Blissful,

I can understand your feeling well, i face the same problem with you.
Everytime i go back hometown, my mum & MIL also talk about this. Somemore my sis was conceive, i getting more depressed...

baby79,
I think they do not take returns.. anyway this was from my very first cycle with KKH. So long time ago, no point asking to return now.

Ximi, thank you for sharing your story...I had IUI last Thursday, it was a downgrade from 2nd fresh ISCI cycle as I did not respond well to Gonal-f stimulation. According to a recent blood test, my ovarian reserve is high, my Dr is also baffled why 'recruitment' of follicles was slow this time. I went thru' a few BFNs, sometimes really feel like giving up...your story is like a silver lining

Hi Pink,

I have to go. Got no other choice.
I have already started for 6 months. Initally wanted to try naturally.. But, not working.... Me taking the herbs + accup. My DH refuse to do it but he still accompany me there though.

Pandawife, my mum dun know that I might be gg thru' IVF. Have not told her my intention yet. She only knew tat I'm having TCM to get conceive. I dun blame her to hint me.. I oni feel sad abt myself.

Sorry gals of me being so negative... dun worry, I'll stay +ve. Thanks for yr support.

Bliss, all parents the same.... My MIL also like that, thought v never work hard to conceive.... Last yr my MIL somemore said I married almost 2 yrs yet not even have a single "egg" yet! Initially feel angry n sad but after that also 4get abt it liao. Stay +ve ok...

Blissful, if your mum doesnt know, she is asking out of concern. i tink its perfectly alright.. u dun hv to feel sad about urself. u shld b happy ur mum cares abt u. my MIL knows tht we failed one ivf cycle, and we are still trying a 2nd time.. bt she still harps at it.. this is even more frustrating. smtimes i so angry, i tell my hb, tht i dun want to try liao.. coz try or dun try, also will get harp at....
bt all of us know wht we want and why we are going thru this route.. so its alright.. lets all stay positive and be brave !

queenie, my appt with Dr Zou is also 11am on Sat. I need to go gown KK to get DH's SA test first before go AMK. We may meet each other :p

As for BBT chart, I using www.fertilityfriend.com
You just need to sign up and update your chart everyday. When you need it, juz print out. You can even update state of cm, cervix and symtoms.

pandawife
No i will need to be on lucrin for 2 weeks.. Already injected for a week liao... So will see dr next next mon... If everytin goes well then start puregon... I was on suprefact in my first cycle.. Now on lucrin cos my dr suprefact supply is low.. Is this yr first ivf? Did yr dr tell u what will yr puregon dosage be?

baby, this is my 2nd fresh cycle. first cycle used lucrin and puregon (250 thru out). manage to ER 18 follicles and they ICSI 12 eggs. but only 2 fertilised. So i hv no frozen embryos for FET.
this time i change doc. this doc uses suprefact and puregon. she says my respond the last cycle is considered alright, she will start me on 250 for a number of days, and reduced to 200 (add other med to slow down the eggs that are growing too fast).
how abt urself? this is ur first try? u know ur dosage already?

2day went for 1st scan after gonal-f injection n was disappointed with the results of my egg size. Range is 9.5-10 and one smaller one - 7.5 and hv only 6 eggs. :-( will be going back to scan on sat again. now am wondering is it becos of my job stress, that's y eggs not growing well..so depressed

tzac, dun worry too much. u dun need many eggs to BFP. u should hv a few more scans right? the eggs should catch up in sizes... u must not be depressed now, there is still time..and u must stay positive and happy so tht the eggs will grow better. wht did ur doctor say?

hi pandawife, thanks for the encouragement. juz read ximi's post n tat is really a motivator. doc din say much n i osso dun knw what to ask since tis is my 1st try. she said that i will hv a clearer picture after 2molo scan, that is, whether i m responding well to the 375 gonal-f injection. if not, she will increase the dosage.

hi gan, was reading the archive n i m pretty old. hitting 40 soon...

tzac, fyi, first scan not very accurate also. my first scan, doc only saw 8 follicles. i was also quite worried..then it became more in subsequent ones. the number 18 on actual day of ER gave me a pleasant surprise. so don't be too bothered by the numbers. just relax and trust your doctor.

tzac, actually some of the eggs cld be 'hidden' and not seen during scan, like pandawife the number of eggs retrived for me is more than what was seen during scan. So dun worry now ok. Just keep drinking milk and eat egg white, the smaller eggs will catch up in size.
All the best. All we need is good embbies to implant and grow to a healthy bb. My colleague, she just gave birth to a bb girl. She only had 1 embbie during et and the embbie implanted.

P/s i am hitting 40 too..like in 2 yrs...so trying my best to have a bb by this yr

tzac,

When I was doing my IVF last year, during my 1st scan, my dr only seen 7 eggs & they were very small. I went home and cried.

During my 2nd scan, still can only seen 7 eggs but they were bigger. I went home and cried again.

During my 3rd scan & the following scan, my dr saw the 7 eggs plus a few more smaller eggs. Then my dr told me "'just pray hard for the 7 bigger eggs cos the rest were too lagged behind." Felt so sad. As usual, went home and cried.

On my ER day, I have 12 eggs!!! I was so surprised when my dr told me.

On my ET day, I was told 10 eggs were fertilized but only 9 can be used. I transferred 3, frozed 6.

I failed my IVF. Now, waiting to do my FET.

What I am trying to tell you is sometimes scan can't see everything. So the number might not be correct.

My advise to you now is to take more egg white. I think this really help. Cos after the 3rd scan, I thought no hope liao, so few eggs. I told myself I shall give it a last push...so I took more than 6 egg whites everyday without failed...heard that egg whites can help the growth of the eggs...

Ended up, I have 12

PrayHard, egg whites really help egg growth? all along i thot its to relieve the bloated feeling. haha..if it helps, then it must hv benefited me..coz i was so bloated, i took about 10 egg whites a day. I shall continue to do that this cycle!

PandaWife,

That's what I heard
And during that time, the nurse also kept telling me to take as much egg whites as possible whenever I kept asking her whether 7 eggs considered too little? How about other patients, etc etc...

I forgotten I read from where, it said egg whites can help in egg growth cos egg whites contain protein...

But I think no harm trying lah..just try lor, better than regret later, right?

Hi ladies, I m also starting my cycle in end apr
Btw, can taking HL milk which is high in protein good for the eggs. Must it be only from egg whites?
Is it to take the egg white in half cook?

pandawife
This is also my 2nd fresh ivf... My first was last yr june.. I had suprefacf and 200 puregon which was reduced to 150 the last few days... I had 20 eggs retrieved.. 15 matured and did icis for all... All were fertilised.. But only 10 are useble.. I bfn... And did fet few mths later which also bfn.. So now is my second fresh cycle...

U with dr loh kkh? Did yr dr tell u why only 2 are fertilised when u have 12 eggs?

baby, i did my last cycle with Dr Fong Yang. Not at kkh. there were various reasons given why the fertilisation rate is so low. bt all very confusing. thts y i switch clinic.
Currently with CARE(paragon). we did some tests and it showed that DH's sperm has DNA fragmentation and I have growth hormone deficiency. bt the low fertilisation rate aside, i also hv endo and auto immunity problem. both will affect implantation. bt we still want to try again... at least must aim for better fertilization rate this time... haiz.i tink my case is considered very complicated.....

you hv 10 embryos frozen, u shld hav enuff for another FET right? or some of it did not survive the thawing?

su_yana,
i took the egg whites raw. blend the egg whites with thick room temp milo and drink. thts the best way for me coz its just simply too gross to drink pure egg whites. according to the nurse, heating the whites will reduce the protein. bt some of the sisters here take the whites half boiled..

fuzzy, u started lucrin on wed? did the tummyache last for very long? or pain went away after awhile?

i find the lucrin jab alright...i tink suprefact is worse.

baby, do u feel pain while trying to jab suprefact previously? its like will feel a constant stinging feeling when pushing in the stringe....

pandawife, the tummyache makes you wanna do biz immediately, can't hold it in. I started thursday. fortunately it lasted for an hr or so. but quite a traumatic 1st day experience.

this morning the jab is better though the side feels sore. it's normal isnt it?

Gan, ur colleague very very lucky hor 1 embroy an successful. So end of the day its the luck and also egg quality and not the quantity that matters.. so everyone of us has a fair chance..

Tzac, dun give up yet....

hmmm....u had the same tummyache for 2 days? the injection spot feels sore? do u use ice cube to numb the skin before jabbing? it helps for me. takes a few days to get use to the jabbing if this is ur first time.

yup, first time here. maybe i should try out your advice. hopefully it wont hurt tmr morning. how was your experience?

i had gone thru 2 iuis before deciding on IVF. was quite apprehensive before but i thought i should just give it a try. this journey is quite scary and so much hope is vested in this.

try the ice cube...put it on the spot until the skin is numb... tht way u feel minimal discomfort when jabbing.
i hv been doing daily jabs of med for 2 mths before starting suprefact on wed. tummy is abit bruised too from all the jabs, but i m surviving. hee... one of the sisters shared previously, no pain no gain. so must endure and think of a positive outcome.

ok, i m going to bed now. u rest early, its impt to sleep early during this period so that our body has enuff rest. do share with us tmr if the jabbing experience is better.
good nites to all!

Minakochang, hope to see u on sat :)
I hv heard of the fertilityfriend website... But I scare i may even forget to print for Dr Zou whn I go see her. so use HP.. Haha...
Actuali I don't like to chart temp.. Like tis mth, my temp was high bef AF. Dr Zou was very excited whn she saw it. Then next day, temp start to drop.. Todae it plunge.. Then AF report. It lifted my hopes for nothing...

Got final decision from Dr Chew of NUH to do my ER on Monday. Anyone did the HCG shot here can share your experience about hCG jab? I will be using Ovidrel. Finally tomorrow will be my last day of jabs (3 jabs - Suprefact, GonalF and Ovidrel)---poor tummy
. Will try the ice cube method tomorrow since I gotta jab 3 in a day.

BTW, those of you who use Lucrin followed by Puregon, do you need to continue jabbing Lucrin once you start Puregon? I am on Suprefact first and then when I start Gonal F I had to continure jabbing Suprefact (reduced to 20U) concurrently. I am just curious about all the different protocals by different doctors and hospitals.

Pandawife
I do have 2 more frozen embies left but i choose to do a new one as the quality is not too good.. I need to thaw 6 embies to get 3 to transfer..

So did yr dr now sugg what to improve yr fertilsation rate?

Yup suprefact will hv the stinging feeling when the drug is gng in but lurcin dont hv...

Hi KK, I see .... oh 6 months quite long. Should be well prepared for the ivf cycle liao. I doubt my DH would want to go for acc too. Medicine shd be ok. Will reconsider to tiao my body.

Mabel Tan, I m also with NUH. Diff is I am with prof wong. Don't forget to follow the timing for the hcg shot. Nothing diff with the other jabs. Good luck with your er

Hi there ladies,

i have done 4 IUIs but failed. Am considering doing laproscopy or IVF.

I am wondering of IVF causes breakouts/acne? any comments?

thanks in advance for any response..

hi LYn,

thanks for yr reply. i did HSG last year and found out that i have both fallopian tubes (nearer the ovaries) blocked. Hence did 4 IUIS but failed. doc recommends Lap but not guaranteed to resolve my prb. hence IVF is my last option.

my ovulution and uterus are functioning well ...except that my fallopian tubes are not catching the eggs when ovulation occurs...

I salute all ladies doing IVF...its such a turmoil...

Lyn: i agree with you. are you doing ivf too?

I was thinking of going to CARE (paragon). Is anyone with them?

What is the diff btw a short protocol and long protocol?

I am so confused

hi all, thanks for all your encouragement. i really feel better after reading all your posts of encouragement :) Thanks again :) I will start taking half boiled egg whites (dun think i can stomach the raw whites) from tomolo onwards.

How I wish i am able to login to this forum more often but alas due to my bz work schedule, I cant. I find that I tend to be more emotional recently (mayb due to injections) and its really helps to share and talk about my concerns here as you gals can understand and have the knowledge to advise me. I really appreciate all your advice and support. Thanks everyone :)

I'm going kkivf tomor too ...
Juz tried egg white ... since just started i ate 4 egg whites, steamed it in my steamer for 5mins. 1/4 cooked & rest raw. Added soya sauce & gulpped it all down ..

Taste still ok .. but can't imagine it qty increase to 10 egg white ..

Can ask wat u guys do with the yolks .. so sayang to throw away (they are my FAV!!) ....

Sorry for the late reply. Been sick with fever and diarrhea. Gosh...this thread is moving way too fast for me to catch up.

Basically, I went via poly referral to KKH. My first appointment at Clinic D was with Dr Jerry Chan. With my history of ectopic and badly damaged tubes, it was a pretty much forgone conclusion that I'd require IVF. Second appointment was with him again and he confirmed that everything's gd with us to go ahead with IVF. That's when he said he'll be doing the IVF for us.

Frankly I've never heard or read of him here so I was hesitate. Over at IVF side, I asked the nurse if we could choose our own doc since it's a pte clinic. That's when I opted for Dr Loh. I'm to see him as a new patient next week. We'll be paying the full rates and no longer enjoy subsidies that's all. But for peace of mind, I rather go for experienced doc.

As far as I know, the IVF is still scheduled for Jul. I'll cfm again after I see Dr Loh.

Tks for ur encouraging words of comfort e other nite... I'm feeling better after soaking part of my pillow w tears two nites ago... After reading wat some of u replied, I tell myself I'm not giving up rite now, will chiong a few more days n hope for e best!

Today I've brown discharge, not sure if it's a gd sign or a hint dat af is coming... I can only pray n sayang my embies, asking them to jia you...

ximi, ur courage to go thru e ivf cycles is smtg we shld learn... Tks for sharing!

baby79, e two embies Dr Loh transferred for me are of grades 4 & 5... Left 5 frozen embies w one grade 4 n four grade 3... Really hope I dun hv to use them at all... :p

Rainbow, glad you are lifting your spirits! Dont give up despte brown spotting, i also had spotting that time around D12 for my first BFP as shared with you earlier. Now i know that was implantation bleed so yours could be too.

Rainbow, Pandawife, how to know if we have auto immunity prob? Blood test?

Hi sunflower seed,

I oso hope e brown discharge is really implantation..

yap, need to take bloodtest to chk whether hv auto-immunity prob... My highest record was 7 tubes of blood... Argh... Still rem e nurse joking n said I'm like donating blood... Haha...

baby, to try and improve the fertilization rate this cycle, my DH has been given supplements to take 2 mths b4 to reduce the DNA fragmentation. i was also put on supplements and growth hormone jabs (thats why i hv been jabbing for over 2 mths already). hopefully this will tackle the problem.

rainbow, can i ask wht were the blood tests u took to confirm the autoimmunity? for me, it was becoz my eosinophils level is out of normal range. and i m normally quite prone to unknown allergies. so doc suspect that i could hv this problem. no mentioned of any jabs when pregnant yet. bt i will be given med once start stimulation so that my body do not reject the embryos leh. this is smthing very new to me....never thought such things could happen. : (
i am currently on asprin, bt its more to thin the blood so tht body can absorb the jabs better. not for auto immunity rite?

nm, I am with CARE(paragon). fyi, i hv done two laprascopies. during the 2nd one, doc also discovered a blocked tube near to the ovaries. but he was unable to clear it as that part of the tube is very very fine.

fuzzy, how was ur jab this morning? better?

Fuzzy ,

Ur tummy ache could be because you may have poke a nerve therefore you feel pain.

I also realise that when jabbing make it close to ur belly button estimate 1 inch away from the belly button be it left or right. Then pinch the flesh, your needle hold it slanting abit make the sharper end slide in and you would have minimal pain. Hope this helps.

Just to check on those who have ET before.
After my ET i have been feeling slight cramps on and off is this normal. Suddenly i feel sharp poking pain which is bearable then the pain subsides then some uncomfyness then i am ok.