grumpus/pink, I think going through IVF is not playing God but make use of science but through this process u still have to keep the faith and seek God's blessing to bless u with good lining, eggs, embbies etc. Having a baby is after all a blessing.

pink martini: way to go.
Pink martini + grumpus = gd support for me. Can pray tog for each other too

Oh need to have gap before showering ?? think i didn't practise that ...

Can ask u gers, lurcin is those bottle type of injections is it ?? I always nightmare that I inject air bubble into myself !!

Anyone know the est cost for it ... its not like puregon right ? that it needs different dosage per patient

Hi, I am new here. Will be on puregon tomorrow. I am with Dr Soh from KK.

May I know any food to eat or drink during this period? I read red dates and longann drinks and egg whites. Went through the thread but unable to find detail. Please help...

Dear pink destiny, pink martini adn grumpus,

So happy to see you here! My hubby and I also Catholics. We have been putting off IVF cos the church teaching. But after trying for 3 years, we decided to go for IVF. Can't share it with my Catholic friends and god mother.

My work place have a few Catholics. Now very stressed how to tell office when I go on MC for the 1 to 2 weeks.

Have been prarying hard. I even went to Novena on Tue after blood test to pray for babies. Hope God will answer all our prayers.

Haha.. JJ i have the dubious honor of injecting air into my tummy when i was on suprefect which is your lucrin. i didn't know tip of the needle is the opening and thought it's at the base. so when the bottle is upside down and the medicine is finishing, i thought as long as base of needle is submerged in medicine can aleady. only abt 2 days later then i realised that the medicine doesn't seem to be decreasing and neither did i feel any pain while injecting then i realised this. luckily it didn't affect much on the suppression i needed at that time.... and boy during those 2 days, i really let out ALOT of air... bothways...

JJ,
yup lucrin is bottle type injection using insulin syringes. as long as not big big air bubble is ok. we are injecting into the fats so the presence of air bubble is not so critical. only if injecting directly into the veins then hv to be very very careful abt air bubbles.

if i remember correctly, one bottle of lucrin abt 100+ enough to last the whole cycle. Dosage is quite standard, usually 10 units, though some may need 15 or 20 units. but dosage will not vary during the cycle unlike puregon

Wah ... pink martini u injected 2days of air ... ok now I reassured that I won't 'kill' myself ...

I think its only dangerous if we inject into the blood vessels.....

Ok grumpus, thanks for the info .. want to take note how much $$ is needed for each collection of injections ...

This month is cash flow out out out !!

hi clercler,
welcome

there's a link to an excel spreadsheet regarding do's and don'ts circulating around. sorry but i didn't keep a bookmark to the link.
dun worry, one of the sisters here will post it soon

eh why kk make until so complicated ah, certain things deduct medisave, certain things must $$
for me i hv to pay everything upfront, then after ET, the hospital will submit the medisave claim. after medisave pay to the hospital, the hospital just issue me a check for $6k.
quite fast, within one wk get the check already.

Grumpus, at kk we get all these fr pharmacy, nurse will give u the prescription. If medisave and co fund they will stamp on the prescription, u just go collect the med without paying. End of the cycle get a bill giving the breakdown and which cost deduct from co fund or medisave

grumpus - u not with kkh right?
maybe since govt hospital kkh got to cater to all grps of income level. Some might not have the entire ivf cash to pay up front at 1 shot...

Pink destiny,

I hvnt reach your stage yet. I need to remove a polyp on this coming monday in KKH then start my soiui in aug... haiz... scare lor!!

This is why I so envy u all...

Gan,
thanks for explaining. still sounds very confusing to me :p

JJ,
yup am not with kk, with pte. i guess u're right, govt hospital need to cater esp to lower income grps and help minimise the upfront cash outlay.

Pink - dun worry. You did not stir any -ve feelings or thoughts.. I didn't realise that i did not clarify visualize... I had thought that you girls know... Visualize is to picture every step of the way in your mind..

3 day transfer-
1dpt...embryo is growing and developing
2dpt...Embryo is now a blastocyst
3dpt...Blastocyst hatches out of shell on this day
4dpt...Blastocyst attaches to a site on the uterine lining
5dpt...Implantation begins,as the blastocyst begins to bury in the lining
6dpt...Implantation process continues and morula buries deeper in the lining
7dpt...Morula is completely inmplanted in the lining and has placenta cells &
fetal cells
8dpt...Placenta cells begin to secret HCG in the blood
9dpt...More HCG is produced as fetus develops
10dpt...More HCG is produced as fetus develops
11dpt...HCG levels are now high enough to be immediately detected on
HPT

5 day transfer-
-1dpt...embryo is growing and developing
0dpt...Embryo is now a blastocyst
1dpt...Blastocyst hatches out of shell on this day
2dpt...Blastocyst attaches to a site on the uterine lining
3dpt...Implantation begins,as the blastocyst begins to bury in the lining
4dpt...Implantation process continues and morula buries deeper in the lining
5dpt...Morula is completely inmplanted in the lining and has placenta cells &
fetal cells
6dpt...Placenta cells begin to secret HCG in the blood
7dpt...More HCG is produced as fetus develops
8dpt...More HCG is produced as fetus develops
9dpt...HCG levels are now high enough to be immediately detected on HPT!

Thought that you girls might like this list.. I posted this when I did my first IVF.. I was on an Ang Moh forum.. And they were quite helpful in advocating this to me, constantly...

Things you should DO before ER:
- Eat an egg or two each day or other protein rich foods
- Acupuncture (if possible)
- Massage
- Drink lots of water
- Excersise (only light excersise when stimming and after ER/ET like walking. This increases blood flow to the uterus) Don’t get heart-rate over 140
- Eat lots of protein and high-quality fats. Nuts, seeds, eggs, meats, beans . . . etc.
- Eat lots of fiber as well. This helps PCOS women with IR to regulate insulin better
- Get at least 8 hours of sleep each night. Take frequent naps

Things you should AVOID before ER:
- DH should not expose himself to sauna/hottub
- Avoid cold/iced food
- Avoid excess amounts of red meats
- Don’t eat sugar or sugar substitutes! Sugar negatively effects egg quality.
- No alcohol for either partner for at least 1 month before ER
- Reduce or eliminate caffeine intake
- Avoid eating fish due to mercury content

Things you should DO after ER:
- Relax
- Drink plenty of Gatorade
- Drink Pedialyte and water to avoid OHSS. 3-5 liters a day!

Things you should AVOID after ER:
- Exposure to sun

After ET care:
- No heavy lifting! Anything over 5 lbs is too much
- Rest, rest, rest!!!!!

Tzac hmm u r on cyclogest that's high progesterone dun think is af... Is it alot? To be careful mAybe ask for early bt to check?

Morning gan, u r early. I itchy finger test hpt again as hv 4 at home n saw a very very very faint +ve. Verticle line is super faint so dunno gd news or not. bad news is still hv brown discharge tis morn. Hv cramps 2 n tis is making me worried n scared. Shd I go c doc?

Tzac go see doc, u r preggy, i have faint line for my watson HPT too on D12. go 24 hrs and ask for early BT and at the same time a progesterone jab to stabilise the pregnancy.
Ask someone to go with u.
Take care!!

Sorry gan, another qn, I m on cyclogest n prognova. Does tat mean af will not come b4 d14? Me really worried now. Osso paranoid, when feel something come out fr v, immediate go check. So worried c red. Wake up at 4 am n can't sleep

Tzac, i just felt that the cyclogest has very high progesterone, so i dun think AF will come while u r on insert
have u done ur insert and took ur progynova this morning?
Dun think so much now, HPT shows faint line means preggy. bring the HPT with u and go see doc now.

BTW sometimes, ur cervix cld be irritated due to the inserts as u insert thru v, so cld have brownish discharge. but most impt if see spotting and preggy, get support immediately.

This 4 ur reply. May I knw when u knw bt result when go 24 hrs? Gotta stay there n wait 4 result? Wil they give jab if u request? Paiseh many qns again

no the result will know abt 3 hrs later. so bring ur hpt with u, though the doc may ask u do another urine test there. yes they wld, in fact when u r preggy and has spotting without asking, they wld give the jab. no need stay and wait for results. they can call u.
u can ask is it proluton jab they are giving u coz proluton is stronger than the usual progesterone jab

Yup did both tis morn. Ok wil bring hpt 2 doc 2 but doc mat say it's -ve as line is really faint. however my Lao Hua yen mum stil can make out tat it's +ve leh haha. Wil moniter n c how 1 st. Mayb it's v irritated as these 2 days felt a bit pain when insert cyclogest. Sigh me really hope tis wil b a + ve one 4 me as age not on my side

Tzac, cld be irritation coz when i first had very slight spotting after BT, i went thomson medical to see a gynea and did a swap test, actually had infection. so i was given antibiotic to take to clear the infection.

Solli but wats mean by spotting? Is it dots of brown or red discharge? Mine is more of patch of brown discharge when I got b4 af. Tats y worried. Aiyana dunno whether it's becos carry laptop home last nite as I on leave 2 day n it's 2 heavy. Sigh

spotting can be red or brown discharge.
brown is discharge of old blood. Anyway u better dun chat now...get ready and go see doc now ok?
Try minimise walking and rest more.

Hi sista can help?
I'm on 2WW now & today is d12. my BT suppose on 23 June. This morning hand itchy use hpt test, is -ve, soon i realized i got brown discharge after inserted cyclogest... think i got same confussion w tzac, is my af coming??? Feel a bit stomach cramp also..

what i suppose to do now?

ohh..dun worry..its coz u hv so many follicles..so hormones are raging in ur body now. its normal... today u going for scan right?

update us later ok...

Mel ocean, u can ask for early BT to see if preggy. sometimes HCG cld be still low and therefore not detected by the HPT.

During my fresh cycle, i had light AF flow 4 days before my BT and i went to 24 hrs and asked for early BT coz i was concerned if i am preggy, my thinking was if i was preggy then, i must do something to stop the flow.