Hi Karen, we can be cycle buddies then! hee...my menses shd be here by Fri/Sat if the prediction is right.
I still feel I have a long way to go though...

oh ic...maybe tomorrow i will ask angela

when i first saw Angela, she told me she would do ICSI coz I was never pregnant before. Then she gauged from hubby's SA results and said we might need it.
Actually I dun mind if it's like lychee, where they did half IVF and half ICSI... hubby's SST is only next week so then we will know how fit his "buddies" are.

Any reasons why you are doing IVF nm?

pandawife - last time? i put 3 in.. kena twins...

nm - heh.. yah lor.. Dr Philip is very gentle.. very impressed that he injected the IV without feeling..
yah.. i think he is more conventionally handsome than his brother.. but i think Dr Paul is more distinguished.. my hubby used to make fun of me that i stick with Dr Paul for sooo many years cos he is handsome.. haha.. Hmmmm.. ER tomorrow? so excited for you!! wish you many good eggs!! after ER, pls eat lots of egg whites and drink isotonic drinks.. you gotta replace your fluids and leaking albumin.. hmm... ICSI is decided by angela lor.. she is a very experienced embryologist... she will see see and gauge whether should use ICSI or not.. but you can request for it..

lychee - that's a nice number and nice quantity that got fertilised..

Lychee.. tat's many embroyos fertislised.. good news...and good news all the way...

Pink: leyt's fight the battle together... cheers!

anyone to share abt the embroyo grades and ranking?

thks mel..drink 100plus is it? not the chilled ones rite...ooh.. so Angela is a embroyologist... wow... mustbe experienced... hee

i wonder if i can switch my "future" 2ww to CARE.. another qns: if i hv frozen embroyoes at kkh, can still do fet at CARE?

pink: thanks for the info...

i have blocked fallopian tubes (both sides) hence have to do IVF.

yrself?

mel:eat egg whites? raw ones? or cooked? isotonic drinks? as in those with high sodium sports drinks?

Ya actually that is what they recommended. But if sperm quality is ok, it is still your choice cos there is additional cost for ICSI.

We wanted higher chance of fertilisation so opted for half half. So the embroyologist chose the best eggs for ICSI and the rest for IVF.

so far when i go CARE..is always i follow what angela says and I will do...i hardly ask y....

maybe tomorrow i can ask....but then again i will forget when i reach there tomorrow cos too excited...

Thanks mel. When we went for scan, there were 35 eggs (some were very small of course). So thought there would be more. But i think we're quite happy with 12 already. Fingers crossed!

Thanks Karen!

this thread really moves at lightning speed! :D

nm, my hubby has low sperm count and 1% morphology. I failed 3 IUIs before so we decided to try IVF.

Maybe you can try to write down a list of questions to ask so you can ask everything and get answers! I would be there tmr as well, for hubby's Blood test and Sperm culture! Jia you jia you**

ya lychee, there is an additional cost for ICSI. Somehow I think of everything can be without ICSI, it would be better. In that sense, there is still "natural selection" instead of jabbing just one chosen sperm? I wish I have your no. of eggs! I will be on Gonal-F 225IU next week!

pink how old are u ? if u dont mind me asking?

I had 5 IUIs but still not successful.
I wrote but i always forget...haha its just me...
i was on gonal f 300 IU cos i think of my age...me 35 yrs old.

Hi pink-destiny.

Actually i think we could have chosen natural IVF for all the eggs. But i scared cannot fertilise properly, then worried eggs will be wasted. Cos I doubt can opt to do ICSI later if natural fertilisation fail.

Since have come so far, don't mind to spend a bit more and do ICSI, to be more secure. That is my thinking lah. Different people may think differently.

All the very very BEST to you! Stay healthy k, take lots of nutrition and balanced diet. You can do it!

no prob nm. I am 29+...you? Hubby is 31.

I am tired of the shattered hopes of every IUI... I am sure you know how that feels so we decided to jump straight to IVF already.
Angela initially wanted me to do another SO-IUI but I declined. I hope Gonal-F 225IU gives me good number of eggs. So are you excited? I read that ur wk gives u stress...pls relax ok, dun waste it on wk!

my jun af is due to report nxt sat (11 Jun) then I can start my very 1st ivf ... getting excited ...

For my kkivf side, I requested icsi. saw the nurse tick the icsi box in my ivf form... doing so will increase fertilization rate (i hope) might as well increase all chances where possible ...

Thanks lychee. Yup we agree to ICSI coz we hope to mamimize every oppty possible. So the theory of "natural selection" will have to be cast aside first hee.

You know girls, before this forum and thread, I did not know how to go thru my "suffering" alone as all my girlfriends and colleagues could conceive naturally. I really felt so alone and "abnormal", now I feel more supported. Thanks girlies!!

Me too! I haven't really been talking to my friends as didn't really want to tell them so much. And talking to hubby is different.

But I feel so much support in this forum. Thanks to all of you ladies!

pink-destiny: now the choice of ivf is getting more n more accepted cos its really a growing prob among couples.

Last time old days pple hide & since ivf cost was too high their only options were to go childless.

At least now we've got govt grants n support from internet forums...

karen - yup.. any isotonic drinks will help alot.. as far as i know, you should be able to transfer your frozen embies.. to anywhere.. after all they belong to you..

nm - hmm.. actually is possible, the egg white should be as raw as possible, cos need to preserve the albumin.. apparently, cooking destroys part of it.. but alot of ppl advised that if possible do not eat raw or semi cooked foods due to fear of salmonella.. for me, i took half cooked egg whites when i did my fresh cycle last year.. i am more scared of OHSS than salmonella.. :p but i do know that you can find pasturised eggs in the upscale super marts.. are definately bacteria/salmonella free...

pink - i was from CARE.. and i will be there tomorrow too!! :p

tks Mel... ic ic... u mean pasturised eggs.. so we are eating egg whites for both protein and albumin..pls corredt me if i'm wrong..cos some pp says protein comes mainly from the egg yolk, but once yolk cooked then protein gone?

pink/nm: can i ask u something...wen u went to care for the first time for consultation..did angela list down ur options n wat steps she will be doing for u?

i jus made an appt wit care and now rather excited n nervous

hi Karen - I told them, then they confirm with me before they ticked.

I need to go back to check the cost of icsi .. cos the price list should have the breakdown

I suddenly feel so much support! Hee... like I said we already have our "gatherings" at CARE without even organizing one.

Lychee, I keep mostly to myself and I dun wanna tell anyone (not parents or in-laws) about IVF coz we fear being judged. In fact when I went to CARE I was like so hush...I hope I could dig a hole and hide my sorry face la...
But now i learn to embrace it... and it does help coz we know we are not alone!

Mel, you gave me strength. whenever I hear BFPs with CARE, it's like a boost to my confidence!

JJ: That's true. Now I tell myself we jus need some help to conceive. At least there is some hope for us!

hoping: angela will do a consultation with u and yr hubby and list down the possiblities and what to expect. she will not push u to decide anything...

hoping, miss you! You ok? Ur AF arrive?
Call CARE as soon as AF arrives...preferably see Angela soon. Dunno if she wanna do E2 blood test for you or not.
I saw her on day 5 as I was overseas and was started on Gynera (oral contraception) immediately.
I am currently off Gynera and is on the next stage.
Yes, Angela took more than an hr to brief hubby and me about IVF. She also advised us to try SO-IUI again before embarking on IVF. But we were adamant abt IVF.

She would churn out an Excelt chart on what you would need to do, eg: jab what on which days for how long etc and the whole protocol is marked on the excel. You would follow the table accordingly.
The tests/scans are all on it as well.

You can ask those "seniors" (Panda/mel) for more details on the procedures as they are success cases!!

For me, this is what I know but I would share whatever I know with you!

Hi pink-destiny,

It's not that i am trying to hide the fact that I am going for IVF. Actually i didn't tell many friends about my IVF cos i prefer if they don't keep asking how I am. Cos if successful, i pandang and prefer not to tell anyone until after 1st trimester. If fail, also may not feel like talking about it.

I mainly only talk to my hubby, my mum and one of my close friends.

pink: i agree wit u...it had been tough talking ot sharing how i feel abt trying so hard to get preg and keep on failing to my frens...as for me...it hurts me more as my sis in law gotten married same time as me and now she is wit 3 kids...i keep on teling my hubby..i just want one out of 3 of what she has...why is it so tough?

agree lychee!
I sometimes whine to my brother and hubby. My aunt is very supportive. She talked me out of my denial and asked me to be proactive.
I felt that I dun have to answer to the world why I am not pregnant yet... but of coz it is a struggle alone. Sometimes I can cry when my frens complained they were pregnant as they did not want it...

ya ... lots of pple take for granted that all children are a blessing.
I always hear complains of how tiring to take care of the child is blah blah ...
I don't even have the luxury to complain ... anyway each person / family have their own problems

thanks nm and pink on ur explanation...yup AF arrived and now is my 4th day...made a call to care and hav an appt with angela this fri...

trying not to think too much of my past failed iuis and ivf and moving on wit my mission to get preggy....thanks to everyone here who are constantly giving advices and hope to all those trying

i can understand how u all feel.. perhaps god has a reason when things dun happen our way... stay strong and i'm sure baby dust will fall on all of us! let's keep our morale high.. so many sucessful cases here.. on the other hand i dun intend to pin too much hope so tat i also dun fall deep deeep.. hee

ya pink, agree! We all face the same problems. Sigh...

Nvm! Let's move forward! May good luck be with all of us ladies here in the forum! Jia you!!

Ya Karen. I know that kinda feelings. hard to balance optimism with reality sometimes. I am naturally a cynic so I get pessimstic all the time. The challenge is the 2ww so I better think of how to make myself happy! :D

Hoping, it's ok. We move ahead. One must always move ahead. I dun wanna think of the so-called wasted and dashed dreams anymore. I just wanna move fwd. we would all do that! Jia you!!

karen - protein is found in egg white.. the yolk contains all the vitamins and minerals.. when i consume my egg whites.. i take my yolks together!! love my yolks!!! cholesterol can go to h*ll!! yup.. pasturised eggs can eat raw.. but i hate the smell..

hoping, pink - take heed.. there is alot of support here.. i had a long long period of no pregnancy then 2 ectopics ...hence have to do abortions.. was really sad that when i am trying so hard to get preggy, all fail.. then, miracle.. got preggy.. then found out is ectopic.. twice somemore.. damn devastating... used to cry when ppl announce pregnancy...i know what it is like to be without support..
glad that you feel good hearing abt BFP... felt the same way too!!

I agree its indeed hard to remain positive during 2WW yet somehow got to set aside a sense of reality in case this round fails.

I want to be hopeful but at same time don't want to be too hopeful ... makes sense ?? hmmm ... think mainly to distract ourselves ... during 2ww if not every syptom will drive u crazy

Hi Mel:

ic .. does protein or albumnin in egg white being lost when we cooked it?

how does albumin in egg white helps... is it to relieve bloatedness?

sorry to ask again... cos i'm a bit confused.. tku...

Mel,

so sad to hear that! I had one MC 3 years ago and it took me so long to get over it. You are so strong! Take care ya! Success will definitely come your way!

wow Mel! u are also very brave! very touching to hear wat u hv gone thru... all the more i must stay positive... if i fail this time... just hv to keep trying... tks a lot!

hi mel... u are really very brave... really touching to hear ur story... all the more i must stay hopeful.. if i fail this time, i will continue to try till i succeed... tks for sharing

hi gals, can I ask how to we check for PM?
I realized I have got PMs when I checked my email but I dun have notification here at the forum? can someone enlighten? Thanks!