yum yum yum... my tarts are out from the oven!! I think my dinner will them. ke ke....

missmoon,
thanks. I think making all the goodies really can pass time without you realize it. you should be able to know bb's gender soon huh?

wah, renee, cook your good dishes lah then i can imagine and taste them...haha. so you've been busy making them huh? wat else besides the pineapple tarts r u making ah? dunno leh, some say 4th month can tell but others say 5th month then can see
i seeing prof only 1 feb, end of 4th month, so hopefully can see liao. also got to do so many tests...now scared.

moonfairy
i can look for u whenever i travel to jakarta for work

how does high FSH affect fertility? does that mean you ovulate with no problem every month?

wow, our forum is very active today

Was busy yesterday so no posting.

Hi curious, agreed with missmoon, depends on your comfort level. My boss is a lady butI didn't tell her. Though she is quite nice but she will not be happy if she knows I am trying to get myself preggie by doing ivf and this means no one to cover my job. And some of my colleagues are the nosy sort so I chose to keep low profile, just said some gynae issue.

My ER & ET was done b4 Christmas so I only took 3 days HL and had also previously planned to take 2 days leave after Christmas, then just went ahead lor.

KKH's standard is 5 days from ER.

actually, I was quite aware during the ER leh. Heard dr loh talking to the anaesthetist and I felt pain during one of the pokes. But bearable lah...I was ok until I got up to change after the 3 hours rest, then started to feel giddy and vomited a little.

After ER, I don't have any cramp or pain. My cramp only come in after my ET...it was quite intense...worse than menstrual cramp...I was very scared and always happened when I sleep. But the nurse told me it is ok.

Don't have to worry, curious. Whatever happened to us may not happen to you. It depends on individual.

Hi moonfairy,

you are in jakarta, hmm how's life there ? as my hubby was deciding whether to go over there for business ? where are you staying in jakarta ? My friend is staying near Mangga Dua

missmonn,
my fren who's peggy she just know her bb's gender. it's her 4th month now. she's having a gal.I think your next scan should be able to see laio!Yes I did cook dinner. cos my hubby will not eat tarts for dinner.or rather no one would.hehe... so can you smell my beijing ribs and fried chai sim?? haha!! I normally make pineapple tart and almond cookies. today's batch is not for my new year goodies yet. it's for my fren in HK. someone will go HK on sat, so tumpang him to bring over lo.please let us know whether is gal or boy ok?and don worry about all the test. is meant for your bb ma.
staedy ok!

sorry blurblur,
you are not allowed pineapple tart now!! But I'll keep in freezer untill your bb is steady and strong ok. so mean time you just imagine me and seow enjoying it.... ke ke ke......!!

hi sisters
thanks for much for all yr contributions on yr experience. it definitely enlighten me
and its very comforting to be here to share our sentiments on this big mission.
I shall listen to all the advises given here and move forward with an open heart and mind

seow
i'll be seeing my gynae nxt wk and will see what he has to say.

I've a male boss and i dun think i'll tell him when i start this program. So likely will take leave to rest at home.
Colleague oso quite KPO, if i go on long MC, they sure ask whether i expecting or not. They have been asking when is my turn

Thanks everyone for the advises.

blur blur, tch, seow,
My male boss is very understanding. When I went for my surgery to remove cyst, he was ok with it. When I had miscarriage he was ok too. He even told me abt his wife's experiences. His wife also miscarriage b4 & remove cysts b4. It's me who feel very pai seh to always take MC and leave to see doctor etc. I scared yr end come, my appraisal no good then when I come back from HL, my desk no around anymore. That's what I worry. Furthermore, I don't know how to tell him leh...juz tell him frankly meh? Tell him that I going to do assisted procedure to conceive ah??

As for my colleagues, I won't let them know too. Cos all are like radio or reporters! That time I went for the surgery. My entire HR dept knew abt it! My HR dept & my office are located at different floor and yet news spreaded so fast!

Yes, I'm currently seeing doctor at KKH. Next appt, doc will review all my tests & decide which assisted procedure is suitable for me. I wonder how long do I hv to wait for another appt for the assisted procedure. sigh!

I think 5 days HL still not so bad. TCH is right...if procedure is done on Thur or Fri, then won't be absent from work for too many days. But if procedure is on a Mon, then siao liao. Anyway, I still hv to submit the HL to HR. No matter how many days HL, sure the HR will ask me :-( If I tell 1 person, it is like telling the whole office liao! :-(

curious, don't worry abt all these first. Take one step at a time, less stressful for you lor. If you think you are comfortable then can tell ur boss. IF he understands then also easier for you cos b4 ur ER, you will need to go down quite often for your scan to monitor the size of ur follicles. Colleagues then no need to tell. People who don't understand will look at us differently.

Alternatively, you can take leave instead of HL. I took 3 days HL b4 Christmas and 2 days planned leave after that so ample rest for me.

Which doctor are you with?

ya, curious, don't think so much. actually for me, i also start on the program first, than tell my boss one.

actually, i got a colleague who keep asking me. think she sense that i am trying for bb. but i die die also won't tell her cos' she is those kind who will look down on pp. she has 3 kids (every year one). so, be careful with colleagues lor....

blurblur, i leaving on the second day of CNY. will only return on 7 Feb.

tonight seeing prof again. hopefully timing doesn't clash.... see i so bo-chap.. book first, think later...shhhh..

seow, good to go for a break. Better go now, otherwise once you start the prog, you will have to wait for 9 months before you can go again

Actually I prefer going for holiday during CNY cos then no need to see those 'kay poh' relatives (always asking when we want to have baby and those despising looks on their face)...really hateful. And also no need to take so many days leave too.

blurblur, you are absolutely right! unfortunately for me, still cannot make travel plans at this time. otherwise, will sure disappear during festive seasons. hehe

seow, just go and enjoy, relax yourself. even if the timing clashes, who knows...stranger things have happened, so you may come back wif 3 instead of 2 leh?

ha..ha..missmoon, i hope so also, but hor, during the CNY period, is not my fertile period leh... so, if want to come back wif 3, than maybe i need to smuggle one taiwanese bb inside my luggage....

blurblur, i agreed with u lor, sometimes those relatives whom i never seen before one also can come and 'kay poh'.. can stand them.. esp my husband side, he came from a big family, those cousins, aunties, uncles, don't know where the 'pop' out one...heee...

ya lor, who knows things just happen without explanation. May just come back wif additional members

I know, sometimes they can say things that hurt us...maybe they didn't even realise. But i just don't like them being nosy. Guess we have been there...

It is hard to ignore those looks, seriously. My hubby will always tell me to ignore them but very difficult wan.

Anyway, I am at home today so will cooking my lunch later

Curious, I took a wait and see attitude with regards to telling my boss. In the end, I didn't hv to tell cos the appointments were not that disruptive. Once you start the jab, you don't have to go back KK till 2 weeks later. Then comes the follicles stimulation phase which you have to go for scan after 1 week. If not mature, you probably have to go for another 2 or 3 scans every 2 to 3 days before ER. The clinic opens at 7.30. The usual appointment for me was 8am. So I still can make it back to office by 9am or slightly after nine. My office is ok with coming in slightly late.

As for the HL, I asked for MC instead. I intended to cook up some story about having consistent fever (this did happen to me for more than a week last year and also just before I had my ER). In the end, I didn't have to cos I only took 1 day of the MC and cleared my own leave for the other 2 days.

Hope this help to give you some ideas about the time commitment required and how you can plan your leave/MC

Hi seow,
Wah so nice
358869.gif
...going Taiwan during CNY. Will the shops open during CNY? Njoy yourselves!!

tch, blurblur, seow,
Thanks...ok, I try to take 1 thing at a time. I still don't know who will be my doctor cos I'm subsi-patient with KKH. Think I prefer tch's method. 'Wait and see attitude'. I start work at 8am. Think if gotta do scan etc in the early morning, maybe I juz tell boss I go for medical appt. Usually I said that to him, he juz say ok & didn't ask further. Cos he thot my current medical appts are related to my surgery few mths ago...so he didn't ask further.

As for the HL...I'll wait till then and decide. Maybe it is over the weekends then I no need to crack my head for excuses liao right? If the 5 days HL are on weekdays, then I'll ask for MC instead (taught by tch, hee hee....)
358870.gif

Thanks ladies for all these invaluable ideas!!
358871.gif

Looks like everyone of us here can't 'escape' from the relatives' bombards.
kao_frustrated.gif
In fact I hate during CNY, cos for my case, my husband's aunts & uncles 100% will ask me when bb etc. Even MIL keeps asking me & I find it very irritating.
However we didn't tell them that we're seeing gynaes etc...cos afraid they'll ask more. So everytime they ask, I juz keep quiet and try to smile a bit. But inside my heart...boiling!!
358884.gif

curious, I totally understand that. Even if they don't ask they will give that kinda look cos we are married for 2 years plus

Sometimes I get so annoyed, I really feel like asking them if I give birth, are they going to help me look after. If not, ask for what.

ha..ha..
didn't know we are all in the same shoes one. that's why all these years we always disappear during CNY. Initially my mom was quite upset, but now use to it liao. if fact, last year when she she sees me appearing during the first day of CNY, she ask me how come never go anywhere. and i told her 'ya, flying tonight'...heee

actually i don't find it irritating when relatives and in laws and even parents ask me about ttc. i think they are asking out of concern and not really despising... i think it's more like we sensitive and feel guilty ourselves (zi zun xin zuo guai) cos we know we are trying and not having results... i believe most of the time they don't mean any malice and whatever ill feelings we perceived are what we perceive only. same as b4 we got married.. they also keep asking qns.... otherwise nothing to talk about when we meet leh. esp the elders.... what else can they ask u.... have u eaten? what did u eat yesterday? hehhehehe.... my 2 cents so no need to get pissed off with the relatives one la.... i think when we grow old... and i mean really old, we'd be concerned for our children and nephews and nieces too.....

jut to add on, my bro and sil also always go away during cny, and i don't think i like it lor... like they find spending time with the family they grew up with irritating..... i feel hurt actually. but b4 i get flamed, of course i'm not saying it's wrong to go.... sometimes work so stressed , take a break is ok one.... but if do it every year, i think it do hurt the parents,... who went thru so much to see us thru poly/uni.... wait till we bcome parents ourselves

hehe.... now that i've started,.. might as well go on to finish what is in my heart....

i think they don;t know we tryging mah, so they naturally have a look on their face when they ask,,, cos they think we don;t want to and not planning. but i think if they know we are trying hard and we are also very sad we hare having no rsults then they'd paiseh and don't ask lor... but of course some people very insensitive one.. but i think most people understand nowadays cos life and work is very stressful and u cant get results when u are so stressed.

hope i dont offend anyone here :-x

seow my father always say go to Chinese places like taiwan hk, china during CNY like not worth.... old people just want to have te most of their holidays since holidays is a luxury to them during their time, cos he thinks the shops and dept stores will be closed for whole week one..... when u come back tell me is it true ok? then i can corrent my father.

hi MSH,
no lah, not like what u say that we feel irritated with parents asking. what i don't like are those never seem before uncles, aunties, san gu or lui bo. don't even know where they come from one.

the minute they saw us and the very first question that come out of their month means 'how many kids liao? got kids or not? why don't want kids har? if want better have it earlier leh? who doesn't know all these, but cannot means cannot. and worst of all, we are already trying so hard and already frustrated enough with no results. why can't they just take a step backward and think before they ask...sigh...

perhaps that's another way to look at things. Maybe you are rite? Personally, I have encountered some relatives who are not genuinely concerned, they are just the 'watching show' type. I guess this is kinda subjective and everyone is entitled to your own thinking

So msh, how are you feeling now? You are supposed to see ur doctor rite?

i know there are some non-genuine one.... but there are some who have nothing else to talk to u about so they try to yi lao mai lao.

thanks Blurblur, i'm ok. but i can't stand very straight. if i stand straight, i feel like my tummy is stretched and my bck ache... i think i have weak back..... hubby say we need to do something cos my posture very ugly now :p

me not seeing dr anymore till PT which is on 17th... i surely cheat and test earlier during weekend one. :p

seow.... forgive them :) they are just so insensitive.... i think i better stop discussing this liao.... sometimes i get so carried away my students will beg me to stop one. :p

hi MSH,
Not true that during CNY, going these places are not worth it. In fact, last year I was in Beijing, Chengde and Tianjin, the CNY atmosphere is even better than our place. Most shops are in fact open and they have celebration that we don't have here. And then was snowing so, quite shiok lor.

msh, is it becos of the bloatedness that you can't stand straight? wow, time really flies hor. 17th will be your day14?

if you really must test, do it 1st thing in the morning and remember too much water intake will affect results too. don't be like me

msh
i couldn't stand straight also, in the initial stage cos of the bloating and feel so stretched. took a while to straighten out. just be conscious of your posture whenever you're standing or walking lor

ya seow, actually winter is a fun season cos we don't have it in SG. The only thing I don't like is the air is quite dirty and I feel bad having to waddle our dirty boots into the shops

wow, seow sounds fun. i'd tell my father when i see him this week end.

blurblur, missmoon, ya its due to the bloatedness. this 2 days i don't feel so hungry in the day leh.... like now, i'm only feeling hungry now after minced pork noodles at 9am..... the first week i'm hungry by 11.30-12pm, even with the same breakfast.... but nite time i feel hungry faster. last nite i took a masala dosai, then still dabao a fried rice, but i ate 2/3 of the fried rice only cos i don't want to get over bloated during sleep. but actually i can finish the fried rice one u know, my hubby was laughing and joking with the dr that day that it has cost him a lot more to maintain me the past 1 week.

17th is my day 15. that day see dr, he insisted i should be testing on 17th not 16th as the nurse told me. so changed to 17th lor.