sunflower seed,

Talk to them.. Try to stay positive and do things tt you enjoy.

Went for my scan today. Lining is at 8mm but doc wants to let it grow till 10mm. So will be going for d 2nd scan on wed. Meanwhile Progynova doasage also increase.. Hopefully it will grow..

Libra, u mean next visit to dr loh? 5 weeks time when I am 14 wks. Am talking abt oscars test leh which I did BT at 9 wks n NT scan at 11 wk plus. Aren't u doing?

Hi seed, menses shld comes 14 days later after ET rite coz of the luteal phase support? Correct me if i wrong coz not familar with FET.. Meanwhile relax

Seed, dr loh is skilful so he doeS not need u to hv full bladder. Just half will do. I waited for at least 30mins for him. After ET, also dun need to go toilet to pee immedately.. :p

Rostum, I only hv 8 eggs retrieved so am on pregnyl jabs every 3 days. 1st jab is on ET n altogether 4 jabs. In KKH, types of support is dependent on no of eggs retrieved. If got 15 n more can take pregnyl jabs n tt increase the risk of ohss esp these ladies r already prone to ohss. Instead, Daily progrestrone inserts r given till blood test date. After confirmed pregnant at blood test then will be given oral duphaston tablets to be taken twice a day till end of 1st trimester. If during this period got spotting, progrestrone jabs will be given as n when needed on top of the oral tablets. After 1st trimester all kinds if hormones support r stopped n pregnancy is considered stable coz the planceta has already been formed n is working to support it. Planceta is an amazing thing...

Actually, no matter whether is pregnyl jabs or inserts, main purpose is to influence the brain n tell it tt we r pregnant n our body to produce the hormones to support it itself coz our pregnancy is man created n not natural. so women with ohss may not be a bad thing as the chance of succeeding is higher as their bodies hv high level if hormones.

Thus, not only must the embyro implant but our brain must know we r pregnant n start supporting it. Doc can give u lots of support but if the brain dun response then is useless also. So at times cannot be forced. End of the way, we can't go against natural circumstances. Tt cld be why KKH usually only give additional support during 2 ww when women r bleeding (not spotting) and r tested pregnant. Coz, we shld not force it to happen n if we do, the pregnancy may not be good even succeeded.

Just like in KKH, premature babies at After x wks will be saved n all means will be used to substain their life. If am not wrong, tt is abt 24 wks. Coz below tt, the organs r not fully formed n even if the doc tries to substain through machine n babies do make it, there will still be lots of problems later in life. Tt is also the reason why no abortions r allowed after 24 wks.

So getting pregnant through ivf has many factors. We can do all we can, go acu to improve lining but end of the day our body must response. If not dun force it. I know is sad for us if fail but we wan a gd pregnancy n a healthy bb right?

We just hv to be strong n keep trying. Sure will succeed one.

Skies,

I think you should go accupt if you have the time cos it works for me and sunflower seed. If i am not wrong,tangtang also went..

Btw you with NUH right? cos with with kk, once your linning reaches 8mm, they will arange for ET, dun have to wait till 10mm..The ideal linning is 11m to 12mm.

Jia you !

2WW ladies, may I know whether you abstain from eating any food,eg : chicken and fried stuff ?

I cannot stay at home too long. Going out to shop a while. CNY ard the corner still have not buy a lot things. Should be ok hor.

Hi Skies,

I went accupt for only a week before ET. Actually the last 2 days before ET, I did not go too. Keep telling myself don't stress up. hee...

Hi Lyn...

My first scan linning was 8mm so I went accupt twice, 6 days later at ET, my linning was 10mm..

Nobody knows it is natural body condition or with the help of accupt... but accupt seems quite useful for other ladies

So Lyn ... what is your plan huh ? planning to cycle /resting or do FET...

Tangtang, ya CNY round the corner.. make sure you dun carry heavy stuff leh..

Hazel,
Yes I noe it is a mind game when comes to IVF...bt when u c yrself bleeding during 2ww is v disheartening..hw to be +ve during tt 2ww for such scenario?
Cos I wanna check whether additional support will be given during the 2ww for KKH...cos for NUH oni inserts...so if KKH also insert, there is no pt to go there ma..
I understand from my fren's sil tt she went down to KKH for jabs everyday during the 2ww...duno y? Perhaps she had a m/c before...
I guess SF Loh will give dif ppl dif support...
According to Dr Zou, she told me inserts dun work well for me....
Thanks for the information!

Rostrum, last time at KKH is go KKH for daily protrosgone jabs if more than 15 eggs. With effect from last nov, it has been changed to inserts which is the same thing

Rostrum, how much inserts (dosage) NUH give you? Maybe you just needed slightly more dosage of the inserts?

KKH gives for FET 2x 400mg which is even higher than the jabs. Its also more convenient than the jabs since no need daily travel to KKH and thus also less disruptive to your rest.

Currently, KKH no longer give jabs but i guess you can insist for it. Their reason is there is no proven trend that jabs are better than inserts plus their dosage of inserts is more than dosage of jabs. I conceived that time with inserts alone.

There is caution in overdosing progesterone support because once you started a high dosage, you cant reduce abruptly, will cause a sudden hormone dip and menses to come even if preggy (threatened miscarriage).

Skies, i think your lining will be fine. No worries if you cant go for acupuncture but if you can go, will be good of course.

Judebabe increase lining from 8mm to 10mm in 6 days with 2 sessions acupuncture.

My case increase lining from 6.5mm to 9mm in 7 days with daily acupuncture.

So i guess it does work bah.

Ladies, I'm in D2 of 2WW. Anybody is in the boring 2WW period as well? I experience some slight tummy discomfort now & then, not too sure if it is normal.

What are things that the rest of you who are on 2WW doing?

Syann, you are 3 days later than me. Fresh cycle or FET? With which hospital?

Is your tummy disomfort like wind or need to pass bowels often? I have abit of that too, read that is side effects of cyclogest inserts which i am on now.

Hi Seed,

Can I ask you how many times you have done IVF cos you said that you previously you conceived with insert alone..

Thanks for your information on progesterone.

I have some question abt the proesterone insert

1) What is the purpose of have the progesterone insert ?

2) The current dosage that we have 2 X 400g is it considered high ?

3) Now that we are in the 2ww, if we forget to insert 1 day... does that means AF will report.. that is scary

4)Everytime i insert progesterone ... i try my best to push all the way in..but it become "dented" inside.. is it normal?

Btw tomorrow your MC over liao... you keep cool and dun exert yourself... Call KK and ask whether you need further suppport..

Jia you !

Jubebabe, the purpose of the insert has been explained above. It is basically hormones support.

How cld u forget to do insert? U r resting at home for 2ww n waiting for good news. We r all can't wait to get pregnant so we wun forget one coz of our little ones. So far, I hv nv forgotten to take my twice daily tablets. Worse come to worse u can set phone reminder right?

Hi Judebabe

Hmm IVF & ET are the same ya? Then i have done a few ETs from previous fresh cycle's frozen embryos. And last medicated FET, i had cyclogest inserts and that cycle worked.

I am no medical expert but base on what i asked around so far ...

1) What is the purpose of have the progesterone insert ?
I think its mainly to support our natural luteal phase because in a medicated FET cycle, dont forget we didnt O naturally so our natural luteal phase hormones may be lower than required. Also because its IVF, docs will want to help us maximise our chances hence boost progesterone hoping can facilitate implantation and embryo further growth.

2) The current dosage that we have 2 X 400g is it considered high ?
Nope i read on otther websites in fertility clinics else where they also take 2x 400mg. Seems that is ideal. Too high not good also.

3) Now that we are in the 2ww, if we forget to insert 1 day... does that means AF will report.. that is scary
I dont know about this but i read on cyclogest website, it says forget 1 dose never mind just take when remembered. I was told before cant remember which doctor sudden drop in hormone will cause disruption but 1 day lapse should be fine. Our bodies would have enough from previous dosages to sustain a short lapse i guess.

4) Everytime i insert progesterone ... i try my best to push all the way in..but it become "dented" inside.. is it normal?
Yours the bullet progesterone? Trick is store in fridge so that it will harden then when you insert wont break. But even if dented, its ok, as long as its inside, will still be absorbed. My first time using inserts that time, didnt know to store in fridge end up also insert dented or broken ones. You insert in rectum? That way sure well absorb because cant leak or fall out.

Yup, tomorrow my MC over liao buy i am on leave till wed, heehee so still resting. You going back to work? Actually go back to work is good, distract from worrying over the 2ww. Today is D5PET for me means your are D7PET, hey your embryos preparing to implant! So exciting! Mine still hatching i guess. Jia you !

Speaking of inserts, gotta do mine now, i try to make my AM and PM inserts 12 hours apart for more uniformed ingestion by the body.

Hi sun_flower seed, I'm with Dr Loh @ KK & It's a fresh cycle. How about you? This forum is reading providing a lot of useful information & it helps to ease the long hours.

The Dr Zou that is often mentioned here is the Dr @ AMK ave 5? I did my acupuncture with her during the process as well. Was actually recommended by my gal friend who's FIL is a Chinese Physician. He said that she used to be a surgeon in China & she is actually quite good wif ladies who are going through IVF.

Syann, ahh that explains. Fresh cycle means you took puregon/gonalf jabs right? Maybe your body reacting to hormones thats why discomfort. As long as not major should be ok. If major then better ask Dr Loh in case ohss.

Yup, Dr Zou is the one at AMK ave 5. She is well versed with IVF and all the protocols from the various hospitals here. Majority of her patients are going thru IVF.

Same here, i also KKH, with Dr Loh.

I'm having the pregnyl jab every few days. I only have 8 follicles & only 7 were extracted & 5 were fertilized. Not too sure about the lining. The embroys that are inserted are of grade 4 & 3. Anybody knows if the grading does affect anything?

After ET, I don't even ask abt the lining & grades so I'm not sure whether Dr Zou acupuncture works for me. As per normal during 2ww but always feel tired. These days cooking my own meals. BTW, how many days will the embryos implemented.

Wow ...syann... if you have 8 follicles.. then you shouldn't have OHSS..usually only those ladies with many follicles like 30 may have OHSS..
The embryo grading is 1 to 5.. so your embryo is considered good..Things look good for you !

Seed,

Thanks for answering my questions... yup i read somewhere that implantation is 7-9 days from ET..
I am going back to work tomorrow.. I like to return back to routine... else i will mop around and do 3 hours seach on "symptons on implantation".. and behave like a reseacher and think and think heheh

I also dunno what i can do and what i cant.. maybe i will bring my longan and red dates water to work... btw.. what is the purpose of drinking that huh?

Rostrum, in kkivf, if ER more than 15 eggs you will be given inserts. On D8, you will go for a BT to see if your progesterone is sufficient. If not, additional support will be given, although I am not would that mean progesterone injections.
I was on inserts. But I think I made a mistake on the day I went for BT on progesterone. I went for the BT within 1 hour after I did the inserts and I suspect that would not give a very accurate results because definitely the level in my blood would be high since it is within 1 hour of inserts lor. My level just pass the required level so i suppose if i do BT few hours later, i maybe classified as needing additional support. Anyway it's just my guess...on why my fresh cycle not successful.

Judebabe, when i did my inserts, i think it is also dented, but dun worry as long as the pills are inside, they will be effective. When i was doing fresh cycle inserts are thrice a day. ?Nurse said +/- 1 hr of the schedule time is ok. So try not to miss any dose, maybe can set an alarm or something to remind yourself.

Pandawife,
okok.. Its ok.. maybe nearer the date we update each other again.. We might be cycle buddies..

Hey ladies,
Some of you were telling me that during O and after O should not do acu right? On sat when I went to Dr Zou, I ask her abt it. She say no leh.. I was like ???? Cos some of u ask her and she also agreed that during that period shouldnt do right? She told me that if trying naturally can do, in fact, if do le, will enhance the chance. But usually after ET cannot do.. Now I'm confused. For those who are gg to visit her soon, can help to check with her and see what her reply is? Thanks!

Gan,
When you prepare the red date and longan drink hor, You just put the red date, longan and wolfberry into the thermal flask then add hot boiling water huh? You didnt boil the ingredients together is it? I also want to try making the drink to drink..
Can advise on how u do it? Thanks!

Tickles, i didn't boil, just put the red dates, longan and wolfberry into thermal flask then add boiling water in the morning after I woke up. Will drink in office, so that would be at least an hour after soaking in hotwater, the flavour will be out already. If you want more, you can let them soak longer in the thermal flask.

Use the seedless red dates, less heaty

Gan,
Thanks for the tips on the drink.. I'll go buy the stuff and try to make it..

ok, later you help me ask abt doing acu during O and after O. Ask her if can or not. Cos heard from some ladies here say that she told them cannot. So when I ask her last sat and she say can, I was a little surprised.

Judebabe, i dont know whats the drink for but i guess its to warm the womb. You know the yin and yang thing? Anyway red dates and longans are both heaty, ideal for us now and will aid in blood circulation.

I am going to lose internet access soon. When hb not home, i dont have his hp to surf. Hmm ... back to watching TV and eat and sleep later. Sigh .. boring.

tickles, i bought the 'thermos' brand thermal flask, find it very good, even if i drink at 12pm plus, the red date drink is still hot.

Hi Soon-to-be, thanks for ur feeback.

Thinking of going for accup. Beside Dr Zou, any recommendation for accup in the east?

There is instant red date drink in the market, did any of you tried before? Rather than buying the red dates & longans and boil them?

is there any particular kind of egg that you eat? like 1st born egg, carrot egg,etc....

does anyone knows what is the benefit of 1st born egg?

The discomfort after ER actually lasted for so many days!! I think each embryo has ard 5 to 6 cells. Does the number of cell matters?

I'm also taking red dates, wolfberry & longan. It seems very heaty, gonna drink more water.

Ladies, be it you are doing fresh cycle or FET, let's stay positive & be happy. Currently, I'm reading a book by Richard Carlson - Don't sweat the small stuff. IVF is not a small stuff but reading this book makes me more positive. Let's Jia You together.

Those doing ET, dun hv to follow the instruction 100 % (amount of water)

nobody knows yr own bladder like yourself. Just drink till u feel the urge to pee, not till feeling painful. I waited for more than 1 hour for my ET. Didnt hv to let go a bit and hold back.