hi bluerabbit,
don't worry too much. the same thing happen to me the last time also. like u, i was also worried that i may not produce enough 'eggs', i ask the nurse why so slow. she told me is normal, some response faster, some response slower. so, just follow what your dr say, you'll be okie....

after reading reallylost msg..really made me think twice...will dr loh treat us this way when we have questions or problems?

seow,
How's things go after you saw prof 2 nights ago? What was the test for? did he scan you to see whether you ovulate or not?

I'm still waiting. really not very sure have I ovulated. cos last 2 days I finally can see my body temp went up, yet can't be sure is it ovulated.(cos sometimes the temp not very accurate)I just wonder can there be any blood test to find out whether I have ovulted....

hi renee,
the test was to see if i have ovaluated. he is still not happy with the result. so got to go back again to him on Sat or Monday. if okie, than he will let me start with the program liao.

Hi curious and moonfairysgp, yes, this is also my understanding that any excessive bleeding is not consider normal...reason why I am also lost is because Dr Loh has quite a reputation in the fertility program...and moreover in terms of cost, KK is cheaper..that is why I am so lost now....tks for the advise....

hi seow,

Ya, singleton pregnancy is easier to manage to prevent lesser complications. Hope to hear gd news from you!!!!

Hi Blue rabbit
Good to have more follicles so that there are better chances to have good grades of the follicles. Some only have a total of less than 10 follicles and they decide to abandon the ivf.
Which day are you now? What was ya initial dosage?

moonfairysgp.
Did u pull out the cap fisrt then dail or u dail after u pull out the cap? My DH usu left the cap on when he dail the dosage, so I don't really see any spill lor...and when he pull the needle out I don't think got any liquid leh. What u need to do is, u count 5 sec, then pull out the needle. This way u can ensure that the liquid would be injected into our skin.

Curious,
Blood test done by nurse, v-scan by radiographer then Doc will tell us the result and it's another Doc not Dr SF Loh.

pebbles,
I'm into my 8th day of puregon alr, 200IU each day until yesterday. Today & tomorrow will be 300IU.

sisters,
do u all have a list of cannot do and cannot eat things? aiyo, once start cannot eat chicken again... i siow liao...

bluerabbit,
Thanks....btw, any feeling when your DH jab u with the puregon? Sharp pain, sting, aching pain or juz ant bite kind of pain only? That day when the nurse told us that I need to jab puregon, my DH very heartpain...he said wah lau...I got to suffer all these jabs. Then I told him next mth to follow me to KK to buy medicine and learn together. He quickly agree

Btw, after all these self injecting jabs, I think there's 1 more jab to be done at KK at nite right? That one must be very painful...else will not be done in hospital right?
372935.gif

Seow,
Do u know why cannot eat chicken? Is it bcos chicken got hormone jabs? I didn't know that there're food that we cannot eat. I think must ask doctor....

hi curious,
according to nurses, ya, nowadays, chickens are all jab with hormones to make them grow faster. so, worry these hormones may interfere with our hormones jabs.

from my understanding so far, like only prof has this protocal.. that's why i am wondering whether true or not... ha.. finally i got doubt in him !!!

Hi seow,
Oh if it is really true then better don't eat. Or juz to play safe, don't eat lor.... So what abt pork? Pigs also kana hormone jabs right?? I heard pigs kana jabs to keep them less fat and the meat more lean. Wonder if it's true...if no chicken, don't know pork can? Else fish is the safest? Eat fish & vege daily...

hi curious,
pork not in his list leh. wah, if pork also cannot eat and i don't really like fist, think i better become vegetarian liao.

anyway, whatever in the list if follow, whatever not there i eat lor. actually, i also 'tao jia' a bit lah...heee

moonfairy,
My case is different from the normal protocol.Since I will have a short protocol. RE don't need my d21 blood test to know whether have I ovulated. Cause ever since the 1st failure, I still have very accurate menses cycle, and we all expect my this FEB cycle will be the same. who knows, it's all out of the plan. Today already my d28. so long I see my menses due I will start puregon hab the 2nd day.

hi curious,
sure can share, but hor, i don't have the list now. somewhere in this thread we ever mentioned the list.

what i can remember
chicken, soya bean products, beancurd, all chinese herbs, ginger, birdnest (with cannot remember what herbs liao), no heavy makeup, no exercise... the rest i cannot remember liao

Hi seow,
It's ok, thanks. I'll browse thro the thread when I'm free. What? no heavy makeup? makeup also plays an important part ah? Lucky I seldom makeup...

Hi Seow, u mean if u r in the prg, u cant eat all this huh? Like u, i oso like chicken but i dun like pork...

Hi Mandy

I not sure. For me and my hb, we need to do the hep A & B, HIV blood test before my FET cos my last test was Oct n my FET was Nov.

Hi Pebbles

I duno de gender yet. Will oni noe next mth during my detailed scan. How abt u? Boy or gal?

hi 30s, ya lor, that is prof instruction. that why for me, the most difficult part of the whole program is this. other than that, i am quite okie with all those jabs. my hubby say i very strong, if he has to take all those jabs, he will rather don't do...see we woman the great !!!

Would like to get some opinion on eating ' Liang Tou Fu '

My sister is taking ' Lang Tou Fu ' (has lot of Soya) either for lunch or dinner Every day.

During the IVF program, we are told to avoid ' Soya '

But if not in the IVF program, wonder got any effect or hv to avoid for TTC purposes.

Pls advise / comment if you know.............

TKS.

hi maxx,
avoiding all those food is because they contain hormones that may interfere with our hormones jab. heard from nurse that soya contain 'woman hormones' (don't exactly understand what they mean though). so, if not in the ivf program, should not have any effect lor...

renee, yes u r right. first month delayed, now delayed even longer... but don't worry lah, your dr will monitor for u right???

seow,
Thanks for sharing... My RE won't do close monitoring. he will base on the record shown and carry out the job from there. But thank god we can email him whenever we face problem.

So after emailing him I have to decide whether or not I want to wait and wait... or go have a scan then do something from there.

Did prof say anything about why our menses delayed by so much? can it be the hormone jab that affect our body funtion?

renee,
ya, it should be because of the hormones lor. u can image our body was injected with hormones everyday. and now, it has to function by it own again. so, need time to adjust back.

since your temperature shows increased, maybe is good that you go for scan. else, may miss the time and have to wait again.

moonfairy,
i am no good with all those medical terms.. even the name of the medicine also i cannot remember. everytime when i want to ask for medicine, the nurse got to refer to my file. than she will read to me, but the next time i forget again...now they see me at the counter only, they will start to flip my file....

U mean those puregon jabs are hormone injections ah? Sigh...I hope there won't be any side effect in future when old....CHOY CHOY CHOY!!!! TOUCHWOOD!!!

hi pebbles,
congras! actually, i would also like to have a gal.... hopefully, my dream will come true this year..

hi 30s,
ideal if can have a boy and a gal at a single go...but i dare not have high hopes, so, if got one good enough liao....

hi summer,
not that i know of leh. during the program itself, no medication given, only jabs. after ET, than have oral medication. but also not folic acid

Hi Moonfairysgp and Seow,

Correct & u r right u know, my sis has endo prob...Gyne found out...perhaps shld advise her to cut down on Soya Bean...BUT do " Liang Tou Fu " has got lots of Soya???

Kindly advise?

I thot can continue to take folic acid and other supplements like vit C during the programme? Folic acid shld not interfere with the programme right? Or shld we stop folic acid? Hmmm...gotta check with doctor again.

just came back from KK. saw My RE.Did scan too. nothing show that I ovulated at this point of time.Or perheps I've already ovulated... so Won't do anythnig to it. Just wait till menses come then start the prog. Most importantly, i don't stress over this thing, it won't help at all!

managed to talk to my skin DR today too(is a she). asked her about soya that affects ladies fertility. she also knows prof chen. according to her, women needs both estrogen and progesterone to have good health in order to concieve wihtout much problems.at the same time estrogen is the one that give us good skin/complexion. so we need both estro and proges to maintain a good body system. so I guess prof chen's food to avoid list, is only during the jab taking till result is out. so that our body will have more progesteron to have better chance for success. But for normal days we should take anythnig we like.At the same time we could also cut down unneccesary stress (because of diet).

Ladies, folic acid should continue. Not just for the BB but good for developing good cell in our body too. so don't worry. Just carry on.even men can take folic to built good sperms.

hi maxx,
liang tou fu has a lot of tao gua, tao hu which is made from soya. and to make things worst, the soup is normally boiled with yellow soya beans.. so, better cut down lor

moonfairy,
is it prescribe by your dr or you take it by your own????

moonfairy,
okie my next visit i will ask prof.

ya, that reminds me of one more item in the 'to avoid' list. multi-vit

there is a qn on soy-related products, i hd consulted a naturopath n according to her, those who hd endo or adenomyosis shld avoid soy prdts but if u wil 2 consume on n off, it is alright, so those with endo, don't drink soy bean milk, bean curd n etc everyday n this is not just during ivf. the reson being that endo feed on soy.

moonfairy,

Hey,chin up.With Puregon, I think your chanes of upping the follies number will be good. When I went for my Day 8 scan after Puregon, I was told that I had only 9 follies in total. Maybe 10 if the other one can catch up. So they gave me an extra day of Puregon jab and then arranged for the ER 3 days later. Lo and behold, after the ER procedure, they said they retrieved 23 eggs! Imagine the jump from 10 to 23! So dont be depressed. You only need 2-3 good eggs in this program to get pregnant. Keep us updated ok.

Pebbles,
I am sooo envious! I too want a girl hehehe... You know, I read somewhere that baby girls are more difficult to be conceived than baby boys. So congrats!! Again, you beat the odds! I pray for the health of your little princess!

ok, now i know it's safe to continue with folic acid. Thanks for all the replies.

curious, i thk Vit C should be OK cos we need this to improve our immunity during this period.

I'm having a slight cough now....hope to get over soon.

btw, i've started my puregon jab. was so afraid initially. Ya, there is always a drop of medicine on the needle and
we were told to hold the pen for 5sec before withdrawal. The size of the needle is close to lucrin jab...
Now i know its' not as painful as i thots it will be. phew!

moonfairysgp,

dun worry, my scan on thur also no good, then Doc increased the puregon dosage and this morning, the scan showed that I have abt 14 right-sized follicles on both sides, so another 2 more days of puregon and I'll be going for my ER on next wed and ET on Fri. Things r beginning to move very fast for me now.

So u just hv to follow instructions and things will work out. Don't be like me...I'm so depressed since thur. I only feel better after the sccan this morning nowing that I have follicles on both sides n they r growing.

curious,

when my DH jabs me, it's like ant sting when the needle poke me, then the pain intensify when the solution pass thru my skin. All in all, not very bad lah. However, I hate the side effects.

Btw, we have to buy the hcg solution ourselves, then bring it to kkh 2 days later at 8pm for the nurse to inject on our thigh. Next day, stop all injections and following day will be the ER and DH must produce sperm as well.

quando,
Thanks for the info. Yup, my skin Dr also did mentioned about gals with endo and adeno, is the exception..... Looks like it's true. Thanks again.