Totally agree with Singapoh. My appt for ET was @ 730. I only drank the 2 cups @ 700. By the time my ET going to start, which was around 900, my bladder almost burst. During e ET, the nurse used the Ultrascan scanner & pressed against my abdominal, I was so worried of "leakage". I was the 1st ET for the day, really wonder how the rest of the girls can hold it for so long.

Hope_4_bb: I took the normal eggs.

Hi Ladies, baby dust to everyone here especially those in their 2ww. Praise the Lord! i got a +ve result today fm the blood test. Praying that all goes well with the scan on 17 Feb.

I saw Dr SF Loh last week. Asked him about my lining issue, he said he won't deny that this is thick (what does this means huh?). After scanning, he said everything is fine even I have 3 small little polyps. But after I asked a few more questions on my linning condition, he suggested to have a detailed scan to check on my linning and whether is there a need to remove the polyps or not. Anyone has removed polyps before? Is it painful?

After seeing Dr Loh, I went to see the nurse. She explained to me the process of FET and the fee. She quoted me S$1100 for FET exclude medicine.

And to share with those who intend to change hospital and transfer your frozen embryos from one hosp to another (eg. from RH to KKH). The nurse gave me 3 options.

1. Transfer the frozen embryos yourself but you need to rent the equipment which deposit is about S$1000 (the nurse told me dun choose this cos we are not expert).

2. Instruct KKH to do it for you.

3. Instruct RH to do it for you.

I have chosen option 2. The estimated total cost is about S$700 (include transportation, admin fee, registration in KKH, storage fee for a year).

I had poly removal b4 ... simple, quick & painless. Did it at KKH 24hr clinic. Cos I was still bleeding after 3 days, I did HSG prior, so I went back KKH 24hr clinic as instructed.

Congrats Diveera!

Prayhard, I had my polyp removed by Dr Loh. It's a day surgery. not painful but will be under GA. Will have some slight spotting for a day or 2 after the surgery... i felt it was something like ER except minus the tummy discomfort after ER. Will be given 5 days of MC

Hi Seed

3rd day after ET, cannot tahan already go out to shop a while. I feel much better. Just don't carry heavy things. I think it should be ok de.

Gan,

$1100 for natural. Did you go thro' detailed scan, something like HSG test, before the removal?

Oh..ya.. on that day scanning, Dr Loh mentioned that I have ovluated. But I told him I used OPK and was shown -ve and the Body temp shown around 36.3 only leh...Dr Loh said too late to detect O if use OPK. ??? I thot we all use OPK to detect O??

Prayhard,

my natural FET cost $1200+ My cycle that month was short. 28 days cycle.

If u discharge is like egg white means u are ovulating.

prayhard, my polyp was detected thru scan by my gynae at TMC, i have one i think. And it was further confirmed thru HSG but my gynae at TMC said no need to remove. When i see dr loh last year, he saw the HSG report and he advise me to remove the polyp if i want to do ivf. Removed it thru day surgery, even have a pic of that!

Singapoh,

My AF last month a bit long leh..about 12 to 13 days cos I failed my IVF in Dec'09...I used OPK on D16/17, it shown -ve, then I used body temp, it was always bet 36.1 to 36.3..On the day seeing Dr Loh, he said ovulated liao..I said huh? Can try tonite? He looked at me & said "too late"...so funny.

Gan,
Actually hor, Dr Loh said no need to remove leh..but bcos I am very concern abt my lining condition so he said since I am so concern then do a detailed scan lor..Then I asked him if based on his experience, does he think it is ok..he said should be fine...after that he wrote something on the case sheet & passed to the nurse..the next minute, when I saw the nurse, she said I need to go for scan...me KPO rite?

Gan,

I did HSG twice. 1st time at Thomas Medical in Year 2006, everything was ok, no blockage. 2nd time at RH in Year 2008, the report stated that one of the tubes could be blocked but not confirm cos it could be the tube a bit narrow & might require to take a longer time for the fluid to flow through.

I was told I have polyps when I was preparing to do IVF in RH. The doc told me I have 3 small, tiny polyps but not required to remove.

So when I saw Dr SF Loh last week, I shown him my scan report & he did a scan also to cfm that there are 3 polyps.

to ladies who did their cycle in NUH, I received my final bill from NUH and I didnt get the full $3000 govt subsidy. My final bill was about 5k + and I was advised that govt subsidy will pay 50% of the cost ( up to $3000max) But they didnt take into account the amounts that I have paid upfront during the cycle for my suprefact,gonal f etc and also the the day surgery charges for Ooctye recovery and embroyo transfer.. that definitely comes up to more than 6k ( cos their explanation is that govt pays 50%) Can anyone explain this to me?

prayhard, HSG scan? If dr loh didn't say must remove that polyp i would have never go for op coz i scare of GA...1s time mah. Dr eunice chua at TMC who is also a fertility specialist also say no need to remove

Gan,

Not HSG scan but another type of water ultrascan..very similar to HSG as what the nurse explained to me...but I scare leh cos when I did the HSG scan in RH, it was soooooo painful that I nearly want to die...but the one I did in Thomson was not painful, just a bit of discomfort...

Was it painful when you did HSG scan?

just sharing my thoughts..

I went to see prof, and asked him if my progestrone is not enough, and hence the early miscarriage.. he said my embryo did implant, that's y there's raised hcg, just that the implantation was not a good one, or the embryo stopped growing after implantation.

there's no research that shows that extra progestrone is required other than the crinone 8% that we are currently using, but if it eases our minds to have more progestrone, it can be arranged, since there's also no research which shows otherwise...

i've decided to trust prof totally, because he is very very experienced in this area, I mean his title is not there for nothing..

and i've also checked the crinone 8% website, it did state that 1 insert is enough a day..

also, i went to see Dr Zou previously, and she only commented abt my heartbeat too fast, etc.. and stick out tongue to show her, seems like standard protocol, but dont think she really cares.. and the only reason (i feel) that she knows so much abt ivf, is just that she has a good listening ear.. she listens to what we ladies are going through, and relates here n there.. then advise other of her patients... i always find it quite stressful having to commute to and fro..

prayhard, my hsg was done at tmc, not painful but just some slight cramp. The scan with water can detect lining issues?

Tickles, am being poke now, just checked with dr zou, she said ok to acu after O if we try naturally but not if we do ET becoz after ET we need to rest,

July, if ur heartbeat is fast, cld be u r stressed... The tcm doc at chong hwa hospital mentioned that to me. Everytime i c her, she will ask if i am stress with work

Bunny, I did my ivf with Nuh. My bill was abt 8k plus. With 6k medisave n govt grant, I did not pay anything from suprefact stage. Maybi know is 5k the final bill? Y is that so low in price?

July, if you think doing accu is strssful perhaps u shd consider to stop. It will not do u any good.

hi suyana, my total cost would be similiar to what you have paid, but I have paid cost of suprefact & all my dosage for gonal f, bloodtest, and day-surgery costs way in advance(during my cycle)... and when the final bill came( after cycle), these charges were taken out(cos I have paid them) and govt grant only applied to the outstanding charges.. Its not a lot of money, but I thought it shouldnt be calculated this way... BTW, I didnt use my medisave, just cash & govt grant.

so you did have to pay your suprefact medication, gonal f during your cycle?

can anyone else share their experience?

Bunny, i did not pay for my gonal f and suprefact. I used my medisave. Is it because of that you supposed to pay up front?
All expenses were included in my bill.

Bunny, I'm confused why u need to pay in advanced. For mine, once referred to chr I didn't pay anything other than for embryos freezing then on er paid 1k plus a bit because my total bill was 11k plus a bit. When final bill came I still need to pay less than $20 for the balance. That's all.

I'm in 2ww now, did my ET on 22 Jan and BT due this Friday... took a HPT today and is -ve, dun know if it's because its too early to tell... but I'm not very optimistic.

Diveera, congrats! did u do a HPT?

Can someone let me know who is this Dr Zou? Is she a TCM dr? Can someone give me her contact details?

July2007,

Hey, I am popping by this thread, I did ivf under prof before but it failed. I did not follow your story but from you last post, I can figure out where you are coming from. July, prof is absolutely right and I trust his views and decisions too. He is the a doctor with a good heart but stern face. Although only one insert should suffice and reasons truly what prof cited., if you are concerned for your next round, ask for two inserts, one to be used in the morning and one at night. That will give you a peace of mind and increase the feeling of security that is needed for the cycle. I am sorry about your loss of ur little precious embryo but the fact that it did implant means you will stand a good chance in future if you decide to go one more time.

Vi4n,
Hey, hope you are well. Have a smooth delivery in due time

Funny_bunny,

I didn’t do ivf at NUH thus cannot comment… but then the medication like gonalF and ward charges for ER and ET.. should be in the total for IVF isn’t it? What is the total normal for doing 1 fresh cycle at NUH ? I heard it is 9k , correct ?

July 2007,

I Understand what you mean…… tat is why I say that Dr zou is not very scientific… and her comments do not go beyond… must relax..continue to eat my medicine…sometimes it is like to “fu yan” ( entertain) us…yet so many sis BFP while TTC with her.

Diveera,

Congrats. !!! you have made it and we can’t wait to be like you…..neck as long as giraffe…

Seed, did you call kk ? what did they say

hi lyn, I have to pay another 2k plus for final bill ( 50% of the final bill) & the balance will be govt subsidy.

Suyana, I think you are probably correct, it may be because I am not using medisave. And if this is the case, I think they should specify it to me clearly from the beginning, then I may decide otherwise. Cos the total amt comes out to be 8kplus and I get 2k plus govt subsidy.

Vi4n: did u need to pay in advance for day surgery (oocyte recovery & embryo receovery? I had to pay cash /credit card upon admission.

Bunny, maybe u can call up NUH business office to clarify with them? By right total fee-6k-3k then got balance then need to pay in cash rite?

hi judebabe, yes all medication and ward charges should go towards the total cost of IVF ( final bill) but because there were certain costs which I have paid during the cycle (mainly medication, and day surgery charges) so the amount of govt subsidy will be calculated based on the final outstanding amount, not on total cycle cost.

For example,if final cost less than 6k, you will not get the full 3k govt subsidy

I think normal fresh cycle ranges from 8k-11k
(depending dosage of gonal f)

Judebabe and july, to me dr zou is good becoz she is understand and willing to listen and sympathize our situation. Other then that its very subjective coz some ppl BFP but some ppl still trying so i guess all TCM is trial and error and also some luck lor...

Bunny, i know thats the exact way kk is doing but i m not sure abt nuh. But most ppl who did ivf nuh like have to pay at least 1 or 2k in cash leh. Dr zou told me its coz NUH is more ex coz using gonal f and also the OT facilities is more ex.

Babygalore, thanks for remembering me.
I'm well thanks.
Bunny, why u not using medisave n total only 5k? They should still deduct 3k of gvt grant then u pay the remaining mah?
I paid $1k plus on the day of egg retrieval lo that's because my total was 11k plus minus medisave n govt grant I paid the balance lo

hi lyn, fyi I just checked my 1st cycle which I did in KKH, my total bill came out to be less than 6k so I didnt get full 3k subsidy, that is ok cos the policy is that we will split the cost 50-50 with govt , and the govt subsidy will only cover up till 3k. I am absolutely cool with this.

But for my 2nd cycle, total bill is 8kplus
(including those I paid in advance) so if its 50-50split, I should be able to get full 3k subsidy and I will have to pay the balance.

Yes NUH is slightly more expensive than KKH

I will contact NUH and will post updates as soon as I hear from them.

Thanks to all who have contributed!

Bunny i did my ivf in kkivf, using gonal-f and total bill is arouind $8k plus.
purchase of gonal-f (375 iui), lucrin, ER, ET, didn't pay anything upfront. at the end of the day, kk sent a stack of bills to me.

hi va4n, I have no idea why I am charged different. I will have to clarify with NUH.. to answer your question, balance only 5k is because I have already paid 3k plus during the cycle with cash/credit card. 5k is only the outstanding amt to be paid.

hi gan, yup I received the stack of bills from KKH as well, but I understood all charges from KKH.. but the bills from NUH are questionable??

Ho babygalore, how u doin? long time no chat...

Hi ladies.. I am back at the forum... will eventually be starting my first IVF after my feb mensus...

I need some advice... about the choice of doc at KKH. MY current doc is Kelly Loi. When I went to sign my consent last week, I noticed she is about 7 months preg, which means she may be away by the time i do my ER or ET. I checked on a transfer of doc, I was told I need to pay $85 for a session of consultation if I want to choose Dr SF LOh or the 2 other senior consultant (cos i was initially referred from the polyclinic). or they may assign any other doc (but not the senior consultant) to me should Dr Kelly goes for her maternity leave before my ER/ET.

what do you gals think? should I pay $85 more to switch doc to Dr SF Loh regardless of whether Dr Kelly loi has gone for maternity or not?

Irene, i would think it is better to pay $85 to switch to Dr Loh, at least u r assured that Dr Loh will be doin the ER and ET.

And Dr Loh is known to have lucky hands.

Bunny, when i saw the kk bill i thought its not reasonable. They charged me 694 for the ultrasound whereby i also did the ultrasound twice and they say its package so i juz lose out on that if i need lesser ultrasound then others. Totally inflexible system..

I'm new here. I'm thinking of checking if my tubes are blocked first and then the possibility of a need for IVF. Should I go via polyclinic and get a referral into KK or simply go in as pte? Does it mean going via poly, we will def not be assigned Dr Loh?

Hi, i am a newbie on this portal.
TTC naturally for almost 7 years and this is my first attempt at ART. I am on day 6 of Puregon and noticed this afternoon that there is a lite flow. Can anyone share if they have experienced the same and what was the advise given by the gynae.

hi gals out there,

Can i noe if i want to go direct to ivfkkh without going through polyclinic, do i still entitle govt subsidy of $3000?

Hi Adeline,

Yes the grant is for every 1-3 timer subseqently.
even you go take poly letter, the moment you are IVF patient all your charges becomes private patient etc.

Your polyclinic subsidy only sees you through your bloodtest and fertility test and so on.

Hope this helps