Claire, thanks.

nm, want to be safe... i craving for beef noodles :p

Faith, U're very careful. I didn't even thought of these. You're right of not taking any chance but don't overstress yourself too ya

What do you mean CRIB?

nm: I alr bought the bed tray. Heee so useful. So when we lie against the bed head and watch, are we straining aab muscle?
I hope my diarrhoe doesnt affect the poor embryo...will it?
Hubby is sleeping wuth mask on...i hv one on too...but is flu is quite mild...
actually my 2ww is like normal when i stay at home...just that i dun squat or do hsehold chores...
and i walk ard like old ah ma...heee

xiaowei: how long is the duration of the discomfort? if its long duration pls alert yr doc...if its just twitches or slight discomfort and no red at all then its ok..

strawberry: beef noodles are fine but dont eat the "chinchalok" that is served with beef noodles.....hope u know what i am talking abt...

pink: use more pillows to prop yrself
? if gradually when u sleep on yr side and u feel discomfort, use a pillow slide between knees ..it works for me..

strawberry: yup...chilli is ok i guess unless yr doc says don eat chilli...

at my end, i was instructed not to take chilli...maybe not to upset the stomach juices? i am also not sure..

I will embark of IVF journey next week onwards with Prof Wong. For now, is there any special diet that I should observe?

After starting the injection, can I still cont with the chinese powder from Dr. Zou?

kk:i cant help with the chinese powder question as i did not eat any chinese herbs nor go accu.

Try not to stress your body as your body is trying to adjust to the jabs plus chinese herbs and all. There isnt any special diet actually, just build on your immunity like take vit c and folic acid. Staying healthy is impt. If you take chinese herbs, i guess you are building yr immunity?

food wise, you can eat anything at this stage, only after ET then you will have to watch what you eat.

Claire
great. it will be good to have cycle buddies, then can motivate each other. you will be with CARE? i'm with kkivf. But first i need to go clear my d2 and d21 bloodtest. Monday will be going for d21 bloodtest.
if i'm not wrong, we start lucrin jabs in sept. means ard nov will be ER right?

Faith
you are really good. tonight will go tell DH i also want total bedrest cos indeed ivf is tiring and expensive. cannot afford the risk. But DH will be working, then no one will be at home except me and my dogs. Have no intention to inform my parents about this ivf, cause with them knowing, the stress level is higher. So now you are on no-pay? you will not be working till baby is delivered? We too have car loans and allowance to parents. Did discuss with DH about taking no-pay. cos my job, i have to climb up and down the stairs from class to class, and also to tolerate students' nonsense. so if preggy, i must control and not lose temper. but up n down the stairs is tiring, will it affect the baby? I have few colleagues who ended up with HL and took no pay leave as well cos their preg condition worsen. ivf pregnacy more prone to mc as compared to normal preg? is it true?

mel
now anyting that goes into me must be warm. the oni thing that must be cold is aircon. too warm i wont be able to sleep. =)

Pink D, since my major op in 2006, I have learned to use my hands to push my body up. Say if you are getting down from the right side of the bed, turned your body to the right, put your right hand on the bed, and slowly push yourself up. Try not to exert any force on your stomach.

I know it sounds kiasu. But I think it makes alot of sense not to exert any pressure on your stomach.. hehe

Pandawife, when u say eat small meals in between, do u mean 1 and a half to 2 hrs apart? Yest was my worst night, I suddenly woke up at 3 am and feeling very hot and painful at my gastric area, drank a bit of water but vomitted the water and gastric juice out...gosh, then I struggled to get down from bed to find bread to eat. Then to my horror, I felt the same burning sensation at 5.30am and then 7am...this lasted till now, every 1 - 2 hrs, I have to eat something, a small piece of bread or 3 plain biscuits, if not I will feel hell. Terrible! But strangely, the nausea feeling seems to subside 60 percent, I wonder if it is the cryystallised ginger my father in law bought from chinese medicinal store.

Ineedmiracle,

I think CRIB is essential although many doctors will not insist. When I BFP first time last year, sad to say, I didn't think that way. During the 2ww, I still want to work like normal, drive and meet customers. I wanted to be steel woman. At that time, my thinking was, if I BFP, i want to work like normal. I cant stop working.. blah blah blah... *come of it now, I also dunno why I wan to work so hard then.. *. Until I saw fresh bleeding, then I realised that I have been taking things for granted. Doctor ordered CRIB since bleeding start... I lost it eventually. Sad right? So no way, I will take things for granted again.

I admit that I am one of those who dun pump in vitamins or supplements for this TTC journey. Believe it or not, I only have folic acid for the last 6 months. And occasionally, I will pamper myself with bird's best. When I feel restless, I will drink chicken essence. On 15th day of lunar month, I will steam 2 eggs and bai feng wan.

I think rest, and more rest, and drinking lota water helps for me alot.

Rose,

Initially, I cant swallow water at first. Like you, I will throw up after drinking water. I dunno whats wrong when I used to enjoy drinking water. Maybe you can try to store some ribena or some juice at home. When you want to drink, mix water with some of the juice. It helps for me.

I need food every 2 hrs.... dun worry.. your MS will subside. My MS seemed to disappear this week leh... dun cannot say too early. later, pantang, i will start to throw up again.

Gloria,

Sorry for taking so long to reply your last qns. I was in agony for the past few days. Had terrible nausea and burning gastric sensation. Was praying for all these to end...today I felt 60 percent my usual self. Last couple of days I think I looked like hell.

No, I have not gone back to work. My HL after ET was two weeks and I have taken my own leave till next week. But I am seriously considering to continue taking leave if my morning sickness does not subside. I have no bed to lie down in office and with work coming in, I think I will go bonkers in my current state. But I have not inform my superior yet, have to see how it goes. How are you feeling? Do you experienced morning sickness? To what extent? Hope all is fine.

Ineedmiracle,

Havent answer your last question. Yes, I think IVF is more prone to m/c. Sorry to say that... but I must say, we must face up to reality that IVF is more prone to m/c and alot of uncertainties or unstabilities.

Ours is not naturally conceived, unlike some women who will ovulate regularly, release an egg, and the warriors get to meet the egg. Some women get to choose the gender of the baby.
Unfortunately, in our case, it dun happen the way we want to be. We need hormonal support for eggs to grow and doctor's help to put two together. Hehehe.

But one thing for sure, any mummy and daddy who went through IVF are wonderful parents. I am sure many will agree with me.

Just faith, you are in week wat? I am in week 6 going to 7. I read that week 6 is the most severe morning sickness week, I truly hope that it will really end. I cannot drink juice, I felt very sour in my gastric if I drink juice. Ribena...maybe I will get my hubby to buy. I even told him to scout for me a music CD that I found it online that promises to cure morning sickness. Seems like medical proven to work, its called "morningwell". You heard of it?

Rose: u are in which week? did ur mum have bad MS too? MS includes nauseous too? i have been feeling that on and off...vomitted once on tues....most of the time i feel indigestion but hungry at the same time....does anyone have that?

nm, I took plain biscuit, its really terrifying to wake up feeling nausea and head spinning everyday. And the disgusting and bland taste in my mouth really adds to my limit. I even puke when brushing my teeth. Now I am slightly sober...if you do not see me responding to this thread later on, I guess I am on it again. Its really a roller coaster ride!

NM, no ironically, my mum had no MS symptoms at all when she had 3 children. And I initially thought that I will be blessed too...i am in week 6. I was practically doing fine in week 5 when all of a sudden, it started on Tues this week. If you have not reach your week 6, better prepare the home remedies before it suddenly strike. I do hope that no other sisters here will get that awful feeling.

oh wow...next week is week six for me...oh dear....

have u tried honey? not so bad to the stomach? i listen to meditation music every day.. more like relaxation music..not sure if that will calm u down a little..?

Rose,

heh heh... week 12 5 days to be exact. My week 6 to week 8 was terrible too. That's why I lost those weight (abt 3 kgs) that i put on during puregon stage.

Nope, never heard of the CD. I just went along with the puking game. Guess it's an indication from the baby that he/she is having fun inside.

Does your mum have MS when she was expecting you? Check with her. My mum has MS until 4 months. Think I am not spare too.

Faith
While reading your CRIB story about your 1st BFP, I was telling myself, my DH must read this. Up to now, I can sense that he still don't see the reason why the 2ww is so impt. I guess the 2ww for ivf and normal preg is just so diff. He was even joking to say after I ET can go holiday le right? I just stared at him and shake my head. Will gynaes and nurses inform us the importance of 2ww? if so, I must make sure i get my DH go with me to hear.
Am i right to say, we should be very careful during th 2ww as well as the 1st trimester? ivf preg still prone to mc during 1st trimester?

Talking about choosing gender. 1 beautician once told me she chose the gender of her twins when she doing ivf. Gender is determined by the sperm right?

But I do agree, mummy and daddy who went through IVF are wonderful parents. The baby comes to us as a miracle and so so dear to us as.

Just faith, I do hope my nausea will end at week 7.
I really hope. Do you feel warm and sour at your gastric area? It felt something like gastric flu.

nm, I will try honey later, manuka honey ok? I only have that at home. Dun worry about your week 6, just be prepared. Individual responds differently to MS. Maybe I am just not tough enough.

Rose, I dun feel sour at gastric. Only feel heartburn.

My whole body feels warm though. When I feel cold or not warm enough, I will start to tuck myself under the quilt..

Rose: i also take manuka honey...gives u a little enery boost after drinking ..hehe i put a little lemon slice occasionally ..hehe

update on my week 5 HCG: 9170 E2/Prog are increasing as well...

ineedmiracle: u are correct..gender is determined by sperm cos it carries both x and y chromosomes. i thot in spore cannot choose gender? i know malaysia can choose...

ivf preg is artificial in a way, hence throughout our preg we need to maintain healthy llifestyle, healthy thots and be positive....dont be bogged down by STRESS

ineedmiracle,

As I said, doctor dun insist on CRIB during 2ww. But then again, if rest is not important, why HL is given and not MC?

Yes, we need to be xtra xtra careful during 2ww. Cause this is the time where implantation will take place. And yes, during 1st tri. Basically, must be at least 3 times more kiasu than couples who conceived naturally. Because aft 1st tri, we are no longer on duphaston (an tai) support. Our babies can produce own hormones to support the pregnancy.

Be it 2ww, or 1st tri or at anytime of the pregnancy, I have no courage to travel. Though some doctors will tell you it is okay to travel for more than 5 hrs.. but I really think otherwise.
Tell u lah, after you BFP, your worries are never ending one... from tested positive, you must wait for week 6 scan to see sac and heartbeat.. and in some cases, heartbeats can only be detected from week 7. On week 12, there is also another scan for down syndrome. Unless you are in private hospital, your visit to gynae's clinic are more often. For KK, they dun monitor so closely. Only week 6, week 8/9 and week 12 scan to see baby. My nx scan is week 14.

NM,

For me, I really feel chest area hot hot lor.. just like after you have taken tom yam soup, the stomach feel hot. But instead of stomach hot, I feel chest area hot hot.. and becos of the heartburn feeling, i feel breathless then!

Your HCG is really high.... congrats! Confirm multiples... just dunno... 2 or 3.. hehe.. congrats again.

KK,

I am not sure about the questions you have posted. Lazy to check back, sorry. I think all chinese medicines/herbs should stop during injection stage. However, I think it is safe to go for accupuncture.

just faith: oh ok tat kind of feeling...ok so far dont have ...touch wood....touch wood....

thanks ....now eagerly waiting for jul 8 for first scan.....keeping fingers crossed...

just rewarded myself with chicken wings...heheh