ww,

i called the general line and made an appt to se the doc at the private suite..cause it got nite clinic.

tje price difference is about 6 dolalrs for initial consult. i apid abt 90 bucks for consult and scan + 42 for medication for 3 months.

if u do it naturally then got to BD like that, but i prefer not to, so will go for ovualtion monitoring and then IUI if the follicles grow big enough.

Humble,

I'm at the waiting stage now..hhah...results on the 27th Mar..

BlueRabbit,
Actually 1 year is quite ok already..If only I have your luck..first try successful...
I'm going into my 5th year and all my peers are already mother of 2...sometimes I wonder if i can tahan another year, 2 years or many years without kid...

Sisters, do you all believe in fortune telling? My "fate" with baby is very low...sigh..
furthermore 100% due to my problem..should I divorce my hubby so that he can have a child of his own...hmmm

yeah, cheers jolene!!!
386874.gif

Winter,
2ww? that is the most difficult stage for me-the suspense of knowing the result. But it is the time you shouldnt let your mind wander, stay positive and all will be fine.

I m definitely not a fortune teller but I can tell you that PMA (positive mental attitude) will definitely help. Cos when we are positve and happy our body produces a kind of chemical that helps the body to function well. You know what, mine is 100% male factor but I hav never thought it as his problem but our problem, will u divorce ur hubby if he has a problem? No you wont..thats when you will start loving him more because he needs u. In my opinion life is not all abt having baby but it is an important part. We will give it all and hope for the best.

sending you waves of PMA (((((((((PMA))))))))))

take care

Hi babymaking,

The price that you are paying at kkh seem reasonable. May i know what time do they close for nite clinic? And do they open everynite? How about Saturday?

Hi Sisters,

i m new here. i hv been TTCing for my 2nd bb for a few yrs.

i was told by a fren that IUI procedures is very painful, something like a thin tube will b inserted thru ur vagina n dr will inject the sperms into e tube thus into the vagina n send e sperms straight to e "door" of the egg... n this is very very painful...

but by reading thru e above past postings... i think it's not that painful, right? i m a person who cant stand pain...

will any sisters out there kind enough to advise me on the procedures n details of the IUI or SO-IUI process? like b4 the process what test we will b put on? on what CD? etc... Thks...

Humble..

Thank you for your waves of PMA and baby dust..
Ya you are right..I should be more positive..hubby will be sad if he knows I'm so bothered.

think you should have a good chance of success as I believe as long as problem does not lie with the female..success rate should be better...let's jia you together

Hi Summmer / Renee / Blur Blur / Rachael,
hello hmm glad tat it's showly some improvement and must continue. Let's jia you together ok.

Hi Blue Rabbit,
How are you now? Any ms symptons?? Hope everything is fine with you unlike me. gonna take the stress of blood test for the past weeks...When you seeing doctor for your first scan on the no. of baby?? maybe 2 hor??

Those ladies that are waiting for results, please be positive and I am glad to have the support of all girls and it's really nice to see everyone supporting each other.

Babymaking, just got my progesterone results. Did ovulate this month. So, got to wait a few more days to see if the natural way works. But DH's normal form is low, 3%. and I am also experiencing PMS now. So chances are very slim. By the way, is IUI recommended for male factor or female factor? Not sure, if I should consider IUI first before embarking on IVF.

lostinthots,

you may want to call KKH to check it out. sorry i don't have the information on hand.

winter1,

don't think negative thoughts. early on when we first started ttc, the doc said it was male factor issue and now hubby situation improved but now it's my ovulation issues, throughout we considered it 'our' problem and not a his or her issue.

vg,
IUI is not painful, it's very much like a pap smear, but you need to relax through the procedure.

ww
that's good news, so just need to see if this cycle works.

IUI is helpful if you do ovulate, and the sperm is enhanced, and sent directly up the uterus, so sperm need to travel less. also, before IUI, you are monitored via scans to see the growth of the follicles and then a jab is given to release the eggs, this makes sure that there is a complete ovulation.

one can ovulate (positive progesterone results) but not necessary release eggs that can be fertilised.

wehn i did my first cycle in KKH, my results showed i ovulated, but when i did my second cycle at a pte clinic with the same dose of clomid, the scans shows the follicles grow and break releasing progesterone but the cycle was considered a failure as no viable eggs was released.

hi jolene, u r most welcome..... i may need u & the girls here for moral support & encouragement too when i start my prog next mth.... :D

hi babymaking, tink ur reply should b to vq on iui??
387115.gif

vq, i agreed with babymaking tt iui is like pap smear.... u dun feel pain, mayb more on discomfort during the procedure bt it will go away after tt...... most impt is to relax through out the process....

Hi lostinthots,
I am seeing Dr Loh in private suite. He is there Wednesday nights and Saturday mornings. He usually sees IVF pregnancies there because he says our pregnancies need more personalised care. But he does see ttc patients there as well. The nurses there told me that he is also one of the best laparoscopic surgeons.

thanks babymaking & rachel

at least i m not so "back-off" by IUI nw. may i ask again how long does e process of this "discomfort" take? 1hr?

i m thinking whether to opt. for IVF instead. any comments on IVF? i hope i wont hv any side-effects on the jabs...

when i had my girl thru c-sect. (actually my whole labour process is like "drama") i was allergy to the thread of my stitches n had a wound infection. my hb was amazed n said WOW "string" also u allergy... hehehe...

eh gals, just found out some stuff about procedures at KKH and CARE that i would like to share with those who are undergoing ovulation monitoring and intending to go for IUI.

at KKH, after seeing the doc at the the private suite, the scans are done by a sonographer, you need to make appointments to see the sonogrpaher who only works from 830 -930 am and the report is reviewed by the gynae (not necessarily your appointed gynae)there is no early mornign clinic at 730 am for scans.

the package is 300 for unlimited scans, and another 300 for sperm washing and insemination (not necessarily by the your appointed gynae- depends on whether he is availabel or not) if you need a jab to release the egg is another cost, medication is also another cost.

the package at CARE at paragon is as follows

the cost is about $650, which includes any number of scans (they do a CD2 scan to preclude cysts etc) plus the normal CD 10, 12, 14 or whenever u need scan to check for follicles.

the package also include the jab to release egg, sperm enhancement (not just sperm washing), insemination (iui) plus medicine to support the lutal phrase.

appointments can be made one day before, they operate at 8.30am till 530pm so the scans can be done during lunch time as well. waiting time is estimated at 30 min maximum from scan to payment.

all scans plus insemination are done by doctors.

hope the above information is useful to anyone considering ovualtion monitoring and IUI.

Hi Christine & babymaking,
Thanks for replying, me can only go to see dr after office hour that's why have to look for those that operate nite time one.
I had done ivf before so i sort of know that the whole programme is exhaustive and demanding. Now just thinking of sorting out some hormonal issues.

hi lostinthots,

i am facing the same issue in terms of not wanting to take time off from work.

so far it seems like only CARE at paragon can do it 830am in the morning...or during lunch time if you work in orchard area.

as for nite clinics, if you find any, please let me know.

Hi babymaking and lostinthots,
I had the same problems last time. Once during my IVF, I really couldn't get time off for morning scan. So I emailed Dr Loh and he asked me to go straight to his clinic and knock on the door. He was in D clinic until quite late on Tuesdays. Wednesday night got private suite, Saturday I no work... I find him quite obliging, so managed to 'survive' IVF scanning without much time off.

Hi biscuit, gleaneagles in KL or Penang? How do you come to know about your centre? Actually my gynae recommended Damansara Fertility Centre (DFC) in KL (btw I'm from Ipoh - no IVF centre here)but I've come to know another centre thru internet ie. Damai Concept Fertility Centre also in KL (risky right thru internet, no recommendation by anyone) . But I think they are quite pro so far and also their fee is also quite reasonable. I have attended their counselling session and done hormone test. DH and I quite satisfied but still having doubt cos DFC is more reputable and established. Have your heard of these two centres before? Hope that u can share with me your experience on how u chose your centre in the first place? What criteria should we look for when choosing a centre? very luan, pls help

Hi Rachel, ur right, my DH also said that i should prepare my health before starting this program. But I can't afford to waste anymore time. Diagnosed with severe endo and DH male factor. My gynae advised to get pregnant, a way to control growth of endo. Did laprascopy few months ago, worried endo might worsen. Btw how to bu? (is ginseng ok? I've stop eating chicken and soya products since diagnosed with endo.

I'm back to work today. I was told to drink plenty of water cos nurse said I might have OHSS.

Blue Rabbit,
Yes, I can still tahan with my job cos no stress mah...b4 this job, I was working with a company...everyday OT, OT...very busy...I scared liao.

Rachel,

Jolene,
Hey, it's a great news...jia you!!

vq,
I juz had my SO-IUI yesterday. Procedure is not painful at all...don't worry.

hi babymaking,
r u looking for private or public clinic. i am currently with prof chen from gleneagles. his clinic opens late at night. somethimes as late as 12 midnight. that is the reason why i choose to stick with him.

sisters,
had my scan last night. seems like my 'eggs' are not really growing well leh. 5th day into my jab and is still so small. now it makes me so worried. anybody with the same experience? can share

Jolene,
I'm doing fine... no ms symptons yet, but whenever I take cab to go back home, I'll feel nausea. The smell of the cab put me off. I'm looking forward to the 28th... that's when I'll see my baby (hopefully babies) for the 1st time

hi Jily, i am with gleaneagles penang. I heard about the centre coz it is famous with high success rate. besides, the "handicraft" work is very good...
r u working? you must plan to set aside some time no matter u want to travel north or south for the treatment. i would think that u should choose a centre which is most convenience to u and with the good reputation.
i heard about DFC, it is on 5 days transfer.

hi babymaking,
u'll know whether there is a viable egg thru scanning? i though u've to take it out and put under a microscope..

seow,
I had the same situation as u before ER. I was abt 2 weeks into my puregon alr, but my follicles didn't grow to the ideal size yet... only 1-2 ok, the rest still small. So Dr put me on a higher dosage of puregon for 2 days and scan again, this time it's better and 1 more puregon injection and then the HCG injection follow by ER.

vq, you are welcomed.

christine,
so you managed to get your scanning done outside working hours 9-6pm through out your IVF process?

i am doing IUI not for the first time, so i know that scans can be unpredictable, the last time i had to go bak for 4 scans which means 4 days off plus one day for the insemination.

i guess my issue is that i can't afford to take 5 days off for evry cycle.

hi seow,
thanks for your recommendation, but Dr Chris Chen charges way too high for a simple scan.

biscuit,
not hundred 100% but if the follicles grow till 20-25mm and breaks, higher chances that there is a viable egg than compared to just taking a progesterone blood test at CD23 to evaluate ovulation.

for best analysis would be to take the egg out and out it under microscope but that will mean IVF already

I am cartoon here. 1st time into this thread.

Seow - U went 4 yur scanning last night & eggs still small? What is the size of it?
I also wif Prof Chen & was at clinic last night for scanning too. I am into my 5th day of puregon liao.

winter1, our cycles are very close..my blood test is just a few days after yours. How r u feeling so far after the transfer? i just had mine yesterday ..so hv been resting .How many days did u rest b4 u went back to work ?

Hi Mimi,

Have been think about you too...you had your transfer yesterday? in KK too?
I'm still resting..clearing leave..going back next Tues..hee hee..how about you..

no mine is at NUH .How long did KK make u lie down after the trnsfer? I had to lie down for 2 hrs at an inclined position.Was quite uncomfortable.

so hv u gone out like shopping ?I find this resting can be quite stressful..haha..trying to be too careful abt everything..abit paranoid.

Hi babymaking,

Like Seow said, Chris Chen's clinic do operate until at nite. But be prepared to wait up to 2 hours +, and his charges are very steep. Btw my 1st ivf was under him.

I was made to lie down for 10 mins only..
Yes this period is so stressful..shopping not really..just went down to buy fruits..hubby very paranoid and wanted me to be extra careful...
You started to have symptoms?

so far no symptoms,how abt u ? ...is this yr first ivf ? mine is actually icsi. Like u..also tried for nearly 5 years.My hubby is really excited as this is our first ivf and he is very hopeful. I am too..trying not to be too paranoid haha. Lets be positive and wait for our gd news yah ??!!!

lostinthots,

2 hours? and expensive charges..well i will give it a miss.

but then chris chen has one of the highest success rates

hi cartoon,
ha..ha.. what time were u there. i was the 2nd last person.

yesterday was also my 5th day of puregon. size of eggs is only about 6 to 7 err.... mm i think. how about u??? am i normal???

hi lostinthots,
errr... no lah. give them a call before you go down. last time, i always go according to the time, now i smarter liao. call them first. if they say okie, than go lor.. than don't have to wait for so long. and i always ask for a much later time slot... faster ..

Hi winter1,
yep, i'm born in the yr of rabbit

When r u due for ur 1st blood test? If progesterone reading is high, then high chance liao. All the best.

Hi seow,
I will not be going back to see prof yet, coz last experience quite traumatic, so a bit painful to go back. Money spent ok but the emotional part, i can't take it yet.

Blue Rabbit...heehee..me too..born in Rabbit year..

I had my first blood test 2 days ago..only 94..is this consider high? What was your level when you first did the progesterone test?

Mimic, five years is a long journey hor..sigh..
this is my 2nd try..(failed my 1st fresh and frozen)..Ya let's Jia you..this day will come for all of us here..

Hi winter1,
I still have some snow bunnies with prof, so will still go back for fet. What happen to me is very unfortunate, i don't want anybody else to go through it.