japan for 2 years and therefore cannot receive any treatment there as I am not staying in the city so my gynae gave me clomid to take and now my hubby posted back to sin, therefore taking this opportunity to do all kinda of treatments, IUI, IVF in NUH by Prof P C Wong. I am going to try TCM in Jurong East, she is not specialize in this kind of problem, just a chinese physician but friend recommend her, so I will try, not for pregnant but to build up my body first. Dun worry I am not giving up but just taking a rest cos too stress already, every mth waiting and waiting, in and out of hospital, neglected so many things.

Hi MK,

Thanks for sharing.
I've not tried TCM yet cuz I hear that it takes a long time before one can see the effect on the medication. I have no patience..hahaha

Did they mention if accupuncture can help for ladies?

Hi Enola,

I dun think you shd go into IVF w/o finding out about your blocked tube, you mentioned that your tube COULD BE blocked, I think usually your doctor will have to confirm first before recommending IVF or IUI. I had 2 lapascopies, (becos of two different doctors) the first one, my tube was ok but during the second one, the doctor said my tube was blocked when the dye did not come out, but he gave me injection for 3 mths and then go for an x-ray to put in the dye again to see if the blockage is clear and it was. According to my doctor, there is no way to do anything or surgery to the fallopian tube if it is blocked, that is too fragile, but doctors will usually confirm everything and recommend IVF as one of the last resort cos it is really taxing to go thru that. But I do understand that blocked fallopian tube is quite a problem and seem that IVF is the only way, however maybe you could do the same as me, take the injection to see if you can clear it first. Maybe you should do a thorough check up on what is the problem first. Do look for a fertility specialist and not just a gynae, i think that will helps.

bba,
i've failed 1 IVF & 1 FET. Me too, didn't have the patience to try TCM b4 that....but after the 2 failures, my menses became choatic becos of all the jabs of hormones during the treatments. I was ovulating every month b4 i started the treatments, but somehow after the IVF, I didn't ovulate. It made me realised that all the drugs were taking a toll on my body....
I went to see a TCM & took his medicine for about 6 months, gradually building my body back to normal & menses normal again too...
The fertility treatment is a long journey, i used to want to rush into treatments after treatments, but guessed i learned it the hard way. The ultimate thing is, listen to your body. Is it time to rest & build it up for a while till you embark onto the next treatment?
just my 2 cents worth of opinion....

Hi Yvonne,
just wondering what was the injection you had taken to clear your blocked tube? Sad to say... I also have blocked tube.

Ad,
Hi , yes I have been quiet since my last fresh cycle din turn out right, though it got implanted.... How are you? you've been quiet too. Going for another cycle soon? When will be our gathering again?

I been busying moving house and selling house. Now trying to find one right house that I can have big kitchen to play with . Ha ha....