hopeformiracle,
do you normally have prob ovulating? I only have this prob started this month.(after the IVF and FET) have you gone through any IVF yet?

hi moonfairy,
care to explain what u mean by short protocol. can like that one meh! my dr never mentioned before leh

moonfairy,
yes, the basic expected puregon jab is 1 week. some ppl can be even shorter!(rare though) then er n et already. some more no need daily progesterone jab.so all togethr is about 10-12 days before ET.

hi moonfairysgp, thanks fr the info, guess will check with the dr...really confused by all the jargons used...pardon me for my ignorant..do u mean u can cut short the process for ivf? thot the nurse told me it has to be 2 mths???

hi mimi

So far I am into my 7th month. After being through that traumatic ohss, I think there is so much to celebrate about life! 2nd trimester is normally better than 1st trimester.
It was pretty distressing to worry, esp 1st trimester, if the baby was coping well since we guys have to go thru so much expense to be pregnant.

Yeah I got preggie on my first IVF.
I oso took the chinese med from the JE physician during ivf and first few weeks of pregnancy. Actually I have to thank the JE physician, if not for her strong encouragement, I would not have had the determination to start fertility programme. Imagine all docs told me for a few years that I had to go for so-iui / IVF as last resort but I never listened to anyone of them till her encouragement to visit my present gynae.

thanks for the tip on taking soft boiled eggs! First time I heard of this! So do i take only after puregon starts? But too much eggs isnt the cholestrol level very high?

I'm starting my lucrin jabs on 23 Mar..any other tips on what to take/do that can assist? For my last cycle, i actually tested +ve but i suffered a missed abortion and had a Dnc at 8 weeks. Praying hard things will go well this time..

pebbles,I'm really glad for u that all turned out well. Well done!!!

It also took me a long time to finally decide on ivf.Everytime i go for the ultrasound scan,my gynae always makes very positive remarks abt my follicle,lining etc. Plus,I was on TCM.(Problem was mainly my husbby's side.)Even the JE physician(whom i saw for abt 6 mths) told me I do not need to do IVF. Still,I could not conceive! IVF is my last resort now.

I hope I will be as strong as u and other sisters who have braved thru all those OHSS traumas. By the way, my doc told me in certain cases of OHSS,the whole program has to be abandoned? Was yrs close to that stage ?

Hi renee,

I am not PCOS but I have difficulty producing egg. Even when I took 150mg of clomid but still not ovulating...haiz...

I am now patiently waiting for my AF to come and if its don't come by this Saturday which is my CD28 I will call up my gynae for advise to see whether to induce it or not. Next cycle, I will be doing GIFT instead of IVF because my gynae want the egg and sperm to fertilise naturally.

hi Summer,
Hahaha..we won't run of space to jab lah....
I alternate the jab on my left and right abdomen daily, both jabs on the same side each time. Puregon hurts more than lucrin though, sometimes can experience the pain even after the jab.

moonfairysgp,

how's ur puregon injection today? wah... 300IU per day, how do u monitor the second injection??? I mean each puregon tube contains abt 400IU of solution, then do u take 2 jabs after u finish the 1st 300IU??

I think I'm suffering from the side effects of lucrin + puregon, been feeling bloated and also mood swings. If my DH did something to irritate me, I cry very easily. Aiyoo...hopefuly these will go off when I'm off the injections.

Dear ladies,
I cannot imagine to have to jab myself daily...u gals are really very brave! Last mth and this mth, I've been going down to KKH for several blood tests. Yesterday when I was there, I showed my left arm for the nurse to draw blood. She could see the 'old' scar from the blood test 2 wks ago. I was so stupid that I didn't alternate my arms. Now my left arm vein is a bit hardened and painful. I told my husband that draw blood only, I already like that. If I start the jabs, I don't know how.

curious,

The injections r not as bad cos the needle is so much finer than those used for drawing blood. Don't worry so much. Furthermore, there's more fat in our abdomen so it helps to cushion off some pain loh...

Hi curious

daily injection not pain at all. The only injection i scare is after ET. Need to inject three day once. That is scarely. I remember i had OHSS. Then convender to Hospital and stay there for two day. I please DR Loh then he let me discharge from hospital.

Then Dr LOH change three time once injection to daily injection. The needle was very long, cannot inject yourself need to go down to kkh to ask the nurse for injection. On that time i almost everyday when down to KKH.Nightmare!

hi blue rabbit
which day of puregon jab are u at ? I only start puregon next wk but somehow i already feel my stomach bloated n quite stretched esp when i lie very flat on the bed. Am dreading the puregon next week.
dont wori...at least we have everyone here for support!!!

Hi JJ,
Aiyoh!! Very long needle ah!!! Btw, is the HCG jab painful too? Though mine will be SO-IUI, I'll be using puregon jabs too...aiyoh... I'll also need HCG jab. After the procedure, I don't know if I need jabs like you had. Most likely will ask my husband to jab for me. Let him do some work and see my 'sufferings'...hee hee...then he will treasure me even more, haha :p

Btw, don't mind I ask...are u very young? 20+? Cos I wonder if young ladies will be more prone to OHSS or is it not always the case? Thks

hi moonfairy
how did yr puregon jab go ? is it like a pen ? so its quicker rite ?
For some reason, my suprefact/lucrin jab seems to be getting more painful esp when the needle goes in.Dunno why. Sigh.

hi mimi

Ya, my Doc actually advised me to abandon the last stage of transfer. Even if I did the transfer, he could not give me the jabs to support to increase the chance. I took the risk despite his warnings. He only agreed on 2 eggs transfer even though most people put 3 eggs

BE strong! Oh yes, I was in much pain that doc got to give me jab after retrieval. He said that the more eggs being retrieved, the more painful it would be. So I tried to console myself that at least I can have more frozen embryos at one time.

Hi pebbles,
I'm so happy for you!! I admire your courage!! Hope mine will be successful too! Hope everyone here will succeed too!!!

Hello mini,

I'm into my 5th day of puregon, hv to go to KKH this thur for blood test + scan and see doctor. Than doc will advise me what I need to do next lor.

Not only I feel bloated but also very very tired by 4 plus, can't concentrate properly in my work. Luckily I hv an understanding boss.

hi moonfairy,blue rabbit

looks like both of u are experiencing tiredness huh ? Hang in there..at least u r moving on .I feel so far behind u . Only start puregon next thurs. My hubby going Taipei for biz trip on thurs to sat.So I'm tagging along ...better enjoy b4 I start puregon haha.

Thanks so much for all your well wishes! Yes, I'll try to get as much rest as I can. I still feel super bloated and have heart burns though. The daily trips to the clinic for the progesterone jabs are so tiring! And I get dizziness and headaches everyday! I even threw up this morning. Nurses say it is side effects of progesterone. Very scared to drive now. I start work tomoro. Sooooo reluctant to go back to work after a week's MC. Have to start waking up at 5am again....Urggh.

moonfairysgp
Yes, I agree! Puregon is so expensive! But hey, look at the bright side, for 800 bucks, you get a pen free! haha...

blue_rabbit (lim)
Is you boss a male or a female? I'll find it difficult to explain ivf if my boss's a man. I mean, explaining it to my Dh is already hard enough!

pebbles (pebblestones76)
Wow, you really went against all odds, and you made it on your first try! Congrats! May I know, how many babies you are expecting now? Tell us a little bit about when you received the news that you're pregnant. Was your DH with you then? Did the clinic call you up or did you have to call them up to ask the results? Was it very drama? Or did you manage to keep your composure from all the excitement and suspense?

mimi yap (mim)
So lucky! Enjoy your vacation in Taipei! But dont forget to take precautions and rest well when you are overseas. I had to terminate my first cycle just before ER because I contracted Chicken Pox. I think it could've been prevented if I was just a little more careful. Anyway, have a safe trip!

pebbles
Yr courage is an example to all of us ..We will strive to be strong to achieve our goal,yah ladies?

mrs z

thks for the reminder.I will definitely be cautious n avoid all the crowded places.

Did yr doc advise on how to overcome yr nausea and dizziness and heartburns ?Take good care of yrself !!!!

wow, seems like there'r a few people here starting the puregon jab. Me gonna start this wk but nid to go for my blood test 1st and doc will determine the dosage.

blue rabbit/moonfairy, is puregon jab so painfull?? i'm starting to worry now. This AM HB jab me (lucrin)and there's blood flow out as he withdraw the needle. Both of us were shock, fortunately no blue black

curious, i was like U before i start the program. thinking alot abt the jab and the pain, for lucrin jab, though more troublesome but it's not painful... should be able to get use to it after a while. My reaction to lucrin is feeling hot, tired and occasion slight headache

Hi Pebbles, nice to 'see' U here. Tks for your email....When the egg is ready for retrival, we need one big jab rite, is it very painful??? jab at the buttock?

JJ, is it everyone have to continue the jab after ET??? Ooh... jab, jab and more jab

Hi Blue rabbit,
Puregon jabs will make u bloated and tired? Oh...we poor ladies, we 'suffer' so much
For the puregon jabs, is it jab anywhere on the tummy juz below bellybutton?

hi ladies, i did not intend to let my boss or colleagues know tt i might be going thru the prg...just wanna know the frequency we need to travel to hospital for the initial few months...need to get myself prepared as i am with this co for less than a yr so not much leave....tks...

hi 30s,
it may be quite tough if you don't let your boss know. think there will be frequent blood test and daily jab which need to be done at the hospital. which hosptial are u with???

Hi 30s

I tell my boss everything and he see how i suffer. Then when i need to go to hospital for injection always not time to take time off, just inform will do and can just go.

Hi Mandy

Thanks. FYI, I was oso asked to redo some blood test b4 my FET cos the test oni valid for a year.

Hi Pebbles

Thanks. I m into my 4th month now. Initially I was having twin, but 1 of them stopped growing between wk 8-9. So now i m having a singleton which is less stressful n easier to manage for me too. My RE said is a blessing too to happen at de earlier stage as it will not affect the other sac.

Hi potato chip

My blood tests were in mar last year and i am starting my lucrin jabs this month, which means my ET/ER will be in Mar..do you know why still must do leh?

Hi 30s
I managed my last programme w/o letting my office know as well. I did it at KKH and the clinic opens at 730. I tried to be the first few and it is usually quite fast. I work in town so I can still make it on time for work.

mimi yap (mim)

I did check with the clinic but they mentioned that it is a common symptom. I guess I just have to bear with it for now.

I am trying to keep my IVF from everyone at work, except those whom I trust and my immediate supervisors. In fact, when I went for my ER and ET, I told them I had to go for a minor surgery and to some, I just jokingly said I was getting liposuction done! Haha...Actually, even both my parents and in-laws do not know that I'm on this program. IVF still a bit taboo in my family.

hi potato chips

me too hoped to strike twins since we hv paid so much. Eventually i think it is oso good to hv a singleton pregnancy, less complication to prevent any failure on my side. Are u expecting a boy or gal?

Hi JJ, Seow and Mandy, reason is the pple here are quite "bak kua" letting 1 know is like letting the whole world know"...and another reason, my own personal feelings...i feel quite embarassed to let them know i am going thru the prg...thats why I need to know the frequency....i am with KK and have booked an appt with Dr SF Loh, should be signing the consent letter and going thru all the blood test in mar....

hi 30s,
i can understand your situation cos' i have have the same kind of colleagues. i did not let any of my colleagues know except my boss.

luckily for me, she is very understanding and has given me her full support. in fact, during my last program, she keep asking me to take longer mc and rest at home. is me who insist that i should return to work after i know the negative results.

somehow, is easier in that way lor. sometimes if you really need to go or will be late for work, just need to give your boss a call or sms...

is just my 2cents worth of thought. hope it helps.

Hi Ladies, I have been reading this thread and see that some of the ladies here are in awe with Dr SF Loh, I myself have been seeing him and would like to share in my own opinion...I had my fibroid op done 3 mths back by him and had been experiencing heavy bleeding and giddiness after the op...there are no clue what causes it...although he had been nice or should I say obligated to see me after I wrote emails to him....I went to see him again last nite and the feelings he gave me was like he was trying to make me feel better but also at the same time can't wait to chase me out of the room after doing the scan...I had some questions to ask him but stopped when he said Ok lah.....he told me I look pink in health but in actual fact the whole world was telling me I look pale...reason given was like you could be under stress or hormone inbalance...I was very disappointed.....didnt seek 2nd opinion as he got my medical records and don't want to go through

hi pebbles,
this will be my second attempt. if fact, all this while i was hoping to strike a twins. better still if a boy and a girl. suffer once will do mah...heee... but since the first failure, now if i can just have one, i will be very very happy liao. boy or girl also nevermind.

Hi Seow, thanks..will consider whether shld i tell my boss...as it is true tt it will be easier to tell the boss when u go for appt if she is understanding...i am more concern for the 1st 2 mths...when u strike lucky and got pregnant on the 3rd mth...then it is ok to tell them....

Hi reallylost,
How long have u been having heavy bleeding? 3 mths heavy bleeding after your op? Or now getting better? I wonder if your giddiness is due to the heavy bleeding.

If u find that this doctor is no good, u shld seek 2nd opinion. U mentioned that you dont wish to seek 2nd opinion as u don't want to go thro all the test again...but sitting there feeling disappointed with a particular doctor will not stop your heavy bleeding right? U can ask the nurse to zap a copy of your whatever histology report and op report for you. Then bring them to see another gynae of your choice.

Hope you feel better soon.

hi 30s, just to share with you, just this week alone, i have been visiting the clinic 4 times liao. twice in the morning for blood test, twice in the night to see prof. in fact, this sat got to go back again. lucky that prof's clinic open till late at night. so i can go after office hour, if not how to take time off or leave.

Hi curious...yes, 3 mths having heavy bleeding...you know what..I am worry that I might meet another doc like him...although I was also referred to some of the gynae by some of my friends who says how good and patient their doc is...I am worry that I might feel disappointed again...

Hi Seow..thanks...not sure does Dr Loh oso open lates in the nite so that i can just go aft off hr...

Mrs Z,

I hv a lady boss but she's still single. She has many married friends with kids, si=o she understand that when we reach a certain age, we would want to start a family.

Curious,

The jabs r on our lower tummy, 3 fingers below the belly button.

The scan this morning shows that I'm not stimulating well, only hv 9 follicles on my right O with 4 between 9-10.5mm, the rest still small. Left O shows some follicles but not right size, so Doc put me on another 2 days of puregon 300 IU each...Sat still need to go back for another scan. Now I'm so worried that I would not hv enough follicles for the ET & ER.

Hi bluerabbit,
Thanks for the info. Btw, u went to KK for blood test, scan and see doctor...is it all done by the same doctor?

Pls stay optimistic ok...tell yourself that your follicles will definitely grow well and to the nice and appropriate size. Let the doctor does the work & the monitoring. Else we pay them so much for what right? Hee hee...I think if we think this way, we may feel better...

I'm very excited as next mth will start my programme..... I'll be doing SO-IUI but I don't know how frequent I'll have to go KK for scanning. I've told my boss abt it...hope he understands. Right now, I try to sort of 'compensate' by coming earlier in the morning and staying back a little later after my usual office hrs... Cos I may need some time-off frequently from next mth onwards.

Hi reallylost,
If u never try, u will never know. It is your own health. U shld go for medical assistance to stop your heavy bleeding.